Once A King (Clash of Kingdoms)

Once A King (Clash of Kingdoms)

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
188   0
Write Review
Once A King (Clash of Kingdoms)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
December 04, 2018
ISBN
1328949974
Buy This Book
      
Aodren: A lonely, young king, searching for a way to dismantle his father’s dark legacy.
Lirra: A girl with the power to control the wind, torn between duty and following her dreams

For twenty years, Channelers—women with a magical ability—have been persecuted in Malam by those without magic. Now King Aodren wants to end the bloody divide and unite his kingdom. But decades of hatred can’t be overcome by issuing decrees, and rumors of a deadly Channeler-made substance are only fueling people’s fears. Lirra has every reason to distrust Aodren. Yet when he asks for help to discover the truth behind the rumors, she can’t say no. With Lirra by his side, Aodren sees a way forward for his people. But can he rewrite the mistakes of the past before his enemies destroy the world he’s working so hard to rebuild?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Once A King Review

\
Feedback
If you’ve read my other reviews on the series thus far then you know how much I love Britta and Cohen. With that being said, I was really upset to find out that they weren’t in this book. I did enjoy Lirra and Aodren from Ever the Brave, plus the world that Summerill had created so I pushed them aside and read on. I’m so glad that I did. The story was just as rich and complex like the first two books in the series. While you technically don’t have to read the first two in order to enjoy this book, I recommend you do. You get a better understanding of the troubles that King Aodren face with Malam. Also, the personalities of Aodren and Lirra are already established. Aodren is desperate to bring channeler’s back to the Kingdom of Malam and is hoping to use the All Kingdom’s Summit to help create a sense of unity. The creation of a channeler substance is being traded in Malam. This substance may be harmful to the people who ingest it which is not helping the image that Aodren is trying to set. Unlike, the first two books, there aren’t many subplots. We immediately know what the problems our characters will be facing in this book. While I enjoyed the main and subplots in the first two books, it would have failed in this one so Summerill made a wise choice to focus on the main problem. However, I do felt that the lack of subplots created moments in the book that seemed repetitive. The repetitiveness included events that felt like they already occured, or the description of how the characters were feeling.

Lirra and Aodren were fantastic characters. I remembered really enjoying them from Ever the Brave and was happy to get more from them. Lirra is smart, cunning, and wildly devoted. She is so loyal to her family and in fantasy books, we don’t see that very often. There is always some sort of loyalty but Lirra would risk everything, even herself, in order to help. Aodren is smart, intuitive, and wildly devoted as well. He truly cares for the people of his kingdom and wants nothing but the best. He willingly puts himself in danger without a second guess if he feels like it will help his kingdom be better. In a lot of fantasy books we get the evil rulers so being able to have a King who truly cares was fantastic. I loved the dynamic between Lirra and Aodren. They definitely work well together. We got a lot of new characters in this story who were developed flawlessly as well. It was good to see some remaining characters which brought the feel of the previous books into this one.

Final Thoughts

Overall, Once A King by Erin Summerill was a great novel. Even though this could be read as a stand-alone, I highly recommend reading the first two books. There was some repetitive scenes in this book, which took away from the main focus. However, the story was brilliantly done and I enjoyed learning more about the other kingdoms while seeing Malam try to be the Kingdom is deserves to be. Lirra and Aodren were great characters and I’m glad we were able to get to know them better. I highly recommend this book for those who like mystery in their fantasy books and filled with action.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ghoulia
Ghoulia lives in Crumbling Manor with her Auntie Departed and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
In the vein of Eloise, Olivia, and Fancy Nancy, Carmen...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, Life, and the List
Seventeen-year-old Abby Turner’s summer isn’t going the way she’d planned....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
Arkansas, 1984: The town of Griffin Flat is known for...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Absolutely Everything!: A History of Earth, Dinosaurs, Rulers, Robots and Other Things Too Numerous to Mention
Discover how science, nature and history connect in this fast-paced,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
When the speediest family in the world finds a sweet,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Little Golden Book About the Solar System
Little Golden Books introduces your young reader to the solar...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Enlightenment by Reno Ursal
When Dorothy Dizon meets the mysterious Adrian Rosario and his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
My name is Barry Allen. You probably know me as...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
When Lady Katherine's father is killed for being an illegally...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blood Spell
Blue de la Cour has her life planned: hide the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ogre Enchanted
In this prequel to Ella Enchanted, which can stand on...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Home and Away
Tasia Quirk is young, Black, and fabulous. She's a senior,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mirage
In a star system dominated by the brutal Vathek empire,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dactyl Hill Squad
It's 1863 and dinosaurs roam the streets of New York...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Namarielle (Chronicles of Lashai Book 1)
 
5.0
"The Namarielle is the perfect addition to any fantasy novel collection. The world is so well imagined in the little..."
 
5.0
"The Channeler is the first book in a new YA fantasy series written by William H. Kline IV. Tommy,..."
364 Days a Year
 
4.0
"The story: Effy Garcia commits suicide on her seventeenth birthday. Her body is then possessed by a wandering spirit..."
The Secret Lives of Princesses
 
4.0
"'The Secret Lives of Princesses' by Seven Steps is yet another enjoyable addition to the St. Mary's Academy series of..."
Underwater
 
5.0
"Bailey has recently lost her parents to a violent crime. She and her younger sister Tilly are desperately trying..."
On Delicate Wings
 
4.8
"‘On Delicate Wings’ is the story of Mia, who struggles with her reputation as a nerd at school. When beautiful..."
When Fall Breaks
 
3.8
"Kaitlyn is living the perfect country life with her family in Northern California. She is a great student, swimmer, and..."
Ray Vs the Meaning of Life
 
4.5
"Ray must figure out the meaning of life in order to be the beneficiary of his late grandmother’s will. At..."
 
5.0
"Crocotta’s Hackles by Katharine E. Wibell is the third installment of the sweeping epic fantasy series, The Incarn Saga, about..."
Nia & The Numbers Game
 
5.0
"What readers are saying: Nia & the Numbers Game should be added to the required reading list for..."
The Namarielle (Chronicles of Lashai Book 1)
 
5.0
"The story draws you in and keeps you right up to the end! I can’t wait for the next book...."
Tomorrow Always Lies
 
N/A
"The story: Teen spy team The Gems (Emma, Olivia, Nadia, and Miyuki) have gelled as a team and now..."
Through Fathoms Dark and Deep
 
5.0
"After being marooned on a deserted island with Leo and Sam, Grace knows they need to find a way to..."
Playing by Heart
 
4.0
"The Story: Emilia is a young woman in Milan who has become somewhat of a musical prodigy. She's a composer..."
Frozen Hearts
 
4.0
"I've never quite read a book like this before. The story: Iona was never meant to live a life..."
Just Friends
 
4.0
" The story: Mitch knows his life is on the verge of big changes. His sister is dating one of..."
Tomorrow Always Lies
 
N/A
"Review of the first book in the Gems series: "Reading Spies Like Me made me harken back to those days..."
Ten Silver Coins: The Battle for Acchora
 
5.0
"An important story about courage in the world. Filled with vivid imagery, the action-packed plot is populated with memorable..."
Ten Silver Coins: The Battle for Acchora
 
5.0
"An important story about courage in the face of danger that is funny, imaginative and filled with amazing and memorable..."