Author Chat with David Fremont (Carlton Crumple Creature Catcher 3: Reptoids from Space!), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

978164595008_20211006-032027_1

Today we are chatting with David Fremont, author of

Carlton Crumple Creature Catcher 3: Reptoids from Space!

Read on for more about David, his book, and a giveaway!

 

 

 

 

 

Meet David Fremont!

The youngest of five children, David Fremont grew up in Fremont, CA (true story), where he loved drawing while watching cartoons. He is now an animated content creator who most recently created web series for DreamWorks TV. When not pitching pilots, David teaches cartoon classes to kids.

  

 

Facebook * Twitter 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Meet Carlton Crumple Creature Catcher 3: Reptoids from Space!

An out-of-this-world new adventure in a very funny graphic novel series that combines fast food, monsters, and battle! Fans of Lunch Lady and Dog Man will gobble this down. When Carlton catches a UFO on camera, he kicks into full-on Creature Catcher mode. Sick of hearing about Carlton's heroics, his brother Milt stages an alien invasion using a remote-controlled drone disguised as a spaceship. And Carlton falls for it. Iggy and Poof Poof think the ship's cool, so they borrow it to stage a fake alien battle. But a real UFO full of Reptoids spots the showdown and, seeing it as a threat, swoops in and abducts Iggy and Poof Poof! Panicked, Lulu calls the Creature Catcher emergency line. Her creatures have been captured! Now it's up to Carlton to stage a rescue, and save the day! Bold artwork and otherworldly antics combine in the third installment in the Carlton Crumple Creatuture Catcher series. Middle grade graphic novel readers, including fans of series like Lunch Lady and Dog Man, will eat this up.

 

 

Amazon * B & N * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

     

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?
My friend James Proimos is a kid's book writer/illustrator (Johnny Mutton, Swim! Swim! by Lerch), he kept telling me "you should do books!" Not long after that I was at the beach. I saw a little boy sitting on a towel eating french fries from a bag. I imagined a scenario of this kid tossing a fry into the ocean and then a hungry sea monster swallowing it. Since french fries are so delicious and it's very hard for me to eat just one, I saw that sea monster as needing more! So he and his family swim to the surface and begin consuming all of the fast food in the entire world! Then I thought "who would try and stop them?" I like underdogs, so a tweenage, confident-yet-clueless fast food worker made sense to me to be the hero. The entire book sort of rolled out into my sketchbook. And now it's a book series which is truly a dream come true. Big thanks to James for encouraging me to "do books!"
 
 
 
YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?
 I really love the little pet sidekicks Poof-Poof the Poodle and Iggy the Iguana. Iggy is very fun to draw, he's a little green ball of energy. He is easily distracted and loves snack foods, just like me. Iggy is kind of like Poof-Poof's goofy, sometimes annoying little brother. As a kid I gravitated toward funny pet characters like Snoopy and Woodstock from the Peanuts comics.  I also loved Ernie and Bert on Sesame Street. I try and bring some of that buddy-comedy wackiness to Poof-Poof and Iggy.
 
 
 
YABC:  Do you have a favorite writing snack?
Chili lime pistachios.   When I was creating a pilot at Nickelodeon, I brought a big bag of them from the local TJ's to a development meeting. Everyone loved them and then it became a 'must have' snack with everyone. I taught them the ways! I also like Kettle chips,  jalapeno flavor.
 
 
 
YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?
I used to tend to over-write and I think I'm better now at not having to include every single wacky idea that's in my head. I've also learned to trust the process. I know that's an overused phrase but I like it. Writing for me is like jumping into this huge scattered puzzle that I need to put together. You have to throw out the pieces that don't fit no matter how much you love them. There are points when you think it's a complete mess and can't see the light at the end of the tunnel, but then this magical moment happens where it all finally works, it all clicks into place. I like those moments, it makes me want to dance down the street and high five strangers. Although these days that might not be such a good idea.
 
 
 
 
YABC:  What’s on your TBR pile?
There's a stack of books on my nightstand. Lots of sci-fi and horror.  Dune by Frank Herbert,   Borne by Jeff Van Der Meer, The Only Good Indians by Stephen Graham Jones are all in that stack. I've actually started them all. Baby steps!
 
 
 
YABC:  What’s a book you’ve recently read and loved?
Tom Scharpling, the host of The Best Show on WFMU, has a memoir called It Never Ends that I'm really enjoying. 
 
YABC:  What’s up next for you?
Well, I think it's finally time to find a literary agent since I've written two coming-of-age novels that I hope to get published.  I'm a huge fan of the Bad News Bears so I wanted to do some things with that misfit-kid vibe. One of them is about a camp for kids who love to draw comics. I'm also working on a simple picture book concept using cut-out illustrations.   A stand alone spinoff project with Poof-Poof and Iggy is in my head, possibly animated vignettes and/or a book for younger kids.
 
YABC:  Are there any film adaptations, tv shows, audiobooks, or other adaptations in the works for this book?
Animation is always on my mind with a lot of the stories I create.  I worked for years iat animation studios and have created various webtoons for Dreamworks TV, Cartoon Network and Wildbrain. The Carlton Crumple books definitely have an intentionally animated  energy to them. Editor-in-Chief Bethany Buck at Pixel + Ink had cross-platforms in mind when she greenlit this book and we are starting to have conversations about pitching it as a show. I think the kids of the world are ready to have robotic tater tots, flying couches and furry monsters that love french fries on their screens!
 
YABC:  Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book? 
I had a bit of writer's block with the food truck guy French Fry Thunderknuckle from Tater Invaders and his relationship with Carlton. My friends screened the movie Jaws, which is one of my all-time favorites, and I was inspired by the way the salty pirate-like character Quint clashed with Brody, the neurotic Chief-of Police. To me it's a perfect movie and watching it helped unlock the block. One character challenge with the newest book Reptoids from Space! was giving the main characters equal roles in capturing the creature. But, all told, I think that the "I get by with a little help from my friends" theme is pretty clear. They all bring their own skills to the spaceship.
 
 
YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?
Teaching cartooning classes.  Empowering kids to utilize their imaginations is very satisfying. Sometimes I get messages from parents and they say their kids are now obsessed with drawing and creating comics after being in my class.  That is the best! The same thing happened to me when I was young and took summer cartooning classes. I was very inspired to make my own comics,  so I'm glad that I can put that energy back out into the universe.

 

 

 

 

 Reptoids from Space

Author: David Fremont

Publisher: Pixel + Ink Books

 Publish Date: October 5th, 2021

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a copy of Carlton Crumple Creature Catcher 3: Reptoids from Space! ~ (US Only)

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

  

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

Why Good Writers Need to be Good Listeners by Marg...
Waiting on Wednesday ~ October 6, 2021

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment