Author Chat with Claudia Gray, Plus Giveaway!

Author Chat with Claudia Gray, Plus Giveaway!

Today we're excited to chat with Claudia Gray, author of Defy the StarsRead on for more about Claudia and her novel, plus a giveaway!

 

YABC: Who is your favorite character in the book?

 

CLAUDIA GRAY: I feel like such a traitor picking one of my two leads over the other—I love them both—but if I must go for one, it's Abel. That's only because writing his scenes required me to work in a totally new-to-me viewpoint, that of a mechanical lifeform who would have some of the emotional and mental capabilities of a human but would also look at things in a totally different way. It was fun to dig in to that.

 

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

 

CLAUDIA GRAY: The novel, definitely. The core of this story started taking shape a few years go, but we didn't decide on the title until well into the publication process. This isn't that unusual; I find my titles

 

YABC: What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

 

CLAUDIA GRAY: Probably the final conversation between Abel and his cyberneticist creator, Burton Mansfield. It's a very emotional scene, but one that has to be fully portrayed and perceived through Abel's logical mech mind. That was tremendous fun to do, and it actually came out on the page as good as it was in my head—which any writer will tell you is a rarity!

 

YABC: Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s
the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

 

CLUDIA GRAY: That I will never learn "how to write a book." Nobody ever will, because there's no such thing. You have to learn how to write each individual book. Every single one requires different skills and presents different challenges.

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2017?

 

CLAUDIA GRAY: Jacqueline Winspear just released IN THIS GRAVE HOUR, the latest Maisie Dobbs mystery, and I'm absolutely dying to get my hands on it. Also I'm eager for REBEL RISING by Beth Revis, a Star Wars YA novel about Jyn Erso from "Rogue One."

 

YABC: Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

 

CLAUDIA GRAY: Revising—though I usually enjoy drafting more than a lot of other writers do. But the most fun will always be when the book is at its shiniest, which is of course at the very end.

 

YABC: What would you say is your superpower?

 

CLAUDIA GRAY: Sadly it appears to be "invariably getting the start time wrong on Facebook event invites." This will not get me into the X-Men anytime soon.

 

YABC: Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

 

CLAUDIA GRAY: Several of them. The two I'd most like to call attention to are (1) Heifer International, which helps provide grassroots support for people in underdeveloped nations who are starting their own farms, dairies, etc. They have a fabulous track record all over the globe, not to mention the greatest gift catalog EVER. And (2) the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust, which is dedicated to the preservation of endangered African wildlife. They provide everything from aerial reconnaissance of wildlife areas to veterinary teams! These guys are amazing. 

 

 

Meet Claudia Gray!

 

Claudia Gray is the author of the bestselling Evernight series, Fateful, the Spellcaster trilogy, and the Firebird trilogy. She is also the author the young adult Star Wars novels Lost Stars and Bloodline. She has worked as a lawyer, a journalist, a disc jockey, and a particularly ineffective waitress. Her lifelong interests include old houses, classic movies, vintage style, and history. She lives in New Orleans.

 

 
   
Meet Defy the Stars!
 
 

Noemi Vidal is a teen soldier in an interstellar war, fighting to defend her home planet against Earth's robotic armies. When the disastrous aftermath of a space battle strands her on an abandoned enemy ship, she encounters a deadly mech determined to kill her - until a twist in his programming compels him to do her bidding, and to reveal a secret which could save her world.

Abel, Model 1A of the Mansfield Cybernetics Line, is his creator's masterpiece: the most complex mech prototype ever made, he not only appears perfectly human, but possesses an artificial intelligence so sophisticated that he can feel human emotions.

When Noemi boards the ship he has been trapped on for decades, his programming demands that he obey her as his new commander – even if she's fighting on the other side of the war and her plan to win that war will kill him. As they embark upon a dangerous journey through the galaxy, Noemi begins to recognize the soul within the machine, and Abel's devotion to Noemi becomes more than a matter of programming.

 
 
 
 
 

Defy the Stars

By: Claudia Gray

Release Date: April 4, 2017 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 
One wiinner will receive a copy of Defy the Stars. US only. 
 
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
Featured Review: Geekerella (Ashley Poston)
Author Chat with Jessica Park (180 Seconds), Plus ...

Related Posts

 

Comments 11

Already Registered? Login Here
John on Tuesday, 11 April 2017 23:02

The cover was colorful, the synopsis fresh and new!

0
The cover was colorful, the synopsis fresh and new!
Susan Light on Wednesday, 12 April 2017 11:03

Love the cover and this book sounds phenomenal!

0
Love the cover and this book sounds phenomenal!
Jen on Wednesday, 12 April 2017 15:05

This sounds amazing and utterly addicting! And the the cover is so pretty!

0
This sounds amazing and utterly addicting! And the the cover is so pretty!
Julie on Tuesday, 18 April 2017 18:52

The cover is gorgeous! The story sounds pretty good too.

