Author Chat with B.B. Alston (Amari and the Night Brothers), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

AmariNightBrothers-hc-c

 Today we're excited to chat with B.B. Alston author of

Amari and the Night Brothers.

Read on for more about B.B. and his book, plus a giveaway!

 

 

 

Meet B.B. Alston!

B. B. Alston lives in Lexington, SC. Amari and the Night Brothers is his debut middle grade novel. When not writing, he can be found eating too many sweets and exploring country roads to see where they lead.

 

 Website * Instagram * Twitter * Amazon Author Page

 

 

 

 

Meet Amari and the Night Brothers!

Artemis Fowl meets Men in Black in this exhilarating debut middle grade fantasy, the first in a trilogy filled with #blackgirlmagic. Perfect for fans of Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky, the Percy Jackson series, and Nevermoor. 

Amari Peters has never stopped believing her missing brother, Quinton, is alive. Not even when the police told her otherwise, or when she got in trouble for standing up to bullies who said he was gone for good.

So when she finds a ticking briefcase in his closet, containing a nomination for a summer tryout at the Bureau of Supernatural Affairs, she’s certain the secretive organization holds the key to locating Quinton—if only she can wrap her head around the idea of magicians, fairies, aliens, and other supernatural creatures all being real.

Now she must compete for a spot against kids who’ve known about magic their whole lives. No matter how hard she tries, Amari can’t seem to escape their intense doubt and scrutiny—especially once her supernaturally enhanced talent is deemed “illegal.” With an evil magician threatening the supernatural world, and her own classmates thinking she’s an enemy, Amari has never felt more alone. But if she doesn’t stick it out and pass the tryouts, she may never find out what happened to Quinton.

 

 

Amazon * B & N  * Indiebound

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

     

YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

Elsie is probably my favorite character in the book. She has such a warm personality and is such a loyal friend that I always feel great writing her scenes. Also, weredragons are just cool!

 

 

YABC:  Which came first, the title or the novel?

Definitely the novel. I used to call it Amari and the Bureau of Supernatural Affairs. The current title is definitely much better!



 

YABC:  Do you have a favorite writing snack?

I love the Nature Valley Cashew Granola bars. They are the perfect balance of sweet and salty. You should definitely give them a try.

 

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

The most important thing I’ve learned is not to give up. It can be really hard to break into the publishing industry but that doesn’t mean you should stop trying. All it takes is one yes to accomplish your dream of being a published author.

 

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

I love being able to see a Black kid on the cover, because there weren’t any covers like that when I was a kid. It’s my hope that Amari’s story inspires kids to believe that anyone can be the hero of their own story.


 

YABC:  What’s on your TBR pile?

I can’t wait to read Angie Thomas’s new book, Concrete Rose. I’m also really looking forward to reading Tristan Strong Destroys the World by Kwame Mbalia. And I’m sure I’ll reread The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern again soon for the hundredth time!

 

 

YABC:  What’s a book you’ve recently read and loved?

I recently read The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes. It’s a cool story about a girl trying to figure out why a stranger cut off his own family to leave her a billion-dollar fortune. And not only that, she has to live with spurned family while she puzzles it out!

 

 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

I’m currently working on the sequel for Amari and the Night Brothers, as well as a short story for the Black Boy Joy story anthology with Kwame Mbalia. Also, I’m helping with the script for the movie adaption for the Amari and the Night Brothers. It’s all keeping me really busy!

 

 

YABC:  Are there any film adaptations, tv shows, audiobooks, or other adaptations in the works for this book?

There is a movie adaptation currently in development with Universal! Marsai Martin and Don Cheadle are among the producers, as well as Mandeville who did the live action Beauty and the Beast movie. I’m currently working Azia Squire, the talented screenwriter, on the script.

 

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Drafting is always much more fun for me because I’m still figuring out the story in most cases. That’s when I feel the most creative and I get to add in all the cool stuff I want before revisions come and I have to decide what’s important.

 

 

Amari and the Night Brothers

By: B.B. Alston

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Release Date: January 19th, 2021

 

  

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will each receive a copy of Amari and the Night Brothers (B.B. Alston) ~ (US Only)

 

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

Spotlight on My Name Is Layla (Reyna Marder Gentin...
What's New In YA ~ January 19th, 2021

Related Posts

 

Comments 9

Already Registered? Login Here
Zachary Snyder on Tuesday, 19 January 2021 11:37

Book looks great, love the cover!

