Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over

Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over

 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
352   0
Write Review
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
September 05, 2017
ISBN
978-0062466525
Buy This Book
      
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If You Feel Too Much, this collection from suicide-awareness organization Project Semicolon features stories and photos from those struggling with mental illness.

Project Semicolon began in 2013 to spread a message of hope: No one struggling with a mental illness is alone; you, too, can survive and live a life filled with joy and love. In support of the project and its message, thousands of people all over the world have gotten semicolon tattoos and shared photos of them, often alongside stories of hardship, growth, and rebirth.

Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over reveals dozens of new portraits and stories from people of all ages talking about what they have endured and what they want for their futures. This represents a new step in the movement and a new awareness around those who struggle with mental illness and those who support them. At once heartfelt, unflinchingly honest, and eternally hopeful, this collection tells a story of choice: every day you choose to live and let your story continue on.

Learn more about the project at www.projectsemicolon.com.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.5
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

A Semicolon Anthology

"Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel

This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made up of both survival testimonials and memorial accounts of those enduring the pain of a lost loved one. The range of writing length and ability here is widely variable. Some have contributed as little as a small paragraph—and some up to 3 full pages. Accompanying most of these stories is a picture of each author’s semicolon tattoo. (This being in reference to international movement that has adopted the symbol.)

“A semicolon is used when an author could’ve chosen to end their sentence, but chose not to. The author is you, and the sentence is your life,” explains Project Semicolon’s website.

To be clear up front, I chose this book for review because The Semicolon Project has meant a great deal to me. It’s a supportive, affirming community I would have loved to see available when I was still an early-to-mid teenager—in a very vulnerable and precarious state of mental health. Its message is one I endorse wholeheartedly. So much so, over a year ago I received a semicolon tattoo on my left hand to remind myself and to stand in solidarity. I share this to put in better context what I mean when I say I sincerely wish I had been able to give this collection a higher rating.

I’m afraid I have to concur with those who've pointed out there's not a lot of "hope" to be found in many of these stories. Most do try to wrap up on a positive-sounding note. But there's often just a sentence at the end that sounds like a "hang-in-there" pep talk, without really offering a how-to in that regard. Some close with merely an "I'm still alive" sort of observation. I don't want to diminish anyone's struggle—please don't misunderstand. But I have to wonder if many of these stories weren't a bit premature in their public release.

Even the founder of the Semi-Colon Project, Amy Bleuel, had an incomplete-feeling story (which she shares at the very beginning of the compilation.) In it she alludes to the physical, mental, and emotional abuse she suffered at the hands of her step-mother--after her parents divorced and she chose to live with her father at age 6. At age 8 she attempted to physically defend herself from her stepmother and was taken away, placed in the juvenile justice system. Her biological mother was the one who came for her. She then spent age 13-18 within the Wisconsin juvenile justice system. Yet, she dedicated the Semi-Colon Project and this book to her father—who killed himself while she was still a teenager (further adding to her trauma.) I’ve read her account several times, but am still perplexed as to why she chose to bestow such honor on the man who married an abusive woman and who, from what few details we’re given, seems to have failed to protect his daughter. I’m certain there must be more to her story that could help me understand. But whatever that information may be, it’s not offered in the current incarnation of her autobiographical essay.

-----------------
Content Notes:

*The language use is sometimes raw, but well within context rather than gratuitous.
*There’s such a heartbreaking consistency to so many of these stories—histories of devastating childhood abuse, and of rape-induced trauma. While the details are kept mercifully vague, many of these accounts are still likely to be triggering for those who haven’t yet reached a stable place in their journey toward healing.
*For a large swath of those who seemed to be writing from a “good place,” finding a supportive significant other is marked as the turning point in their personal battle. I’m concerned this crediting may inadvertently serve to encourage more impressionable young readers into seeking out romantic relationships steeped in codependency.
*I'm dismayed at the reviewers who’ve rated this collection poorly because they didn't wish to encounter any stories of struggle or overcoming that make mention of personal faith. For the record, maybe 1/6 accounts allude to a belief in any form of "higher-power," and for the vast majority of those, it's a simple one-sentence nod of acknowledgement.
-------------------

I did want to take a moment to recognize the stories that felt particularly complete, and/or struck me personally as impactful: Jana A., Lisa A., K.T., Cassidy F., Aaron P., Rebecca H., and Kevin S. -- For whatever reason, their writing and conveyance resonated enough to make this reader want to dog-ear. Most contributors, I'm sure, wrote bravely for a cathartic outlet. But these I’ve listed... I wish my younger self had been able to read their works.

