Author Chat with Amanda Joy (A River Of Royal Blood)!

bt

 Today we're excited to chat with Amanda Joy author of

A River Of Royal Blood.

 Read on for more about Amanda and her book!

 

 

 

 

Meet Amanda Joy!

Amanda  Joy

Amanda Joy has an MFA from The New School, and lives in Chicago with her dog Luna. You can find her on twitter and Instagram at @amandajoywrites.

 

 

* Twitter *

 


 

 

Meet A River Of Royal Blood!

  

An enthralling debut perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone set in a North African-inspired fantasy world where two sisters must fight to the death to win the crown.

Sixteen-year-old Eva is a princess, born with the magick of marrow and blood--a dark and terrible magick that hasn't been seen for generations in the vibrant but fractured country of Myre. Its last known practitioner was Queen Raina, who toppled the native khimaer royalty and massacred thousands, including her own sister, eight generations ago, thus beginning the Rival Heir tradition. Living in Raina's long and dark shadow, Eva must now face her older sister, Isa, in a battle to the death if she hopes to ascend to the Ivory Throne--because in the Queendom of Myre only the strongest, most ruthless rulers survive.

When Eva is attacked by an assassin just weeks before the battle with her sister, she discovers there is more to the attempt on her life than meets the eye--and it isn't just her sister who wants to see her dead. As tensions escalate, Eva is forced to turn to a fey instructor of mythic proportions and a mysterious and handsome khimaer prince for help in growing her magick into something to fear. Because despite the love she still has for her sister, Eva will have to choose: Isa's death or her own.

A River of Royal Blood is an enthralling debut set in a lush North African inspired fantasy world that subtly but powerfully challenges our notions of power, history, and identity.


 

Amazon * B & NPenguin Random House

 

 

 

~ Author Chat ~

 

    

YABC: Which came first, the title or the novel?

The final title came well after the book was written. It comes from my favorite scene

 YABC: What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

I’m most proud of the scene where Eva first meets Baccha in the Temple, because it’s one of the only scenes I completely rewrote top to bottom. Baccha is my favorite character to write, because he always has something to say. So keeping him from overwhelming every scene he’s in is a challenge.

YABC: Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

That it’s essential to lead with your heart and remain grateful at every step.

YABC: What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2020?

Oh man, so many. Is it okay if I break the rules and pick 3? Ruthless Gods, the sequel to Wicked Saints, Woven in Moonlight by Isabel Ibañes, and Reverie by Ryan La Sala

 YABC: Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate? 

Without spoiling, I’ll just say there’s a scene in the latter half of the book where Eva is running toward something terrible. I still tear up when I think about that moment and the fall out.

 YABC: Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Honestly Eva and Baccha always give me the most trouble. They’re always going against the plan!

YABC: What would you say is your superpower?

I can daydream through absolutely any circumstance. It’s a gift and a curse really

 YABC: Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

The Chicago Teachers Union has been on strike for a little over a week now. They’re fighting for this city’s children and its future, and make me proud to call Chicago home.

 

 

 

 

 

A River Of Royal Blood

By: Amanda Joy

Release Date: October 29th, 2019

 Publisher: Putnam

 

 

 

Blog Tour Schedule

Week One

October 21 – Frolic Media [frolic.media] – Author Q&A

October 22 – The Nerdy Girl Express [thenerdygirlexpress.com] – Review

October 23 – Forever and Everly [foreverandeverly.wordpress.com] – Review + Creative Instagram Picture

October 24 – Books with Dorothy [instagram.com] – Curated Instagram Picture

Week Two

October 28 – Beverage and Books [instagram.com] – Creative Instagram Picture

October 29 – YA Books Central [yabookscentral.com] – Interview + Giveaway

October 30 – Folded Pages Distillery [instagram.com] – Blogger Content

October 31 – Tome and Textiles [instagram.com] – Creative Instagram Picture

Week Three

November 4 – Black Bookwyrm Reads [instagram.com] – Review + Creative Instagram Picture

November 5 – LiteraryxQueen [instagram.com] – Review + Creative Instagram Picture

November 6 – Devouring Books [devouringbooks2017.wordpress.com] – Author Guest Post

November 7 – Reader Rewind [instagram.com] – Creative Instagram Picture

 

 

 

 

 

Featured Review: All The Things We Do In The Dark ...
What's New In YA ~ October 29th, 2019

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet thirteen-year-old Agatha Oddly – a bold, determined heroine, and...
Skipping Forward
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
What if you could skip forward in time, but...
The Hand on the Wall (Truly Devious, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson delivers the...
Finding Mr. Better-Than-You
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A heartbroken teen, with the help of her best...
Golden Chains
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Never fall in love with the enemy. If only...
Wardens of Eternity
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magic and magical creatures. Immortal gods and goddesses. History...
Tweet Cute
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Pepper, swim team captain, chronic overachiever, and all-around...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fifteen-year-old JL Markham's life used to be filled with carnival...
The Lost Legends
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All her life, Princess Adalina heard tales of the legendary,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a series of interwoven fictionalized stories, Deborah Noyes gives...
In the Hall with the Knife
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A murderer could be around every corner in this thrilling...
Birthday
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Boyhood meets The Sun Is Also a Star in this...

Latest Member Reviews

The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
 
4.3
"JACK KEROUAC IS DEAD TO ME is Gae Polisner’s most recent YA Contemporary novel. Like in her other books, she..."
Woven in Moonlight
 
5.0
"Woven in Moonlight is a beautiful and lush fantasy, based on the culture and history of Bolivia. It is set..."
Julie Winsome M.D., Medical Detective Science Fiction Mysteries, Volume # 1
 
4.7
"Always fun to follow along with Dr. Julie Winsome Medical Detective! Great stories and I love the writing style..."
 
3.0
"WE ARE ALL HIS CREATURES by Deborah Noyes is a series of eleven short stories about the beloved showman, P.T...."
Jane Anonymous: A Novel
 
4.7
"JANE ANONYMOUS follows two timelines: one while Jane was captured for 7 months and one after she is back home...."
Finding Mr. Better-Than-You
 
4.3
"FINDING MR. BETTER-THAN-YOU starts off like a cheesy romantic comedy, but ends up being a lot more fulfilling light-hearted YA..."
Freaky in Fresno
 
3.7
"FREAKY IN FRESNO is a spin on the old novel, FREAKY FRIDAY. Ricki (nickname for Lyric) had a falling out..."
Only Mostly Devastated
 
4.3
"ONLY MOSTLY DEVASTATED is a charming YA contemporary romance that follows Ollie. Ollie had lived in California, until this year..."
Neffatira's First Challenge
 
5.0
"The descriptions are very beautiful and you can perceive the feelings of the characters to the point of empathy. ..."
Ink in the Blood (Ink in the Blood Duology #1)
 
4.3
"INK IN THE BLOOD is an engaging and atmospheric YA fantasy. Celia Sand was delighted when she was chosen to..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."