Author Chat with Francesca Zappia (Now Entering Addamsville), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

43453737._SY475_

 Today we're excited to chat with Francesca Zappia, author of

Now Entering Addamsville.

 Read on for more about Francesca and her book, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet Francesca Zappia!

Francesca Zappia lives in central Indiana and is the author of Made You Up and the acclaimed Eliza and Her Monsters. When Francesca is not writing, she’s drawing her characters, reading, or playing video games. She also blogs about writing at www.francescazappia.com [francescazappia.com].


 

 WebsiteFacebook * Twitter 

 


 

 

Meet Now Entering Addamsville!

When Zora Novak is framed for a crime she didn’t commit, she must track down the true culprit and clear her name before it’s too late. But in a small town obsessed with ghosts, getting people to believe the truth might prove to be impossible.

Stranger Things meets Buffy the Vampire Slayer in this eerie murder mystery. “A darkly humorous, rapid-fire read in which the living are sometimes scarier than the dead.”—Kirkus

When someone burns down the home of the school janitor and he dies in the blaze, everyone in Addamsville, Indiana, points a finger at Zora. Never mind that Zora has been on the straight and narrow since her father was thrown in jail. With everyone looking for evidence against her, her only choice is to uncover the identity of the real killer.

There’s one big problem—Zora has no leads. No one does. Addamsville has a history of tragedy, and thirty years ago a similar string of fires left several townspeople dead. The arsonist was never caught.

Now, Zora must team up with her cousin Artemis—an annoying self-proclaimed Addamsville historian—to clear her name. But with a popular ghost-hunting television show riling up the townspeople, almost no support from her family and friends, and rumors spinning out of control, things aren’t looking good. Zora will have to read between the lines of Addamsville’s ghost stories before she becomes one herself.

Acclaimed author Francesca Zappia has a perfectly pitched teen voice that shines in this inventive novel. Now Entering Addamvsille is perfect for fans of Brittany Cavallaro, Victoria Schwab, and The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina.

 

Amazon * B & NIndiebound

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

        

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

Part was ghost hunting TV shows, part was my love of horror and the paranormal, and part was Indiana itself. I’ve lived in Indiana my whole life, and to me it was never defined by basketball or racing. Indiana is creepy cornfields and humid summer afternoons when everything goes still in the advent of a thunderstorm. Indiana to me was always one giant ghost story.

 

 

YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

Zora, bar none. Zora is everything I love in a main character: she’s trying to do the right thing, struggling against her hurts and fears, is unapologetic about who she is, deeply loves her family and friends despite the shields she puts up to hide her emotions, and above all is absolutely vicious when she needs to be.

 

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

The novel! Originally, the titles were more focused on Zora’s role in the story, but eventually I realized this book was about all of Addamsville and the people who live there.

 

 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

The very last scene of the book. Obviously I can’t say what happens, but it was the one thing that I knew I wanted to have in the book, and I’m very happy I got to keep it. (Also: Sorry, readers.)

 

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

Another writer may have a similar idea, but they’ll never have my voice. 

 

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

Do I have to pick just one thing?? It’s probably the color. I love that it looks like the house is on fire, but there’s yellow and pink and purple and blue and green and red and black—it’s evil Lisa Frank.

 

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2019?

It’s a 2019 book, but it’s actually already out—Mindy McGinnis’s HEROINE. (And it was amazing.)

 

 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

SO MANY THINGS. I honestly have so many things I want to write I don’t know where to start. I love science fantasy and I have so many stories in that genre that I’d love to get out there, but I also have a few contemporary ideas, some Lovecraftian horror—SO MANY THINGS.

 

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

When I’m drafting I say revising, when I’m revising I say drafting. There are pros and cons to both. Drafting is so much fun because I finally get to write my ideas out, and there are a lot of surprises that come out and lots of character traits or plot beats that come about in the literal middle of sentences. But revising is great too because you get to refine all those raw ideas, and come out with something polished and beautiful!