Favorite Quote:

"Sometimes, I feel like a dung beetle.
(I kno, but hear me out.)
What starts out as the tiniest piece of crap gets rolled around in my mind until it's the biggest load of bullshit ever. Sometimes, this accidentally rolls over other people and ruins relationships, but mostly, it stops me from being able to see my way forward." --Kevin. S.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Eden Conquered
The electrifying conclusion to the Dividing Eden series by the...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restore Me (Shatter Me #4)
Juliette Ferrars thought she'd won. She took over Sector 45,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Dark_Flowers_C_Brooke_FC_01.jpg
DARK FLOWERS is the multi award-winning novel by Caytlyn Brooke...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Samantha Spinner and the Super-Secret Plans
Get ready for round-the-world adventure with Sam Spinner and her...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom, Mellie....
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Brightly Burning
Stella Ainsley leaves poverty behind when she quits her...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Pain Less Ordinary
Becca's life is anything but ordinary. At fifteen, she's...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fatal Throne: The Wives of Henry VIII Tell All
The tragic lives of Henry VIII and his six...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Junction 2020 Book 1: The Portal
New Year's Eve, 2019. Mari Stratton attends a New...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Summer Constellations
Julia Ducharme is ready for a fresh start. Her...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hidden Figures: The True Story of Four Black Women and the Space Race
Dorothy Vaughan, Mary Jackson, Katherine Johnson, and Christine Darden were...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Shaking Things Up: 14 Young Women Who Changed the World
"Well-behaved women seldom make history." —Laurel Thatcher Ulrich, Pulitzer Prize-winning...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Begin a fantastic journey with our hero, the Warrior from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fairy Mom and Me
From the bestselling author of the Shopaholic series and the...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Picture Us in the Light
Danny Cheng has always known his parents have secrets. But...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Dark Breaks the Dawn
 
5.0
"In DARK BREAKS THE DAWN, Evelayn is the future queen of the Light Kingdom. As expected, she must prepare for..."
Eden Conquered
 
3.0
"EDEN CONQUERED by Joelle Charbonneau is the second book in a duology about royal twins competing for the throne. When..."
Restore Me (Shatter Me #4)
 
4.7
"This book picks up shortly after where Ignite Me ended. Juliette is having trouble adjusting to the demands of her..."
True Born
 
3.7
"TRUE BORN follows Lucy and her twin Margot as they deal with the drama and politics of a post-apocalyptic world...."
And She Was
 
3.0
"If the authors intention was to help non-transgendered peoples understand transgendered people, I think that was accomplished. I..."
Sky in the Deep
 
5.0
"No comment."
Abhorsen (Abhorsen #3)
 
4.0
"Picking up right where book #2’s cliffhangery ending left off, Garth Nix brings us the satisfying conclusion to his Abhorsen..."
The Queen Of The Tearling (The Tearling Trilogy, #1)
 
4.0
"An exceptional middle-fantasy debut, keyed to a New Adult audience. Kelsea is an unremarkable orphaned girl, long kept..."
The Selection
 
5.0
" The Selection by Kiera Cass is unlike any book I’ve ever read. Reminiscent of The Bachelor in setup, but..."
Picture Us in the Light
 
4.7
"Danny Cheng appears to have it all--a tight-knit group of friends, a full ride to his school of choice, artistic..."
Screenshot
 
3.3
"Asha, Emma, and Skye have been best friends for years, but things have been different lately. Skye is only worried..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"This is a book that you wish you could just sit down and read without interruption! Keeps you..."
Same But Different: Teen Life on the Autism Express
 
4.3
"SAME BUT DIFFERENT by twins Ryan Elizabeth Peete & RJ Peete is told in alternating narratives and loosely based on..."
Everless (Everless #1)
 
5.0
"Everless was my first read of the year and I do indeed feel guilty for reviewing it just now. The..."
Lifeline
 
4.0
"Eli has it all until he falls prey to the addiction of drugs. His last use of heroin nearly kills..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Need an adventure to get lost in? Read this book!! It is gripping from beginning to end with..."
Stealing Liberty
 
4.7
"I am amazed as to how versatile Jennifer Froelich is as an author. Each book is so creative and unique..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."