5 Reasons Why I Bought HOUSE OF SECRETS by Chris Columbus and Ned Vizzini

5 Reasons Why I Bought HOUSE OF SECRETS by Chris Columbus and Ned Vizzini

Here are the top five reasons why I plunked my money down for HOUSE OF SECRETS by Ned Vizzini and Chris Columbus (in no particular order):

1) It's Chris Columbus for goodness sake. How could my Goonie-lovin' heart say no?

2) It's Ned Vizzini for goodness sake. A powerhouse of YA lit, he's one of our faves over here at YABC. And now he's delved into the world of middle grade? *grabby hands*

3) The blurb from J. K. Rowling: "A breakneck, jam-packed roller coaster of an adventure about the secret power of books, House of Secrets comes complete with three resourceful sibling heroes, a seriously creepy villainess, and barrel loads of fantasy and fear."

4) The main characters, three siblings, get sucked into a creepy author's stories — stories that come to life! Um... yes, please?

5) Look at the cover. Just look at it. Look at that creepy house. It begs to be explored. 

 

While I wait, rather anxiously, for this to arrive at my doorstep, enjoy the trailer and order a copy of your own now! Then, yanno, we can chat about it. :)

 

 

 

Blog Tour: Guest post with Heather L. Reid, author...
EPIC 10K GIVEAWAY: Win an eReader (and more!) from...

Related Posts

 

Comments 5

Already Registered? Login Here
Michelle Parsons (website) on Monday, 29 April 2013 13:30

I can't wait to read this book. It's on my list of books to read this summer. The house really does have a very nice creepy factor You now got me more excited and I might have to move it up on my list LOL

Michelle
Because reading is better than real life...
love2readalways.blogspot.com

1
I can't wait to read this book. It's on my list of books to read this summer. The house really does have a very nice creepy factor :) You now got me more excited and I might have to move it up on my list LOL Michelle Because reading is better than real life... love2readalways.blogspot.com
MG Buehrlen (website) on Monday, 29 April 2013 13:40

The creep factor is out of this world. The water rushing out the windows reminds me of the start of The Dawn Treader, when the water gushes out of the painting, sucking the Pevensies back into Narnia. And then there's also something of a Percy Jackson vibe to the cover as well... It's all made of win!

0
The creep factor is out of this world. The water rushing out the windows reminds me of the start of The Dawn Treader, when the water gushes out of the painting, sucking the Pevensies back into Narnia. And then there's also something of a Percy Jackson vibe to the cover as well... It's all made of win!
Sammy on Tuesday, 19 November 2013 04:12

I read the book and it was fantastic!!!! I really enjoyed reading the book and i cannot wait for the second one! what was your favourite part in the book? mine was when they were kidnapped by the pirates!

0
I read the book and it was fantastic!!!! I really enjoyed reading the book and i cannot wait for the second one! what was your favourite part in the book? mine was when they were kidnapped by the pirates! :D
Sammy on Tuesday, 19 November 2013 04:14

I read the book and it was fantastic!!!! I really enjoyed reading the book and i cannot wait for the second one! what was your favourite part in the book? mine was when they were kidnapped by the pirates!

0
I read the book and it was fantastic!!!! I really enjoyed reading the book and i cannot wait for the second one! what was your favourite part in the book? mine was when they were kidnapped by the pirates! :D
Sammy on Tuesday, 19 November 2013 04:15

I read the book and it was fantastic!!!! I really enjoyed reading the book and i cannot wait for the second one! what was your favourite part in the book? mine was when they were kidnapped by the pirates!

0
I read the book and it was fantastic!!!! I really enjoyed reading the book and i cannot wait for the second one! what was your favourite part in the book? mine was when they were kidnapped by the pirates! :D

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
Two Worlds of Redemption (Two Worlds, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
Two Worlds of Oblivion (Two Worlds, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
Two Worlds of Provenance (Two Worlds, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."
Ghosting You
 
4.8
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A heartwarming love story. The Story: Tommy..."
A Pain Less Ordinary
 
5.0
"A Pain Less Ordinary is a tragic tale of a modern girl whose family has fallen apart. Becca struggles to..."
The Waiting Mortuary
 
5.0
"I'm not normally one to read horror fiction, but I thought I'd give this book a chance and was blown..."