Author Chat with Jan Eldredge (Evangeline Of The Bayou)!

35230450

Today we're excited to chat with Jan Eldredge, author of Evangeline Of The Bayou. 

Read on for more about Jan and her book!

 

 

 

 

Meet Jan Eldredge!

Jan was born and raised in the swampy state of Louisiana where as a child she would often sneak into her older brother’s room to read through his numerous monster magazines and scary comic books, and where she would also gaze at his collection of classic movie monster models like the Wolfman, Frankenstein’s Monster, and the Creature from the Black Lagoon.


In addition to her interest in cats, magic, and assorted eldritch things that go bump in the night, she enjoys researching bizarre superstitions, exploring old cemeteries, and visiting assorted theme parks. Halloween is her favorite holiday, but that probably goes without saying.


Jan now lives in the swampy state of Florida with her wonderful husband, three pleasant children, and four devious cats, in a house that just might be haunted.

Jan Eldredge writes spooky middle grade stories. Sometimes people mistakenly address her as Jan Eldritch, which is quite fine with her since eldritch is her favorite word. (Eldritch- adjective eerie; ghostly; supernatural; unearthly.)


EVANGELINE OF THE BAYOU, published by HarperCollins Balzer + Bray, is her debut middle grade novel.

 

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter

 

 

 

Meet Evangeline Of The Bayou!

A standout middle grade adventure with a sassy, memorable heroine and a charming Southern feel, perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo and Natalie Lloyd.

Twelve-year-old haunt huntress apprentice Evangeline Clement spends her days and nights studying the ways of folk magic, honing her monster-hunting skills while pursuing local bayou banshees and Johnny revenants.

With her animal familiar sure to make itself known any day now, the only thing left to do is prove to the council she has heart. Then she will finally be declared a true haunt huntress, worthy of following in the footsteps of her long line of female ancestors.

But when Evangeline and her grandmother are called to New Orleans to resolve an unusual case, she uncovers a secret that will shake her to the soles of her silver-tipped alligator-skin boots.

Set in the evocative Louisiana bayou and the vibrant streets of New Orleans, Evangeline’s is a tale of loyalty and determination, the powerful bonds of friendship and family, and the courage to trust your gut no matter how terrifying that might be. 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

 

YA Book Central

EVANGELINE OF THE BAYOU

By: Jan Eldredge

~ Author Interview Questions ~

YABC:   What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

A few years ago I was browsing around in a small bookstore, and one of the items that caught my eye was a dictionary of superstitions. I started thumbing through it and was instantly spellbound. I’d always had a fascination with spooky creatures, so the pairing of superstitions and monsters felt like a perfect fit. Having been born and raised in Louisiana, my home state provided the ideal setting for the story of a spunky monster-hunting heroine like Evangeline.

 

 

YABC:   Who is your favorite character in the book?

Aside from the main character, Evangeline, I have to say I really adore Fader, Gran’s four-eared feline familiar. He has sass and attitude, and he gives Evangeline a hard time, but inside, he has a heart of gold.

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

It was definitely the novel that came first. My original title for the book was SWAMP WITCH. I knew it would likely get changed, and I was okay with that. After a lot of back-and-forth brainstorming between my editor and me, it was actually the book’s illustrator, Joseph Kuefler, who suggested EVANGELINE OF THE BAYOU.

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

Learn to embrace the revision process! I used to feel a lot of resistance when it came to deleting or rewritng large chunks of my stories. It wasn’t because I thought my words were perfect; it was because I’d worked so long and so hard to get them out of my head and onto the page. But after doing my first major manuscript revision early in the agent-querying process, a revision where I ripped out the guts, moved things around, and then stitched it back up again, I learned to let go and accept that losing work was part of the process. However, I never throw away any deleted scenes. I store them in another folder just in case I can use them somewhere else.

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

Everything! Illustrator Joseph Kuefler did an outstanding job. I love his choice of colors. I love the subtle spookiness and the atmospheric feel of the swamp. And I love Evangeline, right down to the silver tips of her alligator-skin boots.

