Author Chat with Debra Green (Violet and the Pie of Life), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

vp_20210309-163215_1

 Today we're excited to chat with Debra Green author of

Violet and the Pie of Life.

 Read on for more about Debra, her book, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet Debra Green!

Debra Green has written many books for children, including the Silver Pony Ranch series and the Zeke Meeks series, which have been published in eight languages across the globe. She lives in Southern California where she works as a lawyer, as well as an enthusiastic speaker at writing workshops, schools, and conferences. Violet and the Pie of Life is her first book with Holiday House. Her favorite kind of pie is apple crumb. Visit her online at debralgreen.com [debralgreen.com]

 

 

 Website * Twitter * Amazon Author Page

 

 


 

 

Meet Violet and the Pie Of Life!

There's no golden ratio for a family, despite what number-crunching Violet might think.

Twelve-year-old Violet has two great loves in her life: math and pie. And she loves her parents, even though her mom never stops nagging and her dad can be unreliable. Mom plus Dad doesn't equal perfection. Still, Violet knows her parents could solve their problems if they just applied simple math.

#1: Adjust the ratio of Mom's nagging to her compliments.
#2: Multiply Dad's funny stories by a factor of three.
#3: Add in romantic stuff wherever possible.

But when her dad walks out, Violet realizes that the odds do not look good. Why can't her parents get along like popular, perfect Ally's parents? Would it be better to have no dad at all, like her best friend, McKenzie? Violet is considering the data when she and Ally get cast in the school play, and McKenzie doesn't--a probability that Violet never calculated. Maybe friendship and family have more variables than she thought.

Filled with warmth, math-y humor, and delicious pie, this heartfelt middle grade read is perfect for fans of The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl. Includes illustrated charts, graphs, and diagrams throughout.
 

 

 

Amazon * B & NIndiebound

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

    

YABC:   What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

Maybe this sounds conceited, but there’s a little or a lot of myself in everything I write. So I guess I inspired myself! Violet, the main character, and I share many similarities. We were both in The Wizard of Oz in middle school. I played the Wicked Witch and loved wearing green makeup and acting mean. Violet plays a different character, but she has fun with her role too. Violet and I are both good in math and we both love pie. On a more serious note, Violet and I were around the same age when our parents separated. 

 

 

YABC:   Who is your favorite character in the book?

As a mother, I have to say I like Violet’s mother the best. She has her faults, but no one is a perfect parent. Violet’s mom tries hard to help others and better herself. And like Violet, she experiences growth over the course of the book. 

 

 

YABC:   Which came first, the title or the novel?

Definitely the novel. I had a very boring title originally. It’s so boring that I’m too embarrassed to admit what it was. My wonderful agent and I spent a long time trying to come up with a better title. We brainstormed about 100 ideas until my agent thought of Violet and the Pie of Life. Phew. 

 

 

YABC:   Do you have a favorite writing snack?

Is coffee a snack? If so, then coffee is definitely my favorite writing snack. As I write, I almost always have a cup of coffee with warm, foamy milk, made in my milk frother. It seems so fancy I can imagine I’m writing in a Paris café. If coffee isn’t a snack, then chocolate-covered nuts.

 

 

YABC:   What do you like most about the cover of the book?

The big pie on it. Yum!

 

 

YABC:   What’s a book you’ve recently read and loved?

I loved Efren Divided by Ernesto Cisneros. It’s a middle grade novel about a boy in California whose mother suddenly gets deported to Mexico. It has a lot of pathos and it’s very timely. But there’s also humor, adventure, friendship troubles, and descriptions of Mexican food that will make you hungry.

 

 

YABC:   Are there any film adaptations, tv shows, audiobooks, or other adaptations in the works for this book?

Nothing yet, but I’m thrilled that my YA novels and chapter book series (Zeke Meeks and Silver Pony Ranch) have been translated into eight different languages. I hope my new novel also sells in different countries. 

 

 

YABC:   Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate? 

There’s a horrible scene that takes place near a garbage dump on a cold winter day. Violet finds out some awful truths about her parents. I hated to put her through that. I’d based Violet on myself, so it was like putting myself through that. In the next scene, Violet’s friends come through for her, so it’s not all bad.

 

 

YABC:   What advice would you give to new writers?

Focus first on craft before you think about query letters, marketing yourself, and other business-y stuff. Some things that I do to keep my focus on craft are reading a few new how-to-write books every year, participating in a weekly critique group and taking the feedback to heart, and revising my manuscripts until they’re as good as I can possibly get them.