0
Book looks great, love the cover!
Andrea Cerda on Monday, 01 February 2021 15:41

the cover is really interesting and looks like a good book.

0
the cover is really interesting and looks like a good book.
Amanda on Friday, 05 February 2021 18:06

I can't take my eyes off the cover- so beautiful! This has been on my TBR for a while- can't wait to read it!

0
I can't take my eyes off the cover- so beautiful! This has been on my TBR for a while- can't wait to read it!
Debra Branigan on Friday, 05 February 2021 20:32

The cover is fantastic! I so want to read this most interesting story.

0
The cover is fantastic! I so want to read this most interesting story.
Danielle Hammelef on Saturday, 13 February 2021 16:25

The cover is one of my favorites and this novel is a must read for me!

0
The cover is one of my favorites and this novel is a must read for me!
Penny Olson on Wednesday, 17 February 2021 00:38

The cover is powerful and magical and the story is completely enticing.

0
The cover is powerful and magical and the story is completely enticing.
Jeana Kwiecinski on Wednesday, 17 February 2021 12:55

What a beautiful cover and the story sounds so good.

0
What a beautiful cover and the story sounds so good.
Chiara Jucha on Wednesday, 17 February 2021 14:20

This story sounds fantastic and I love the cover!

0
This story sounds fantastic and I love the cover!
Suleika on Wednesday, 17 February 2021 15:09

Super cute cover!

0
Super cute cover!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Riley Oh can't wait to see her sister get initiated...
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Bite-sized facts about forests from around the globe, pointing out...
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this sweeping debut, Asha Bromfield takes readers to the...
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this tender, nuanced coming-of-age love story, two boys—one who...
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
At the Midnight Ball, leave your inhibitions at the...
The Forest of Stolen Girls
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1426, Joseon (Korea). Hwani's family has never been the...
Go the Distance
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
What if Meg had to become a god? After...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates...
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...
This Is My America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching...
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magnificent, hand-painted illustrations by a rising star of Czech watercolor...

Latest Member Reviews

The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LAST FALLEN STAR is a thrilling epic fantasy. Riley Oh is a saram, a person without magic, adopted by..."
Go the Distance
 
4.0
"Go the Distance by Jen Calonita is the latest installment in Disney’s Twisted Tale series. This time the story focuses..."
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
"Advice to save your marriage and get your Ex Boyfriend/girlfriend back ,contact ogagaspellcastertemple@gmail.com or WhatsApp +2347059387282 for Urgent effective love..."
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. While..."
Unchosen
 
4.7
"UNCHOSEN by Katharyn Blair is a YA Dystopian novel set in the future after the Crimson, a virus-like curse, turns..."
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: FORESTS OF THE WORLD is an approachable nonfiction book that teaches about different kinds of forests, from..."
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
"HURRICANE SUMMER is a sweeping coming-of-age story that captures the difficult and at times dangerous transition to womanhood. Tilla is..."
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
"ALL KINDS OF OTHER is an intriguing YA contemporary that follows two boys as they start at a new school...."
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: WATERS OF THE WORLD is an engaging nonfiction picture book that teaches basics and fun facts about..."
This Is My America
 
5.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Tracy's family is an outsider in multiple ways in their Texas town: they're one of the..."
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
"COLORS IN NATURE is a beautifully illustrated book of art that features animals and plants. The book walks through each..."
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO ARIZONA is a simple, fun travel guide picture book for children about the state. The book covers fun..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"COUNTING DOWN WITH YOU is a heart-wrenching and visceral YA contemporary read. Karina (Myra is her familial name) is a..."
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. While..."
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
"While I was familiar with most of the information in the book, due to apparently all too frequent deep..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"Fate Calling by Lindsay Grace is a beautifully written fae fantasy about a young human girl named Aislinn and a..."
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
"What worked: The magical aspect of this book had me turning pages quickly. It was easy to read and..."
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
"IN DEEPER WATERS is an intriguing and fast-paced YA fantasy. Tal is the fourth of five royal children in a..."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: OUTER SPACE is another fun collection of paint-by-sticker images with an outer space theme. The book..."