Author Chat with Erica Waters (Ghost Wood Song), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

ghost

 Today we're excited to chat with Erica Waters author of

Ghost Wood Song.

Read on for more about Erica and her book, plus a giveaway!

 

 

 

Meet Erica Waters!

Erica Waters grew up in the pine woods of rural Florida, though she now resides in Nashville, TN. When she’s not playing bluegrass on her banjo, she can be found teaching writing courses at Belmont University. Ghost Wood Song is her first book, and you can visit her online at www.ericawaters.com.

 

 Website * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

 

Meet Ghost Wood Song!

Sawkill Girls meets Beautiful Creatures in this lush and eerie debut, where the boundary between reality and nightmares is as thin as the veil between the living and the dead. 

If I could have a fiddle made of Daddy’s bones, I’d play it. I’d learn all the secrets he kept.

Shady Grove inherited her father’s ability to call ghosts from the grave with his fiddle, but she also knows the fiddle’s tunes bring nothing but trouble and darkness.

But when her brother is accused of murder, she can’t let the dead keep their secrets.

In order to clear his name, she’s going to have to make those ghosts sing.

Family secrets, a gorgeously resonant LGBTQ love triangle, and just the right amount of creepiness make this young adult debut a haunting and hopeful story about facing everything that haunts us in the dark.

 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

      YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

Inspiration for GHOST WOOD SONG came from several places—my grief after losing my dad, memories of growing up in a haunted house, and a whole lot of bluegrass music. But here's how I got the idea for the ghost-raising fiddle: One day, I was upstairs writing in my attic office when I heard someone playing a banjo. We have a few banjos in our house, but I was the only one home. When I went downstairs, the music stopped. So that got me to thinking about a connection between ghosts and bluegrass instruments, and Shady’s ghost-raising fiddle was born!

     

 

YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

My favorite character to write was Orlando, Shady’s friend and bandmate. He’s a budding entomologist, a peacemaker, and a joker. I always felt happy when Orlando was in a scene. I find myself thinking about him a lot, wondering what he might be up to after the end of GHOST WOOD SONG.

     

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

Definitely the novel! I tried a few different (not so great) titles before landing on GHOST WOOD SONG, with my literary agent’s help. 

     

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

What I didn’t know back then is how much of a community effort a book is. Sure, the writer comes up with the idea and writes it, but there are so many other people who touch a book— critique partners, beta readers, literary agents, editors, copyeditors, proofreaders, and everyone else involved in the book’s production. If you want a book to be successful, you have to welcome those people in and let them have some ownership of the book too. Even though your books feel like a part of you, you can’t cling too tightly to them or else they’ll never make it—and you won’t either. My critique partners, agent, and editor have shaped my work so much and made me a much better writer. I’m endlessly grateful for them.

     

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

I love how the cover perfectly echoes the mood, setting, and themes of the book. What you see on the outside is what you get on the inside. Like the cover, GHOST WOOD SONG is spooky, Southern, and filled with Florida critters.

     

 

YABC:  What’s on your TBR pile?

Right now I’ve got a stack of YA novels calling my name: Agnes at the End of the World by Kelly McWilliams, A Song Below Water by Bethany C. Morrow, and The Silence of Bones by June Hur.

     

 

YABC:  What’s a book you’ve recently read and loved?

I just finished The Sound of Stars by Alechia Dow, a YA scifi road trip novel that kept me smiling most of the way. It is fun, inclusive, beautifully written, and endlessly surprising. 

     

 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

My next book from HarperTeen, which comes out in 2021, is another Southern contemporary fantasy, this time about witches. It is filled with magic and monsters and features an enemies-to-lovers sapphic romance. I’m also working on a middle grade haunted house book that I’m having a blast writing.

   

 

YABC:  Are there any film adaptations, tv shows, audiobooks, or other adaptations in the works for this book?

GHOST WOOD SONG is also available as an audiobook, narrated by Jesse Vilinsky, who did such a fantastic job with Wilder Girls and Mostly Dead Things.  

   

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

I love drafting. I rarely start a book with an outline or a strong sense of how it will progress. Instead, I begin with a little idea and just follow it to where it leads. To me, that is amazingly fun—it’s this huge feeling of possibility. It’s like telling a story to myself, which is a good way to stay engaged and excited about what I’m writing.

 

 

 

Ghost Wood Song

By: Erica Waters

Publisher: HarperTeen

Release Date: July 14th, 2020

 

  

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

Three winners will each receive a copy of Ghost Wood Song (Erica Waters) ~ (US Only)

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

  

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Featured Review: Not Another Love Song (Olivia Wil...
Author Of The Week: Anna Jarzab (Breath Like Water...

Related Posts

 

Comments 7

Already Registered? Login Here
Zachary Snyder on Monday, 13 July 2020 12:44

Book looks great, look forward to reading it.

0
Book looks great, look forward to reading it.
Alivia Hartz on Sunday, 26 July 2020 15:18

This cover is BEAUTIFUL!!!! And this sounds so so good!!

0
This cover is BEAUTIFUL!!!! And this sounds so so good!!
Abigail Lowry on Monday, 27 July 2020 14:21

Such a beautiful book! Can’t wait to read!

0
Such a beautiful book! Can’t wait to read!
Lily M. on Monday, 27 July 2020 23:35

That cover ???

0
That cover ???
Tina Blacksmith on Thursday, 30 July 2020 00:26

Beautiful cover. Sounds like a good book!

0
Beautiful cover. Sounds like a good book!
Penny Olson on Thursday, 30 July 2020 01:30

The cover is dark and beautiful. The story sounds dark, creative and fascinating.

0
The cover is dark and beautiful. The story sounds dark, creative and fascinating.
Faith on Monday, 03 August 2020 12:40

This cover is gorgeous!! I can't wait to read this book.

0
This cover is gorgeous!! I can't wait to read this book.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
"Like most other people, I grew up devouring Hans Christian Andersen’s stories. His fairy tales are the first stories I..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
1789: Twelve Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, & Change
 
4.0
"What worked: Fascination collection of essays that show the impact of the year 1789 in the world.In this anthology, twelve..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"