Author Chat with Amanda Joy (A River Of Royal Blood)!

bt

 Today we're excited to chat with Amanda Joy author of

A River Of Royal Blood.

 Read on for more about Amanda and her book!

 

 

 

 

Meet Amanda Joy!

Amanda  Joy

Amanda Joy has an MFA from The New School, and lives in Chicago with her dog Luna. You can find her on twitter and Instagram at @amandajoywrites.

 

 

* Twitter *

 


 

 

Meet A River Of Royal Blood!

  

An enthralling debut perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone set in a North African-inspired fantasy world where two sisters must fight to the death to win the crown.

Sixteen-year-old Eva is a princess, born with the magick of marrow and blood--a dark and terrible magick that hasn't been seen for generations in the vibrant but fractured country of Myre. Its last known practitioner was Queen Raina, who toppled the native khimaer royalty and massacred thousands, including her own sister, eight generations ago, thus beginning the Rival Heir tradition. Living in Raina's long and dark shadow, Eva must now face her older sister, Isa, in a battle to the death if she hopes to ascend to the Ivory Throne--because in the Queendom of Myre only the strongest, most ruthless rulers survive.

When Eva is attacked by an assassin just weeks before the battle with her sister, she discovers there is more to the attempt on her life than meets the eye--and it isn't just her sister who wants to see her dead. As tensions escalate, Eva is forced to turn to a fey instructor of mythic proportions and a mysterious and handsome khimaer prince for help in growing her magick into something to fear. Because despite the love she still has for her sister, Eva will have to choose: Isa's death or her own.

A River of Royal Blood is an enthralling debut set in a lush North African inspired fantasy world that subtly but powerfully challenges our notions of power, history, and identity.


 

Amazon * B & NPenguin Random House

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

    

YABC: Which came first, the title or the novel?

The final title came well after the book was written. It comes from my favorite scene

 YABC: What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

I’m most proud of the scene where Eva first meets Baccha in the Temple, because it’s one of the only scenes I completely rewrote top to bottom. Baccha is my favorite character to write, because he always has something to say. So keeping him from overwhelming every scene he’s in is a challenge.

YABC: Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

That it’s essential to lead with your heart and remain grateful at every step.

YABC: What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2020?

Oh man, so many. Is it okay if I break the rules and pick 3? Ruthless Gods, the sequel to Wicked Saints, Woven in Moonlight by Isabel Ibañes, and Reverie by Ryan La Sala

 YABC: Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate? 

Without spoiling, I’ll just say there’s a scene in the latter half of the book where Eva is running toward something terrible. I still tear up when I think about that moment and the fall out.

 YABC: Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Honestly Eva and Baccha always give me the most trouble. They’re always going against the plan!

YABC: What would you say is your superpower?

I can daydream through absolutely any circumstance. It’s a gift and a curse really

 YABC: Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

The Chicago Teachers Union has been on strike for a little over a week now. They’re fighting for this city’s children and its future, and make me proud to call Chicago home.

 

 

 

 

 

A River Of Royal Blood

By: Amanda Joy

Release Date: October 29th, 2019

 Publisher: Putnam

 

 

 

Blog Tour Schedule

Week One

October 21 – Frolic Media [frolic.media] – Author Q&A

October 22 – The Nerdy Girl Express [thenerdygirlexpress.com] – Review

October 23 – Forever and Everly [foreverandeverly.wordpress.com] – Review + Creative Instagram Picture

October 24 – Books with Dorothy [instagram.com] – Curated Instagram Picture

Week Two

October 28 – Beverage and Books [instagram.com] – Creative Instagram Picture

October 29 – YA Books Central [yabookscentral.com] – Interview + Giveaway

October 30 – Folded Pages Distillery [instagram.com] – Blogger Content

October 31 – Tome and Textiles [instagram.com] – Creative Instagram Picture

Week Three

November 4 – Black Bookwyrm Reads [instagram.com] – Review + Creative Instagram Picture

November 5 – LiteraryxQueen [instagram.com] – Review + Creative Instagram Picture

November 6 – Devouring Books [devouringbooks2017.wordpress.com] – Author Guest Post

November 7 – Reader Rewind [instagram.com] – Creative Instagram Picture

 

 

 

 

 

Featured Review: All The Things We Do In The Dark ...
What's New In YA ~ October 29th, 2019

