Historical Heartthrobs: 50 Timeless Crushes—from Cleopatra to Camus

Historical Heartthrobs: 50 Timeless Crushes—from Cleopatra to Camus

 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
1006   0
Write Review
Historical Heartthrobs: 50 Timeless Crushes—from Cleopatra to Camus
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 07, 2014
ISBN
978-1936976102
Buy This Book
      
Hot tip for potential "Jeopardy" contestants: History really comes alive when you stop to consider the likes of Eva Peron and Nikola Tesla as potential members of your dating pool. Some items for consideration: Stalin was handsome as a devil, but he lived like one too (c.f. the purges). Che had the smoldering good looks, but would he only look out for himself in a relationship (he is eerily photogenic, after all)? And what about Nelly Bly? Was it legal to look that good in 1884?

"Historical Heartthrobs" includes both men and women from a wide range of countries, ethnicities, and historical epochs. Some are artists, some are scientists, and many are political or military leaders, but all have had a lasting impact on human life—and a sizable impact on their admirers as well. In addition to an iconic image of each personality, each entry contains essential information about when these people lived and died, where they came from, what their best features were, and why they mattered. Each entry concludes with a crushability ranking: a measurement of how crushworthy these people really were, based on their relative levels of heroism/villainy.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
(Updated: October 24, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Fascinating Look Into Historical People

This is a fun collection of historical public figures that asks the question--Would you date them? There's some really fun trivia on each of these 50 individuals including a 'heat factor' that ranks their worthiness to be a crush.

Here's some of my favorites:

Ernest Hemingway(ohmigosh, but he was hot when he was younger!). Love this quote:

"There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed." He rates a 3 out of 5 on the heat factor.

Frida Kahlo is one of my favorites as she shares my Mexican heritage and was an amazing artist. She wasn't afraid to be true to herself.

Gloria Steinem is huge with helping bring awareness to equal rights to women. Fact I didn't know: While she was in India after college, the CIA asked her to oversee a front called the Independent Service for Information. She accepted money from the CIA to spy on Communist student groups.

Frederick Douglas(who also was a hottie when younger!). His determination to lift himself up and escape slavery was amazing. He was courageous in his quest to let others know the evils of slavery.

Cesar Chavez-my all time hero. He championed for migrant and Latino civil rights. My own great-grandmother Acuna's family were migrant workers that would come over through Sonora, Mexico looking for work. I learned in Chicano Studies about the poor conditions others like my family went through as migrants. What I love is Chavez's hero was Gandhi and he used non-violent resistance in his rallies. **One fun note, in the early 90s I was approached to march with him and others but sadly I couldn't go.

There's even some controversial figures like Che Guevara, who fought beside Castro to overthrow a dictator.

Bugsy Siegel who founded Vegas and was very charming but a sociopath.

Eddie Chapman a double agent during World War II who maintained fiancees on both sides of his wartime allegiances.

There's so many other equally fascinating individuals in this collection that is sure to be the hit of the party. So many fun quotes, tidbits, and photos. There's sure to be something for everyone! Once again Zest delivers a winner!

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Xalata Orbit and Melody Fret: The Hammer of Asttar
Xalata Orbit meets danger head-on when she leaves a troubled...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)