0
The cover is gorgeous! The story sounds pretty good too.
Jennifer Lancaster on Tuesday, 25 April 2017 12:53

I love the cover. It's so gorgeous.

0
I love the cover. It's so gorgeous.
Lily M. on Monday, 01 May 2017 04:22

Love the colors on the cover ?

0
Love the colors on the cover ?
Candice Gigous on Monday, 01 May 2017 09:25

The cover is awesome, love the colors. The synopsis is very exciting. I love other books by this author and I am sure this book will be amazing.

0
The cover is awesome, love the colors. The synopsis is very exciting. I love other books by this author and I am sure this book will be amazing.
Anne on Monday, 01 May 2017 18:23

I love Claudia Gray! This will be a great read! The cover is beautiful too!

0
I love Claudia Gray! This will be a great read! The cover is beautiful too!
Shelly Hart on Thursday, 04 May 2017 21:30

Sounds good!

0
Sounds good!
Aireanna Lesch on Sunday, 07 May 2017 18:05

I am a huge fan of the Firebird trilogy! It was a Florida Teens Reads book for 2016-17.
Love this cover!!

0
I am a huge fan of the Firebird trilogy! It was a Florida Teens Reads book for 2016-17. :) Love this cover!!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In his fiction debut--and the start of a new series--celebrated...
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a boy receives a gift box from his uncle...
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Manners don’t come naturally to everyone! But did you know...
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable spooky twist on "The Teeny Tiny Woman" that's...
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hop into the world of Peter Rabbit and his friends...
Solving for M
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish,...
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times–bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes follows five...
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When superstitious Sab sees a giant black butterfly, an omen...
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Caldecott Honor Book An...
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a family car gets a flat on the way...
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In cut-paper artist Nikki McClure’s latest picture book, a kitten...
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Three BFFs set out to have the BEST SUMMER EVER...
Finding Esme
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Esme’s life changes when she discovers dinosaur bones on...
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join these happy pumpkins in a cheerful rhyming countdown, in...
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Set on the shores of Lake Superior, Wreck follows high...
The Madman of Piney Woods
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Benji and Red couldn't be more different. They aren't friends....

Latest Member Reviews

My Almost Flawless Tokyo Dream Life
 
3.3
"Sixteen-year-old foster kid Elle Zoellner's life turns topsy turvy when a father, she never knew about, wants her to move..."
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
"A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM is a charming story in the vein of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and Tim Burton...."
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
"MY FUNNY BUNNY is about dealing with disappointments and not judging others too quickly. It's the main character's sixth birthday,..."
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
"KINDNESS RULES! is a fun new manners book, perfect for preschoolers. Magic Manners, an elephant who knows her stuff, teaches..."
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
"Be prepared to fall in love with the tenacious TEENY TINY GHOST in this sweet book, perfect for Halloween. The..."
Solving for M
 
5.0
"SOLVING FOR M is a beautiful and enthralling middle grade novel about finding your way in a new school and..."
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
"A PUMPKIN FOR PETER tells the story of when Peter Rabbit went with his mother and sisters to go pick..."
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
"Five elephants march along the pages of Kevin Henkes's picture book, A PARADE OF ELEPHANTS. As they make their way..."
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
"My Fate According to the Butterfly is probably the first Middle Grade novel I’ve read in a very long time...."
Truly Madly Royally
 
3.0
"I’d be lying if I didn’t say that half of the reason why I read this was because it’s a..."
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
"In THE ROUGH PATCH, Evan's best friend is his dog, and they do everything together. Author and illustrator Brian Lies..."
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
"HOW TO BE A CAT is an elegant book of verbs. Two cats give actions throughout their day, including scratch,..."
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
"SUNNY'S TOW TRUCK SAVES THE DAY! is a delightful picture book about a family on their way to picnic who..."
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
"TBH, IDK WHAT'S NEXT follows four best friends over their summer before seventh grade. They are all determined to have..."
Finding Esme
 
3.3
"Esme feels alone. Her much-loved grandfather died, her dad deserted the family, her mom has mentally checked out, and her..."
House of Salt and Sorrows
 
4.3
"Annaleigh just wanted to be in charge of the lighthouse close to her island home. Rumors circulate on the island..."
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
"FIVE LITTLE PUMPKINS ON HALLOWEEN NIGHT is a cute board book that celebrates Halloween with a counting of pumpkins! In..."
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
"WRECK is a heart-wrenching story about a teenage girl on the brink of college as she discovers her father's life-altering..."
The Madman of Piney Woods
 
4.0
"THE MADMAN OF PINEY WOODS follows two young boys in Canada as their lives are changing and intersecting. Benji Alston..."
Wintercake
 
4.0
"WINTERCAKE is a lovely picture book that celebrates friendship and the holiday spirit. Thomas is about to make a wintercake..."