Author Chat with Claudia Gray, Plus Giveaway!

Author Chat with Claudia Gray, Plus Giveaway!

Today we're excited to chat with Claudia Gray, author of Defy the StarsRead on for more about Claudia and her novel, plus a giveaway!

 

YABC: Who is your favorite character in the book?

 

CLAUDIA GRAY: I feel like such a traitor picking one of my two leads over the other—I love them both—but if I must go for one, it's Abel. That's only because writing his scenes required me to work in a totally new-to-me viewpoint, that of a mechanical lifeform who would have some of the emotional and mental capabilities of a human but would also look at things in a totally different way. It was fun to dig in to that.

 

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

 

CLAUDIA GRAY: The novel, definitely. The core of this story started taking shape a few years go, but we didn't decide on the title until well into the publication process. This isn't that unusual; I find my titles

 

YABC: What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

 

CLAUDIA GRAY: Probably the final conversation between Abel and his cyberneticist creator, Burton Mansfield. It's a very emotional scene, but one that has to be fully portrayed and perceived through Abel's logical mech mind. That was tremendous fun to do, and it actually came out on the page as good as it was in my head—which any writer will tell you is a rarity!

 

YABC: Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s
the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

 

CLUDIA GRAY: That I will never learn "how to write a book." Nobody ever will, because there's no such thing. You have to learn how to write each individual book. Every single one requires different skills and presents different challenges.

 

YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2017?

 

CLAUDIA GRAY: Jacqueline Winspear just released IN THIS GRAVE HOUR, the latest Maisie Dobbs mystery, and I'm absolutely dying to get my hands on it. Also I'm eager for REBEL RISING by Beth Revis, a Star Wars YA novel about Jyn Erso from "Rogue One."

 

YABC: Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

 

CLAUDIA GRAY: Revising—though I usually enjoy drafting more than a lot of other writers do. But the most fun will always be when the book is at its shiniest, which is of course at the very end.

 

YABC: What would you say is your superpower?

 

CLAUDIA GRAY: Sadly it appears to be "invariably getting the start time wrong on Facebook event invites." This will not get me into the X-Men anytime soon.

 

YABC: Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

 

CLAUDIA GRAY: Several of them. The two I'd most like to call attention to are (1) Heifer International, which helps provide grassroots support for people in underdeveloped nations who are starting their own farms, dairies, etc. They have a fabulous track record all over the globe, not to mention the greatest gift catalog EVER. And (2) the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust, which is dedicated to the preservation of endangered African wildlife. They provide everything from aerial reconnaissance of wildlife areas to veterinary teams! These guys are amazing. 

 

 

Meet Claudia Gray!

 

Claudia Gray is the author of the bestselling Evernight series, Fateful, the Spellcaster trilogy, and the Firebird trilogy. She is also the author the young adult Star Wars novels Lost Stars and Bloodline. She has worked as a lawyer, a journalist, a disc jockey, and a particularly ineffective waitress. Her lifelong interests include old houses, classic movies, vintage style, and history. She lives in New Orleans.

 

 
   
Meet Defy the Stars!
 
 

Noemi Vidal is a teen soldier in an interstellar war, fighting to defend her home planet against Earth's robotic armies. When the disastrous aftermath of a space battle strands her on an abandoned enemy ship, she encounters a deadly mech determined to kill her - until a twist in his programming compels him to do her bidding, and to reveal a secret which could save her world.

Abel, Model 1A of the Mansfield Cybernetics Line, is his creator's masterpiece: the most complex mech prototype ever made, he not only appears perfectly human, but possesses an artificial intelligence so sophisticated that he can feel human emotions.

When Noemi boards the ship he has been trapped on for decades, his programming demands that he obey her as his new commander – even if she's fighting on the other side of the war and her plan to win that war will kill him. As they embark upon a dangerous journey through the galaxy, Noemi begins to recognize the soul within the machine, and Abel's devotion to Noemi becomes more than a matter of programming.

 
 
 
 
 

Defy the Stars

By: Claudia Gray

Release Date: April 4, 2017 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 
One wiinner will receive a copy of Defy the Stars. US only. 
 
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
Featured Review: Geekerella (Ashley Poston)
Author Chat with Jessica Park (180 Seconds), Plus ...

Related Posts

 

Comments 11

Already Registered? Login Here
John on Tuesday, 11 April 2017 23:02

The cover was colorful, the synopsis fresh and new!

0
The cover was colorful, the synopsis fresh and new!
Susan Light on Wednesday, 12 April 2017 11:03

Love the cover and this book sounds phenomenal!

0
Love the cover and this book sounds phenomenal!
Jen on Wednesday, 12 April 2017 15:05

This sounds amazing and utterly addicting! And the the cover is so pretty!

0
This sounds amazing and utterly addicting! And the the cover is so pretty!
Julie on Tuesday, 18 April 2017 18:52

The cover is gorgeous! The story sounds pretty good too.

0
The cover is gorgeous! The story sounds pretty good too.
Jennifer Lancaster on Tuesday, 25 April 2017 12:53

I love the cover. It's so gorgeous.

0
I love the cover. It's so gorgeous.
Lily M. on Monday, 01 May 2017 04:22

Love the colors on the cover ?

0
Love the colors on the cover ?
Candice Gigous on Monday, 01 May 2017 09:25

The cover is awesome, love the colors. The synopsis is very exciting. I love other books by this author and I am sure this book will be amazing.

0
The cover is awesome, love the colors. The synopsis is very exciting. I love other books by this author and I am sure this book will be amazing.
Anne on Monday, 01 May 2017 18:23

I love Claudia Gray! This will be a great read! The cover is beautiful too!

0
I love Claudia Gray! This will be a great read! The cover is beautiful too!
Shelly Hart on Thursday, 04 May 2017 21:30

Sounds good!

0
Sounds good!
Aireanna Lesch on Sunday, 07 May 2017 18:05

I am a huge fan of the Firebird trilogy! It was a Florida Teens Reads book for 2016-17.
Love this cover!!

0
I am a huge fan of the Firebird trilogy! It was a Florida Teens Reads book for 2016-17. :) Love this cover!!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...

Latest Member Reviews

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."