Author Chat with Jasmin Kaur (When You Ask Me Where I'm Going), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

43453732

 Today we're excited to chat with Jasmin Kaur author of

When You Ask Me Where I'm Going.

 Read on for more about Jasmin and her book, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet Jasmin Kaur!

Jasmin Kaur is a writer, illustrator and spoken word artist living in Vancouver, BC. Her writing, which explores feminism, social justice, survival and love, acts as a means of healing and reclaiming identity. As a poet and teacher, she has toured across North America, the UK and Australia to captivate audiences through her poetic storytelling. You can visit her online at www.jasminkaur.com and on Instagram @jusmun.

 

 Website * TwitterInstagram

 


 

 

Meet When You Ask Me Where I'm Going!

Perfect for fans of Rupi Kaur and Elizabeth Acevedo, Jasmin Kaur’s stunning debut novel is a collection of poetry, illustrations, and prose.

scream
so that one day
a hundred years from now
another sister will not have to
dry her tears wondering
where in history
she lost her voice

The six sections of the book explore what it means to be a young woman living in a world that doesn’t always hear her and tell the story of Kiran as she flees a history of trauma and raises her daughter, Sahaara, while living undocumented in North America.

Delving into current cultural conversations including sexual assault, mental health, feminism, and immigration, this narrative of resilience, healing, empowerment, and love will galvanize readers to fight for what is right in their world.


 

Amazon * B & NIndiebound

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

        

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

I write because of my desire to take up space as a Sikh woman. In a world that is very happy to craft narratives of fear and oppression about my life as a kaur, a Sikh woman, it’s important for me to be able to bring an honest voice to my experiences. Growing up, I didn’t a single girl like me in any of the books I read. It never even occurred to me that a Punjabi Sikh girl could be the protagonist of a story because I’d simply never seen it. Through my work, I hope to change this for Sikh girls and women.

 

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

To believe in the value of my work. I wish I could tell myself, especially in those moments when I considered deleting my Instagram and giving up on my manuscript, that my work would one day reach the people who needed it. I believe that writers need to be equipped with humility and confidence in equal amounts: we should recognize our limitless potential for growth without forgetting the worth of our voices.

 

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

I adore the layers, literally and figuratively, within Eiko Ojala’s artwork. I love that symbolism is incorporated in the cover art of this poetry-heavy collection. It speaks directly to the power of metaphor. To me, the artwork has always connoted a river (Perhaps, a stream of consciousness!) but I’m so curious about how it speaks to others.

 

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2019?

I cannot wait to read Trista Mateer’s new poetry collection APHRODITE MADE ME DO IT, which happens to share a book birthday with WHEN YOU ASK ME WHERE I’M GOING. Mateer’s voice is candid, sincere and so very resonant. Her work does what the best poetry does: it speaks to a place within me that I didn’t know was waiting to be spoken to.

 

 

YABC:  What was your favorite book in 2018?

I loved Andrea Gibson’s poetry collection TAKE ME WITH YOU. Andrea’s spoken word brings me to tears and I often find myself mesmerized by the way they can pack so much emotion within a single line. Gibson’s work is raw, heartfelt and so very clever.  

 

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Revising, without a doubt. While drafting can sometimes feel like walking through darkness and simply hoping to be headed in the right direction, revising allows me to detach from a single version of a scene of written or an entire work to imagine stronger versions of the story. Beautiful stories rarely happen organically in the first draft. It’s through writing and rewriting and rewriting again that we reach the heart of our narratives.

 

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

I think that my sense of empathy is both my strength and weakness. I tend to feel like a conduit for the emotions of others. This is important when it comes to writing poetry as it allows me to tap into a place of vulnerability when writing. It can also be deeply painful when people share their own traumatic experiences with me. I quickly internalize other people’s feelings and sit with their emotions long after they leave.

 

 

YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

I’m so appreciative of the human rights work done by Ensaaf. Ensaaf is “a nonprofit organization working to end impunity and achieve justice for crimes against humanity in India, with a special focus on Punjab, by documenting abuses, bringing perpetrators to justice, and organizing survivors” (Ensaaf.org). Many of my political poems address Indian state violence that has taken place in my motherland of Punjab. For those interested in researching further into this subject matter, I strongly recommend reading the accounts Sikh genocide survivors documented by Ensaaf.


