Author Chat with Jan Eldredge (Evangeline Of The Bayou)!

35230450

Today we're excited to chat with Jan Eldredge, author of Evangeline Of The Bayou. 

Read on for more about Jan and her book!

 

 

 

 

Meet Jan Eldredge!

Jan was born and raised in the swampy state of Louisiana where as a child she would often sneak into her older brother’s room to read through his numerous monster magazines and scary comic books, and where she would also gaze at his collection of classic movie monster models like the Wolfman, Frankenstein’s Monster, and the Creature from the Black Lagoon.


In addition to her interest in cats, magic, and assorted eldritch things that go bump in the night, she enjoys researching bizarre superstitions, exploring old cemeteries, and visiting assorted theme parks. Halloween is her favorite holiday, but that probably goes without saying.


Jan now lives in the swampy state of Florida with her wonderful husband, three pleasant children, and four devious cats, in a house that just might be haunted.

Jan Eldredge writes spooky middle grade stories. Sometimes people mistakenly address her as Jan Eldritch, which is quite fine with her since eldritch is her favorite word. (Eldritch- adjective eerie; ghostly; supernatural; unearthly.)


EVANGELINE OF THE BAYOU, published by HarperCollins Balzer + Bray, is her debut middle grade novel.

 

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter

 

 

 

Meet Evangeline Of The Bayou!

A standout middle grade adventure with a sassy, memorable heroine and a charming Southern feel, perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo and Natalie Lloyd.

Twelve-year-old haunt huntress apprentice Evangeline Clement spends her days and nights studying the ways of folk magic, honing her monster-hunting skills while pursuing local bayou banshees and Johnny revenants.

With her animal familiar sure to make itself known any day now, the only thing left to do is prove to the council she has heart. Then she will finally be declared a true haunt huntress, worthy of following in the footsteps of her long line of female ancestors.

But when Evangeline and her grandmother are called to New Orleans to resolve an unusual case, she uncovers a secret that will shake her to the soles of her silver-tipped alligator-skin boots.

Set in the evocative Louisiana bayou and the vibrant streets of New Orleans, Evangeline’s is a tale of loyalty and determination, the powerful bonds of friendship and family, and the courage to trust your gut no matter how terrifying that might be. 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

 

YA Book Central

EVANGELINE OF THE BAYOU

By: Jan Eldredge

~ Author Interview Questions ~

YABC:   What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

A few years ago I was browsing around in a small bookstore, and one of the items that caught my eye was a dictionary of superstitions. I started thumbing through it and was instantly spellbound. I’d always had a fascination with spooky creatures, so the pairing of superstitions and monsters felt like a perfect fit. Having been born and raised in Louisiana, my home state provided the ideal setting for the story of a spunky monster-hunting heroine like Evangeline.

 

 

YABC:   Who is your favorite character in the book?

Aside from the main character, Evangeline, I have to say I really adore Fader, Gran’s four-eared feline familiar. He has sass and attitude, and he gives Evangeline a hard time, but inside, he has a heart of gold.

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

It was definitely the novel that came first. My original title for the book was SWAMP WITCH. I knew it would likely get changed, and I was okay with that. After a lot of back-and-forth brainstorming between my editor and me, it was actually the book’s illustrator, Joseph Kuefler, who suggested EVANGELINE OF THE BAYOU.

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

Learn to embrace the revision process! I used to feel a lot of resistance when it came to deleting or rewritng large chunks of my stories. It wasn’t because I thought my words were perfect; it was because I’d worked so long and so hard to get them out of my head and onto the page. But after doing my first major manuscript revision early in the agent-querying process, a revision where I ripped out the guts, moved things around, and then stitched it back up again, I learned to let go and accept that losing work was part of the process. However, I never throw away any deleted scenes. I store them in another folder just in case I can use them somewhere else.

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

Everything! Illustrator Joseph Kuefler did an outstanding job. I love his choice of colors. I love the subtle spookiness and the atmospheric feel of the swamp. And I love Evangeline, right down to the silver tips of her alligator-skin boots.

 

YABC:   What’s up next for you?

I’m diligently at work writing the sequel to EVANGELINE OF THE BAYOU. It’s so much fun bringing back some of the characters from book one and adding fun, new, quirky characters to Evangeline’s world in book two.

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Many years ago when I started taking writing seriously, I thought drafting was the best part. It was fun to brainstorm and create new ideas. Now that I’ve written a few novels and short stories, I find revising to be more rewarding. My drafting process is an unorganized, sloppy mess, with words and ideas scribbled all over the place, but it’s during revision that I can see the story really starting to take shape.

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

I wish I possessed superhuman strength or the ability to fly, but realistically I’d have to say I’m pretty good at reading people. As an introvert, I’ve always done a lot more listening and observing rather than speaking. I find human behavior fascinating.

