Author Chat with Carrie Mac, Plus Review & Giveaway!

Author Chat with Carrie Mac, Plus Review & Giveaway!

Today we're excited to hear from Carrie Macauthor 

of 10 ThingsI Can See From Here

Below you'll find more about Carrie

her book, plus a review, and giveaway!

 

1. First off, you NAILED the whole feel of someone dealing with severe anxiety! What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

Being someone who deals with severe anxiety often,  not only was it easy to write, but easy to want love for Maeve and a complex family life and hopes and dreams and all those other things that come alongside crippling anxiety.


2. Which scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

I love the birth scene, when Maeve rises up and discovers that she can be strong even if she can’t believe it and doesn’t experience it often enough.


3. Do you have a Playlist for 10 Things I Can See From Here?  Can you share if you do?

No play list for while I was writing the first drafts. I mostly listened to Drum & Base for the final drafts. Lots of good European DJs. That music suits Maeve and the noise in her head well … drowns it out a bit.


4. Which scene was the hardest to write and why?

The hardest scene to write was when Maeve discovered Mrs. Patel. I didn’t want her emotional reaction to dominate the rest of the book, so I had to play it just so, and relieve Maeve of some of the intensity of her feelings (I won’t give the spoiler here) so that she could go on and fully participate with the rest of her story.


5. Do you have a writing routine?

When we’re home, I get up at 530am and go for a run or a walk for an hour, then I go to a coffee shop and write for 2-3 hours.
When we’re traveling (which is a lot) I write early morning or late at night when the kids are asleep. Traveling is when I collect a lot of my characters, their traits, dialogue, settings, and all those colorful bits.


6. What advice to do you have for teens who want to write a book?

Write the book.

Seriously.

Worry about how good or bad it is later. You can only make it better if you have it to work with in the first place. Start at the beginning and go all the way to the end,
One single page a day would get you a 365 pg book in one year. Awesome, right?


7. What part of the writing process is your favorite: Drafting or Revising?

Revising. I love revising. It’s my most favorite kind of organizing- and reorganizing. I love tidying things up. Anything, really. But especially my books.


9. What new release book are you looking forward to in 2017?

Philip Pullman’s new one in October! CANNOT WAIT.


9. What's next for you?

I’m heading to Europe in a couple of weeks, where my kids and I are going to backpack around while I work on my next book.


10. Sweet or salty?

You’re mean.

Salted pecans with caramel and chocolate drizzled on top.
 
Meet Carrie Mac!
 
Carrie Mac is an award-winning author. She lives in East Vancouver with her partner and their two children. Learn more about Carrie and her books at CarrieMac.com and on Twitter at @CarrieMacWrites.
 
 
 
 
 
 
Meet 10 Things I Can See From Here!
 
 Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella's Finding Audrey and Nicola Yoon's Everything, Everything,this is the poignant and uplifting story of Maeve, who is dealing with anxiety while falling in love with a girl who is not afraid of anything.
 
Think positive.
Don’t worry; be happy.
Keep calm and carry on.
 
Maeve has heard it all before. She’s been struggling with severe anxiety for a long time, and as much as she wishes it was something she could just talk herself out of, it’s not. She constantly imagines the worst, composes obituaries in her head, and is always ready for things to fall apart. To add to her troubles, her mom—the only one who really gets what Maeve goes through—is leaving for six months, so Maeve will be sent to live with her dad in Vancouver.
 
Vancouver brings a slew of new worries, but Maeve finds brief moments of calm (as well as even more worries) with Salix, a local girl who doesn’t seem to worry about anything. Between her dad’s wavering sobriety, her very pregnant stepmom insisting on a home birth, and her bumbling courtship with Salix, this summer brings more catastrophes than even Maeve could have foreseen. Will she be able to navigate through all the chaos to be there for the people she loves?
 
 
*Click HERE to read a review of 10 Things I Can See From Here!
 
 
 
 
 
 
   
 
   
 
 
 
  10 Things I Can See From Here

By: Carrie Mac

Release Date: February 27, 2017 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

 
 One winner will receive a copy of  10 Things I Can See From Here (US only).
 
*Click the Rafflecopter link below to 
enter the giveaway*
 
a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
Behind the Scenes of Indie Publishing
Author Of The Week: Chat with Rosalyn Eves (Blood ...

Related Posts

 

Comments 6

Already Registered? Login Here
John on Monday, 20 March 2017 19:35

Kudos to the cover designer / artist and to the synopsis-writer!

0
Kudos to the cover designer / artist and to the synopsis-writer!
Tiffany Engler on Friday, 24 March 2017 05:40

Gorgeous cover!!! I'm so excited for this book!!!

0
Gorgeous cover!!! I'm so excited for this book!!!
Danielle on Thursday, 06 April 2017 02:46

I LOVE the cover. It's so vibrant and fun.

0
I LOVE the cover. It's so vibrant and fun.
Penny Olson on Friday, 14 April 2017 22:00

The cover just pops out. The story sounds important.

