Author Chat with Jasmin Kaur (When You Ask Me Where I'm Going), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

43453732

 Today we're excited to chat with Jasmin Kaur author of

When You Ask Me Where I'm Going.

 Read on for more about Jasmin and her book, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet Jasmin Kaur!

Jasmin Kaur is a writer, illustrator and spoken word artist living in Vancouver, BC. Her writing, which explores feminism, social justice, survival and love, acts as a means of healing and reclaiming identity. As a poet and teacher, she has toured across North America, the UK and Australia to captivate audiences through her poetic storytelling. You can visit her online at www.jasminkaur.com and on Instagram @jusmun.

 

 Website * TwitterInstagram

 


 

 

Meet When You Ask Me Where I'm Going!

Perfect for fans of Rupi Kaur and Elizabeth Acevedo, Jasmin Kaur’s stunning debut novel is a collection of poetry, illustrations, and prose.

scream
so that one day
a hundred years from now
another sister will not have to
dry her tears wondering
where in history
she lost her voice

The six sections of the book explore what it means to be a young woman living in a world that doesn’t always hear her and tell the story of Kiran as she flees a history of trauma and raises her daughter, Sahaara, while living undocumented in North America.

Delving into current cultural conversations including sexual assault, mental health, feminism, and immigration, this narrative of resilience, healing, empowerment, and love will galvanize readers to fight for what is right in their world.


 

Amazon * B & NIndiebound

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

        

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

I write because of my desire to take up space as a Sikh woman. In a world that is very happy to craft narratives of fear and oppression about my life as a kaur, a Sikh woman, it’s important for me to be able to bring an honest voice to my experiences. Growing up, I didn’t a single girl like me in any of the books I read. It never even occurred to me that a Punjabi Sikh girl could be the protagonist of a story because I’d simply never seen it. Through my work, I hope to change this for Sikh girls and women.

 

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

To believe in the value of my work. I wish I could tell myself, especially in those moments when I considered deleting my Instagram and giving up on my manuscript, that my work would one day reach the people who needed it. I believe that writers need to be equipped with humility and confidence in equal amounts: we should recognize our limitless potential for growth without forgetting the worth of our voices.

 

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

I adore the layers, literally and figuratively, within Eiko Ojala’s artwork. I love that symbolism is incorporated in the cover art of this poetry-heavy collection. It speaks directly to the power of metaphor. To me, the artwork has always connoted a river (Perhaps, a stream of consciousness!) but I’m so curious about how it speaks to others.

 

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2019?

I cannot wait to read Trista Mateer’s new poetry collection APHRODITE MADE ME DO IT, which happens to share a book birthday with WHEN YOU ASK ME WHERE I’M GOING. Mateer’s voice is candid, sincere and so very resonant. Her work does what the best poetry does: it speaks to a place within me that I didn’t know was waiting to be spoken to.

 

 

YABC:  What was your favorite book in 2018?

I loved Andrea Gibson’s poetry collection TAKE ME WITH YOU. Andrea’s spoken word brings me to tears and I often find myself mesmerized by the way they can pack so much emotion within a single line. Gibson’s work is raw, heartfelt and so very clever.  

 

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Revising, without a doubt. While drafting can sometimes feel like walking through darkness and simply hoping to be headed in the right direction, revising allows me to detach from a single version of a scene of written or an entire work to imagine stronger versions of the story. Beautiful stories rarely happen organically in the first draft. It’s through writing and rewriting and rewriting again that we reach the heart of our narratives.

 

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

I think that my sense of empathy is both my strength and weakness. I tend to feel like a conduit for the emotions of others. This is important when it comes to writing poetry as it allows me to tap into a place of vulnerability when writing. It can also be deeply painful when people share their own traumatic experiences with me. I quickly internalize other people’s feelings and sit with their emotions long after they leave.

 

 

YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

I’m so appreciative of the human rights work done by Ensaaf. Ensaaf is “a nonprofit organization working to end impunity and achieve justice for crimes against humanity in India, with a special focus on Punjab, by documenting abuses, bringing perpetrators to justice, and organizing survivors” (Ensaaf.org). Many of my political poems address Indian state violence that has taken place in my motherland of Punjab. For those interested in researching further into this subject matter, I strongly recommend reading the accounts Sikh genocide survivors documented by Ensaaf.


 

 

 

When You Ask Me Where I'm Going

By: Jasmin Kaur

Release Date: October 1st, 2019

 Publisher: HarperTeen

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

Three winners will each receive a copy of When You Ask Me Where I'm Going (Jasmin Kaur) ~ (US Only)

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Featured Review: Rules For Vanishing (Kate Alice M...
Waiting On Wednesday ~ September 18th, 2019

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Gray Malin’s menagerie of wild animals for a stay...
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Hattie the magician―she’s a natural performer, and you’re invited...
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When spring arrives, baby animals come out to play with...
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The delightful follow-up to When Dimple Met Rishi and There’s...
The Child of Chaos
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is what fantasy fiction should be." --Piers Anthony, New...
Want to Read Rate this book 1 of 5 stars2 of 5 stars3 of 5 stars4 of 5 stars5 of 5 stars Preview Star-Spangled: The Story of a Flag, a Battle, and the American Anthem
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
“O say can you see” begins one of the most...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
July 20, 1969. It’s a day that has earned a...
Thurgood Marshall
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Thurgood Marshall—the great grandson of a slave—was born, African...
Down Under the Pier
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
There’s lots of fun to be had up on the...
Lali's Feather
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This endearing story of identification and values shows the rewards...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Book three in a hilarious new series featuring one boy...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everything starts with a question, like this one: Why do...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Worries, fears, and anxieties are all dragons that sneak up...
The Copycat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A funny, unpredictable, and heartfelt new novel from Wendy McLeod...
DC Super Hero Girls: Powerless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The DC Super Hero Girls learn what it's like to...

Latest Member Reviews

Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Star-Spangled: The Story of a Flag, a Battle, and the American Anthem
 
4.3
"The War of 1812 isn't one that really captures the imagination of young readers like the Revolutionary or Civil War..."
 
4.0
"NASA and the US space program are a direct result of the increases in aeronautical technology due to World War..."
Thurgood Marshall
 
5.0
"Born in 1908, Thurgood Marshall experienced an array of institutionalized racial injustices in his New York and Baltimore homes, even..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Down Under the Pier
 
4.3
"DOWN UNDER THE PIER is a beautifully illustrated poem about the magic that happens, not only above, but also below..."
Lali's Feather
 
5.0
"LALI'S FEATHER is a delightful and colorful picture book that explores birds and imagination. Lali is playing when she finds..."
A Friend for Mole
 
3.5
"A FRIEND FOR MOLE is a cute picture book that speaks to unlikely friendships and shared experiences. Mole is happy..."
 
5.0
"This book is a winner the moment a reader lays eyes on that cover--and the title. My niece--who is picky..."
 
4.0
"Super Cute Illustrations I wasn't expecting a board book when I first saw this, but as soon as I..."
 
5.0
"This book is absolutely adorable. Dragons can suddenly show up wherever the characters are and they have to..."
The Girl and the Ghost
 
4.0
"5 Reasons to Read THE GIRL AND THE GHOST 1.) Beautiful prose- This was my first time..."