Author Chat with J Mercer (Triplicity), Plus Giveaway!

Author Chat with J Mercer (Triplicity), Plus Giveaway!

 Today we're excited to chat with J Mercer author of Triplicity.

 Read on for more about J Mercer and her, an interview, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet J Mercer!

J Mercer grew up in Wisconsin where she walked home from school with her head in a book, filled notebooks with stories in junior high, then went to UW Madison for accounting and psychology only to open a dog daycare. She wishes she were an expert linguist, is pretty much a professional with regards to competitive dance hair (bunhawk, anyone?), and enjoys exploring with her husband—though as much as she loves to travel, she’s also an accomplished hermit. Perfect days include cancelled plans, rain, and endless hours to do with what she pleases.

For updates and news, you can find her on Facebook, but she’s more often on Instagram, talking about what she’s reading and other bookish things. Go there for book recommendations, reading-inspired writing tips, or even to read along.

 

 

Website * Facebook * Instagram

 

 

 

 

 

Meet Triplicity!

One week on an Alaskan cruise, three teens, and an endless trail of lies.

Enter a series of thefts on board and they all fall under scrutiny. Though Navy acts a proper preacher’s daughter, she did end up with someone else’s purse in her hands, and Jesse knows way more than he should about what’s gone missing. Isaiah, however, is the one with motive—enough money and he could get back to his ranch. Each holds a piece of the truth, but exposing the thief could damn them all. They must navigate through the lies they’ve told, choose between standing together or saving themselves, and decide if innocence is worth facing their ugliest secrets.

For readers of Kasie West and Jenny Han.

 

 

 Amazon * B & N * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

   

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

Ah, well... the setting was inspired by an Alaskan cruise I went on, and the theme - three sides to every story - came from some interpersonal relations I witnessed. Everyone so clearly has their version of events in mind, and it can be so very true from that angle, yet if you look carefully from another angle, you can also see how another truth layers beneath it.


 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

Everything! When I saw it, the love was instantaneous :) But I guess if I had to pick, it would be how Robin did the water. Not exactly literal, but so very cool.

 

 

YABC:  What was your favorite book in 2018?

Maggie Steifvater's All the Crooked Saints! Oh, but that's right, I write contemporary ;) In that vein, my favorite was


 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

My second young adult contemporary novel, Perfection and Other Illusive Things, will be out in 2020, so I'm working on polishing that up along with drafting some new things.


 

 

YABC:  Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

There's a scene with Navy and her mother, and then one with Isaiah and his grandma. I went over them both multiple times, because I wanted it to feel as authentic as possible - not melodramatic and not too stoic.


 

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

That depends on what's happening in life and the state of my head... drafting is (usually) exhilarating, which would always win, but I do tend to need less clutter in my life for it to go smoothly. If a lot of other things are happening, revising is my go-to muscle of choice. It is easier to do in smaller bits and while half-distracted by the day job. And yes, of course, sometimes you have to write in less than ideal circumstances, but if I'm trying to be most efficient, these are the guidelines I use to inform what I work on.


 

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

Organization! It comes fairly easy to me, and it's almost fun.


 

 

YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

We Need Diverse Books! And diverse agents and editors. Also, water missions :)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Triplicity

By: J Mercer

Publisher: Bare Ink

Release Date: January 6th, 2019

 

 

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

  

Two winners will receive a signed copy of Triplicity (J Mercer) ~ US Only

 

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ January 7th, 2019
Featured Review: Dungeons & Dragons: Escape the Un...

Related Posts

 

Comments 7

Already Registered? Login Here
Debra Branigan on Tuesday, 08 January 2019 12:31

The cover fits perfectly and the storyline is intriguing. Would like to read this one.

0
The cover fits perfectly and the storyline is intriguing. Would like to read this one.
Christy DuBois on Wednesday, 09 January 2019 01:39

I like that the synopsis gives me enough information to be interested in reading this book yet doesn't give anything away. It sounds really interesting to me. The cover suits the synopsis in my opinion. So many times it doesn't however that is a matter of opinion to me.

