Author Chat with Amanda Joy (A River Of Royal Blood)!

bt

 Today we're excited to chat with Amanda Joy author of

A River Of Royal Blood.

 Read on for more about Amanda and her book!

 

 

 

 

Meet Amanda Joy!

Amanda  Joy

Amanda Joy has an MFA from The New School, and lives in Chicago with her dog Luna. You can find her on twitter and Instagram at @amandajoywrites.

 

 

* Twitter *

 


 

 

Meet A River Of Royal Blood!

  

An enthralling debut perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone set in a North African-inspired fantasy world where two sisters must fight to the death to win the crown.

Sixteen-year-old Eva is a princess, born with the magick of marrow and blood--a dark and terrible magick that hasn't been seen for generations in the vibrant but fractured country of Myre. Its last known practitioner was Queen Raina, who toppled the native khimaer royalty and massacred thousands, including her own sister, eight generations ago, thus beginning the Rival Heir tradition. Living in Raina's long and dark shadow, Eva must now face her older sister, Isa, in a battle to the death if she hopes to ascend to the Ivory Throne--because in the Queendom of Myre only the strongest, most ruthless rulers survive.

When Eva is attacked by an assassin just weeks before the battle with her sister, she discovers there is more to the attempt on her life than meets the eye--and it isn't just her sister who wants to see her dead. As tensions escalate, Eva is forced to turn to a fey instructor of mythic proportions and a mysterious and handsome khimaer prince for help in growing her magick into something to fear. Because despite the love she still has for her sister, Eva will have to choose: Isa's death or her own.

A River of Royal Blood is an enthralling debut set in a lush North African inspired fantasy world that subtly but powerfully challenges our notions of power, history, and identity.


 

Amazon * B & NPenguin Random House

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

    

YABC: Which came first, the title or the novel?

The final title came well after the book was written. It comes from my favorite scene

 YABC: What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

I’m most proud of the scene where Eva first meets Baccha in the Temple, because it’s one of the only scenes I completely rewrote top to bottom. Baccha is my favorite character to write, because he always has something to say. So keeping him from overwhelming every scene he’s in is a challenge.

YABC: Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

That it’s essential to lead with your heart and remain grateful at every step.

YABC: What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2020?

Oh man, so many. Is it okay if I break the rules and pick 3? Ruthless Gods, the sequel to Wicked Saints, Woven in Moonlight by Isabel Ibañes, and Reverie by Ryan La Sala

 YABC: Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate? 

Without spoiling, I’ll just say there’s a scene in the latter half of the book where Eva is running toward something terrible. I still tear up when I think about that moment and the fall out.

 YABC: Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Honestly Eva and Baccha always give me the most trouble. They’re always going against the plan!

YABC: What would you say is your superpower?

I can daydream through absolutely any circumstance. It’s a gift and a curse really

 YABC: Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

The Chicago Teachers Union has been on strike for a little over a week now. They’re fighting for this city’s children and its future, and make me proud to call Chicago home.

 

 

 

 

 

A River Of Royal Blood

By: Amanda Joy

Release Date: October 29th, 2019

 Publisher: Putnam

 

 

 

Blog Tour Schedule

Week One

October 21 – Frolic Media [frolic.media] – Author Q&A

October 22 – The Nerdy Girl Express [thenerdygirlexpress.com] – Review

October 23 – Forever and Everly [foreverandeverly.wordpress.com] – Review + Creative Instagram Picture

October 24 – Books with Dorothy [instagram.com] – Curated Instagram Picture

Week Two

October 28 – Beverage and Books [instagram.com] – Creative Instagram Picture

October 29 – YA Books Central [yabookscentral.com] – Interview + Giveaway

October 30 – Folded Pages Distillery [instagram.com] – Blogger Content

October 31 – Tome and Textiles [instagram.com] – Creative Instagram Picture

Week Three

November 4 – Black Bookwyrm Reads [instagram.com] – Review + Creative Instagram Picture

November 5 – LiteraryxQueen [instagram.com] – Review + Creative Instagram Picture

November 6 – Devouring Books [devouringbooks2017.wordpress.com] – Author Guest Post

November 7 – Reader Rewind [instagram.com] – Creative Instagram Picture

 

 

 

 

 

Featured Review: All The Things We Do In The Dark ...
What's New In YA ~ October 29th, 2019

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."