Historical Heartthrobs: 50 Timeless Crushes—from Cleopatra to Camus

Historical Heartthrobs: 50 Timeless Crushes—from Cleopatra to Camus

 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
1635   1
Write Review
Historical Heartthrobs: 50 Timeless Crushes—from Cleopatra to Camus
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 07, 2014
ISBN
978-1936976102
Buy This Book
      
Hot tip for potential "Jeopardy" contestants: History really comes alive when you stop to consider the likes of Eva Peron and Nikola Tesla as potential members of your dating pool. Some items for consideration: Stalin was handsome as a devil, but he lived like one too (c.f. the purges). Che had the smoldering good looks, but would he only look out for himself in a relationship (he is eerily photogenic, after all)? And what about Nelly Bly? Was it legal to look that good in 1884?

"Historical Heartthrobs" includes both men and women from a wide range of countries, ethnicities, and historical epochs. Some are artists, some are scientists, and many are political or military leaders, but all have had a lasting impact on human life—and a sizable impact on their admirers as well. In addition to an iconic image of each personality, each entry contains essential information about when these people lived and died, where they came from, what their best features were, and why they mattered. Each entry concludes with a crushability ranking: a measurement of how crushworthy these people really were, based on their relative levels of heroism/villainy.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
(Updated: October 24, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Fascinating Look Into Historical People

This is a fun collection of historical public figures that asks the question--Would you date them? There's some really fun trivia on each of these 50 individuals including a 'heat factor' that ranks their worthiness to be a crush.

Here's some of my favorites:

Ernest Hemingway(ohmigosh, but he was hot when he was younger!). Love this quote:

"There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed." He rates a 3 out of 5 on the heat factor.

Frida Kahlo is one of my favorites as she shares my Mexican heritage and was an amazing artist. She wasn't afraid to be true to herself.

Gloria Steinem is huge with helping bring awareness to equal rights to women. Fact I didn't know: While she was in India after college, the CIA asked her to oversee a front called the Independent Service for Information. She accepted money from the CIA to spy on Communist student groups.

Frederick Douglas(who also was a hottie when younger!). His determination to lift himself up and escape slavery was amazing. He was courageous in his quest to let others know the evils of slavery.

Cesar Chavez-my all time hero. He championed for migrant and Latino civil rights. My own great-grandmother Acuna's family were migrant workers that would come over through Sonora, Mexico looking for work. I learned in Chicano Studies about the poor conditions others like my family went through as migrants. What I love is Chavez's hero was Gandhi and he used non-violent resistance in his rallies. **One fun note, in the early 90s I was approached to march with him and others but sadly I couldn't go.

There's even some controversial figures like Che Guevara, who fought beside Castro to overthrow a dictator.

Bugsy Siegel who founded Vegas and was very charming but a sociopath.

Eddie Chapman a double agent during World War II who maintained fiancees on both sides of his wartime allegiances.

There's so many other equally fascinating individuals in this collection that is sure to be the hit of the party. So many fun quotes, tidbits, and photos. There's sure to be something for everyone! Once again Zest delivers a winner!

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ace of Shades
Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Premonition (The Division Series Book 1)
When Riley heads off to boarding school for a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
Pretty Dead Girls
 
3.3
"PRETTY DEAD GIRLS by Monica Murphy is a YA thriller in which all the popular senior girls at Cape Bonita..."
Ace of Shades
 
5.0
"When Enne's mother doesn't return home, Enne travels to the City of Sin and she's desperate to find her. It's..."
Not if I Save You First
 
5.0
"Maddie's father is a Secret Service agent who is protecting Logan's father, the president of the United States. "Mad Dog"..."
How You Ruined My Life
 
4.7
"Rodney's father left, so he and his mother struggle to get by. When his well-to-do aunt and uncle decide to..."
Zombie Abbey
 
4.0
"It's been a long time since I had read a zombie novel and even more, one as entertaining as Zombie..."
The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)
 
5.0
"i really loved this book, the plot and the characters. I'm looking forward to reading the next book in the..."
Kat and Meg Conquer the World
 
3.7
"WHAT I LOVED: The course of friendship, like love, doesn’t run smoothly. Epcot at Disney World nearly broke up my..."