Author Chat with Jan Eldredge (Evangeline Of The Bayou)!

35230450

Today we're excited to chat with Jan Eldredge, author of Evangeline Of The Bayou. 

Read on for more about Jan and her book!

 

 

 

 

Meet Jan Eldredge!

Jan was born and raised in the swampy state of Louisiana where as a child she would often sneak into her older brother’s room to read through his numerous monster magazines and scary comic books, and where she would also gaze at his collection of classic movie monster models like the Wolfman, Frankenstein’s Monster, and the Creature from the Black Lagoon.


In addition to her interest in cats, magic, and assorted eldritch things that go bump in the night, she enjoys researching bizarre superstitions, exploring old cemeteries, and visiting assorted theme parks. Halloween is her favorite holiday, but that probably goes without saying.


Jan now lives in the swampy state of Florida with her wonderful husband, three pleasant children, and four devious cats, in a house that just might be haunted.

Jan Eldredge writes spooky middle grade stories. Sometimes people mistakenly address her as Jan Eldritch, which is quite fine with her since eldritch is her favorite word. (Eldritch- adjective eerie; ghostly; supernatural; unearthly.)


EVANGELINE OF THE BAYOU, published by HarperCollins Balzer + Bray, is her debut middle grade novel.

 

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter

 

 

 

Meet Evangeline Of The Bayou!

A standout middle grade adventure with a sassy, memorable heroine and a charming Southern feel, perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo and Natalie Lloyd.

Twelve-year-old haunt huntress apprentice Evangeline Clement spends her days and nights studying the ways of folk magic, honing her monster-hunting skills while pursuing local bayou banshees and Johnny revenants.

With her animal familiar sure to make itself known any day now, the only thing left to do is prove to the council she has heart. Then she will finally be declared a true haunt huntress, worthy of following in the footsteps of her long line of female ancestors.

But when Evangeline and her grandmother are called to New Orleans to resolve an unusual case, she uncovers a secret that will shake her to the soles of her silver-tipped alligator-skin boots.

Set in the evocative Louisiana bayou and the vibrant streets of New Orleans, Evangeline’s is a tale of loyalty and determination, the powerful bonds of friendship and family, and the courage to trust your gut no matter how terrifying that might be. 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

 

YA Book Central

EVANGELINE OF THE BAYOU

By: Jan Eldredge

~ Author Interview Questions ~

YABC:   What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

A few years ago I was browsing around in a small bookstore, and one of the items that caught my eye was a dictionary of superstitions. I started thumbing through it and was instantly spellbound. I’d always had a fascination with spooky creatures, so the pairing of superstitions and monsters felt like a perfect fit. Having been born and raised in Louisiana, my home state provided the ideal setting for the story of a spunky monster-hunting heroine like Evangeline.

 

 

YABC:   Who is your favorite character in the book?

Aside from the main character, Evangeline, I have to say I really adore Fader, Gran’s four-eared feline familiar. He has sass and attitude, and he gives Evangeline a hard time, but inside, he has a heart of gold.

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

It was definitely the novel that came first. My original title for the book was SWAMP WITCH. I knew it would likely get changed, and I was okay with that. After a lot of back-and-forth brainstorming between my editor and me, it was actually the book’s illustrator, Joseph Kuefler, who suggested EVANGELINE OF THE BAYOU.

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

Learn to embrace the revision process! I used to feel a lot of resistance when it came to deleting or rewritng large chunks of my stories. It wasn’t because I thought my words were perfect; it was because I’d worked so long and so hard to get them out of my head and onto the page. But after doing my first major manuscript revision early in the agent-querying process, a revision where I ripped out the guts, moved things around, and then stitched it back up again, I learned to let go and accept that losing work was part of the process. However, I never throw away any deleted scenes. I store them in another folder just in case I can use them somewhere else.

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

Everything! Illustrator Joseph Kuefler did an outstanding job. I love his choice of colors. I love the subtle spookiness and the atmospheric feel of the swamp. And I love Evangeline, right down to the silver tips of her alligator-skin boots.

 

YABC:   What’s up next for you?

I’m diligently at work writing the sequel to EVANGELINE OF THE BAYOU. It’s so much fun bringing back some of the characters from book one and adding fun, new, quirky characters to Evangeline’s world in book two.

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Many years ago when I started taking writing seriously, I thought drafting was the best part. It was fun to brainstorm and create new ideas. Now that I’ve written a few novels and short stories, I find revising to be more rewarding. My drafting process is an unorganized, sloppy mess, with words and ideas scribbled all over the place, but it’s during revision that I can see the story really starting to take shape.

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

I wish I possessed superhuman strength or the ability to fly, but realistically I’d have to say I’m pretty good at reading people. As an introvert, I’ve always done a lot more listening and observing rather than speaking. I find human behavior fascinating.

