Author Chat with J Mercer (Triplicity), Plus Giveaway!

Author Chat with J Mercer (Triplicity), Plus Giveaway!

 Today we're excited to chat with J Mercer author of Triplicity.

 Read on for more about J Mercer and her, an interview, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet J Mercer!

J Mercer grew up in Wisconsin where she walked home from school with her head in a book, filled notebooks with stories in junior high, then went to UW Madison for accounting and psychology only to open a dog daycare. She wishes she were an expert linguist, is pretty much a professional with regards to competitive dance hair (bunhawk, anyone?), and enjoys exploring with her husband—though as much as she loves to travel, she’s also an accomplished hermit. Perfect days include cancelled plans, rain, and endless hours to do with what she pleases.

For updates and news, you can find her on Facebook, but she’s more often on Instagram, talking about what she’s reading and other bookish things. Go there for book recommendations, reading-inspired writing tips, or even to read along.

 

 

Website * Facebook * Instagram

 

 

 

 

 

Meet Triplicity!

One week on an Alaskan cruise, three teens, and an endless trail of lies.

Enter a series of thefts on board and they all fall under scrutiny. Though Navy acts a proper preacher’s daughter, she did end up with someone else’s purse in her hands, and Jesse knows way more than he should about what’s gone missing. Isaiah, however, is the one with motive—enough money and he could get back to his ranch. Each holds a piece of the truth, but exposing the thief could damn them all. They must navigate through the lies they’ve told, choose between standing together or saving themselves, and decide if innocence is worth facing their ugliest secrets.

For readers of Kasie West and Jenny Han.

 

 

 Amazon * B & N * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

   

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

Ah, well... the setting was inspired by an Alaskan cruise I went on, and the theme - three sides to every story - came from some interpersonal relations I witnessed. Everyone so clearly has their version of events in mind, and it can be so very true from that angle, yet if you look carefully from another angle, you can also see how another truth layers beneath it.


 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

Everything! When I saw it, the love was instantaneous :) But I guess if I had to pick, it would be how Robin did the water. Not exactly literal, but so very cool.

 

 

YABC:  What was your favorite book in 2018?

Maggie Steifvater's All the Crooked Saints! Oh, but that's right, I write contemporary ;) In that vein, my favorite was


 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

My second young adult contemporary novel, Perfection and Other Illusive Things, will be out in 2020, so I'm working on polishing that up along with drafting some new things.


 

 

YABC:  Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

There's a scene with Navy and her mother, and then one with Isaiah and his grandma. I went over them both multiple times, because I wanted it to feel as authentic as possible - not melodramatic and not too stoic.


 

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

That depends on what's happening in life and the state of my head... drafting is (usually) exhilarating, which would always win, but I do tend to need less clutter in my life for it to go smoothly. If a lot of other things are happening, revising is my go-to muscle of choice. It is easier to do in smaller bits and while half-distracted by the day job. And yes, of course, sometimes you have to write in less than ideal circumstances, but if I'm trying to be most efficient, these are the guidelines I use to inform what I work on.


 

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

Organization! It comes fairly easy to me, and it's almost fun.


 

 

YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

We Need Diverse Books! And diverse agents and editors. Also, water missions :)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Triplicity

By: J Mercer

Publisher: Bare Ink

Release Date: January 6th, 2019

 

 

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

  

Two winners will receive a signed copy of Triplicity (J Mercer) ~ US Only

 

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ January 7th, 2019
Featured Review: Dungeons & Dragons: Escape the Un...

Related Posts

 

Comments 7

Already Registered? Login Here
Debra Branigan on Tuesday, 08 January 2019 12:31

The cover fits perfectly and the storyline is intriguing. Would like to read this one.

0
The cover fits perfectly and the storyline is intriguing. Would like to read this one.
Christy DuBois on Wednesday, 09 January 2019 01:39

I like that the synopsis gives me enough information to be interested in reading this book yet doesn't give anything away. It sounds really interesting to me. The cover suits the synopsis in my opinion. So many times it doesn't however that is a matter of opinion to me.

0
I like that the synopsis gives me enough information to be interested in reading this book yet doesn't give anything away. It sounds really interesting to me. The cover suits the synopsis in my opinion. So many times it doesn't however that is a matter of opinion to me.
Jayda on Saturday, 12 January 2019 18:59

The cover is so simple yet unique, and the story sounds amazing.

0
The cover is so simple yet unique, and the story sounds amazing.
Penny Olson on Sunday, 27 January 2019 18:44

This sounds like an intriguing mystery on the seas. The cover fits well with the synopsis.

0
This sounds like an intriguing mystery on the seas. The cover fits well with the synopsis.
Danielle Hammelef on Monday, 28 January 2019 12:31

The cover is okay. The setting and premise sound exciting!

