Author Chat with J Mercer (Triplicity), Plus Giveaway!

Author Chat with J Mercer (Triplicity), Plus Giveaway!

 Today we're excited to chat with J Mercer author of Triplicity.

 Read on for more about J Mercer and her, an interview, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet J Mercer!

J Mercer grew up in Wisconsin where she walked home from school with her head in a book, filled notebooks with stories in junior high, then went to UW Madison for accounting and psychology only to open a dog daycare. She wishes she were an expert linguist, is pretty much a professional with regards to competitive dance hair (bunhawk, anyone?), and enjoys exploring with her husband—though as much as she loves to travel, she’s also an accomplished hermit. Perfect days include cancelled plans, rain, and endless hours to do with what she pleases.

For updates and news, you can find her on Facebook, but she’s more often on Instagram, talking about what she’s reading and other bookish things. Go there for book recommendations, reading-inspired writing tips, or even to read along.

 

 

Website * Facebook * Instagram

 

 

 

 

 

Meet Triplicity!

One week on an Alaskan cruise, three teens, and an endless trail of lies.

Enter a series of thefts on board and they all fall under scrutiny. Though Navy acts a proper preacher’s daughter, she did end up with someone else’s purse in her hands, and Jesse knows way more than he should about what’s gone missing. Isaiah, however, is the one with motive—enough money and he could get back to his ranch. Each holds a piece of the truth, but exposing the thief could damn them all. They must navigate through the lies they’ve told, choose between standing together or saving themselves, and decide if innocence is worth facing their ugliest secrets.

For readers of Kasie West and Jenny Han.

 

 

 Amazon * B & N * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

   

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

Ah, well... the setting was inspired by an Alaskan cruise I went on, and the theme - three sides to every story - came from some interpersonal relations I witnessed. Everyone so clearly has their version of events in mind, and it can be so very true from that angle, yet if you look carefully from another angle, you can also see how another truth layers beneath it.


 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

Everything! When I saw it, the love was instantaneous :) But I guess if I had to pick, it would be how Robin did the water. Not exactly literal, but so very cool.

 

 

YABC:  What was your favorite book in 2018?

Maggie Steifvater's All the Crooked Saints! Oh, but that's right, I write contemporary ;) In that vein, my favorite was


 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

My second young adult contemporary novel, Perfection and Other Illusive Things, will be out in 2020, so I'm working on polishing that up along with drafting some new things.


 

 

YABC:  Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate?

There's a scene with Navy and her mother, and then one with Isaiah and his grandma. I went over them both multiple times, because I wanted it to feel as authentic as possible - not melodramatic and not too stoic.


 

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

That depends on what's happening in life and the state of my head... drafting is (usually) exhilarating, which would always win, but I do tend to need less clutter in my life for it to go smoothly. If a lot of other things are happening, revising is my go-to muscle of choice. It is easier to do in smaller bits and while half-distracted by the day job. And yes, of course, sometimes you have to write in less than ideal circumstances, but if I'm trying to be most efficient, these are the guidelines I use to inform what I work on.


 

 

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

Organization! It comes fairly easy to me, and it's almost fun.


 

 

YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

We Need Diverse Books! And diverse agents and editors. Also, water missions :)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Triplicity

By: J Mercer

Publisher: Bare Ink

Release Date: January 6th, 2019

 

 

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

  

Two winners will receive a signed copy of Triplicity (J Mercer) ~ US Only

 

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ January 7th, 2019
Featured Review: Dungeons & Dragons: Escape the Un...

Related Posts

 

Comments 7

Already Registered? Login Here
Debra Branigan on Tuesday, 08 January 2019 12:31

The cover fits perfectly and the storyline is intriguing. Would like to read this one.

0
The cover fits perfectly and the storyline is intriguing. Would like to read this one.
Christy DuBois on Wednesday, 09 January 2019 01:39

I like that the synopsis gives me enough information to be interested in reading this book yet doesn't give anything away. It sounds really interesting to me. The cover suits the synopsis in my opinion. So many times it doesn't however that is a matter of opinion to me.

0
I like that the synopsis gives me enough information to be interested in reading this book yet doesn't give anything away. It sounds really interesting to me. The cover suits the synopsis in my opinion. So many times it doesn't however that is a matter of opinion to me.
Jayda on Saturday, 12 January 2019 18:59

The cover is so simple yet unique, and the story sounds amazing.

0
The cover is so simple yet unique, and the story sounds amazing.
Penny Olson on Sunday, 27 January 2019 18:44

This sounds like an intriguing mystery on the seas. The cover fits well with the synopsis.

0
This sounds like an intriguing mystery on the seas. The cover fits well with the synopsis.
Danielle Hammelef on Monday, 28 January 2019 12:31

The cover is okay. The setting and premise sound exciting!

0
The cover is okay. The setting and premise sound exciting!
Hann Remraf on Tuesday, 29 January 2019 04:24

I love the cover! It is simple and it gives small but interesting clues about the novel itself

0
I love the cover! It is simple and it gives small but interesting clues about the novel itself
Dan Denman on Sunday, 03 February 2019 13:04

I like the book cover design. This sounds like a mysterious adventure.

