Julius Caesar

 
0.0
 
4.7 (3)
434   0
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
ISBN
0743482743
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

Average user rating from: 3 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Writing Style 
 
4.7  (3)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
C'mom, it's Shakespeare, ya'll! This is a story of betrayal and redemption. I love it!

It's weird, okay. Good weird.
It's quotable. (If you're my friends, anyways. And we're all pretty weird).

One of the easier Shakespearean language-y books to read. It flows nicely.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Emily Savant Reviewed by Emily Savant April 27, 2012
Last updated: November 08, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (259)

Great!

C'mom, it's Shakespeare, ya'll! This is a story of betrayal and redemption. I love it!

It's weird, okay. Good weird.
It's quotable. (If you're my friends, anyways. And we're all pretty weird).

One of the easier Shakespearean language-y books to read. It flows nicely.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Ruthie

>I really enjoyed this Tragedy, just as I enjoy most Shakespeare. While Shakespeare is not for everyone, I know Julius Caesar is a little easier to understand. I found the language comprendable, in part because I've learned about Caesar's assassination before. Because this play is based on a real historical event, it's easier to read if you've learned about the event. I really liked Julius Caesar and if you aren't looking forward to reading it for school/summer work purposes, I suggest reading up on Caesar's history first and then you'll find the book to be much easier.

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader April 18, 2011
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

An Awesome Tragedy

Reader reviewed by Ruthie

>I really enjoyed this Tragedy, just as I enjoy most Shakespeare. While Shakespeare is not for everyone, I know Julius Caesar is a little easier to understand. I found the language comprendable, in part because I've learned about Caesar's assassination before. Because this play is based on a real historical event, it's easier to read if you've learned about the event. I really liked Julius Caesar and if you aren't looking forward to reading it for school/summer work purposes, I suggest reading up on Caesar's history first and then you'll find the book to be much easier.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by abscae

Shakespeare proved once more that he truly was a genius by this book.

This is a political novel, it is also a play, but dominatingly a political piece. The best part of this novel was the way it was written, and some of the speeches within the novel are clearly astounding, for when they are read out loud, they took my breath away.

Another highlight was the themes that were proven in this novel, you could agelessly dissect it for as many symbols as you'd like, and the general feeling I got from the book was well off.

I'd recommend this as a reading for anyone over 14 simply because it's amazing to read something that was written so long ago, and just the context provides so many different lessons.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader October 29, 2007
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Amazing :D

Reader reviewed by abscae

Shakespeare proved once more that he truly was a genius by this book.

This is a political novel, it is also a play, but dominatingly a political piece. The best part of this novel was the way it was written, and some of the speeches within the novel are clearly astounding, for when they are read out loud, they took my breath away.

Another highlight was the themes that were proven in this novel, you could agelessly dissect it for as many symbols as you'd like, and the general feeling I got from the book was well off.

I'd recommend this as a reading for anyone over 14 simply because it's amazing to read something that was written so long ago, and just the context provides so many different lessons.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Perfect for fans of Margaret Peterson Haddix, When You Reach Me, and Savvy, this charming time-travel story from husband-and-wife team...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Bees.jpg
The Handmaid’s Tale meets The Hunger Games in this brilliantly imagined debut set in an ancient culture where only the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Damian Cass died when he was a teenager at the hands of his own father. A hateful soul afterwards, and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Gladys Gatsby has been cooking gourmet dishes since the age of seven, only her fast-food-loving parents have no idea! Now...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Becky Thatcher has her side of the story to tell—and it’s a whopper—in this creative spin on Mark Twain’s beloved...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
An all-new, mesmerizing adventure from the masterful Gordon Korman! Jackson Opus has always been persuasive, but he doesn't know that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jax Opus knows he's not like other kids. And it isn't his skill on the basketball court or his test...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jesse is a wide receiver for the freshman team. Can he play against type and help his team as a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Kate’s older sister is way too perfect. Her younger sister is way too cute. And her mom wants her to...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Sarah Robinson is deeply troubled in the wake of her dad’s second marriage. She now has to deal with a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this romantic and evocative fantasy, Najwa is a jinni, training to be a spy in the war against the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
There’s something strange going on at Washington Irving Elementary School. Kids are turning into monsters—literally! First it was Sebastian, then...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Chase Clark just upped his game. As an eighth grader, he scores the chance to play on the varsity football...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lauren has a secret. Colby has a problem. But when they find each other, everything falls into place. In alternating...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Alek Khederian should have guessed something was wrong when his parents took him to a restaurant. Everyone knows that Armenians...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Larissa Renaud starts receiving eerie phone calls on a disconnected old phone in her family's antique shop, she knows...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can you fall in love with a voice? This witty romance, told entirely through phone calls, chronicles the tale of...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Julia Buchanan enrolls at St. Anne’s at the beginning of junior year, Charlotte Ryder already knows all about the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Valentina Cruz no longer exists. One moment, she was wrapped in Emilio’s arms, melting into his kiss. The next, she...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Clyde has worked for Mr. Wilkshire for a very long time. Life is comfortable in his keeper's chateau—until Mr. Wilkshire...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)