Author Chat with Amanda Joy (A River Of Royal Blood)!

bt

 Today we're excited to chat with Amanda Joy author of

A River Of Royal Blood.

 Read on for more about Amanda and her book!

 

 

 

 

Meet Amanda Joy!

Amanda  Joy

Amanda Joy has an MFA from The New School, and lives in Chicago with her dog Luna. You can find her on twitter and Instagram at @amandajoywrites.

 

 

* Twitter *

 


 

 

Meet A River Of Royal Blood!

  

An enthralling debut perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone set in a North African-inspired fantasy world where two sisters must fight to the death to win the crown.

Sixteen-year-old Eva is a princess, born with the magick of marrow and blood--a dark and terrible magick that hasn't been seen for generations in the vibrant but fractured country of Myre. Its last known practitioner was Queen Raina, who toppled the native khimaer royalty and massacred thousands, including her own sister, eight generations ago, thus beginning the Rival Heir tradition. Living in Raina's long and dark shadow, Eva must now face her older sister, Isa, in a battle to the death if she hopes to ascend to the Ivory Throne--because in the Queendom of Myre only the strongest, most ruthless rulers survive.

When Eva is attacked by an assassin just weeks before the battle with her sister, she discovers there is more to the attempt on her life than meets the eye--and it isn't just her sister who wants to see her dead. As tensions escalate, Eva is forced to turn to a fey instructor of mythic proportions and a mysterious and handsome khimaer prince for help in growing her magick into something to fear. Because despite the love she still has for her sister, Eva will have to choose: Isa's death or her own.

A River of Royal Blood is an enthralling debut set in a lush North African inspired fantasy world that subtly but powerfully challenges our notions of power, history, and identity.


 

Amazon * B & NPenguin Random House

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

    

YABC: Which came first, the title or the novel?

The final title came well after the book was written. It comes from my favorite scene

 YABC: What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

I’m most proud of the scene where Eva first meets Baccha in the Temple, because it’s one of the only scenes I completely rewrote top to bottom. Baccha is my favorite character to write, because he always has something to say. So keeping him from overwhelming every scene he’s in is a challenge.

YABC: Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

That it’s essential to lead with your heart and remain grateful at every step.

YABC: What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2020?

Oh man, so many. Is it okay if I break the rules and pick 3? Ruthless Gods, the sequel to Wicked Saints, Woven in Moonlight by Isabel Ibañes, and Reverie by Ryan La Sala

 YABC: Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate? 

Without spoiling, I’ll just say there’s a scene in the latter half of the book where Eva is running toward something terrible. I still tear up when I think about that moment and the fall out.

 YABC: Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Honestly Eva and Baccha always give me the most trouble. They’re always going against the plan!

YABC: What would you say is your superpower?

I can daydream through absolutely any circumstance. It’s a gift and a curse really

 YABC: Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

The Chicago Teachers Union has been on strike for a little over a week now. They’re fighting for this city’s children and its future, and make me proud to call Chicago home.

 

 

 

 

 

A River Of Royal Blood

By: Amanda Joy

Release Date: October 29th, 2019

 Publisher: Putnam

 

 

 

Blog Tour Schedule

Week One

October 21 – Frolic Media [frolic.media] – Author Q&A

October 22 – The Nerdy Girl Express [thenerdygirlexpress.com] – Review

October 23 – Forever and Everly [foreverandeverly.wordpress.com] – Review + Creative Instagram Picture

October 24 – Books with Dorothy [instagram.com] – Curated Instagram Picture

Week Two

October 28 – Beverage and Books [instagram.com] – Creative Instagram Picture

October 29 – YA Books Central [yabookscentral.com] – Interview + Giveaway

October 30 – Folded Pages Distillery [instagram.com] – Blogger Content

October 31 – Tome and Textiles [instagram.com] – Creative Instagram Picture

Week Three

November 4 – Black Bookwyrm Reads [instagram.com] – Review + Creative Instagram Picture

November 5 – LiteraryxQueen [instagram.com] – Review + Creative Instagram Picture

November 6 – Devouring Books [devouringbooks2017.wordpress.com] – Author Guest Post