 

Evangeline Of The Bayou

By: Jan Eldredge

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Release Date: May 1st, 2018

Featured Review: Brightly Burning (Alexa Donne)
What's New In YA ~ May 1st, 2018

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Shatter City
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When the world sees Frey, they think they see her...
If You Miss Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A healing story of loss and love, this beautiful picture...
Learning about the Garden with Sleeping Beauty (Fairytale Encyclopedia)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Roses were very dangerous for Sleeping Beauty―that everybody knows. But...
Squirrel Do Bad (Trubble Town, #4)
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of the “Pearls Before Swine” comic strip...
Playing the Cards You'reDealt
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ten-year-old Anthony Joplin has made it to double digits! Which...
Discovering the Underground with Snow White (Fairytale Encyclopedia)
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
There are not only dwarves in the underground. This hidden...
Rock by Rock: The Fantastical Garden of Nek Chand
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This luminous picture book tells the fascinating true story of...
Bisa's Carnaval
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the sights and sounds of Brazil through the eyes...
Redemptor (Raybearer, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The highly anticipated sequel to Raybearer, the instant New York...
Dark and Shallow Lies
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A teen girl disappears from her small town deep in...
Imposters
 
4.0
 
5.0 (1)
Frey and Rafi are inseparable . . . but very...
Better Than the Movies
 
4.7
 
5.0 (1)
Liz Buxbaum has always known that Wes Bennett was not...
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Meet the ten remarkable kings, queens, inventors, scholars, and visionaries...
Count to LOVE! (A Bright Brown Baby Board Book)
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Cuddle up with your little one and get ready to...
The Mystery of the Meanest Teacher: A Johnny Constantine Graphic Novel
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
THE MYSTERY OF THE MEANEST TEACHER: A JOHNNY CONSTANTINE GRAPHIC...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A shocking thriller about a group of friends who go...

Latest Member Reviews

The Woodlander: The Arrival of Fate
 
4.0
"Leo is set to become the new Woodlander and when she learns that magical creatures exist, her entire world changes..."
Shatter City
 
4.0
"SHATTER CITY by Scott Westerfeld is the second book in the IMPOSTERS series. It begins with Frey stuck inside Shreve..."
If You Miss Me
 
5.0
"IF YOU MISS ME is a beautiful picture book about loss, love, and grief. Charlie loves to dance, and she..."
Learning about the Garden with Sleeping Beauty (Fairytale Encyclopedia)
 
4.7
"LEARNING ABOUT THE GARDEN WITH SLEEPING BEAUTY is an intriguing combination of fairy tale and nonfiction facts about gardens. On..."
Squirrel Do Bad (Trubble Town, #4)
 
3.0
"SQUIRREL DO BAD is an entertaining graphic novel about the consequences of small actions. The book begins with Wendy the..."
Cold-Blooded Myrtle (Myrtle Hardcastle #3)
 
4.0
"Myrtle's small English village is like many who seem to suffer from far too many murders, especially for the late..."
Playing the Cards You'reDealt
 
5.0
"Anthony "Ant" Joplin is in his last year of elementary school (where his aunt is principal-- not at all awkward!),..."
Discovering the Underground with Snow White (Fairytale Encyclopedia)
 
3.7
"DISCOVERING THE UNDERGROUND WITH SNOW WHITE contains the fairy tale of Snow White along with fold open pages that detail..."
Rock by Rock: The Fantastical Garden of Nek Chand
 
4.0
"After the separation of Pakistan from India, Nek Chand moved from Pakistan to India. Even though he left, he missed..."
Bisa's Carnaval
 
5.0
"BISA'S CARNAVAL is a colorful and delightful celebration of Carnaval and family. Bisa loves Carnaval and is happy to show..."
Redemptor (Raybearer, #2)
 
5.0
"REDEMPTOR is a stunning conclusion to an atmospheric and imaginative YA fantasy duology. Picking up where the first book left..."
Dark and Shallow Lies
 
5.0
"What I Loved: Dark and Shallow Waters is raw and utterly compelling as Grey returns to her second home in..."
Imposters
 
5.0
S Santana
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
Our Way Back to Always
 
5.0
S Santana
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
Count to LOVE! (A Bright Brown Baby Board Book)
 
5.0
S Santana
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
5.0
S Santana
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
Better Than the Movies
 
5.0
S Santana
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
Imposters
 
4.0
"IMPOSTERS by Scott Westerfeld is a YA dystopian novel, set in the future after many different and unique time periods..."
Breeder
 
4.0
"BREEDER by Honni van Rijswijk is a YA Dystopian, Post-Apocalyptic novel in which natural disasters and war have killed off..."
Better Than the Movies
 
4.7
"BETTER THAN THE MOVIES by Lynn Painter is just about the cutest YA Rom-Com to ever exist. The story follows..."