Author Chat with Carrie Mac, Plus Review & Giveaway!

Author Chat with Carrie Mac, Plus Review & Giveaway!

Today we're excited to hear from Carrie Macauthor 

of 10 ThingsI Can See From Here

Below you'll find more about Carrie

her book, plus a review, and giveaway!

 

1. First off, you NAILED the whole feel of someone dealing with severe anxiety! What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

Being someone who deals with severe anxiety often,  not only was it easy to write, but easy to want love for Maeve and a complex family life and hopes and dreams and all those other things that come alongside crippling anxiety.


2. Which scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

I love the birth scene, when Maeve rises up and discovers that she can be strong even if she can’t believe it and doesn’t experience it often enough.


3. Do you have a Playlist for 10 Things I Can See From Here?  Can you share if you do?

No play list for while I was writing the first drafts. I mostly listened to Drum & Base for the final drafts. Lots of good European DJs. That music suits Maeve and the noise in her head well … drowns it out a bit.


4. Which scene was the hardest to write and why?

The hardest scene to write was when Maeve discovered Mrs. Patel. I didn’t want her emotional reaction to dominate the rest of the book, so I had to play it just so, and relieve Maeve of some of the intensity of her feelings (I won’t give the spoiler here) so that she could go on and fully participate with the rest of her story.


5. Do you have a writing routine?

When we’re home, I get up at 530am and go for a run or a walk for an hour, then I go to a coffee shop and write for 2-3 hours.
When we’re traveling (which is a lot) I write early morning or late at night when the kids are asleep. Traveling is when I collect a lot of my characters, their traits, dialogue, settings, and all those colorful bits.


6. What advice to do you have for teens who want to write a book?

Write the book.

Seriously.

Worry about how good or bad it is later. You can only make it better if you have it to work with in the first place. Start at the beginning and go all the way to the end,
One single page a day would get you a 365 pg book in one year. Awesome, right?


7. What part of the writing process is your favorite: Drafting or Revising?

Revising. I love revising. It’s my most favorite kind of organizing- and reorganizing. I love tidying things up. Anything, really. But especially my books.


9. What new release book are you looking forward to in 2017?

Philip Pullman’s new one in October! CANNOT WAIT.


9. What's next for you?

I’m heading to Europe in a couple of weeks, where my kids and I are going to backpack around while I work on my next book.


10. Sweet or salty?

You’re mean.

Salted pecans with caramel and chocolate drizzled on top.
 
Meet Carrie Mac!
 
Carrie Mac is an award-winning author. She lives in East Vancouver with her partner and their two children. Learn more about Carrie and her books at CarrieMac.com and on Twitter at @CarrieMacWrites.
 
 
 
 
 
 
Meet 10 Things I Can See From Here!
 
 Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella's Finding Audrey and Nicola Yoon's Everything, Everything,this is the poignant and uplifting story of Maeve, who is dealing with anxiety while falling in love with a girl who is not afraid of anything.
 
Think positive.
Don’t worry; be happy.
Keep calm and carry on.
 
Maeve has heard it all before. She’s been struggling with severe anxiety for a long time, and as much as she wishes it was something she could just talk herself out of, it’s not. She constantly imagines the worst, composes obituaries in her head, and is always ready for things to fall apart. To add to her troubles, her mom—the only one who really gets what Maeve goes through—is leaving for six months, so Maeve will be sent to live with her dad in Vancouver.
 
Vancouver brings a slew of new worries, but Maeve finds brief moments of calm (as well as even more worries) with Salix, a local girl who doesn’t seem to worry about anything. Between her dad’s wavering sobriety, her very pregnant stepmom insisting on a home birth, and her bumbling courtship with Salix, this summer brings more catastrophes than even Maeve could have foreseen. Will she be able to navigate through all the chaos to be there for the people she loves?
 
 
*Click HERE to read a review of 10 Things I Can See From Here!
 
 
 
 
 
 
   
 
   
 
 
 
  10 Things I Can See From Here

By: Carrie Mac

Release Date: February 27, 2017 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 
 One winner will receive a copy of  10 Things I Can See From Here (US only).
 
*Click the Rafflecopter link below to 
enter the giveaway*
 
a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
Behind the Scenes of Indie Publishing
Author Of The Week: Chat with Rosalyn Eves (Blood ...

Related Posts

 

Comments 6

Already Registered? Login Here
John on Monday, 20 March 2017 19:35

Kudos to the cover designer / artist and to the synopsis-writer!