 

Evangeline Of The Bayou

By: Jan Eldredge

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Release Date: May 1st, 2018

Featured Review: Brightly Burning (Alexa Donne)
What's New In YA ~ May 1st, 2018

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Daniela and the Pirate Girls
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Who hasn’t heard of the legendary vessel, the Black Croc!...
Child of Galaxies
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Your body was made from the stuff of the stars,...
Shy Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
He's not the type to stand out. In fact, unless...
You Brought Me the Ocean
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The voices that shaped LGBTQ Young Adult literature, Lambda Award-Winning...
The Most Dangerous Place on Earth
 
2.0
 
0.0 (0)
In an idyllic community of wealthy California families, new teacher...
Slamdown Town
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ollie and his older brother, Hollis, have wrestling in their...
The Speed of Starlight: An Exploration of Physics, Sound, Light, and Space
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A contemporary exploration of physics, light, and sound told through...
1,000 Facts About Ancient Egypt
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mummies, pyramids, pharaohs, King Tut! Kids everywhere are fascinated by...
Pumpkinheads
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Deja and Josiah are seasonal best friends. ...
Ragweed and Poppy
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The first new book about Poppy in more than ten...
Burn
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
On a cold Sunday evening in early 1957, Sarah Dewhurst...
The Right Place
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
A squirrel wakes from hibernation feeling something is wrong with...
I'm Sorry!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect story for teaching young children the importance of...
Wonder Woman: Tempest Tossed
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Laurie Halse Anderson (Speak, Shout)...
The Archer at Dawn (The Tiger at Midnight, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Romantic intrigue and electric action fill the gripping sequel to...
The Jewel Thief
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lush, slow-burn romance set in 17th century France,...

Latest Member Reviews

Crave
 
4.3
"After the death of her parents, Grace comes to an Alaskan boarding school. Once there, she senses something is 'off'..."
Daniela and the Pirate Girls
 
3.5
"DANIELA AND THE PIRATE GIRLS is a fun high-seas adventure about helping others and making new friends. Daniela is the..."
Child of Galaxies
 
4.0
"CHILD OF GALAXIES is a lovely poem about life and the broad meaning of it all. The poem begins by..."
Shy Ones
 
5.0
"SHY ONES is a sweet look at friendship and the people (or sea creatures) who are shy. The story is..."
Once Upon an Eid
 
5.0
"This collection has a wide variety of stories about different aspects of Eid, and is particularly poignant during this time..."
You Brought Me the Ocean
 
3.7
"YOU BROUGHT ME THE OCEAN is a graphic novel of the origin story for Aqualad. Jake is 17 and living..."
The Suicide Journal
 
4.8
"The Suicide Journal is novella centered around a teenager named Cal. The story essentially centers around Cal's decision to kill..."
The Most Dangerous Place on Earth
 
2.0
" I received a free copy from the publisher through Netgalley. The Most Dangerous Place on Earth centers around a..."
Slamdown Town
 
4.0
"Ollie is in 6th grade and is small for his age. His older brother, Hollis, is in 8th, and has..."
The Speed of Starlight: An Exploration of Physics, Sound, Light, and Space
 
5.0
"Seriously, this book is huge and gorgeous on a creative level, and a treasure trove of knowledge on an academic..."
1,000 Facts About Ancient Egypt
 
5.0
"1,000 Facts about Ancient Egypt is a National Geographic KIDS book chock full of amazing facts about one of the..."
Pumpkinheads
 
4.7
"I am pretty new to graphic novels so when I won a copy of 'Pumpkin Heads' on GoodReads I was..."
Ragweed and Poppy
 
3.5
"RAGWEED AND POPPY is an interesting middle grade novel that follows Ragweed, a mouse who is on a journey. Ragweed..."
Burn
 
3.7
"BURN imagines a world that is just like ours, except that dragons exist. Dragons have been around for longer than..."
Legacy of Light (Legends of the Tri-Gard Book 2)
 
4.8
"FEEDBACK Well, this story has gone in a completely different direction than I expected it to. Davion didn’t die..."
Rising
 
4.0
"The story: In a dystopian future, the former state of Alaska is now home to what remains..."
Call of the Rift: Flight
 
4.3
"The Call of the Rift: Flight by Jae Waller is the first book in an alternate-historical fantasy about Kateiko, a..."
The Right Place
 
3.5
"THE RIGHT PLACE is a picture book that stresses the importance of friends and home. Squirrel wakes up after a..."
I'm Sorry!
 
5.0
"I'M SORRY! is a fantastic picture book about apologizing and compromise. Swoop and Scribble are an owl and squirrel who..."
Wonder Woman: Tempest Tossed
 
5.0
"WONDER WOMAN: TEMPEST TOSSED is a fantastic new story featuring Diana coming into her own. She has been raised among..."