18 Best Book Covers and the Stories Behind Them

Screen-Shot-2018-05-30-at-10.19.29-P_20180531-023010_1

They say don’t judge a book by its cover, but sometimes book cover art is often a big reason why people decide to buy and read a particular book. Book cover design is a long, well thought-out process that can even take place two years before a book’s publication date. Though most would assume that authors dictate what goes on the cover, instead designers collaborate with editors and publishing houses to conceptualize a design that is marketable and persuasive.


Book cover art certainly changes often, but there are some that are engraved into our memories, making them truly impressive designs. This infographic from Invaluable shows 18 iconic book covers. See if you can recognize them!

 

Though many deny it, the art on a book cover is often the reason people decide to buy a book. The design is what first catches our eye and intrigues us when we browse a bookstore or library, and what inspires us to crack open the book and read something from a new author or genre. This is what makes the best book covers stand out over time.

Book Cover Design

Book cover design is not selected without thought. Each design is painstakingly planned out, often before the author is even finished with a manuscript. This process begins anywhere from 15 months to 2 years before the publication date, when the designer begins working with the editor and publishing house. From there, the designer and publisher or editor collaborate to create a version of the book cover they all agree upon.

Though authors can submit suggestions and ideas to the publishing team, these requests can be ignored in favor of what the publishing house deems is more marketable for the genre and story. For example, David Foster Wallace requested a photo of Fritz Lang directing the movie Metropolis for the cover of Infinite Jest, but the publishing house opted for an image of clouds despite his behest.

After a first edition book is published, book covers continue to change over time for many reasons: it may be the anniversary of the book’s release or there could be a movie adaption on the market; an artist who loves the story may be asked to update the cover; or, the publishers may simply decide that the cover is due for a reboot. The reasons a book cover changes are countless, which is why those that have made a lasting impression are so compelling today.

There are many book covers that stand alone as a work of art, from The Great Gatsby to A Clockwork Orange.  Learn more about the book covers you love and recognize, and the designers that brought their vision to life.

 

Over time, book cover design has evolved from commissioned illustrations to minimalist styles with bold typography and understated photography. For any avid reader, the range of book covers offers a way to collect your favorite book the way one might collect art. Novels like 1984 have inspired dozens of cover variations, making it a great way to not only build out your book collection, but track the art styles and book cover trends over time.

 

 

 

Featured Review: Listen to Your Heart by Kasie Wes...
Author Chat with Tamara Ireland Stone (Little Do W...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
"Like most other people, I grew up devouring Hans Christian Andersen’s stories. His fairy tales are the first stories I..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
1789: Twelve Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, & Change
 
4.0
"What worked: Fascination collection of essays that show the impact of the year 1789 in the world.In this anthology, twelve..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"