 

 

YABC:   What would you say is your superpower?

Only needing about six hours of sleep a night. I’ve been like that since I was a teenager. Having that extra hour or two helps me juggle fiction writing and practicing law.

 

 

 

Violet and the Pie Of Life

By: Debra Green

Release Date: March 9th, 2021

 Publisher: Holiday House Books

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

One winner will each receive a copy of Violet and the Pie Of Life (Debra Green) ~ (US Only)

 

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

Featured Review: American Betiya (Anuradha D. Raju...
Spotlight on Perfect On Paper (Sophie Gonzales), E...

Related Posts

 

Comments 5

Already Registered? Login Here
Zachary Snyder on Tuesday, 09 March 2021 14:35

Book looks great, look forward to reading it.

0
Book looks great, look forward to reading it.
Melanie Bracco on Sunday, 21 March 2021 17:23

Love the cute cover, and the synopsis sounds good!

0
Love the cute cover, and the synopsis sounds good!
Debra Branigan on Thursday, 01 April 2021 14:30

The cover is cute and looks great. The synopsis sounds like a solid read for MG.

0
The cover is cute and looks great. The synopsis sounds like a solid read for MG.
Chiara Jucha on Saturday, 03 April 2021 13:20

This one is on my TBR list!

0
This one is on my TBR list!
Danielle Hammelef on Monday, 05 April 2021 12:04

I love the cover and this book is high on my must-read list.

0
I love the cover and this book is high on my must-read list.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And not...
The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Riley Oh can't wait to see her sister get initiated...
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Bite-sized facts about forests from around the globe, pointing out...
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this sweeping debut, Asha Bromfield takes readers to the...
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this tender, nuanced coming-of-age love story, two boys—one who...
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
At the Midnight Ball, leave your inhibitions at the...
The Forest of Stolen Girls
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1426, Joseon (Korea). Hwani's family has never been the...
Go the Distance
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
What if Meg had to become a god? After...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates...
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...
This Is My America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching...
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magnificent, hand-painted illustrations by a rising star of Czech watercolor...
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Arizona! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
It's Mouse's first day of school. It's Dinosaur's first day...
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I'm Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter meets Emergency Contact...

Latest Member Reviews

Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
"GUTTER GIRL is a unique YA contemporary romance that follows two main characters, Jace and McKenna. McKenna is an outcast..."
The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LAST FALLEN STAR is a thrilling epic fantasy. Riley Oh is a saram, a person without magic, adopted by..."
Go the Distance
 
4.0
"Go the Distance by Jen Calonita is the latest installment in Disney’s Twisted Tale series. This time the story focuses..."
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
"Advice to save your marriage and get your Ex Boyfriend/girlfriend back ,contact ogagaspellcastertemple@gmail.com or WhatsApp +2347059387282 for Urgent effective love..."
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. While..."
Unchosen
 
4.7
"UNCHOSEN by Katharyn Blair is a YA Dystopian novel set in the future after the Crimson, a virus-like curse, turns..."
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: FORESTS OF THE WORLD is an approachable nonfiction book that teaches about different kinds of forests, from..."
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
"HURRICANE SUMMER is a sweeping coming-of-age story that captures the difficult and at times dangerous transition to womanhood. Tilla is..."
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
"ALL KINDS OF OTHER is an intriguing YA contemporary that follows two boys as they start at a new school...."
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: WATERS OF THE WORLD is an engaging nonfiction picture book that teaches basics and fun facts about..."
This Is My America
 
5.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Tracy's family is an outsider in multiple ways in their Texas town: they're one of the..."
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
"COLORS IN NATURE is a beautifully illustrated book of art that features animals and plants. The book walks through each..."
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO ARIZONA is a simple, fun travel guide picture book for children about the state. The book covers fun..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"COUNTING DOWN WITH YOU is a heart-wrenching and visceral YA contemporary read. Karina (Myra is her familial name) is a..."
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. While..."
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
"While I was familiar with most of the information in the book, due to apparently all too frequent deep..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"Fate Calling by Lindsay Grace is a beautifully written fae fantasy about a young human girl named Aislinn and a..."
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
"What worked: The magical aspect of this book had me turning pages quickly. It was easy to read and..."
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
"IN DEEPER WATERS is an intriguing and fast-paced YA fantasy. Tal is the fourth of five royal children in a..."