0
The cover is okay. The setting and premise sound exciting!
Hann Remraf on Tuesday, 29 January 2019 04:24

I love the cover! It is simple and it gives small but interesting clues about the novel itself

0
I love the cover! It is simple and it gives small but interesting clues about the novel itself
Dan Denman on Sunday, 03 February 2019 13:04

I like the book cover design. This sounds like a mysterious adventure.

0
I like the book cover design. This sounds like a mysterious adventure.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Shatter City
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When the world sees Frey, they think they see her...
If You Miss Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A healing story of loss and love, this beautiful picture...
Learning about the Garden with Sleeping Beauty (Fairytale Encyclopedia)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Roses were very dangerous for Sleeping Beauty―that everybody knows. But...
Squirrel Do Bad (Trubble Town, #4)
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of the “Pearls Before Swine” comic strip...
Playing the Cards You'reDealt
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ten-year-old Anthony Joplin has made it to double digits! Which...
Discovering the Underground with Snow White (Fairytale Encyclopedia)
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
There are not only dwarves in the underground. This hidden...
Rock by Rock: The Fantastical Garden of Nek Chand
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This luminous picture book tells the fascinating true story of...
Bisa's Carnaval
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the sights and sounds of Brazil through the eyes...
Redemptor (Raybearer, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The highly anticipated sequel to Raybearer, the instant New York...
Dark and Shallow Lies
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A teen girl disappears from her small town deep in...
Imposters
 
4.0
 
5.0 (1)
Frey and Rafi are inseparable . . . but very...
Better Than the Movies
 
4.7
 
5.0 (1)
Liz Buxbaum has always known that Wes Bennett was not...
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Meet the ten remarkable kings, queens, inventors, scholars, and visionaries...
Count to LOVE! (A Bright Brown Baby Board Book)
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Cuddle up with your little one and get ready to...
The Mystery of the Meanest Teacher: A Johnny Constantine Graphic Novel
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
THE MYSTERY OF THE MEANEST TEACHER: A JOHNNY CONSTANTINE GRAPHIC...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A shocking thriller about a group of friends who go...

Latest Member Reviews

The Woodlander: The Arrival of Fate
 
4.0
"Leo is set to become the new Woodlander and when she learns that magical creatures exist, her entire world changes..."
Shatter City
 
4.0
"SHATTER CITY by Scott Westerfeld is the second book in the IMPOSTERS series. It begins with Frey stuck inside Shreve..."
If You Miss Me
 
5.0
"IF YOU MISS ME is a beautiful picture book about loss, love, and grief. Charlie loves to dance, and she..."
Learning about the Garden with Sleeping Beauty (Fairytale Encyclopedia)
 
4.7
"LEARNING ABOUT THE GARDEN WITH SLEEPING BEAUTY is an intriguing combination of fairy tale and nonfiction facts about gardens. On..."
Squirrel Do Bad (Trubble Town, #4)
 
3.0
"SQUIRREL DO BAD is an entertaining graphic novel about the consequences of small actions. The book begins with Wendy the..."
Cold-Blooded Myrtle (Myrtle Hardcastle #3)
 
4.0
"Myrtle's small English village is like many who seem to suffer from far too many murders, especially for the late..."
Playing the Cards You'reDealt
 
5.0
"Anthony "Ant" Joplin is in his last year of elementary school (where his aunt is principal-- not at all awkward!),..."
Discovering the Underground with Snow White (Fairytale Encyclopedia)
 
3.7
"DISCOVERING THE UNDERGROUND WITH SNOW WHITE contains the fairy tale of Snow White along with fold open pages that detail..."
Rock by Rock: The Fantastical Garden of Nek Chand
 
4.0
"After the separation of Pakistan from India, Nek Chand moved from Pakistan to India. Even though he left, he missed..."
Bisa's Carnaval
 
5.0
"BISA'S CARNAVAL is a colorful and delightful celebration of Carnaval and family. Bisa loves Carnaval and is happy to show..."
Redemptor (Raybearer, #2)
 
5.0
"REDEMPTOR is a stunning conclusion to an atmospheric and imaginative YA fantasy duology. Picking up where the first book left..."
Dark and Shallow Lies
 
5.0
"What I Loved: Dark and Shallow Waters is raw and utterly compelling as Grey returns to her second home in..."
Imposters
 
5.0
S Santana
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
Our Way Back to Always
 
5.0
S Santana
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
Count to LOVE! (A Bright Brown Baby Board Book)
 
5.0
S Santana
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
5.0
S Santana
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
Better Than the Movies
 
5.0
S Santana
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
Imposters
 
4.0
"IMPOSTERS by Scott Westerfeld is a YA dystopian novel, set in the future after many different and unique time periods..."
Breeder
 
4.0
"BREEDER by Honni van Rijswijk is a YA Dystopian, Post-Apocalyptic novel in which natural disasters and war have killed off..."
Better Than the Movies
 
4.7
"BETTER THAN THE MOVIES by Lynn Painter is just about the cutest YA Rom-Com to ever exist. The story follows..."