Author Chat with Bethany Mangle (Prepped), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

816CnbNYv_20210112-013158_1

 Today we're excited to chat with Bethany Mangle author of

Prepped.

Read on for more about Bethany and her book, plus a giveaway!

 

 

 

Meet Bethany Mangle!

Bethany Mangle writes young adult contemporary fiction because she refuses to ever grow up. She graduated from Hood College and George Washington University with degrees that have nothing to do with writing. Although she currently lives in Mississippi, Bethany has called many different states home. When she isn’t writing, she can usually be found reading, baking questionable cakes, or spoiling her dog.

Bethany’s short fiction has appeared in a variety of publications, including Maudlin House and The Citron Review.

 

 Website * Facebook * Instagram * Twitter

 

 

 

 

Meet Prepped!

“For fans of Jeff Zentner and Katie Henry comes a thrilling and funny debut about a teen raised in a doomsday community who plots her escape with the boy from the bunker next door.

Always be ready for the worst day of your life.

This is the mantra that Becca Aldaine has grown up with. Her family is part of a community of doomsday preppers, a neighborhood that prioritizes survivalist training over class trips or senior prom. They’re even arranging Becca’s marriage with Roy Kang, the only eligible boy in their community. Roy is a nice guy, but he’s so enthusiastic about prepping that Becca doesn’t have the heart to tell him she’s planning to leave as soon as she can earn a full ride to a college far, far away.

Then a devastating accident rocks Becca’s family and pushes the entire community, including Becca’s usually cynical little sister, deeper into the doomsday ideology. With her getaway plans thrown into jeopardy, the only person Becca can turn to is Roy, who reveals that he’s not nearly as clueless as he’s been pretending to be.

When Roy proposes they run away together, Becca will have to risk everything—including her heart—for a chance to hope for the best instead of planning for the worst.”

 

 

Amazon * B & N  * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

      

      YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

I was watching an emergency drill at work and I started wondering what it would be like to have a character who is forced to prepare for an apocalyptic event that never happens.

 

     

YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?


If I have to choose, it would be Roy. I had so much fun writing Roy and seeing the doomsday prepping world through his eyes.

 

 

 

      YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

The novel came first. My agent actually came up with the idea to call it PREPPED. I’m notoriously awful at making up titles.

 

 

      YABC:  Do you have a favorite writing snack?

Anyone close to me knows that I eat way too many animal crackers. Whenever I’m stumped and I need a break, I’ll go make some lemon tea and grab a handful of animal crackers on my way past the pantry.

     

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

 

Honestly, I think the most important thing I’ve learned is how to handle rejection. It’s still hard to hear that someone doesn’t like my work, but it isn’t as devastating as it used to be. When I was first starting out, I didn’t have any confidence in myself as a writer, so it was a lot more difficult to bounce back from rejection.


 

 

    YABC:  Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate? 


The opening scene was the most difficult because I wanted to show Becca’s version of normal in an organic way. I wanted readers to be able to experience daily life in Becca’s doomsday prepping community without having to outright explain their beliefs or practices. The other part I found challenging was focusing on well-established relationships without having to go into each character’s background and history.

   

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

I definitely enjoy drafting more than revising. To me, it’s the most creative part of writing. Since I don’t outline and tend to write without knowing what happens next, drafting is a very open-ended experience.


   

 

YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?


I’m a founding member of Disabled Creatives (DC) Universe, a mentorship program for disabled/neurodivergent writers and illustrators. We rarely see disabled/neurodivergent characters written by authors who identify as disabled/neurodivergent. It’s my sincere hope that we can change that and help uplift marginalized voices in publishing.

   

 

 

 

 

Prepped

By: Bethany Mangle

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderberry Books/Simon and Schuster

Release Date: February 23rd, 2021

 

  

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will each receive a copy of Prepped (Bethany Mangle) ~ (US Only)

 

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

It’s Live!! Cover Reveal: The Last Words We Said b...
Featured Review: The Broken Raven (Joseph Elliott)

Related Posts

 

Comments 3

Already Registered? Login Here
Zachary Snyder on Thursday, 14 January 2021 13:08

Book looks great, look forward to reading it!

0
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Andrea Cerda on Thursday, 14 January 2021 18:17

book look great and interesting!

