The How-To Handbook: Shortcuts and Solutions for the Problems of Everyday Life

The How-To Handbook: Shortcuts and Solutions for the Problems of Everyday Life

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
475   0
Write Review
The How-To Handbook: Shortcuts and Solutions for the Problems of Everyday Life
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
April 23, 2013
ISBN
978-1936976348
Buy This Book
      
There are certain things that everyone just has to know how to do in life: unjamming a jar, for instance, fixing a flat tire, and removing a particularly embarrassing stain. They may seem simple in retrospect, but you don’t have to turn all your laundry pink more than once before you learn that it’s best to just get things right the first time. "The How-To Handbook" packs over 50 essential life skills into one handy reference book and uses dozens of illustrations to show readers the very best ways to thread a needle, pitch a tent, tie a tie, chop an onion, and more!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
(Updated: April 25, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

User Friendly Solution Guide

This compact 'How-to' Handbook breaks down everyday life problems into six sections, making it easy to navigate and find what kinds of skill you need help in. This is a huge plus! I hate when reference books only make you more frustrated with complicated directions.

With THE HOW-TO HANDBOOK this isn't a problem.

This handbook goes over such things as how to avoid motion sickness(I suffer from this and the hint to NOT eat sweets before traveling makes sense);how to treat a bee sting(use edge of credit card to scrape in scooping motion to gradually ease stinger out); how to sew on a button: how to boil an egg; and other essential things. Oh, and there's directions on how to catch a spider without splatting it all over the place!

This friendly and easy to follow directions handbook is sure to be a great addition for college coeds. I wish I had something like this when I attended BYU! I was the coed that was totally clueless on basic skills and I know this book would have helped me that first semester away from home.


Some other great 'solutions' include how to fix a flat to even setting a table. Yes, I learned how to do these when I was younger but admit I 'forgot'. The easy to follow directions make what could be difficult, not so hard.

Another Zest winner!

Good Points
1. Great 'how to' guide
2. Perfect for college and even high school
3. Easy to read and follow
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)