 


 

 

 

Now Entering Addamsville

By: Francesca Zappia

Release Date: October 1st, 2019

 Publisher: Greenwillow Books/Harpercollins

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

Two winners will receive a copy of Now Entering Addamsville (Francesca Zappia) ~ (US Only)

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

 

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Featured Review: Adaptive (Becky Moynihan)
Waiting On Wednesday ~ September 24th, 2019

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Rosenhart Book I 'The Sight'
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"Be the Legend, Join the Quest" The Rosenhart...
Fabric of a Generation
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For one teen, life's greatest adventure isn't time travel but...
Close Calls: How Eleven US Presidents Escaped from the Brink of Death
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Historians tell the stories of tragic and untimely presidential deaths,...
Imber (Book One of The Thanatos Trilogy)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The locks are failing. The...
Awesome Dog 5000 (#1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Marty, Ralph, and Skyler might make the ultimate secret combo...
Althea Gibson: The Story of Tennis' Fleet-of-Foot Girl
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Althea Gibson was the quickest, tallest, most fearless athlete in...
The Big Game
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Danny Owens is dedicating his seventh-grade season to his Super...
Race to the Sun
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lately, seventh grader Nizhoni Begay has been able to detect...
Suffragette: The Battle for Equality
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Imprisonment, hunger strikes, suffrajitsu — the decades-long fight for women’s...
Catherine's War
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A magnificent narrative inspired by a true survival story that...
Dangerous Alliance
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lady Victoria Aston has everything she could want: an older...
Dugout: The Zombie Steals Home
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twins Stacy and Gina Cavallaro are on rival little league...
The Fountains of Silence
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Madrid, 1957. Under the fascist dictatorship of General Francisco...
Dinosnores (Boynton on Board)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Honk SHOOOOOO! Honk SHOOOOOO! . . .” ...
Good Day, Good Night
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now in a sturdy board book format, perfect for little...
TBH, This May Be TMI (TBH, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Told entirely in text messages, the second book in this...

Latest Member Reviews

The Okay Witch
 
4.0
"Moth lives in Founder's Bluff on the east coast, and her town has an annual celebration that celebrations the founders,..."
Cub
Cub
 
5.0
"Cindy finds that middle school in the early 1970s is fairly stressful-- all the cool girls are wearing elephant bells..."
The Ghost in Apartment 2R
 
5.0
"Danny's family lives in a two bedroom apartment in Brooklyn. The family has struggled financially, with his filmmaker father doing..."
The Babysitters Coven
 
3.3
"What worked: This is a quirky, humorous at times paranormal novel where a babysitter's club is really a code name..."
Close Calls: How Eleven US Presidents Escaped from the Brink of Death
 
5.0
"There was a recent Jeopardy! champion who apparently got himself up to speed on many areas of knowledge by reading..."
Roll With It
 
5.0
"Ellie and her mother live in Nashville; her father left when she was young and has another family. Ellie loves..."
From the Desk of Zoe Washington
 
4.0
"Zoe lives in Boston with her mother and stepfather. Her best friend, Trevor, lives next door, but as summer starts,..."
Race to the Sun
 
5.0
"Nizhoni Begay struggles a bit. She manages to embarrass herself on the basketball court, watches out for her younger brother..."
That's What Friends Do
 
4.0
"Sammie and David have been good friends ever since the girls in her class started avoiding Sammie because she didn't..."
Catherine's War
 
5.0
"Catherine is living at the Sèvres Children's Home since both of her parents were taken. It has a progessive school,..."
Speed Demon
 
5.0
"Tim has recently moved to town and is starting ninth grade at Hilton Prep. During gym class one day, his..."
Dangerous Alliance
 
4.0
"Lady Victoria 'Vicky' Aston has a good life. Her older sister is married to a charming Viscount; her family estate..."
Dugout: The Zombie Steals Home
 
4.0
"Gina and Stacy are twins who play for rival baseball teams. This flows off the field into intense and sometimes..."
Dinosnores (Boynton on Board)
 
5.0
"DINOSNORES is another absolutely charming and delightfully ridiculous board book from Sandra Boynton. Here, the dinosaurs get ready for bed,..."
Good Day, Good Night
 
4.0
"GOOD DAY, GOOD NIGHT follows a bunny on his journey from sun-up to sunset, as he travels around town, plays..."
TBH, This May Be TMI (TBH, #2)
 
4.0
"TBH, THIS MAY BE TMI is the second in a contemporary middle grade series, though it can easily function as..."
I've Loved You Since Forever
 
5.0
"This gorgeous board book celebrates the parent-child bond in an absolutely stunning way. I'VE LOVED YOU SINCE FOREVER suggests that..."
My Baby Loves Christmas
 
5.0
"Babies and toddlers will love the colorful celebration of Christmas in this delightful board book. MY BABY LOVES CHRISTMAS is..."
Riverland
 
4.0
"RIVERLAND is a riveting and complex middle grade magical realism novel. Eleanor and her sister, Mike (nickname, everyone except their..."
All You Need Is a Pencil: The Totally Sick Sick-Day Activity Book
 
5.0
"THE TOTALLY SICK SICK-DAY ACTIVITY BOOK is exactly what the title describes. There are crossword puzzles, places to doodle, word..."