0
book look great and interesting!
Dianna G. on Thursday, 14 January 2021 18:54

This sounds like a very unusual coming of age story! The cover made me curious.

0
This sounds like a very unusual coming of age story! The cover made me curious.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Wings of Ebony (Wings of Ebony, #1)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this riveting, keenly emotional debut fantasy, a Black teen...
You Say It First
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
One conversation can change everything. Meg has her entire...
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
ALEX A tragedy at Langley Estate puts my family...
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Clark thought he knew what grief was. Addie thought...
Tales from the Hinterland
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A gorgeously illustrated collection of twelve “lush and deliciously...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
From the acclaimed author of Defy, Sara B. Larson,...
In the Penalty Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Willow Figure skating was supposed to be my whole...
Unchosen
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Katharyn Blair crafts a fiercely feminist fantasy with a horrifying...
Miracle Girl
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leanne Strong hates June eighth even though it's supposed to...
The Memory Thief  (Thirteen Witches #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Rosie Singer’s mom is missing whatever it is that...
Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
On October 2nd, 1977, Glenn Burke, outfielder for the Los...
The Elephant in the Room
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's been almost a year since Sila's mother traveled halfway...
Alone in the Woods
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jocelyn and Alex have always been best friends...until they aren't....
Disaster Days
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hannah Steele loves living on Pelling, a tiny island near...
Wild River
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Daniel Redmayne is fast asleep on the first night of...
The Last Hurrah
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
3 nights, 2 days, and 1 massive music fest ....

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Circus
 
4.3
"I couldn’t begin to express how much I adore this book. This book, magically, soothed my temper and let me..."
Wings of Ebony (Wings of Ebony, #1)
 
4.7
"WINGS OF EBONY is a beautifully crafted YA fantasy. A year has passed since Rue's life was irrevocably changed. Her..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
The Tempest Sea
 
5.0
"This book... oof. It hurt. But if you know me at all, you know my favorite books are the kind..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"This book grabbed me from the very beginning, throwing me into this beautifully-crafted, intriguing new world. The plot is fast-paced..."
The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1)
 
4.3
"THE GILDED ONES by Namina Forna is a YA fantasy novel and the first book in the Deathless series. The..."
Unchosen
 
5.0
"UNCHOSEN is a fantastic and completely captivating YA apocalyptic fantasy, filled with feminism, friendship, sisterhood, and romance. Charlotte is the..."
The Memory Thief  (Thirteen Witches #1)
 
5.0
"Rosie has always taken care of herself and her mother in their house overlooking the coast of Maine. Her mother..."
Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke
 
4.5
"Maraniss, whose Strong Inside covered Black basketball player Perry Wallace, turns his incredible research skills the the story of Glenn..."
The Elephant in the Room
 
5.0
"Sila's family has been happy in Oregon, even though her father, who is a mechanical engineer, has to work as..."
Alone in the Woods
 
5.0
"Jocelyn always looks forward to the vacation in a cabin that she and her friend Alex's family take every year...."
Disaster Days
 
5.0
"Hannah doesn't understand why her parents are SO overprotective, even though she occasionally has a hard time dealing with her..."
We Dream of Space
 
4.0
"Bird, her twin brother Fitch, and their older brother Chase are all doing the best they can in 1986 Park,..."
Wild River
 
5.0
"Daniel isn't all that sure why he was chosen to go on an outdoor experience trip with four other students..."
In the Penalty Box
 
4.0
"IN THE PENALTY BOX is a cute YA contemporary hockey romance. Willow is a figure skater heading for the Olympics,..."
The Afterlife of the Party (Afterlife, #1)
 
4.7
"THE AFTERLIFE OF THE PARTY is a YA vampire book for anyone who doesn't want to make out with the..."
The Alcazar (The Cerulean, #2)
 
3.0
"THE ALCAZAR wraps up an intriguing YA fantasy duology. The book continues to follow four main characters in alternating points-of-view,..."
Super Fake Love Song
 
4.0
"Super Fake Love Song is about Sunny Dae, a Korean American teenager who is a mega-nerd trying to survive at..."
Hot British Boyfriend
 
4.3
"Ellie lives in Washington D.C. and attends an elite school, even though the tuition is a stretch for her single..."
Charlie Thorne and the Lost City (Charlie Thorne #2)
 
5.0
"After her adventures in Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation, Charlie is hiding out in the Galapagos Islands in Ecuador,..."