A Quest of Blood and Stone

Featured
 
4.2 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
161 0
A Quest of Blood and Stone
Publisher Name
Sun's Golden Ray Publishing
Age Range
14+
Release Date
March 08, 2022
ISBN13
9781945438493
ISBN10 or ASIN
      
From award-winning author S. Usher Evans comes a brand new young adult epic fantasy flush with mystery, magical creatures, and a compelling storyline that will leave readers guessing until the very end. Perfect for fans of Graceling and The Demon King Series, A Quest of Blood and Stone is a thrilling adventure through the lands of human and fae. Seventeen years ago, King Bresal was murdered by his new bride, the fae Leandra, who disappeared with the Pennlan Stone, a magical weapon that can only be wielded by the sovereign. Now that his daughter, Princess Ayla, is approaching her own coronation, she seeks to reclaim the stone to protect her people. Her wizard mentor Eoghan thinks he knows where Leandra might have hidden the stone: deep in the heart of fae country. The obvious choice for the task is Cade, Eoghan's apprentice and Ayla's best friend. He's keen to prove himself to his princess and to take the final step to complete his training. But Eoghan assigns a knight- Ward - to accompany Cade on the journey. Ward, freshly arrived from the border cities, seems to have his own reasons for volunteering for this mission, namely to win the love of Ayla for himself. But as the journey takes them far from home, Cade and Ward discover that their quest might be more complicated than they'd anticipated, especially when a mysterious fae girl tells them Eoghan isn't to be trusted - and she knows exactly where to find the stone. Full of twists and turns, magical monsters, and a slow burn mystery, A Quest of Blood and Stone is sure to delight all young adult readers of epic fantasy fiction.

Editor reviews

3 reviews
Overall rating
 
4.2
Writing Style
 
4.0(2)
Plot
 
4.5(2)
Characters
 
4.0(1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A(0)
An Epic Quest with Fae
Overall rating
 
4.5
Writing Style
 
4.0
Plot
 
5.0
Characters
 
N/A
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
What I liked:
The story is told between 3 distinct character voices, The Princess, The Wizard Apprentice, and a Solider, on a quest to find a stone to end the terrorization of the evil Fae, but are they the enemy? An enthralling tale that wraps you up in the quest, the politics, and the wondering of who is the bad guy. The descriptions of the fae world, the attention to detail on the background story that got this world to where it is now, and the weight of what the princess is facing as she is under the disillusionment from her Wizard Council are so excellent.
Final Verdict:
This story is tight; there is no lag as we move from one part of the quest to the next; it is easy to know who is talking and where we are in the story. I was amazed by the talent of this author.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Epic Fantasy with an Epic Journey
Overall rating
 
4.0
Writing Style
 
4.0
Plot
 
4.0
Characters
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
When Ayla's father is killed by the fae, the wizard Eoghan takes over with her teachings and runs the kingdom with plans to hand the responsibilities off to her when she's old enough to take over. Now that Ayla is about to be coronated as queen, Eoghan thinks she isn't ready. But how can she ever have the confidence to rule when he micromanages everything. For that reason, she feels the need to prove herself. Dealing with rude older suitors and trying to defy Eoghan without stepping on her toes keeps Ayla busy while waiting for her friends to return.

With Ayla's kingdom at risk from the fae, Eoghan selects his wizard apprentice Cade and a guard named Ward to track down the tool she needs to protect herself. It's a stone whose power can only be accessed by Ayla's bloodline. While Ayla fights to prove herself worthy, Cade and Ward set off to locate this stone, both wanting to earn a place in her kingdom. The two set off on a journey but they still continue to butt heads, both having the goal to claim Ayla's heart.

Along the way, they find themselves in danger from creatures they didn't even know existed. While on their trip, Cade realizes they're being followed and confront the fae. She quickly becomes their map as she leads them to the stone, or so she says. Cade was taught to never trust a fae because they of their trickery. But Ward will do anything to find the stone for Ayla and doesn't have too much of a problem about traveling with a fae. So, Cade is forced to comply.

A QUEST OF BLOOD AND STONE is an epic fantasy that takes you on a dark adventure into the fae realm. The characters are all likable with their own personalities and aspirations. The plot is fast-paced packed with twists and turns that leaves the reader guessing about what's going to happen next. My favorite parts were of Ward and Cade as they navigate the territory of the fae where everything wants to eat them.


Final Verdict: Overall, this is a great start to the Seod Croi series. I love the ending since it isn't exactly a cliff hanger but still leaves the reader wanting more. I would recommend this to fans of fae, magic, epic fantasy, adventure, and royal politics.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account