Author Chat with Jasmin Kaur (When You Ask Me Where I'm Going), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

43453732

 Today we're excited to chat with Jasmin Kaur author of

When You Ask Me Where I'm Going.

 Read on for more about Jasmin and her book, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet Jasmin Kaur!

Jasmin Kaur is a writer, illustrator and spoken word artist living in Vancouver, BC. Her writing, which explores feminism, social justice, survival and love, acts as a means of healing and reclaiming identity. As a poet and teacher, she has toured across North America, the UK and Australia to captivate audiences through her poetic storytelling. You can visit her online at www.jasminkaur.com and on Instagram @jusmun.

 

 Website * TwitterInstagram

 


 

 

Meet When You Ask Me Where I'm Going!

Perfect for fans of Rupi Kaur and Elizabeth Acevedo, Jasmin Kaur’s stunning debut novel is a collection of poetry, illustrations, and prose.

scream
so that one day
a hundred years from now
another sister will not have to
dry her tears wondering
where in history
she lost her voice

The six sections of the book explore what it means to be a young woman living in a world that doesn’t always hear her and tell the story of Kiran as she flees a history of trauma and raises her daughter, Sahaara, while living undocumented in North America.

Delving into current cultural conversations including sexual assault, mental health, feminism, and immigration, this narrative of resilience, healing, empowerment, and love will galvanize readers to fight for what is right in their world.


 

Amazon * B & NIndiebound

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

        

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

I write because of my desire to take up space as a Sikh woman. In a world that is very happy to craft narratives of fear and oppression about my life as a kaur, a Sikh woman, it’s important for me to be able to bring an honest voice to my experiences. Growing up, I didn’t a single girl like me in any of the books I read. It never even occurred to me that a Punjabi Sikh girl could be the protagonist of a story because I’d simply never seen it. Through my work, I hope to change this for Sikh girls and women.

 

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

To believe in the value of my work. I wish I could tell myself, especially in those moments when I considered deleting my Instagram and giving up on my manuscript, that my work would one day reach the people who needed it. I believe that writers need to be equipped with humility and confidence in equal amounts: we should recognize our limitless potential for growth without forgetting the worth of our voices.

 

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

I adore the layers, literally and figuratively, within Eiko Ojala’s artwork. I love that symbolism is incorporated in the cover art of this poetry-heavy collection. It speaks directly to the power of metaphor. To me, the artwork has always connoted a river (Perhaps, a stream of consciousness!) but I’m so curious about how it speaks to others.

 

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2019?

I cannot wait to read Trista Mateer’s new poetry collection APHRODITE MADE ME DO IT, which happens to share a book birthday with WHEN YOU ASK ME WHERE I’M GOING. Mateer’s voice is candid, sincere and so very resonant. Her work does what the best poetry does: it speaks to a place within me that I didn’t know was waiting to be spoken to.

 

 

YABC:  What was your favorite book in 2018?

I loved Andrea Gibson’s poetry collection TAKE ME WITH YOU. Andrea’s spoken word brings me to tears and I often find myself mesmerized by the way they can pack so much emotion within a single line. Gibson’s work is raw, heartfelt and so very clever.  

 

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Revising, without a doubt. While drafting can sometimes feel like walking through darkness and simply hoping to be headed in the right direction, revising allows me to detach from a single version of a scene of written or an entire work to imagine stronger versions of the story. Beautiful stories rarely happen organically in the first draft. It’s through writing and rewriting and rewriting again that we reach the heart of our narratives.

 

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

I think that my sense of empathy is both my strength and weakness. I tend to feel like a conduit for the emotions of others. This is important when it comes to writing poetry as it allows me to tap into a place of vulnerability when writing. It can also be deeply painful when people share their own traumatic experiences with me. I quickly internalize other people’s feelings and sit with their emotions long after they leave.

 

 

YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

I’m so appreciative of the human rights work done by Ensaaf. Ensaaf is “a nonprofit organization working to end impunity and achieve justice for crimes against humanity in India, with a special focus on Punjab, by documenting abuses, bringing perpetrators to justice, and organizing survivors” (Ensaaf.org). Many of my political poems address Indian state violence that has taken place in my motherland of Punjab. For those interested in researching further into this subject matter, I strongly recommend reading the accounts Sikh genocide survivors documented by Ensaaf.