 

 

 

When You Ask Me Where I'm Going

By: Jasmin Kaur

Release Date: October 1st, 2019

 Publisher: HarperTeen

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

Three winners will each receive a copy of When You Ask Me Where I'm Going (Jasmin Kaur) ~ (US Only)

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Featured Review: Rules For Vanishing (Kate Alice M...
Waiting On Wednesday ~ September 18th, 2019

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

How to Make Friends with the Dark
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Here is what happens when your mother dies. ...
Girl at Heart
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
As the daughter of a successful Major League pitcher, Charlie...
Serious Moonlight
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After an awkward first encounter, Birdie and Daniel are forced...
Sway
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Kat Spears’s hilarious and often poignant debut, high school...
Scarlet Epstein Hates it Here
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Scarlett Epstein, BNF (Big Name Fan) in her online...
The Beautiful (The Beautiful, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Renée Ahdieh returns with...
The End and Other Beginnings: Stories from the Future
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling Divergent and Carve the Mark author Veronica Roth...
The Boy Who Dreamt the World
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Adam is living the dream, literally.... There are two...
Colliding Skies
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Since Skye Reilly can remember, she has been looking...
What Makes Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A viral video reveals a teen’s dark family history,...
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Becks: How does a straight guy accidentally come out...
Take the Mic: Fictional Stories of Everyday Resistance
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young adult anthology featuring fictional stories of everyday...
I Know When You're Going To Die
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leonardo Cantrell is a painfully shy sixteen-year-old who cannot look...
Dog and Rabbit
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A funny, sweet story of unrequited friendship from the creator...
I'm Not Dying with You Tonight
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lena and Campbell aren't friends. ...
Symptoms of a Heartbreak
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The youngest doctor in America, an Indian-American teen makes her...

Latest Member Reviews

How to Make Friends with the Dark
 
3.0
"A weighty YA Contemporary, grappling with a wide array of crises and quandaries. What I..."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
5.0
"I’m not going to lie….I read The Burning Shadow in two days. It could’ve been one sitting if my eyelids..."
The Grace Year
 
5.0
"It’s been one week since I finished The Grace Year by Kim Liggett as I sit down to start this..."
Dog and Rabbit
 
5.0
"DOG AND RABBIT is a charming tale of friendship. Told in four parts, the book introduces Dog and then Rabbit...."
Symptoms of a Heartbreak
 
4.3
"I started out reading an ARC of Symptoms of a Heartbreak, but then I switched to reading a hardcover in..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"If you read the first series, Redefining Me, you got a glimpse at these characters and probably love them just..."
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
4.3
"I’m going to start out this post by letting it be known by all and sundry that I was provided..."
Sick Kids in Love
 
5.0
"SICK KIDS IN LOVE is a beautiful story about love- as well as invisible illness/disability AND NOBODY DIES! (I do..."
Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky (Tristan Strong #1)
 
5.0
"I never wanted to be a superhero as a child, but I wanted to do heroic things. Tristan Strong epitomizes..."
The Light at the Bottom of the World (The Light at the Bottom of the World, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LIGHT AT THE BOTTOM OF THE WORLD is a compelling and atmospheric YA fantasy/science fiction. In the future, the..."
Conceal, Don't Feel (Twisted Tales, #7)
 
5.0
"If you adored FROZEN, you need to get your hands on this Twisted Tale which reimagines the story if Anna..."
The End and Other Beginnings: Stories from the Future
 
4.0
"THE END AND OTHER BEGINNINGS is the latest from DIVERGENT author, Veronica Roth. The novel is comprised of six YA..."
Bernard Pepperlin
 
4.0
"Bernard Pepperlin is the doormouse from Alice in Wonderland. After being forced into a teapot, Bernard climbs out to find..."
The Bookworm Crush
 
5.0
"THE BOOKWORM CRUSH is an absolutely charming romantic comedy with all sorts of booklover homages. Amy McIntyre is @redheadrecs and..."
Scared Little Rabbits
 
3.0
"SCARED LITTLE RABBITS follows Nora (aka Eleanor, Lowercase) as she sets out on a summer camp adventure that resulted in..."
A Constellation of Roses
 
5.0
"A CONSTELLATION OF ROSES is a beautiful story of familial love and healing. Trix has been trying to make her..."
The Squatchicorns: A Delightful Read
 
4.0
"In this chapter book, The Squatchicorns by Ellen Potter, the third book in a series about a friendship between a..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
5.0
"'Dating My Best Friend' (former title: 'The F Word') by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven delves deeply into themes..."
The Cook and the King
 
4.0
"'The Cook and the King' by Julia Donaldson, illustrated by David Roberts, is a cute story that shows how working..."
Santa Mouse
 
4.5
"SANTA MOUSE is a cute rhyme about a mouse who did not have a name but does have a special..."