Author Chat with Ashley Elston (The Lying Woods), Plus Giveaway!

LyingWoods

Today we're excited to chat with Ashley Elston,

author of The Lying Woods!

Read on for more about Ashley and her book and a giveaway!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Meet Ashley Elston!

ASHLEY ELSTON is the author of several novels including: The Rules for Disappearing—an International Thriller Writers Thriller Award finalist—and This

Is Our Story. She has a liberal arts degree from Louisiana State University. Ashley lives in Shreveport, Louisiana with her husband and three sons. For

more information about Ashley and her books, please visit ashleyelston.com and follow her on Twitter @ashely_elston and on Instagram @ashleyelston.

 

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

 

Meet The Lying Woods!

One Of Us Is Lying meets The Darkest Corners in THE LYING WOODS (On sale November 13, 2018 | Hyperion) by critically-acclaimed author Ashley Elston,

an atmospheric, multi-generational young adult drama that will ensnare both teen and adult readers who like high-stake mysteries seeped with intrigue. Elston has a knack for writing tense drama with tangled relationships and twists readers don’t see coming.

Owen Foster has never wanted for anything. Then his mother shows up at his elite New Orleans boarding school cradling a bombshell: his privileged life has been funded by stolen money. After using the family business, the single largest employer in his small Louisiana town, to embezzle millions, Owen's father vanished without a trace, leaving his family to deal with the fallout.

Owen returns to Lake Cane to finish his senior year, where people he can barely remember despise him for his father's crimes. When Owen and his mother receive increasingly frightening threats from someone out for revenge, he knows he must get to the bottom of what really happened at Louisiana Frac—and the cryptic note his father sent him days before disappearing. Owen's only refuge is the isolated pecan orchard he works at after school, owned by a man named Gus who has his own secrets. As Owen uncovers a terrible injustice that looms over the same woods he's claimed as his own, he must face a shocking truth about his own past.

 

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~ 

 

 

YABC:  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

The idea for THE LYING WOODS came while I was watching a documentary on Bernie Madoff and his victims. Obviously, it wasn’t the first time I had heard about the crimes he committed but there was something about this particular show that gave me that light bulb moment. So I started thinking, what would happen if there was a Madoff-esque crime in a small town where all the victims knew each other and knew the family of the man who committed the crime? And from there, THE LYING WOODS was born.

 

 

YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

I would have to say my favorite character is Gus. He’s a recluse who hides away in an old pecan orchard and both Noah and Owen come to depend on him when they have no one else. He doesn’t pull any punches and always says exactly what’s on his mind.

 

 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

I’m most proud of several scenes toward the end of the novel where a few twists are revealed. I can’t tell you about them in detail without spoiling the ending but it was very satisfying when everything came together. It feels like a puzzle sometimes, trying to give just the right amount of clues without giving too much away, and when you’re able to slide that last piece into place – it feels amazing.

 

 

YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

You always hear the advice – “It’s a marathon not a sprint!” – and that’s so true! I’ve learned to relax and trust the process even though sometimes it feels like FOREVER between steps. I’ve also learned how important it is to have friends in the writing community because they are going through the same ups and downs. As much as my husband says he understands when I complain about something – he really doesn’t! But my writing friends do.

 

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

Everything! I love the tree and how eerie it feels. I love the two shadows at the base of the tree and that you only realize they are people once you look close enough. I also love the color. It’s the perfect cover for this book.

 

 

YABC:  What’s up next for you?

Something very different! My next book, TEN BLIND DATES, will be out in Fall 2019. It’s about a girl who begins her holiday break broken up with her boyfriend and her big, boisterous family hopes to get her over her broken heart by setting her up on dates. I mean, what could go wrong?

 

 

YABC:  Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

I don’t have a clear favorite as there are good and evil parts to both. I do love the freedom of the writing the first draft. Everything is possible and the potential direction the book can take is endless but that’s also the downside. So many choices! And there’s something refreshing about revising. The whole book is there – yeah! – and you just need to fix it. But the fixing-it part can be so hard at times.

 

 

YABC:  What was your favorite book in 2017?

There are so many great books out this year but probably one of my favorites was SADIE by Courtney Summers. It’s hard not to feel panicked when you’re reading this book as you follow Sadie on the hunt for the man who killed her sister. The podcast transcripts of THE GIRLS by radio personality, West McCray, was the perfect balance to Sadie’s POV. I highly recommend checking it out. 