November 7 – Reader Rewind [instagram.com] – Creative Instagram Picture

 

 

 

 

 

Featured Review: All The Things We Do In The Dark ...
What's New In YA ~ October 29th, 2019

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Send Me Their Souls (Bring Me Their Hearts, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
There are worse things than death. ...
The Walrus and the Caribou
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When the earth was new, words had the power to...
The Elephant's Umbrella
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Elephant is always ready and willing to share her prized...
Calvin Gets the Last Word
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The dictionary as narrator? YES! ...
Goblin King (Permafrost, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Kara Barbieri's Goblin King, the stunning sequel in the...
Hollowpox: The Hunt for Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor, #3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Morrigan battles a new evil as a strange, frightening illness...
The Gilded Wolves (The Gilded Wolves, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
*AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER* From New York...
Earth-Shattering Events: Volcanoes, earthquakes, cyclones, tsunamis and other natural disasters
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An atlas of the most extreme meteorological and geological disasters...
Among the Beasts and Briars
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ashley Poston, acclaimed author of Heart of Iron, returns...
Gut Garden: A journey into the wonderful world of your microbiome
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A journey into the wonderful world of your microbiome! Within...
ICK! Delightfully Disgusting Animal Dinners, Dwellings, and Defenses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Animals--they're cute and fluffy, cuddly and puffy, and ... sometimes...
Dinosaurs Are Not Extinct: Real Facts About Real Dinosaurs
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Drew Sheneman brings budding paleontologists the truth about...
The Camelot Betrayal
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in a new fantasy trilogy from New...
Soulswift
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A dark, epic fantasy about a girl who must rethink...
Goblin King
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Kara Barbieri's Goblin King, the stunning sequel in the...
Beautiful Wild
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You are invited to set sail on the maiden voyage...

Latest Member Reviews

Sting Magic
 
4.8
"What a start to the series! Sting Magic by Sarah K.L. Wilson is a fantastic, quick read that takes you..."
Kingdom of the Wicked
 
4.3
"Thrills and chills abound in Kerri Maniscalco‘s new release Kingdom of the Wicked. I don’t know where to start! This..."
Send Me Their Souls (Bring Me Their Hearts, #3)
 
4.3
"SEND ME THEIR SOULS is a gut-wrenching finale to a fantastic YA fantasy series. In this third book, we begin..."
The Walrus and the Caribou
 
4.5
"THE WALRUS AND THE CARIBOU is a delightful picture book that captures Indigenous folklore about the creation of animals. Guk..."
The Elephant's Umbrella
 
3.5
"THE ELEPHANT'S UMBRELLA is a picture book with great illustrations and a moral of kindness. The elephant has a special..."
Calvin Gets the Last Word
 
4.0
"CALVIN GETS THE LAST WORD is a cute picture book told from the perspective of Calvin's beloved dictionary. He is..."
Goblin King (Permafrost, #2)
 
4.0
"GOBLIN KING is a much faster-paced and action-packed YA fantasy sequel. Janneke has taken the mantle of the stag, though..."
Hollowpox: The Hunt for Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor, #3)
 
5.0
"HOLLOWPOX is an engaging middle grade fantasy that takes the reader on a magical journey to the Wundrous Society. Morrigan..."
Earth-Shattering Events: Volcanoes, earthquakes, cyclones, tsunamis and other natural disasters
 
5.0
"Earth-Shattering Events by Robin Jacobs is a wonderfully thought-out book that details different natural disasters: what they are, how we..."
Gut Garden: A journey into the wonderful world of your microbiome
 
4.7
"Gut Garden by Katie Brosnan is a well-thought out journey through our digestive system, introducing kids to the bacteria and..."
ICK! Delightfully Disgusting Animal Dinners, Dwellings, and Defenses
 
5.0
"National Geographic Kids is always sure to be a winner at my house. Their newest release has been deemed the..."
Dinosaurs Are Not Extinct: Real Facts About Real Dinosaurs
 
4.3
"Dinosaurs Are Not Extinct by Drew Sheneman is a short, illustrated nonfiction book introducing children to one of the more..."