Author Chat with Carolyn Crimi (Weird Little Robots), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

32720313._SX318_

 Today we're excited to chat with Carolyn Crimi, author of

Weird Little Robots.

 Read on for more about Carolyn and her book, plus an giveaway! 

 

 

 

 

Meet Carolyn Crimi!

Carolyn Crimi enjoys snacking, pugs, Halloween, and writing, although not necessarily in that order. Over the years she has published 15 funny books for children, including Don’t Need Friends, Henry and the Buccaneer Bunnies, Where’s My Mummy?, There Might Be Lobsters, and I Am The Boss of This Chair. Weird Little Robots is her first novel.


 

 WebsiteFacebook * Twitter 

 


 

 

Meet Weird Little Robots!

When two science-savvy girls create an entire robot world, they don’t expect the robots to come alive. But life may be a bit more magical than they thought.

Nine-year-old Penny Rose has just moved to a new town, and so far the robots she builds herself are her only company. But with just a bit of magic, everything changes: she becomes best friends with Lark, has the chance to join a secret science club, and discovers that her robots are alive. Penny Rose hardly remembers how lonely she used to feel. But then a fateful misstep forces her to choose between the best friend she’s always hoped for and the club she’s always dreamed of, and in the end it may be her beloved little robots that pay the price. Quirky and wonderful, this illustrated chapter book from Carolyn Crimi and Corinna Luyken shows that making your own space and a true friend in the world is a kind of magic all its own.
 

 

 

Amazon * B & NIndiebound

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

      YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

One day a friend posted a picture of a miniature, handmade robot on her Facebook page. It reminded me of these small toy robots I had when I was little called The Zeroids. They looked so amazing in the commercials. I’d fantasize about them following me around like puppies. Alas, they broke pretty soon after I got them, but just looking at the picture made me remember how much I wanted them to be alive.

     YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

The robots were the most fun to write, especially IPam, who is made out of an old iPhone. She’s a bit confused and gets her texting acronyms, like LOL, FYI, and BTW, all mixed up.

     

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

The title didn’t come for quite a while. I was talking to my writer’s group about the book, and said something about how I was enjoying writing about my “weird little robots.” That’s when my pal Jenny Meyerhoff said, “There’s your title.”

My writing group is pretty darn amazing.

 

      YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

I’ve learned that I’m capable of doing a lot more than I think I can. I just need to push myself a little and get out of my comfort zone.

      YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

I love so many things about the cover! Candlewick presented a few illustrators to me. They were all wonderful, but Corinna was my first choice. Her quirky, sketchy style fit the book perfectly. I love the girls’ expressions--they look like they’re sharing a secret. And the robots! Oh. So. Adorable.

      YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2019?

Aside from my very first novel, which I have been looking forward to my whole life, I’m always anxious to read any and all new Kate DiCamillo books.

      YABC:  What was your favorite book in 2018?

I absolutely adored The Mortification of Fovea Munson by Mary Winn Heider. What a wacky ride! Disgustingly funny and seriously weird, so basically everything I love in one book.

     

    YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Oh, I’m definitely a drafting person. I love love love first drafts! They are so much fun for me. I am learning to love revision, but I find it a lot harder.

     

YABC:  What would you say is your superpower?

I can make any baby laugh and will go to great lengths to do so.

    YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

I’m a sucker for any organization that rescues dogs.

 

 


 

 

 

Weird Little Robots

By: Carolyn Crimi

Release Date: October 1st, 2019

 Publisher: Candlewick Press

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

Three winners will receive a copy of Weird Little Robots (Carolyn Crimi) ~ (US Only)

 

 *Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

 

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Spotlight on I Like The Me I See! (Culture Queen),...
Author Chat with Laura Taylor Namey (The Library O...

Related Posts

 

Comments 4

Already Registered? Login Here
Debra Branigan on Thursday, 10 October 2019 09:30

What a great story! I love the girls looking all "scientific" on the cover. Thanks for writing! On my list for my granddaughter.

0
What a great story! I love the girls looking all "scientific" on the cover. Thanks for writing! On my list for my granddaughter.
Danielle Hammelef on Saturday, 26 October 2019 13:30

The cover is cute and fun and the synopsis sounds fun as I am a science geek too.

0
The cover is cute and fun and the synopsis sounds fun as I am a science geek too.
Penny Olson on Sunday, 27 October 2019 00:45

The cover is fun and well illustrated. The story sounds relevant and magical.

0
The cover is fun and well illustrated. The story sounds relevant and magical.
Dan Denman on Tuesday, 29 October 2019 09:21

I like the girls and robots on the book cover. The story and characters sound fun and imaginative.

0
I like the girls and robots on the book cover. The story and characters sound fun and imaginative.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is brimming full of incredible inventions - but...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The night my sister was born, the stars died and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He thinks she's shallow, she thinks he's a nerd. What...
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They call me the Dark Queen… Ryleigh...
Scarred
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
Life leaves you scarred. Love can make you beautiful....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two friends in the 1980's were graduating from Cosmetology School....
Twisting Minds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How can you trust your heart when you can't trust...

Latest Member Reviews

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."
 
3.0
"THE STORY OF INVENTIONS is a simple, accessible introduction to some of the breakthroughs that have shaped the world across..."
Skin Hunter
 
4.5
"Milla steals an armband and an identity which could put her to death if she is found out. She takes..."
Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars #1)
 
5.0
"SCAVENGE THE STARS is an engaging YA fantasy that gripped me from the start. Amaya, or Silverfish, is a girl..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
A Straw Man
 
5.0
"The story: Melody, the younger sister of Charlie, the main character of the previous book, is now..."
Girl at Heart
 
5.0
"'Girl at Heart' by Kelly Oram is a sweet, entertaining, easy read that any lover of YA romance will adore...."
Kingdom Cold
 
4.8
"What I loved: First and foremost, the characters. Princess Charlotte's fierce, unyielding manner. The way her character is left..."
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
"Isn't great to finish a series and feel satisfied? Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine is the final book in..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."
Breaking Through: How Female Athletes Shattered Stereotypes in the Roaring Twenties
 
5.0
"One hundred years ago. When I was growing up, this seemed like an impossibly long time in the past. The..."
Scarred
 
4.8
"Emotionally, I mean. What I loved: As you can guess from the title,..."
The Path Divided
 
5.0
"I'm going to break out of my usual review mold here because this book was so many things. It..."
Girl at Heart
 
4.8
"What I loved: Just about everything. This was an adorable YA Contemporary Romance with a surprisingly well-rounded..."
Skin Hunter
 
4.3
"What I loved: The world building was perfectly illustrated without bogging down the story. Everything from the..."
Our Year in Love and Parties
 
4.0
"What I loved: The story was told through the unique lens of four specific events with..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Jack Kerouac is Dead to Me
 
4.3
"JACK KEROUAC IS DEAD TO ME is Gae Polisner’s most recent YA Contemporary novel. Like in her other books, she..."
Woven in Moonlight
 
5.0
"Woven in Moonlight is a beautiful and lush fantasy, based on the culture and history of Bolivia. It is set..."