 

 

YABC:  Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

St. Jude’s always tops my list of organizations close to my heart. We’ve had several friends who have gone there to seek treatment for their children and St. Jude’s has a way of making an unbearable situation a little bit more bearable.

 

 

 

 

THE LYING WOODS

by Ashley Elston

Hyperion | On Sale November 13. 2018 | Ages 14 and Up

Hardcover ISBN: 9781368014786| $17.99 | $18.99 Can. | 336 pages | Ebook ISBN: 9781368016193

 

 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will receive a copy of The Lying Woods (Ashley Elston) ~ (US Only)

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What's Hot in KU
Featured Review: Savage Beauty (Casey L Bond)

Related Posts

 

Comments 9

Already Registered? Login Here
Tiffany Engler on Friday, 16 November 2018 07:01

I love this cover! I love the contrast between the green and white. Sounds like a great read!

0
I love this cover! I love the contrast between the green and white. Sounds like a great read!
Debra Branigan on Sunday, 18 November 2018 19:55

Love the cover and the story sounds quite mysterious and a fun read. This one is definitely on my TBR. Good luck with your novel.

0
Love the cover and the story sounds quite mysterious and a fun read. This one is definitely on my TBR. Good luck with your novel.
Kara S on Monday, 19 November 2018 18:12

The cover is understated but cool, which works well because the critical acclaim and compelling storyline do enough to draw readers to the book. There is no need for bright colors or the most exciting design motif. Thanks, Kara S

0
The cover is understated but cool, which works well because the critical acclaim and compelling storyline do enough to draw readers to the book. There is no need for bright colors or the most exciting design motif. Thanks, Kara S
Shannon Mizikoski on Monday, 03 December 2018 21:59

The cover is simple, but atmospheric, I like it! I have also heard so, so many good things about the book already, I am so looking forward to reading it!

0
The cover is simple, but atmospheric, I like it! I have also heard so, so many good things about the book already, I am so looking forward to reading it!
Donia Eskander on Monday, 03 December 2018 22:55

Ahhh I love the cover and it reminds me of the cover of her other book which I loved which is This is Our Story! Can’t wait to read this; the summary has me excited!

0
Ahhh I love the cover and it reminds me of the cover of her other book which I loved which is This is Our Story! Can’t wait to read this; the summary has me excited!
Jayda on Friday, 07 December 2018 20:17

The cover is beautiful and cover makes the story look so intriguing!

0
The cover is beautiful and cover makes the story look so intriguing!
Nancy Hernandez on Friday, 07 December 2018 22:47

I need this book. The cover is great. I don't know what it is with a tree on the cover but I love it. The story sounds really good. I need to read this book.

0
I need this book. The cover is great. I don't know what it is with a tree on the cover but I love it. The story sounds really good. I need to read this book.
Penny Olson on Tuesday, 11 December 2018 23:11

The cover is striking and stark. The plot sounds very intriguing.

0
The cover is striking and stark. The plot sounds very intriguing.
Danielle Hammelef on Thursday, 13 December 2018 14:34

I like the cover. The synopsis sounds exciting.

0
I like the cover. The synopsis sounds exciting.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger to...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Blast off into outer space with this mess-free sticker craft!...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are...
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mischievous Ntombi is not at all afraid of the fearsome...
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Brave young Pedro faces monsters and greedy guards when he...
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA...
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This hilarious story of a pangolin with an identity crisis...
Poison Priestess (Lady Slayers, #2)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
In 17th-century Paris, 19-year-old Catherine Monvoisin is a well-heeled...
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When Sam can’t sleep, he decides to ask all the...
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years...
Fate Calling
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A cursed fae prince. A lonely human lass. A...
Welcome to California
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to California! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
Zoe Rosenthal is Not Lawful Good
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A buttoned-up overachiever works overtime to keep her inner...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi, this...
The Sky Above Us
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of We Speak in Storms comes...

Latest Member Reviews

In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
"IN DEEPER WATERS is an intriguing and fast-paced YA fantasy. Tal is the fourth of five royal children in a..."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: OUTER SPACE is another fun collection of paint-by-sticker images with an outer space theme. The book..."
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
"THESE FEATHERED FLAMES is an enchanting YA fantasy about sisterhood, power, and destiny. When twins are born in the royal..."
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
"‘The Mother of Monsters’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, tells the story of Ntombi, the chief's