Author Chat with Carrie Ann DiRisio (Brooding YA Hero: Becoming a Main Character (Almost) as Awesome as Me), Plus Giveaway!

Screen-Shot-2017-09-07-at-9.43.41-AM

Today we're excited to chat with Carrie Ann DiRisio, author of Brooding YA Hero: Becoming a Main Character (Almost) as Awesome as MeRead on for more about Carrie and her book, plus a giveaway.

 

Meet Carrie Ann DiRisio!

 
 Carrie Ann DiRisio is a YA writer and creator of @BroodingYAHero. She lives in Pittsburgh, PA with one large fluffy cat, and is currently pursuing her masters in Digital Marketing, although her true dream is to become a Disney Villainess, complete with a really snazzy gown.
In addition to writing and plans for world domination, she also enjoys running, coffee, Krav Maga, and knitting. 
 
Meet Brooding YA Hero: Becoming a Main Character (Almost) as Awesome as Me!
 
 

Have you ever wished you could receive a little guidance from your favorite book boyfriend? Ever dreamed of being the Chosen One in a YA novel? Want to know all the secrets of surviving the dreaded plot twist? 

Or maybe you're just really confused about what "opal-tinted, luminous cerulean orbs" actually are? 

Well, popular Twitter personality @broodingYAhero is here to help as he tackles the final frontier in his media dominance: writing a book. Join Broody McHottiepants as he attempts to pen Brooding YA Hero: Becoming a Main Character (Almost) as Awesome as Me, a "self-help" guide (with activities--you always need activities) that lovingly pokes fun at the YA tropes that we roll our eyes at, but secretly love. 

As his nefarious ex, Blondie DeMeani, attempts to thwart him at every turn, Broody overcomes to detail, among other topics, how to choose your genre, how to keep your love interest engaged (while maintaining lead character status), his secret formula for guaranteed love triangle success, and how to make sure you secure that sequel, all while keeping his hair perfectly coiffed and never breaking a sweat.

 
 
A Chat with Carrie Ann DiRisio:

1.) Who is your favorite character in the book?

 

Blondie DeMeani! She's the antagonist, and Broody's evil ex-girlfriend. She's also a really fun deconstruction of the "evil girl" in popular fiction. We so often see the pipular girl, or the prety girl, or the girl who likes girly things, be labeled as the villian in a novel, and usually its for very flimsy reasons. I wanted to dig into this interlaized misogyny, but do it in a way that uses humor to educate, rather than insult. Humor can be a very tricky tool to use, but I truly hope others will love Blondie as much as I do.

2.) Which came first, the title or the novel?

 

For this book, the main character came first. Broody McHottiepants has been tweeting for a few years now, and we decided the time was right to give him the spotlight he so craves. It was really fun turning a parody twitter account into the main character (and co-author) of his own book!

3.) Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

 

Oh, wow. Well, I've been writing since I was five, so let me think back to the beginning of my more professional writing career, when I was querying agents. I think the hardest, most vital lesson I've learned is that the path to success looks different for every single author. Comparison is truly the thief of joy, as the saying goes. And also, that path can be a long one, full of a lot of heartbreak. Stubbornness is a great skill to have in this industry!

 

4.) What do you like most about the cover of the book?

 

EVERYTHING! Not even kidding. Linnea Gear's art leaps off the page, the font is so fun, and the color is beautiful. I couldn't be happier. I smile every time I see it.

5.) What was your favorite book in 2016?

 

The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig. I read it when I was utterly exhausted, and creatively drained. The magic found in that story really inspired me. I recommend it to everyone. (And I'm the founding member of the Slate fan club, so if you like slightly dangerous, tough pirates, come sit by me.)

6.) Is there anything that you would like to add?

 

I'd love to talk a bit about the structure of the book. It's very unusual, because it includes both a narrative (what we would think of as a traditional "story") as well as chapters written by Broody himself, that are full of advice on how to be a main character. So, the book is sort of a really unique, fun hybrid between fiction and nonfiction.

7.) Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

 

Can I say Broody himself? ;) He can be a bit of a challenging character to work with, because everything he does is over-the-top, adverb-filled, and utterly full of his ego. But, he's also got a good heart, somewhere under all that hair gel and smoldering charm.

8.) Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or                   Revising?

 

Drafting for sure! I am a rather impulsive, big picture person. Story concepts come easy to me, but the fine-tuning part always takes me forever. As a teen, I never revised stories, because I was always too excited to get to work chasing down the next big idea. Now that I'm older, I am learning to enjoy the beauty that comes from polishing a draft.

 

 

Brooding YA Hero: Becoming a Main Character (Almost) as Awesome as Me

By: Carrie Ann DiRisio

Release Date: October 3, 2017

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will win one copy of the book with a signed book plate and a Broody candle. (US & Canada only). 

 
 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Author Chat with K.M. Walton, David Arnold, & Jame...
Giveaway: THE DREADFUL TALE OF PROSPER REDDING (US...

Related Posts

 

Comments 6

Already Registered? Login Here
John on Thursday, 07 September 2017 17:06

The cover looks humorous. "Twitter personalities"--ugh! Fun book, I imagine.

0
The cover looks humorous. "Twitter personalities"--ugh! Fun book, I imagine.
Delaney on Saturday, 09 September 2017 23:16

I'm SO excited for this book! I think the cover is so sassy and this book sounds so hilarious!

0
I'm SO excited for this book! I think the cover is so sassy and this book sounds so hilarious!
Lily M. on Monday, 11 September 2017 07:26

Seems like its going to be a fun book, just what I need right now

0
Seems like its going to be a fun book, just what I need right now :)
Melanie Bracco on Wednesday, 13 September 2017 16:51

The cover is awesome and the synopsis sounds interesting!

0
The cover is awesome and the synopsis sounds interesting!
Darla on Tuesday, 03 October 2017 02:52

not fond of the cover. I just don't like the illustration. The synopsis reveals it'll be a satire.

0
not fond of the cover. I just don't like the illustration. The synopsis reveals it'll be a satire. :)
Danielle Hammelef on Wednesday, 04 October 2017 20:06

The cover is hilarious and matches the humorous synopsis.

0
The cover is hilarious and matches the humorous synopsis.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."