 

YABC:   What’s up next for you?

I’m diligently at work writing the sequel to EVANGELINE OF THE BAYOU. It’s so much fun bringing back some of the characters from book one and adding fun, new, quirky characters to Evangeline’s world in book two.

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Many years ago when I started taking writing seriously, I thought drafting was the best part. It was fun to brainstorm and create new ideas. Now that I’ve written a few novels and short stories, I find revising to be more rewarding. My drafting process is an unorganized, sloppy mess, with words and ideas scribbled all over the place, but it’s during revision that I can see the story really starting to take shape.

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

I wish I possessed superhuman strength or the ability to fly, but realistically I’d have to say I’m pretty good at reading people. As an introvert, I’ve always done a lot more listening and observing rather than speaking. I find human behavior fascinating.

 

Evangeline Of The Bayou

By: Jan Eldredge

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Release Date: May 1st, 2018

Featured Review: Brightly Burning (Alexa Donne)
What's New In YA ~ May 1st, 2018

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Riley Oh can't wait to see her sister get initiated...
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Bite-sized facts about forests from around the globe, pointing out...
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this sweeping debut, Asha Bromfield takes readers to the...
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this tender, nuanced coming-of-age love story, two boys—one who...
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
At the Midnight Ball, leave your inhibitions at the...
The Forest of Stolen Girls
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1426, Joseon (Korea). Hwani's family has never been the...
Go the Distance
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
What if Meg had to become a god? After...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates...
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...
This Is My America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching...
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magnificent, hand-painted illustrations by a rising star of Czech watercolor...
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Arizona! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
It's Mouse's first day of school. It's Dinosaur's first day...
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I'm Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter meets Emergency Contact...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved Bangladeshi...

Latest Member Reviews

The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LAST FALLEN STAR is a thrilling epic fantasy. Riley Oh is a saram, a person without magic, adopted by..."
Go the Distance
 
4.0
"Go the Distance by Jen Calonita is the latest installment in Disney’s Twisted Tale series. This time the story focuses..."
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
"Advice to save your marriage and get your Ex Boyfriend/girlfriend back ,contact ogagaspellcastertemple@gmail.com or WhatsApp +2347059387282 for Urgent effective love..."
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. While..."
Unchosen
 
4.7
"UNCHOSEN by Katharyn Blair is a YA Dystopian novel set in the future after the Crimson, a virus-like curse, turns..."
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: FORESTS OF THE WORLD is an approachable nonfiction book that teaches about different kinds of forests, from..."
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
"HURRICANE SUMMER is a sweeping coming-of-age story that captures the difficult and at times dangerous transition to womanhood. Tilla is..."
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
"ALL KINDS OF OTHER is an intriguing YA contemporary that follows two boys as they start at a new school...."
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: WATERS OF THE WORLD is an engaging nonfiction picture book that teaches basics and fun facts about..."
This Is My America
 
5.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Tracy's family is an outsider in multiple ways in their Texas town: they're one of the..."
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
"COLORS IN NATURE is a beautifully illustrated book of art that features animals and plants. The book walks through each..."
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO ARIZONA is a simple, fun travel guide picture book for children about the state. The book covers fun..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"COUNTING DOWN WITH YOU is a heart-wrenching and visceral YA contemporary read. Karina (Myra is her familial name) is a..."
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. While..."
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
"While I was familiar with most of the information in the book, due to apparently all too frequent deep..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"Fate Calling by Lindsay Grace is a beautifully written fae fantasy about a young human girl named Aislinn and a..."
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
"What worked: The magical aspect of this book had me turning pages quickly. It was easy to read and..."
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
"IN DEEPER WATERS is an intriguing and fast-paced YA fantasy. Tal is the fourth of five royal children in a..."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: OUTER SPACE is another fun collection of paint-by-sticker images with an outer space theme. The book..."