Author Chat with Carrie Anne Noble (Gretchen and the Bear), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

53191961._SY475_

 Today we're excited to chat with Anne Noble author of

Gretchen and the Bear.

Read on for more about Anne and her book, plus a giveaway!

 

 

 

Meet Carrie Anne Noble!

  

In the wake of her thrilling past as a theatre student, restaurant hostess, certified nurse aide, and newspaper writer, Carrie Anne Noble now pens enchanting fiction for teens and adults.  Her award- winning debut novel, THE MERMAID’S SISTER, was called “a must read” by Publishers Weekly.  She lives in the mountains of Pennsylvania with her tolerant husband, charming children, two naughty cats, a leopard gecko, and a milk snake she prefers not to think about much.

 

 

 Website * FacebookTwitter * Instagram

 

 

 

Meet Gretchen and the Bear!

Sixteen-year-old Gretchen has been waiting forever to trade life on a dreary orbiting station for life on gloriously regenerated Earth. Still, visiting faerie-infested Britannia is not on her agenda—especially since no human who’s ventured there has ever returned. But when her stepsister sneaks off to the island to meet a faerie boyfriend, Gretchen’s stepmother forces her to choose: risk death to rescue the runaway, or forfeit her father’s life.

Lost in the faeries’ forest, Gretchen meets a family of Bearfolk—fae who can shift between human and bear forms. Kindhearted seventeen-year-old Arthur volunteers to help, while his mother, who believes Gretchen is the heroic Silverhair of faerie legend, schemes to use the girl for darker purposes.

When the quest to save the runaway proves costly, will Gretchen and Arthur find the courage to sacrifice what they hold dearest to save the ones they love most?

 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

     

      YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

I’ve always loved classic fairy tales like Goldilocks and the Three Bears, and I thought it would be fun to put a new spin on the story, adding hints of Cinderella and a dash of science fiction (to amuse my inner Star Wars geek).

      

      YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

The most important thing I’ve learned is that you must take joy in the work or it isn’t going to be any good. That doesn’t mean it’s all fun and games, or that I don’t want to smack my head off the desk at times, but if it’s all drudgery, something is probably wrong with the story or my attitude. I think readers can tell if a writer is frolicking on the playground of imagination or just cranking out words to make a couple bucks. And since you never know if what you’re writing will sell, you might as well have a good time creating it. You might as well be grateful for the gift and the journey.

     

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

I love the silhouette of Gretchen, and how she has her head tilted up toward the stars. She looks hopeful and brave, and reminds me to be hopeful and brave. I think we all need those qualities with the current state of the world.

     

 

YABC:  What’s on your TBR pile?

I’m looking forward to reading Dust by Kara Swanson. It’s a Peter Pan spinoff and it sounds amazing. Embarrassing confession: I’ve had a serious crush on Peter Pan since I was about five years old.

 

 

      YABC:  What’s a book you’ve recently read and loved?

Supernova by Marissa Meyer was phenomenal. It’s the third book in the Renegades trilogy—one of those rare cases in which each book in a series gets better and better. It’s about teenagers with superpowers, but it’s also about deeper stuff, like personal responsibility, loyalty, and doing what’s right and not just what’s expected. Brilliantly done.

 

 

      YABC:  What’s up next for you?

I’m working on a sequel story to the Grimm Brothers’ Hansel and Gretel, about what happens when grown-up Gretel has to go back to live in the witch’s gingerbread cottage in the woods. As you can imagine, it’s a bit of a nightmare for her. Fortunately, she’s aided by a pet mouse, a very clever duck, and a handsome baker.

 

    YABC:  Are there any film adaptations, tv shows, audiobooks, or other adaptations in the works for this book?

    Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate? Writing the last chapter is always very emotional for me. Not only does it mean wrapping everything up for the characters, it’s also a time of saying goodbye to them. I get a little attached to my imaginary friends after spending months or years with them.

 

    

   YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

I prefer revising. The structure and story world are in place, and there’s something to mold and shape. At this stage, I love delving deeper into the characters’ personalities, getting to know them better, and refining them into more believable people.

 

 

      YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

I can make houseplants wither and die with a mere glance. It isn’t a very useful power. I’d prefer being able to transport myself instantaneously to other parts of the world so I could visit far-scattered friends anytime I wanted.

 

 

 

Gretchen and the Bear

By: Carrie Anne Noble

Publisher: Wordcrafts Press

Release Date: June 17th, 2020

 

  

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

Three winners will receive a signed copy of Gretchen and the Bear (Carrie Anne Noble) ~ (US Only)

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

Featured Review: You Brought Me the Ocean (Alex Sa...
Featured Review: Fae's Defiance (Queens of the Fae...

Related Posts

 

Comments 13

Already Registered? Login Here
Zachary Snyder on Thursday, 18 June 2020 14:01

The book sounds great, looking forward to reading it!

1
The book sounds great, looking forward to reading it!
Carrie Anne Noble on Thursday, 18 June 2020 14:58

Thank you, Zachary! I hope you enjoy the story!

0
Thank you, Zachary! I hope you enjoy the story!
Victoria Scott on Sunday, 21 June 2020 00:09

Looks so good! Thanks for sharing!

0
Looks so good! Thanks for sharing!
Andrea Carroll on Monday, 22 June 2020 10:38

I like the touch of sci-fi... will be an interesting read. And being based off fairytales, only makes it that much more intriguing.

0
I like the touch of sci-fi... will be an interesting read. And being based off fairytales, only makes it that much more intriguing.
Gabby Roberts on Monday, 29 June 2020 22:47

This sounds so unique!

0
This sounds so unique! :D
Morgan on Thursday, 02 July 2020 14:42

Love this cover

0
Love this cover
Alivia Hartz on Saturday, 04 July 2020 00:54

I am in love with this cover! It’s beautiful!

0
I am in love with this cover! It’s beautiful!
Liz on Tuesday, 07 July 2020 03:52

beautiful cover, think the kids will really enjoy the story!

0
beautiful cover, think the kids will really enjoy the story!
Jessica Robayo on Tuesday, 07 July 2020 11:27

Lovely cover and the story sounds so unique!!

0
Lovely cover and the story sounds so unique!!
Danielle Hammelef on Saturday, 11 July 2020 11:20

The cover is beautiful and this book sounds suspenseful and action-packed.

0
The cover is beautiful and this book sounds suspenseful and action-packed.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a tiny mouse as she searches for the biggest...
The Shadow War
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. ...

Latest Member Reviews

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."