Author Chat with Francesca Zappia (Now Entering Addamsville), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

43453737._SY475_

 Today we're excited to chat with Francesca Zappia, author of

Now Entering Addamsville.

 Read on for more about Francesca and her book, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet Francesca Zappia!

Francesca Zappia lives in central Indiana and is the author of Made You Up and the acclaimed Eliza and Her Monsters. When Francesca is not writing, she’s drawing her characters, reading, or playing video games. She also blogs about writing at www.francescazappia.com [francescazappia.com].


 

 WebsiteFacebook * Twitter 

 


 

 

Meet Now Entering Addamsville!

When Zora Novak is framed for a crime she didn’t commit, she must track down the true culprit and clear her name before it’s too late. But in a small town obsessed with ghosts, getting people to believe the truth might prove to be impossible.

Stranger Things meets Buffy the Vampire Slayer in this eerie murder mystery. “A darkly humorous, rapid-fire read in which the living are sometimes scarier than the dead.”—Kirkus

When someone burns down the home of the school janitor and he dies in the blaze, everyone in Addamsville, Indiana, points a finger at Zora. Never mind that Zora has been on the straight and narrow since her father was thrown in jail. With everyone looking for evidence against her, her only choice is to uncover the identity of the real killer.

There’s one big problem—Zora has no leads. No one does. Addamsville has a history of tragedy, and thirty years ago a similar string of fires left several townspeople dead. The arsonist was never caught.

Now, Zora must team up with her cousin Artemis—an annoying self-proclaimed Addamsville historian—to clear her name. But with a popular ghost-hunting television show riling up the townspeople, almost no support from her family and friends, and rumors spinning out of control, things aren’t looking good. Zora will have to read between the lines of Addamsville’s ghost stories before she becomes one herself.

Acclaimed author Francesca Zappia has a perfectly pitched teen voice that shines in this inventive novel. Now Entering Addamvsille is perfect for fans of Brittany Cavallaro, Victoria Schwab, and The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina.

 

Amazon * B & NIndiebound

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

        

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

Part was ghost hunting TV shows, part was my love of horror and the paranormal, and part was Indiana itself. I’ve lived in Indiana my whole life, and to me it was never defined by basketball or racing. Indiana is creepy cornfields and humid summer afternoons when everything goes still in the advent of a thunderstorm. Indiana to me was always one giant ghost story.

 

 

YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

Zora, bar none. Zora is everything I love in a main character: she’s trying to do the right thing, struggling against her hurts and fears, is unapologetic about who she is, deeply loves her family and friends despite the shields she puts up to hide her emotions, and above all is absolutely vicious when she needs to be.

 

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

The novel! Originally, the titles were more focused on Zora’s role in the story, but eventually I realized this book was about all of Addamsville and the people who live there.

 

 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

The very last scene of the book. Obviously I can’t say what happens, but it was the one thing that I knew I wanted to have in the book, and I’m very happy I got to keep it. (Also: Sorry, readers.)

 

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

Another writer may have a similar idea, but they’ll never have my voice. 

 

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

Do I have to pick just one thing?? It’s probably the color. I love that it looks like the house is on fire, but there’s yellow and pink and purple and blue and green and red and black—it’s evil Lisa Frank.

 

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2019?

It’s a 2019 book, but it’s actually already out—Mindy McGinnis’s HEROINE. (And it was amazing.)

 

 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

SO MANY THINGS. I honestly have so many things I want to write I don’t know where to start. I love science fantasy and I have so many stories in that genre that I’d love to get out there, but I also have a few contemporary ideas, some Lovecraftian horror—SO MANY THINGS.

 

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

When I’m drafting I say revising, when I’m revising I say drafting. There are pros and cons to both. Drafting is so much fun because I finally get to write my ideas out, and there are a lot of surprises that come out and lots of character traits or plot beats that come about in the literal middle of sentences. But revising is great too because you get to refine all those raw ideas, and come out with something polished and beautiful!

 


 

 

 

Now Entering Addamsville

By: Francesca Zappia

Release Date: October 1st, 2019

 Publisher: Greenwillow Books/Harpercollins

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

Two winners will receive a copy of Now Entering Addamsville (Francesca Zappia) ~ (US Only)

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

 

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Featured Review: Adaptive (Becky Moynihan)
Waiting On Wednesday ~ September 24th, 2019

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Handpicked by Amazon kids’ books editor, Seira Wilson, for Prime...
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Gray Malin’s menagerie of wild animals for a stay...
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Hattie the magician―she’s a natural performer, and you’re invited...
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When spring arrives, baby animals come out to play with...
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The delightful follow-up to When Dimple Met Rishi and There’s...
The Child of Chaos
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is what fantasy fiction should be." --Piers Anthony, New...
Want to Read Rate this book 1 of 5 stars2 of 5 stars3 of 5 stars4 of 5 stars5 of 5 stars Preview Star-Spangled: The Story of a Flag, a Battle, and the American Anthem
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
“O say can you see” begins one of the most...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
July 20, 1969. It’s a day that has earned a...
Thurgood Marshall
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Thurgood Marshall—the great grandson of a slave—was born, African...
Down Under the Pier
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
There’s lots of fun to be had up on the...
Lali's Feather
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This endearing story of identification and values shows the rewards...

Latest Member Reviews

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Star-Spangled: The Story of a Flag, a Battle, and the American Anthem
 
4.3
"The War of 1812 isn't one that really captures the imagination of young readers like the Revolutionary or Civil War..."
 
4.0
"NASA and the US space program are a direct result of the increases in aeronautical technology due to World War..."
Thurgood Marshall
 
5.0
"Born in 1908, Thurgood Marshall experienced an array of institutionalized racial injustices in his New York and Baltimore homes, even..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."