 

 

 

When You Ask Me Where I'm Going

By: Jasmin Kaur

Release Date: October 1st, 2019

 Publisher: HarperTeen

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

Three winners will each receive a copy of When You Ask Me Where I'm Going (Jasmin Kaur) ~ (US Only)

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Featured Review: Rules For Vanishing (Kate Alice M...
Waiting On Wednesday ~ September 18th, 2019

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Monster Hypothesis
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Bohring-home to 453 people, 2,053 alligators, and one...
Where the World Ends
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Winner of the 2018 Carnegie Medal! New from Michael L....
Carnevil (Monsterstreet #3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Fast, funny, frightening—and filled with shocks and surprises. These books...
Prophecy Untold (Shadow Realms book 3)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finding out my mother was taken by the demons...
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut about first love and second...
Six Goodbyes We Never Said
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Two teens meet after tragedy and learn about love,...
Golden Crown
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
No longer only a warrior. Not just a queen....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first vampire. The last Nephilim. The end...
The Galactic Adventures of Hazel - Gurecoa
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
What is it like to live in 4519 AD...
Batman: Nightwalker (The Graphic Novel)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
This action-packed graphic novel based on the New York...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Rose Hemmersbach aspires to break out of small town...
Stuffed
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome, little one. You have been chosen to join us,...
Merged
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seven of our country’s most gifted teens will become Nobels,...
Bury Me
 
0.0
 
4.7 (1)
No one ever leaves Copper Hollow. It's a town with...
Estranged #2: The Changeling King
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Enter a world of faerie magic and epic adventure in...
The Edge of the Word (Mightier than the Sword, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The exciting follow-up to Mightier Than the Sword, the humorous...

Latest Member Reviews

Refraction
 
4.3
"Marty is a flawed character in any number of ways, not least of which is his propensity to do what's..."
Frankly in Love
 
4.7
"I love this book so much. I read it pretty much in one sitting because I couldn't put it down!..."
The Monster Hypothesis
 
5.0
"THE MONSTER HYPOTHESIS is a really fun middle grade investigative mystery. Kick is living with her grandmother, a fake psychic..."
Legacy Awakened
 
5.0
"Ava is the child of prophesy and all eyes are on her because she is the daughter of the Prime..."
Hushed
 
4.0
"Romy has just finished school and is torn because she isn't sure what she wants to do with her life...."
Where the World Ends
 
3.0
"WHERE THE WORLD ENDS is an intriguing historical fiction, based on a true story. The boys of Hirta are sent..."
Carnevil (Monsterstreet #3)
 
5.0
"Ren and Kip aren't sure what to expect when they visit their Aunt for Halloween. She works at an Old..."
Stuffed
 
4.0
"STUFFED follows Clark and Foon. Clark is a boy who loves stuffed animals and feels that they keep him safe...."
Bury Me
 
4.7
"In horror books and movies, we often see dolls as the main source of scares( such as Annabelle or Child's..."
Golden Crown
 
4.3
"I have mixed feelings about this book. It follows the second book immediately and starts off with Etta struggling with..."
Juliet Takes a Breath
 
4.7
"Juliet Takes a Breath is a coming of age story about a Latina lesbian from the Bronx who travels to..."
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
5.0
"Fireborne is a fantasy novel set nine years after a bloody uprising against a brutal regime in which the poor..."
Jason & Kyra
 
N/A
"i am from Italy hello. Can you help me translate? /rardor"
Write to Me: Letters from Japanese American Children to the Librarian They Left Behind
 
5.0
"This is a must read book that shows the lives of Japanese American children who ended up being taken from..."
The Edge of the Word (Mightier than the Sword, #2)
 
5.0
"THE EDGE OF THE WORD is another absolutely delightful interactive story, where you are the main character in the book...."
Prophecy Untold (Shadow Realms book 3)
 
4.0
"Kali is the hope of saving the world from vampires and demons. She’s a vampire huntress who also happens to..."
The Galactic Adventures of Hazel - Gurecoa
 
3.0
"THE GALACTIC ADVENTURES OF HAZEL - GURECOA takes place in the far future, where our planet is only vaguely recognizable...."
Batman: Nightwalker (The Graphic Novel)
 
4.3
"BATMAN: NIGHTWALKER (THE GRAPHIC NOVEL) converts the YA novel by Marie Lu into graphic novel format. The plot remains the..."
Rat Rule 79: An Adventure (Yonder, #1)
 
5.0
"RAT RULE 79 is charming, ridiculous, and completely engaging. Fred is about to turn thirteen in a new place, as..."
Magic Tree House Deluxe Holiday Edition: Christmas in Camelot
 
4.0
"Jack and Annie get an invitation from "M" to spend Christmas in Camelot, which excites them since they haven't heard..."