Books Young Adult Nonfiction Historical Heartthrobs: 50 Timeless Crushes—from Cleopatra to Camus

Historical Heartthrobs: 50 Timeless Crushes—from Cleopatra to Camus

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/93/aa/eb/_historical-heartthrobs-1365029211.jpg
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
639   0
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 07, 2014
ISBN
978-1936976102
Buy This Book
      
Hot tip for potential "Jeopardy" contestants: History really comes alive when you stop to consider the likes of Eva Peron and Nikola Tesla as potential members of your dating pool. Some items for consideration: Stalin was handsome as a devil, but he lived like one too (c.f. the purges). Che had the smoldering good looks, but would he only look out for himself in a relationship (he is eerily photogenic, after all)? And what about Nelly Bly? Was it legal to look that good in 1884?

"Historical Heartthrobs" includes both men and women from a wide range of countries, ethnicities, and historical epochs. Some are artists, some are scientists, and many are political or military leaders, but all have had a lasting impact on human life—and a sizable impact on their admirers as well. In addition to an iconic image of each personality, each entry contains essential information about when these people lived and died, where they came from, what their best features were, and why they mattered. Each entry concludes with a crushability ranking: a measurement of how crushworthy these people really were, based on their relative levels of heroism/villainy.

Editor reviews

This is a fun collection of historical public figures that asks the question--Would you date them? There's some really fun trivia on each of these 50 individuals including a 'heat factor' that ranks their worthiness to be a crush.

Here's some of my favorites:

Ernest Hemingway(ohmigosh, but he was hot when he was younger!). Love this quote:

"There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed." He rates a 3 out of 5 on the heat factor.

Frida Kahlo is one of my favorites as she shares my Mexican heritage and was an amazing artist. She wasn't afraid to be true to herself.

Gloria Steinem is huge with helping bring awareness to equal rights to women. Fact I didn't know: While she was in India after college, the CIA asked her to oversee a front called the Independent Service for Information. She accepted money from the CIA to spy on Communist student groups.

Frederick Douglas(who also was a hottie when younger!). His determination to lift himself up and escape slavery was amazing. He was courageous in his quest to let others know the evils of slavery.

Cesar Chavez-my all time hero. He championed for migrant and Latino civil rights. My own great-grandmother Acuna's family were migrant workers that would come over through Sonora, Mexico looking for work. I learned in Chicano Studies about the poor conditions others like my family went through as migrants. What I love is Chavez's hero was Gandhi and he used non-violent resistance in his rallies. **One fun note, in the early 90s I was approached to march with him and others but sadly I couldn't go.

There's even some controversial figures like Che Guevara, who fought beside Castro to overthrow a dictator.

Bugsy Siegel who founded Vegas and was very charming but a sociopath.

Eddie Chapman a double agent during World War II who maintained fiancees on both sides of his wartime allegiances.

There's so many other equally fascinating individuals in this collection that is sure to be the hit of the party. So many fun quotes, tidbits, and photos. There's sure to be something for everyone! Once again Zest delivers a winner!
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Kim Baccellia, Editor Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor October 23, 2013
Last updated: October 24, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (382)

Fascinating Look Into Historical People

This is a fun collection of historical public figures that asks the question--Would you date them? There's some really fun trivia on each of these 50 individuals including a 'heat factor' that ranks their worthiness to be a crush.

Here's some of my favorites:

Ernest Hemingway(ohmigosh, but he was hot when he was younger!). Love this quote:

"There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed." He rates a 3 out of 5 on the heat factor.

Frida Kahlo is one of my favorites as she shares my Mexican heritage and was an amazing artist. She wasn't afraid to be true to herself.

Gloria Steinem is huge with helping bring awareness to equal rights to women. Fact I didn't know: While she was in India after college, the CIA asked her to oversee a front called the Independent Service for Information. She accepted money from the CIA to spy on Communist student groups.

Frederick Douglas(who also was a hottie when younger!). His determination to lift himself up and escape slavery was amazing. He was courageous in his quest to let others know the evils of slavery.

Cesar Chavez-my all time hero. He championed for migrant and Latino civil rights. My own great-grandmother Acuna's family were migrant workers that would come over through Sonora, Mexico looking for work. I learned in Chicano Studies about the poor conditions others like my family went through as migrants. What I love is Chavez's hero was Gandhi and he used non-violent resistance in his rallies. **One fun note, in the early 90s I was approached to march with him and others but sadly I couldn't go.

There's even some controversial figures like Che Guevara, who fought beside Castro to overthrow a dictator.

Bugsy Siegel who founded Vegas and was very charming but a sociopath.

Eddie Chapman a double agent during World War II who maintained fiancees on both sides of his wartime allegiances.

There's so many other equally fascinating individuals in this collection that is sure to be the hit of the party. So many fun quotes, tidbits, and photos. There's sure to be something for everyone! Once again Zest delivers a winner!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Every touch has its price Layla Shaw is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life—no easy task...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)