Author Chat with Ethan Aldridge (Estranged #2: The Changeling King), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

41212409._SY475_

 Today we're excited to chat with Ethan Aldridge, author of

Estranged #2: The Changeling King.

 Read on for more about Ethan and his book, plus an giveaway! 

 

   

 

 

Meet Ethan Aldridge !

Ethan Aldridge is a New York Times bestselling illustrator and author living in New York City. He is the creator of ESTRANGED, an urban fantasy graphic novel (HarperCollins 2018).

Ethan was born in Fayetteville, Arkansas and raised in a (very) small town in Utah, where his parents read him books about dragons and ghosts. Growing up, Ethan’s favorite things to draw were monsters and whatever dinosaur took his fancy that week. He now does more or less the same thing for a living.

Ethan has had the pleasure to create work for HarperCollins Publishers, Penguin Random House, and Electronic Arts Games, among others.

 

 Website * Instagram * Twitter 

 


 

 

Meet Estranged #2: The Changeling King!

Enter a world of faerie magic and epic adventure in this spellbinding sequel to Estranged—a rich fantasy graphic novel perfect for fans of Amulet.

After years of pretending to be human, the changeling Edmund Carter has assumed his rightful role as Cinder, king of the World Below. But not everyone at the royal palace is happy about his return.

Meanwhile, Ed is adjusting to human life in the World Above. His birth family treats him with a kindness he never knew growing up in the Fay court, but Ed misses the sense of purpose he had as a knight.

When a mysterious new threat emerges in the World Below, Cinder must call on Ed and their older sister, Alexis, for help. But nothing can prepare them for the family secret that awaits at the end of their perilous quest.

With over two hundred pages of gorgeous watercolor paintings, The Changeling King invites readers on an epic journey through a magical world—one they will not soon forget.

 

 

Amazon * B & NIndiebound

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

 YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

Much of the inspiration for the   Estranged books come from my love of fairy tales and folklore. Those stories are old, and I'm endlessly interested in what they still have to say about ourselves and our society now. In particular, folk stories about changelings seemed to be a way of trying to explain why some children feel different and outside of normal society. I wanted to write a story exploring that.

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

Coming up with titles is easily one of the hardest parts of the process for me. I had the entire first book written before I settled on a title (It was just called "Changeling Story" in my notebooks).   The Changeling King was much easier to title, mostly because my husband is the one who suggested it.

 

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

I learned just how important it is to really, fully believe in what your characters are feeling. It's important to get inside of their heads and really think about what they hope for, what they're afraid of, what makes them happy, what makes them sad. That way, all you have to do is introduce them to some kind of conflict, have them react how you know they would, and   voila, you have a story.

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2019?

There are so many good ones! I recently loved  The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern, which comes out in November. I'm also excited to read   Mooncakes by Suzanne Walker and Wendy Xu, Witchy by Ariel Ries, and Angel Mage by Garth Nix.

 

YABC:  What was your favorite book in 2018?

It's so hard to pick a favorite! One that I had a lot of fun reading and tell everyone about is   Thisby Thestoop and the Black Mountain by Zac Gorman and Sam Bosma. It has fun monsters, hilarious writing, and a great friendship between a dungeon keeper and a stressed-out princess.

 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

I've got several more graphic novels in the works! Some are silly, and some are a little more scary, and I'll probably find a way to put dragons or trolls in all of them.

 

YABC:  Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Ed, formerly known as the Childe, gave me some difficulty when writing   The Changeling King. He's in a place of transition in the story, and he doesn't know where he wants to go or what he should be. I've been there in real life, and I still feel like I don't know the answers sometimes, so it was hard to try and explore those answers for him.

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Definitely revising. I enjoy writing the first draft a lot, but the second draft is where you start arranging all the puzzle pieces, until you get something more story-shaped. It's a very satisfying feeling.

 

YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

The public library system! I spend so much time there. I've written nearly all of my current project at the Brooklyn Central Library. The public library as an institution is more important to society than ever, with community building, information access, and important resources. They need every bit of support they can get. 

 

 

 

 

 

 The Changeling King

By: Ethan Aldridge

Release Date: October 1st, 2019

 Publisher: Harpercollins

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

One winner will receive a copy of Estranged #1 & #2 (Ethan Aldridge) ~ (US Only)

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

 

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Featured Review: The Reader (MK Harkins)
Author Chat with PC Cast & Kristin Cast (Forgotten...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
"Like most other people, I grew up devouring Hans Christian Andersen’s stories. His fairy tales are the first stories I..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
1789: Twelve Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, & Change
 
4.0
"What worked: Fascination collection of essays that show the impact of the year 1789 in the world.In this anthology, twelve..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"
Feast of Peas
 
4.0
"'Feast of Peas' by Kashmira Sheth, illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler, is a cute story that captures how something might be..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."