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Prophecy Untold (Shadow Realms book 3)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finding out my mother was taken by the demons...
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut about first love and second...
Six Goodbyes We Never Said
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Two teens meet after tragedy and learn about love,...
Golden Crown
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
No longer only a warrior. Not just a queen....
The Galactic Adventures of Hazel - Gurecoa
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
What is it like to live in 4519 AD...
Batman: Nightwalker (The Graphic Novel)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
This action-packed graphic novel based on the New York...
Stuffed
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome, little one. You have been chosen to join us,...
Estranged #2: The Changeling King
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Enter a world of faerie magic and epic adventure in...
The Edge of the Word (Mightier than the Sword, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The exciting follow-up to Mightier Than the Sword, the humorous...
Write to Me: Letters from Japanese American Children to the Librarian They Left Behind
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A touching story about Japanese American children who corresponded with...
Children of Virtue and Vengeance (Legacy of Orisha)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After battling the impossible, Zélie and Amari have finally succeeded...
Rat Rule 79: An Adventure (Yonder, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the New Yorker “20 Under 40” author of Atmospheric...
Big Nate: Back to Back Hits: On a Roll and Goes for Broke
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Big Nate on a Roll, Nate’s a big deal...
Pippa Park Raises Her Game
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life is full of great expectations for Korean American Pippa...
Dangerous Alliance
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lady Victoria Aston has everything she could want: an...
After: After Zombie Series Book 1
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
A world once overrun by zombies... Jenna grew up...

Latest Member Reviews

Stuffed
 
4.0
"STUFFED follows Clark and Foon. Clark is a boy who loves stuffed animals and feels that they keep him safe...."
Golden Crown
 
4.3
"I have mixed feelings about this book. It follows the second book immediately and starts off with Etta struggling with..."
Juliet Takes a Breath
 
4.7
"Juliet Takes a Breath is a coming of age story about a Latina lesbian from the Bronx who travels to..."
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
5.0
"Fireborne is a fantasy novel set nine years after a bloody uprising against a brutal regime in which the poor..."
Jason & Kyra
 
N/A
"i am from Italy hello. Can you help me translate? /rardor"
Write to Me: Letters from Japanese American Children to the Librarian They Left Behind
 
5.0
"This is a must read book that shows the lives of Japanese American children who ended up being taken from..."
The Edge of the Word (Mightier than the Sword, #2)
 
5.0
"THE EDGE OF THE WORD is another absolutely delightful interactive story, where you are the main character in the book...."
Prophecy Untold (Shadow Realms book 3)
 
4.0
"Kali is the hope of saving the world from vampires and demons. She’s a vampire huntress who also happens to..."
The Galactic Adventures of Hazel - Gurecoa
 
3.0
"THE GALACTIC ADVENTURES OF HAZEL - GURECOA takes place in the far future, where our planet is only vaguely recognizable...."
Batman: Nightwalker (The Graphic Novel)
 
4.3
"BATMAN: NIGHTWALKER (THE GRAPHIC NOVEL) converts the YA novel by Marie Lu into graphic novel format. The plot remains the..."
Rat Rule 79: An Adventure (Yonder, #1)
 
5.0
"RAT RULE 79 is charming, ridiculous, and completely engaging. Fred is about to turn thirteen in a new place, as..."
Magic Tree House Deluxe Holiday Edition: Christmas in Camelot
 
4.0
"Jack and Annie get an invitation from "M" to spend Christmas in Camelot, which excites them since they haven't heard..."
Awesome Dog 5000 (#1)
 
4.0
"Marty Fontana and his mother move to a new town for her job, and have a house that belonged to..."
The Big Game
 
4.0
"Danny lives in Texas with his mother and former Pittsburgh Steelers player father, who now sells farm machinery. The father..."
Pippa Park Raises Her Game
 
4.0
"Pippa loves to play basketball and struggles a tiny bit in school. She lives with her much older sister, Mina,..."
Adorkable
 
5.0
"ADORKABLE is a book you can easily predict, but the journey is unbelievably delightful. Sally Spitz is a senior in..."
Six Goodbyes We Never Said
 
3.3
"SIX GOODBYES WE NEVER SAID is quite a heavy YA contemporary. We follow Naima and Dew in alternating sections. Naima..."
Superman of Smallville
 
4.0
"Clark Kent is trying to be an ordinary thirteen-year-old boy but he has a very extraordinary pastime. He loves saving..."
Magic Tree House Deluxe Holiday Edition: Christmas in Camelot
 
5.0
"Jack and Annie are so excited when they receive a Royal Invitation to attend Christmas in Camelot! However, they only..."
DC Super Hero Girls: At Metropolis High
 
3.0
"SUPER HERO GIRLS brings us Batgirl, Wonder Woman, Supergirl, Green Lantern, Bumblebee, and Zatanna as teenagers. When they aren't trying..."