0
I like the book cover design. This sounds like a mysterious adventure.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Fowl Twins (The Fowl Twins, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One week after their eleventh birthday, the Fowl twins--scientist Myles,...
Kai and the Monkey King (Brownstone's Mythical Collection, #3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Kai grows tired of her bookish mum not being...
Astro Kittens: Cosmic Machines (Astro Kittens)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Greetings, my little Astro Kittens! Are you ready to take...
Astro Kittens: Into the Unknown (Astro Kittens)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Greetings, my little Astro Kittens! Are you ready to take...
All the Things We Do in the Dark
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Sadie meets Girl in Pieces in this dark, emotional thriller...
The Rubicus Prophecy (The Witches of Orkney, #2)
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Abigail has just started her second year at the Tarkana...
Fancy Nancy: Camp Fancy
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Based on the Disney Junior TV show and inspired by...
Rules for Vanishing
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the faux-documentary style of The Blair Witch Project comes...
What Makes Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A viral video reveals a teen’s dark family history, leaving...
Harry Potter Origami
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ever wanted to fold your own Chocolate Frogs? Or play...
By Any Means Necessary
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Heart-wrenchingly honest, fans of Brandy Colbert and Nicola Yoon will...
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Annie and Lee were just children when a brutal revolution...
Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 2001, audiences first met and fell in love with...
On the Come Up
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Bri wants to be one of the greatest rappers...
Spin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Paris Secord's (aka DJ ParSec) career--and life--has come to...
Leah on the Offbeat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leah Burke—girl-band drummer, master of deadpan, and Simon Spier’s best...

Latest Member Reviews

Adaptive
 
4.8
"The story: Lune Avery has survived the Elite Trials and escaped the clutches of her tyrant father,..."
Forgiven Are the Starry-Eyed
 
5.0
"The story: Sheltered high school junior Andrea Cavanaugh believes she hits the jackpot when Josh McMillan, a..."
The Fowl Twins (The Fowl Twins, #1)
 
5.0
"Witty, clever, and full of mischief, THE FOWL TWINS is a spin-off of ARTEMIS FOWL that easily stands on its..."
Kai and the Monkey King (Brownstone's Mythical Collection, #3)
 
5.0
"KAI AND THE MONKEY KING is an engaging and thrilling installment in the Brownstone's Mythical Collection series. In this book,..."
 
4.8
"This darker and grittier sequel of Issaura's Claws, steers readers on a journey outside the kingdom of Elysia into the..."
Astro Kittens: Cosmic Machines (Astro Kittens)
 
5.0
"An excellent read for children who love machines and/or space, ASTRO KITTENS: INTO THE UNKNOWN takes preschoolers for an unforgettable..."
Astro Kittens: Into the Unknown (Astro Kittens)
 
4.7
"Wish you could teach your toddler about outer space and the basis for science-fiction? If so- or you just love..."
All the Things We Do in the Dark
 
4.3
"ALL THE THINGS WE DO IN THE DARK is an intensely challenging and thought-provoking read with some magical realism elements...."
The Rubicus Prophecy (The Witches of Orkney, #2)
 
3.5
"THE RUBICUS PROPHECY is an engaging second book in the WITCHES OF ORKNEY series that follows the same friends on..."
Rules for Vanishing
 
5.0
"RULES FOR VANISHING is a deliciously haunting YA horror perfect for Halloween. Told through collected documents, interviews, and texts, this..."
What Makes Us
 
5.0
"WHAT MAKES US is an intriguing story that follows a teenaged boy, his mother (in the past), and his friend..."
Serpent & Dove
 
5.0
"Lou is on the run from her family and she lives a thieving life with her friend Coco. Both of..."
Fancy Nancy: Camp Fancy
 
5.0
"When Dad tells Nancy stories about when he and Mom used to go camping, Nancy knows it's something she has..."
Harry Potter Origami
 
4.0
"Scholastic Inc brings origami and Harry Potter together in this book with fifteen foldable crafts! Each one has a different..."
By Any Means Necessary
 
3.7
"BY ANY MEANS NECESSARY is an engaging contemporary YA that presents some issues very well. The writing is in a..."
On the Come Up
 
5.0
"ON THE COME UP is a fantastic new YA contemporary that handles big issues like racism and sexism. The characters..."
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
3.3
"FIREBORNE is a new YA fantasy that follows two teens, Lee and Anna (Antigone) in alternating points-of-view. Lee and Anna..."
Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel
 
4.0
"As Middle Grade graphic novel adaptations go, this urban fantasy is above par. The artwork has a bit..."
Into the Crooked Place (Into the Crooked Place, #1)
 
4.0
"INTO THE CROOKED PLACE is an engaging YA fantasy that follows five characters on a quest of aligned goals- even..."
To Kill a Kingdom
 
5.0
"TO KILL A KINGDOM is a wonderful YA fantasy about a siren and a pirate. Told in alternating points of..."