Author Chat with Django Wexler, Plus Giveaway!

Author Chat with Django Wexler, Plus Giveaway!

YABC:  What surprised you most while writing your latest book?

Django Wexler: I've started writing the fourth Forbidden Library book, the sequel to The Palace of Glass. There's a bit at the beginning when most of the characters who've turned up in the series so far end up in the same place, and I was shocked how many of them there are! It turns out to be quite difficult to keep track of everybody. For my next series I'm going to have to keep a spreadsheet.

YABC: If you could live in any fantasy world, which one would it be?

DJ: One of the safe ones! Seriously, most fantasy worlds are pretty dangerous, especially if you're not part of the chosen elite or a wizard or what have you. If it's allowed, I'd probably pick a science fiction world instead ‐‐ places like Iain Banks' Culture novels or Peter Hamilton's Commonwealth seem to have pretty good lives for everybody, plus you get to live forever! The trouble with fantasy is you can't assume you're going to be the main character.

YABC: Do you have a mantra that gets you through the drafting phase?

DJ: It's something pretty simple, like "We'll get there." A reminder that the process, which can seem endless and intimidating, will eventually come to an end. This seems obvious, but it can be easy to lose track of! If you keep piling the words up, eventually you'll get to the end of a draft, and then you do the next part and the next until you're done.

YABC: What is your favorite hobby when you're not writing?

DJ: I have quite a few! I play a lot of games ‐‐ computer games, board games, war games. For the latter I also paint miniatures of various sorts. Somewhat surprisingly, this is pretty relaxing, even if I'm still all that good at it! http://djangowexler.com/2015/03/15/facing‐the‐dragon/

YABC: Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

DJ: I'm not far enough in to Forbidden Library #4 to be having trouble yet. The previous book was The Guns of Empire, book four of my military fantasy series The Shadow Campaigns, and it had a couple of tricky characters ‐‐ Janus, the Sherlock Holmes‐esque general, gets put into a couple of unusual (for him) situations, and it was interesting trying to figure out his reactions.

YABC: Do you enjoy writing to music? If so, do you have a go‐to playlist?

DJ: I have a very eclectic playlist I've been building since the very early days of MP3s. It's all music that I've listened to so often that I barely hear it anymore, so it makes perfect writing background. For some things, I need more deliberately exciting music, so I have a Pandora channel based on some bombastic music from movie trailers.

YABC: Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

DJ: I do some volunteer work for SFWA (Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers Association). They put on a lot of interesting events and do great work on behalf of writers, and when I was very new I got

introductions through their forums to a lot of wonderful people. I'm trying to help other new writers get the same experience!

YABC: What's a book that you've read recently that you would recommend to your readers?

DJ: Right now I'm listening to the audiobook of Franny Billingsley's Chime, which is both a fantastic book and a great performance. I've also recently liked Calamity, the third of Brandon Sanderson's Reckoner trilogy, and City of Blades, Robert Jackson Bennett's sequel to has fantastic City of Stairs.

 

YABC: Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

DJ: Definitely drafting. There are parts of it that can be agonizing, but when it's going really well it's amazing. Editing and revising, for me, is always a slog ‐‐ I find myself impatient to be off inventing new things!

YABC: What would you say is your superpower?

DJ: I have the ability to hear the high‐pitched hum some electrical devices make when they're charging or in standby mode. (Really! Sometimes I have to go around unplugging things before I can get to sleep.) Shockingly, this has turned out not to be particularly useful when fighting crime. 

 

Meet The Palace of Glass!

An action-packed middle-grade fantasy with classic writing, a resourceful heroine, a host of magical creatures, and no shortage of narrow escapes—for fans of Story ThievesInkheartCoraline, and Harry Potter.

For Alice, danger threatens from inside the library as well as out. Having figured out the role her master and uncle, Geryon, played in her father's disappearance, Alice turns to Ending—the mysterious, magical giant feline and guardian of Geryon's library—for a spell to incapacitate Geryon. But, like all cats, Ending is adept at keeping secrets and Alice doesn't know the whole story. Once she traps Geryon with Ending's spell, there's no one to stop the other Readers from sending their apprentices to pillage Geryon's library. As Alice prepares to face an impending attack from the combined might of the Readers, she gathers what forces she can—the apprentices she once thought might be her friends, the magical creatures imprisoned in Geryon's library—not knowing who, if anyone, she can trust.

 

Meet Django Wexler!

Django Wexler is the author of the Forbidden Library series, as well as the adult fantasy series the Shadow Campaigns. He lives near Seattle, Washington. 

 

 

The Palace of Glass

By: Django Wexler

Release Date: April 12, 2016 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

Three winners will receive a copy of The Forbidden Library, The Mad Apprentice, and The Palace of Glass (US only). 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Press Release: Ransom Riggs to Publish TALES OF TH...
THE JUNGLE BOOK - Review

Related Posts

 

Comments 3

Already Registered? Login Here
stephanie bondlow on Saturday, 30 April 2016 18:20

This book sounds exciting! I love your answers to the questions! The cover looks amazing!

0
This book sounds exciting! I love your answers to the questions! The cover looks amazing!
Danielle Hammelef on Saturday, 07 May 2016 18:02

Wow! This book and the series has everything I love--a strong, smart heroine, action, adventure, magic. This sounds really exciting!

0
Wow! This book and the series has everything I love--a strong, smart heroine, action, adventure, magic. This sounds really exciting!
Dan Denman on Friday, 13 May 2016 08:56

I like the cover and description of the book. It sounds like a good story with characters I will like.

0
I like the cover and description of the book. It sounds like a good story with characters I will like.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
"Like most other people, I grew up devouring Hans Christian Andersen’s stories. His fairy tales are the first stories I..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
1789: Twelve Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, & Change
 
4.0
"What worked: Fascination collection of essays that show the impact of the year 1789 in the world.In this anthology, twelve..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"