Blog Tour: Midnight at the Shelter (Nanci Turner Steveson), Plus Giveaway! ~US ONLY

Welcome to the Midnight at the Shelter Blog Tour!

Follow along as we celebrate the release of Midnight at the Shelter (November 1, 2022) with behind-the-scenes looks from author Nanci Turner Steveson, plus 5 chances to win a copy!

Dream Team!
by Nanci Turner Steveson

Imagine if you got to pick a cast for the movie version of Midnight at the Shelter. It’s a midnight rescue mission story and the characters are all dogs. You’ve got MahDi as the main character who has a tragic past, three legs, and needs to figure out a way to save the dogs trapped in a shelter from an uncertain future (aka: euthanasia) against all odds. We spent a good bit of time coming up with an all-star cast for the canine players in the story and here we go! After you read the book, if you have better ideas, shoot me an email!

MahDi — Harrison Ford
A little cranky, quiet, but always in charge and ready to save the day

Ozzie — Graham Norton
Comic relief, tiny but mighty

Koda — Robert Downey Jr.
Lovable, adorable, slightly goofy, handsome

Domino — Alan Rickman’s ghost
I mean, there couldn’t be another pick

Lilah — Zendaya
Lovely, loyal, needs to be rescued

Leroi — Whoopi Goldberg
Checkered past but loyal to the end, will do anything for anyone as long as it doesn’t interfere with her waiting for Murph to come home

Tootsie — Betty White’s ghost
Charming, says what’s on her mind especially when it’s about herself, loves to be dolled up, everyone loves her, a little out-to-lunch

Quinn — Dame Judi Dench
A Quaker, older with a lively and successful past, loyal to a fault, easily hurt

Luna — Emilia Clarke
Sweet, loving, easily startled, adorable

Hero — Denzel Washington
I mean, isn’t he everyone’s hero?

Hickory — Jeff Bridges
A little rough around the edges, looking for his place in the world

Daisy — Edith Piaff’s ghost
French, musical, fancy but loves a good romp

Peabody — Greg Davies
Because of his size and goofiness, not the gas part

Holly — Drew Barrymore
A little lost, looking for family, loyal to the end, adorable

Squirt —  Marcel the Shell
Always smiling, cute, full of life, feisty, trusting


About the Book

BuyGoodreads

Written with a distinctively doggy voice, great humor, and plenty of heart, this novel from acclaimed author Nanci Turner Steveson is a perfect pick for readers looking for a touching animal story in the vein of Because of Winn-Dixie or Marley & Me.

Rescue dog MahDi is happy helping his human partner, “MomDoc,” with the important work at her vet clinic and the local animal shelter. The two of them make a good team, caring for the town’s pets and matchmaking rescue animals with the families who need them.

When the shelter is suddenly down a staff member, the animals have to deal with a new caretaker: Huck, an unpleasant man who seems to have no problem threatening the animals he’s supposed to care for. As more dogs crowd into the shelter than are going to new homes, MahDi begins to worry that if MomDoc isn’t around, there is no telling what Huck might do.

With three perfectly good legs, the heart of a true leader, and his pack mates by his side, MahDi is willing to risk everything to save his shelter-friends from an uncertain future.

Praise:

“Each dog’s story illustrates one of the many ways dogs come to need new homes and how wonderful rescue animals can be.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Alternating dogs’-eye views propel this immersive pack story from Steveson… Themes of love, hope, and belonging resound throughout, balancing the sometimes-dark content.”
Publishers Weekly

About the Author


Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Nanci Turner Steveson grew up in Connecticut, England, and Texas, always with a book in one hand, the reins of a pony in the other. She wrote her first “novel” at the age of nine about a wild horse named Liberty. Nanci works with the Off Square Theatre Company as a stage manager and youth-performer shepherd. She is a reading fairy to book-hungry children and a riding instructor. The mother of two grown sons, Nanci lives in a meadow at the foot of the Grand Tetons in Jackson Hole, Wyoming, with her Arabian horse and a 100-pound rescue dog named Story. She is the founder of the Literacy for Hope project, dedicated to getting books into the hands of the homeless.


GIVEAWAY

  • Five (5) winners will receive a hardcover of Midnight at the Shelter by Nanci Turner Steveson
  • US/Canada only
  • Ends 11/27 at 11:59pm ET
  • Enter via the Rafflecopter below
  • Visit the other stops on the tour for more chances to win!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 


Blog Tour Schedule:

November 14th Mama Likes This
November 15th YA Book Nerd
November 16th Pragmatic Mom
November 17th Teen Librarian Toolbox
November 18th YA Books Central

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Midnight at the Shelter (Nanci Turner Steveson), Plus Giveaway! ~US ONLY”

  1. ldittmer says:

    I would love to have this book in my librarty!

  2. My favorite animal is a koala bear, they’re so adorable and sweet! This book sounds awesome, and love the cute cover!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.