Author Chat with Amanda Joy (A River Of Royal Blood)!

bt

 Today we're excited to chat with Amanda Joy author of

A River Of Royal Blood.

 Read on for more about Amanda and her book!

 

 

 

 

Meet Amanda Joy!

Amanda  Joy

Amanda Joy has an MFA from The New School, and lives in Chicago with her dog Luna. You can find her on twitter and Instagram at @amandajoywrites.

 

 

* Twitter *

 


 

 

Meet A River Of Royal Blood!

  

An enthralling debut perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone set in a North African-inspired fantasy world where two sisters must fight to the death to win the crown.

Sixteen-year-old Eva is a princess, born with the magick of marrow and blood--a dark and terrible magick that hasn't been seen for generations in the vibrant but fractured country of Myre. Its last known practitioner was Queen Raina, who toppled the native khimaer royalty and massacred thousands, including her own sister, eight generations ago, thus beginning the Rival Heir tradition. Living in Raina's long and dark shadow, Eva must now face her older sister, Isa, in a battle to the death if she hopes to ascend to the Ivory Throne--because in the Queendom of Myre only the strongest, most ruthless rulers survive.

When Eva is attacked by an assassin just weeks before the battle with her sister, she discovers there is more to the attempt on her life than meets the eye--and it isn't just her sister who wants to see her dead. As tensions escalate, Eva is forced to turn to a fey instructor of mythic proportions and a mysterious and handsome khimaer prince for help in growing her magick into something to fear. Because despite the love she still has for her sister, Eva will have to choose: Isa's death or her own.

A River of Royal Blood is an enthralling debut set in a lush North African inspired fantasy world that subtly but powerfully challenges our notions of power, history, and identity.


 

Amazon * B & NPenguin Random House

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

    

YABC: Which came first, the title or the novel?

The final title came well after the book was written. It comes from my favorite scene

 YABC: What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

I’m most proud of the scene where Eva first meets Baccha in the Temple, because it’s one of the only scenes I completely rewrote top to bottom. Baccha is my favorite character to write, because he always has something to say. So keeping him from overwhelming every scene he’s in is a challenge.

YABC: Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

That it’s essential to lead with your heart and remain grateful at every step.

YABC: What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2020?

Oh man, so many. Is it okay if I break the rules and pick 3? Ruthless Gods, the sequel to Wicked Saints, Woven in Moonlight by Isabel Ibañes, and Reverie by Ryan La Sala

 YABC: Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate? 

Without spoiling, I’ll just say there’s a scene in the latter half of the book where Eva is running toward something terrible. I still tear up when I think about that moment and the fall out.

 YABC: Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Honestly Eva and Baccha always give me the most trouble. They’re always going against the plan!

YABC: What would you say is your superpower?

I can daydream through absolutely any circumstance. It’s a gift and a curse really

 YABC: Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

The Chicago Teachers Union has been on strike for a little over a week now. They’re fighting for this city’s children and its future, and make me proud to call Chicago home.

 

 

 

 

 

A River Of Royal Blood

By: Amanda Joy

Release Date: October 29th, 2019

 Publisher: Putnam

 

 

 

Blog Tour Schedule

Week One

October 21 – Frolic Media [frolic.media] – Author Q&A

October 22 – The Nerdy Girl Express [thenerdygirlexpress.com] – Review

October 23 – Forever and Everly [foreverandeverly.wordpress.com] – Review + Creative Instagram Picture

October 24 – Books with Dorothy [instagram.com] – Curated Instagram Picture

Week Two

October 28 – Beverage and Books [instagram.com] – Creative Instagram Picture

October 29 – YA Books Central [yabookscentral.com] – Interview + Giveaway

October 30 – Folded Pages Distillery [instagram.com] – Blogger Content

October 31 – Tome and Textiles [instagram.com] – Creative Instagram Picture

Week Three

November 4 – Black Bookwyrm Reads [instagram.com] – Review + Creative Instagram Picture

November 5 – LiteraryxQueen [instagram.com] – Review + Creative Instagram Picture

November 6 – Devouring Books [devouringbooks2017.wordpress.com] – Author Guest Post

November 7 – Reader Rewind [instagram.com] – Creative Instagram Picture

 

 

 

 

 

Featured Review: All The Things We Do In The Dark ...
What's New In YA ~ October 29th, 2019

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Grandpa's Stories
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
One young girl reflects on a year with her beloved...
The Nest That Wren Built
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Nature lovers and poetry fans alike will be drawn to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
So, you want to know about Jack Wilson? Here’s some...
Elysium Girls
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From a lush, dazzlingly original new voice in young adult...
The Lost Legends
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
A plague. A prophecy. A centuries-long curse. All her...
In the Hall with the Knife
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A murderer could be around every corner in this...
Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Make me a girl with a razor heart… It’s...
Come Tumbling Down (Wayward Children #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The fifth installment in Seanan McGuire's award-winning, bestselling Wayward...
When Wishes Bleed
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
One Prince. One Witch. One Fate. The upheaval in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ali McMillian almost drowned. It wasn’t a run-of-the-mill accident either;...
Ember Queen (Ash Princess, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The thrilling conclusion to the New York Times bestselling...
Moonscript
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It is said that Darkness is empty and whatever vanishes...
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, This Is How It...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A captivating and utterly original fairy tale about a girl...
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They have a love-hate relationship with summer. ...
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this epic sequel to Once & Future, to save...

Latest Member Reviews

Grandpa's Stories
 
4.5
"Both heart-wrenching and soul-soothing, this vibrantly illustrated story is a sort of basic introduction to the concept and impact of..."
The Nest That Wren Built
 
5.0
"THE NEST THAT WREN BUILT is a lovely journey through the process of building a nest to hatchlings who leave..."
When Wishes Bleed
 
4.8
"An imaginative story with a unique world. The Story: Sable is a witch who harbors..."
Elysium Girls
 
4.3
"ELYSIUM GIRLS is an engaging YA historical fantasy/dystopian. In the 1930s, an area of Oklahoma suddenly got cut off from..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"apologize if this is a long review but I have a lot to say. Going into this book, I went..."
Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
"Now that Mena and the other girls have escaped Innovations Academy, they find their past hasn't left them. Mena vows..."
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
"THE LUCKY ONES is quite an emotional ride. The book follows May and Zach in alternating first person points-of-view. May..."
 
4.0
"GIRL, SERPENT, THORN is a YA fairytale retelling by Melissa Bashardoust. The story follows Soraya, a princess who is cursed..."
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
"MEET ME AT MIDNIGHT is a book that reminds readers of all the possibilities and freedom of summer vacation. We..."
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
"SWORD IN THE STARS is a satisfying conclusion to a delightful YA fantasy retelling of King Arthur in space! Picking..."
The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1)
 
4.0
"THE GUINEVERE DECEPTION by Kiersten White is the first book in a YA retelling of the classic Arthurian legend. Guinevere,..."
Crave
 
4.3
"CRAVE is a really engaging new YA fantasy/paranormal romance that follows Grace in the first person. Grace lost her parents..."