0
Kudos to the cover designer / artist and to the synopsis-writer!
Tiffany Engler on Friday, 24 March 2017 05:40

Gorgeous cover!!! I'm so excited for this book!!!

0
Gorgeous cover!!! I'm so excited for this book!!!
Danielle on Thursday, 06 April 2017 02:46

I LOVE the cover. It's so vibrant and fun.

0
I LOVE the cover. It's so vibrant and fun.
Penny Olson on Friday, 14 April 2017 22:00

The cover just pops out. The story sounds important.

0
The cover just pops out. The story sounds important.
Danielle Hammelef on Sunday, 16 April 2017 12:12

I love the bright colors of the cover and the synopsis sounds like this will be emotional to read.

0
I love the bright colors of the cover and the synopsis sounds like this will be emotional to read.
Alexandra Castillo on Thursday, 20 April 2017 22:43

The cover is simple yet elegant and beautiful. I'm prepared for the waterworks to start coming when I read it.

0
The cover is simple yet elegant and beautiful. I'm prepared for the waterworks to start coming when I read it.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With Joanie Stone's colorful illustrations and Allison Crotzer Kimmel's inspirational...
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The high price of perfection is one 'Perfect' Parker Fadley...
Finder, Coal Mine Dog
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
An action-packed and heartwarming story of a dog in the...
Bo the Brave
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A feisty little girl learns who the real monsters are...
Double Trouble!
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mischief is multiplied when twins are around! ...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to the...
The Derby Daredevils: Kenzie Kickstarts a Team: (The Derby Daredevils Book #1)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Ever since they can remember, fifth-graders Kenzie (aka Kenzilla) and...
Nina Soni, Former Best Friend
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first title in a new series featuring a lovable,...
Nina Soni: Sister Fixer
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second title in a humorous series featuring a charming,...
The Alchemist's Shadow (Watch Hollow #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Having defeated the Garr, a vicious tree monster who lived...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of The...
Helen Keller: The World at Her Fingertips
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Helen Keller was a baby, she became sick and...
King and Kayla and the Case of the Unhappy Neighbor
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lovable dog helps his human girl solve a mystery....
Doodleville
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Drew is just a regular artist. But there's nothing ordinary...
Glitch
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the critically acclaimed author of Float comes a new...
Storm Dog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Whip-smart Ariel doesn’t fit in. Only in the winds of...

Latest Member Reviews

An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
 
5.0
"Girls and women have run for a long time; even the author Louisa May Alcott made distance running part of..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
Finder, Coal Mine Dog
 
4.5
"Thomas' father perished in a mining accident, so when his mother became ill and died, he ended up with his..."
Bo the Brave
 
5.0
"BO THE BRAVE is a delightful story about courage and not judging others too quickly. Bo lives with her brothers,..."
Double Trouble!
 
3.0
"DOUBLE TROUBLE! features twins, Ellis and Erin, who are looking for trouble. They search all over the house, in the..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
The Derby Daredevils: Kenzie Kickstarts a Team: (The Derby Daredevils Book #1)
 
4.5
"Kenzie and her best friend Shelley love roller derby, a sport in which they are interested because Kenzie's mother is..."
Nina Soni, Former Best Friend
 
5.0
"Nina is nine years old, and struggling with several things. Her father has to spend his week working away from..."
Nina Soni: Sister Fixer
 
5.0
"After Nina Soni, Former Best Friend, Nina is back, and this time is concerned that her little sister is a..."
The Alchemist's Shadow (Watch Hollow #2)
 
4.0
"Lucy and Oliver Tinker and their father Charles are getting settled into Watch Hollow after their harrowing introduction to it..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Helen Keller: The World at Her Fingertips
 
5.0
"Born in 1880, Helen Keller is famous for her persistent nature, but since she died over sixty years ago, she..."
King and Kayla and the Case of the Unhappy Neighbor
 
4.0
"King's friend Thor is in big trouble. His owner, Jillian, got a call from the grumpy Mr. Gary that Thor..."
Doodleville
 
4.5
"Drew loves to draw, and has a notebook full of doodles with whom she interacts. When she takes her sketch..."
Glitch
 
4.0
"Regan has been identified as someone who has the ability to "glitch", or travel through time, and is a student..."
Storm Dog
 
4.0
"Ariel has a difficult home life in her Blue Ridge Mountain home in Virginia. It's not because of economics; her..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."