0
The cover just pops out. The story sounds important.
Danielle Hammelef on Sunday, 16 April 2017 12:12

I love the bright colors of the cover and the synopsis sounds like this will be emotional to read.

0
I love the bright colors of the cover and the synopsis sounds like this will be emotional to read.
Alexandra Castillo on Thursday, 20 April 2017 22:43

The cover is simple yet elegant and beautiful. I'm prepared for the waterworks to start coming when I read it.

0
The cover is simple yet elegant and beautiful. I'm prepared for the waterworks to start coming when I read it.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Sick Kids in Love
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isabel has one rule: no dating. It’s easier―...
Pawns (The Wielders of Arantha)
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Seven hundred years in the future, a powerful alien...
Perfectly Oblivious
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Cameron Bates (Cam) could have almost any girl at...
By Any Means Necessary
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Heart-wrenchingly honest, fans of Brandy Colbert and Nicola Yoon...
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Annie and Lee were just children when a brutal...
Into the Crooked Place (Into the Crooked Place, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Into the Crooked Place begins a gritty two-book YA...
The Rift
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
As corporate greed is pitted against supernatural forces, two...
The Light at the Bottom of the World (The Light at the Bottom of the World, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the last days of the twenty-first century, sea creatures...
Conceal, Don't Feel (Twisted Tales, #7)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if Anna and Elsa never knew each other? ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling Divergent and Carve the Mark author Veronica Roth delivers...
Bernard Pepperlin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The drowsy Dormouse from Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland...
Vicarious
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Paula Stokes weaves together a series of mysteries and the...
The Bookworm Crush
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This spinoff of The Replacement Crush featuring Amy and Toff...
The Unexpected Everything
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Andie must learn to embrace the beauty in chaos in...
What I Like About You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can a love triangle have only two people in it?...
The Kinder Poison
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the magical kingdom of Orkena, Zahru has long dreamed...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
5.0
"SICK KIDS IN LOVE is a beautiful story about love- as well as invisible illness/disability AND NOBODY DIES! (I do..."
Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky (Tristan Strong #1)
 
5.0
"I never wanted to be a superhero as a child, but I wanted to do heroic things. Tristan Strong epitomizes..."
The Light at the Bottom of the World (The Light at the Bottom of the World, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LIGHT AT THE BOTTOM OF THE WORLD is a compelling and atmospheric YA fantasy/science fiction. In the future, the..."
Conceal, Don't Feel (Twisted Tales, #7)
 
5.0
"If you adored FROZEN, you need to get your hands on this Twisted Tale which reimagines the story if Anna..."
 
4.0
"THE END AND OTHER BEGINNINGS is the latest from DIVERGENT author, Veronica Roth. The novel is comprised of six YA..."
Bernard Pepperlin
 
4.0
"Bernard Pepperlin is the doormouse from Alice in Wonderland. After being forced into a teapot, Bernard climbs out to find..."
The Bookworm Crush
 
5.0
"THE BOOKWORM CRUSH is an absolutely charming romantic comedy with all sorts of booklover homages. Amy McIntyre is @redheadrecs and..."
Scared Little Rabbits
 
3.0
"SCARED LITTLE RABBITS follows Nora (aka Eleanor, Lowercase) as she sets out on a summer camp adventure that resulted in..."
A Constellation of Roses
 
5.0
"A CONSTELLATION OF ROSES is a beautiful story of familial love and healing. Trix has been trying to make her..."
The Squatchicorns: A Delightful Read
 
4.0
"In this chapter book, The Squatchicorns by Ellen Potter, the third book in a series about a friendship between a..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
5.0
"'Dating My Best Friend' (former title: 'The F Word') by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven delves deeply into themes..."
The Cook and the King
 
4.0
"'The Cook and the King' by Julia Donaldson, illustrated by David Roberts, is a cute story that shows how working..."
Santa Mouse
 
4.5
"SANTA MOUSE is a cute rhyme about a mouse who did not have a name but does have a special..."
Pawns (The Wielders of Arantha)
 
5.0
"Pawns by Patrick Hodges is the first book in the Wielders of Arantha series. Complex and creative don’t begin to..."
The Reader
 
5.0
"I devoured The Reader by M.K. Harkins. There’s no other way to describe it. I read it in one sitting..."
Silly Lullaby (Boynton on Board)
 
5.0
"Boynton is a hit with toddlers, and this is another charming book that makes it easy to see why. SILLY..."
Frankly in Love
 
5.0
"FRANKLY IN LOVE is a surprisingly deep and heartfelt read. Although it is described as a rom-com, this is not..."
American Royals
 
4.7
"What if at the end of America’s Revolutionary War, George Washington was offered a crown and what if he said..."
Nikki Tesla and the Ferret-Proof Death Ray
 
4.5
"Nikki Tesla is an espionage novel for pre-teens. It’s exciting, engaging, and utterly unique. Nikki Tesla is a..."
Take the Mic: Fictional Stories of Everyday Resistance
 
4.0
"This is the type of book I’d like to see included in school curriculums. The stories are like wide open..."