0
I like that the synopsis gives me enough information to be interested in reading this book yet doesn't give anything away. It sounds really interesting to me. The cover suits the synopsis in my opinion. So many times it doesn't however that is a matter of opinion to me.
Jayda on Saturday, 12 January 2019 18:59

The cover is so simple yet unique, and the story sounds amazing.

0
The cover is so simple yet unique, and the story sounds amazing.
Penny Olson on Sunday, 27 January 2019 18:44

This sounds like an intriguing mystery on the seas. The cover fits well with the synopsis.

0
This sounds like an intriguing mystery on the seas. The cover fits well with the synopsis.
Danielle Hammelef on Monday, 28 January 2019 12:31

The cover is okay. The setting and premise sound exciting!

0
The cover is okay. The setting and premise sound exciting!
Hann Remraf on Tuesday, 29 January 2019 04:24

I love the cover! It is simple and it gives small but interesting clues about the novel itself

0
I love the cover! It is simple and it gives small but interesting clues about the novel itself
Dan Denman on Sunday, 03 February 2019 13:04

I like the book cover design. This sounds like a mysterious adventure.

0
I like the book cover design. This sounds like a mysterious adventure.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They call me the Dark Queen… Ryleigh...
Scarred
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
Life leaves you scarred. Love can make you beautiful....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two friends in the 1980's were graduating from Cosmetology School....
Twisting Minds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How can you trust your heart when you can't trust...
The Art of Holding On
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life happens, whether you’re ready or not. All you can...
Breaking Through: How Female Athletes Shattered Stereotypes in the Roaring Twenties
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author Sue Macy offers a fresh and timely account...
Outlawed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
OUTLANDER meets Robin Hood. Traveling through time...
The Path We Take
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He’s alone He’s tattooed He’s badly burnt ...

Latest Member Reviews

Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars #1)
 
5.0
"SCAVENGE THE STARS is an engaging YA fantasy that gripped me from the start. Amaya, or Silverfish, is a girl..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
A Straw Man
 
5.0
"The story: Melody, the younger sister of Charlie, the main character of the previous book, is now..."
Girl at Heart
 
5.0
"'Girl at Heart' by Kelly Oram is a sweet, entertaining, easy read that any lover of YA romance will adore...."
Kingdom Cold
 
4.8
"What I loved: First and foremost, the characters. Princess Charlotte's fierce, unyielding manner. The way her character is left..."
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
"Isn't great to finish a series and feel satisfied? Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine is the final book in..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."
Breaking Through: How Female Athletes Shattered Stereotypes in the Roaring Twenties
 
5.0
"One hundred years ago. When I was growing up, this seemed like an impossibly long time in the past. The..."
Scarred
 
4.8
"Emotionally, I mean. What I loved: As you can guess from the title,..."
The Path Divided
 
5.0
"I'm going to break out of my usual review mold here because this book was so many things. It..."
Girl at Heart
 
4.8
"What I loved: Just about everything. This was an adorable YA Contemporary Romance with a surprisingly well-rounded..."
Skin Hunter
 
4.3
"What I loved: The world building was perfectly illustrated without bogging down the story. Everything from the..."
Our Year in Love and Parties
 
4.0
"What I loved: The story was told through the unique lens of four specific events with..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Jack Kerouac is Dead to Me
 
4.3
"JACK KEROUAC IS DEAD TO ME is Gae Polisner’s most recent YA Contemporary novel. Like in her other books, she..."
Woven in Moonlight
 
5.0
"Woven in Moonlight is a beautiful and lush fantasy, based on the culture and history of Bolivia. It is set..."
Julie Winsome M.D., Medical Detective Science Fiction Mysteries, Volume # 1
 
4.7
"Always fun to follow along with Dr. Julie Winsome Medical Detective! Great stories and I love the writing style..."
We Are All His Creatures: Tales of P. T. Barnum, the Greatest Showman
 
3.0
"WE ARE ALL HIS CREATURES by Deborah Noyes is a series of eleven short stories about the beloved showman, P.T...."
Jane Anonymous: A Novel
 
4.7
"JANE ANONYMOUS follows two timelines: one while Jane was captured for 7 months and one after she is back home...."