18 Best Book Covers and the Stories Behind Them

Screen-Shot-2018-05-30-at-10.19.29-P_20180531-023010_1

They say don’t judge a book by its cover, but sometimes book cover art is often a big reason why people decide to buy and read a particular book. Book cover design is a long, well thought-out process that can even take place two years before a book’s publication date. Though most would assume that authors dictate what goes on the cover, instead designers collaborate with editors and publishing houses to conceptualize a design that is marketable and persuasive.


Book cover art certainly changes often, but there are some that are engraved into our memories, making them truly impressive designs. This infographic from Invaluable shows 18 iconic book covers. See if you can recognize them!

 

Though many deny it, the art on a book cover is often the reason people decide to buy a book. The design is what first catches our eye and intrigues us when we browse a bookstore or library, and what inspires us to crack open the book and read something from a new author or genre. This is what makes the best book covers stand out over time.

Book Cover Design

Book cover design is not selected without thought. Each design is painstakingly planned out, often before the author is even finished with a manuscript. This process begins anywhere from 15 months to 2 years before the publication date, when the designer begins working with the editor and publishing house. From there, the designer and publisher or editor collaborate to create a version of the book cover they all agree upon.

Though authors can submit suggestions and ideas to the publishing team, these requests can be ignored in favor of what the publishing house deems is more marketable for the genre and story. For example, David Foster Wallace requested a photo of Fritz Lang directing the movie Metropolis for the cover of Infinite Jest, but the publishing house opted for an image of clouds despite his behest.

After a first edition book is published, book covers continue to change over time for many reasons: it may be the anniversary of the book’s release or there could be a movie adaption on the market; an artist who loves the story may be asked to update the cover; or, the publishers may simply decide that the cover is due for a reboot. The reasons a book cover changes are countless, which is why those that have made a lasting impression are so compelling today.

There are many book covers that stand alone as a work of art, from The Great Gatsby to A Clockwork Orange.  Learn more about the book covers you love and recognize, and the designers that brought their vision to life.

 

Over time, book cover design has evolved from commissioned illustrations to minimalist styles with bold typography and understated photography. For any avid reader, the range of book covers offers a way to collect your favorite book the way one might collect art. Novels like 1984 have inspired dozens of cover variations, making it a great way to not only build out your book collection, but track the art styles and book cover trends over time.

 

 

 

Featured Review: Listen to Your Heart by Kasie Wes...
Author Chat with Tamara Ireland Stone (Little Do W...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hop into the world of Peter Rabbit and his friends...
Solving for M
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish,...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times–bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes follows five...
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When superstitious Sab sees a giant black butterfly, an omen...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Caldecott Honor Book An...
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a family car gets a flat on the way...
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In cut-paper artist Nikki McClure’s latest picture book, a kitten...
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Three BFFs set out to have the BEST SUMMER EVER...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Esme’s life changes when she discovers dinosaur bones on...
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join these happy pumpkins in a cheerful rhyming countdown, in...
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Set on the shores of Lake Superior, Wreck follows high...
The Madman of Piney Woods
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Benji and Red couldn't be more different. They aren't friends....
Wintercake
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This cozy, gently humorous, and irresistible holiday tale from Newbery...
Roar Like a Dandelion
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Ruth Krauss, the celebrated children’s book author of The...
The Bear and the Star
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
In this universal celebration of community and love, Bear gathers...
I Do Not Like That Name
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This funny picture book about friendship, family, identity, and why...

Latest Member Reviews

Solving for M
 
5.0
"SOLVING FOR M is a beautiful and enthralling middle grade novel about finding your way in a new school and..."
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
"A PUMPKIN FOR PETER tells the story of when Peter Rabbit went with his mother and sisters to go pick..."
 
4.5
"Five elephants march along the pages of Kevin Henkes's picture book, A PARADE OF ELEPHANTS. As they make their way..."
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
"My Fate According to the Butterfly is probably the first Middle Grade novel I’ve read in a very long time...."
Truly Madly Royally
 
3.0
"I’d be lying if I didn’t say that half of the reason why I read this was because it’s a..."
 
5.0
"In THE ROUGH PATCH, Evan's best friend is his dog, and they do everything together. Author and illustrator Brian Lies..."
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
"HOW TO BE A CAT is an elegant book of verbs. Two cats give actions throughout their day, including scratch,..."
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
"SUNNY'S TOW TRUCK SAVES THE DAY! is a delightful picture book about a family on their way to picnic who..."
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
"TBH, IDK WHAT'S NEXT follows four best friends over their summer before seventh grade. They are all determined to have..."
 
3.3
"Esme feels alone. Her much-loved grandfather died, her dad deserted the family, her mom has mentally checked out, and her..."
House of Salt and Sorrows
 
4.3
"Annaleigh just wanted to be in charge of the lighthouse close to her island home. Rumors circulate on the island..."
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
"FIVE LITTLE PUMPKINS ON HALLOWEEN NIGHT is a cute board book that celebrates Halloween with a counting of pumpkins! In..."
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
"WRECK is a heart-wrenching story about a teenage girl on the brink of college as she discovers her father's life-altering..."
The Madman of Piney Woods
 
4.0
"THE MADMAN OF PINEY WOODS follows two young boys in Canada as their lives are changing and intersecting. Benji Alston..."
Wintercake
 
4.0
"WINTERCAKE is a lovely picture book that celebrates friendship and the holiday spirit. Thomas is about to make a wintercake..."
Roar Like a Dandelion
 
4.0
"A unique alphabet book, ROAR LIKE A DANDELION is filled with instructional that are sure to spark some giggles. Each..."
The Bear and the Star
 
4.5
"THE BEAR AND THE STAR is an elegant, Christmas-style book. Bear knows that it is time and so he finds..."
I Do Not Like That Name
 
4.0
"I DO NOT LIKE THAT NAME features a girl, Sophie, and her rabbit, Herb, as they order an elephant from..."
The Love Letter
 
5.0
"Lovely, endearing, and heartfelt, THE LOVE LETTER demonstrates the power of telling someone how much you care. Hedgehog, Bunny, and..."
The Wobbly Waitress
 
3.5
"THE WOBBLY WAITRESS is a silly read that will make young children giggle. Mabel is a giraffe waitress at the..."