The How-To Handbook: Shortcuts and Solutions for the Problems of Everyday Life

The How-To Handbook: Shortcuts and Solutions for the Problems of Everyday Life

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
916   0
Write Review
The How-To Handbook: Shortcuts and Solutions for the Problems of Everyday Life
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
April 23, 2013
ISBN
978-1936976348
Buy This Book
      
There are certain things that everyone just has to know how to do in life: unjamming a jar, for instance, fixing a flat tire, and removing a particularly embarrassing stain. They may seem simple in retrospect, but you don’t have to turn all your laundry pink more than once before you learn that it’s best to just get things right the first time. "The How-To Handbook" packs over 50 essential life skills into one handy reference book and uses dozens of illustrations to show readers the very best ways to thread a needle, pitch a tent, tie a tie, chop an onion, and more!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
(Updated: April 25, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

User Friendly Solution Guide

This compact 'How-to' Handbook breaks down everyday life problems into six sections, making it easy to navigate and find what kinds of skill you need help in. This is a huge plus! I hate when reference books only make you more frustrated with complicated directions.

With THE HOW-TO HANDBOOK this isn't a problem.

This handbook goes over such things as how to avoid motion sickness(I suffer from this and the hint to NOT eat sweets before traveling makes sense);how to treat a bee sting(use edge of credit card to scrape in scooping motion to gradually ease stinger out); how to sew on a button: how to boil an egg; and other essential things. Oh, and there's directions on how to catch a spider without splatting it all over the place!

This friendly and easy to follow directions handbook is sure to be a great addition for college coeds. I wish I had something like this when I attended BYU! I was the coed that was totally clueless on basic skills and I know this book would have helped me that first semester away from home.


Some other great 'solutions' include how to fix a flat to even setting a table. Yes, I learned how to do these when I was younger but admit I 'forgot'. The easy to follow directions make what could be difficult, not so hard.

Another Zest winner!

Good Points
1. Great 'how to' guide
2. Perfect for college and even high school
3. Easy to read and follow
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Nightbooks
A boy is imprisoned by a witch and must tell...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Intoxic
When Alison Hayes walks into her storm-darkened trailer the afternoon...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Ranch Hero
Kid lit with a comic book twist! This is a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Black and White Ball
In a lush and bountiful woodland, teeming with magnificent wildlife,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Denis Ever After
Written by award-winning author Tony Abbott and perfect for...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Side by Side A Novel of Bonnie and Clyde
Texas: 1931. It’s the height of the Great Depression,...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
You May Now Kill the Bride
Two sisters, divided by time. Each with a terrible...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Hiding Lies
At Holden Prep, dirty little secrets always have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Shadow Wings
I will never be controlled again. A manipulative dragon...
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Into Darkness
Fifteen-year-old Alexandra Spencer's life was not supposed to turn...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Kai's summer changes when she gets a summer internship at...
 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)
Zoe is just your average teenage girl expecting another average,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Frango & Chicken
Some things seem impossible, but with the right attitude and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ruby Lane
Ruby is overexcited again, and her brain is spinning creative...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Ghost
A gripping psychological thriller. Inspired by a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Resist: 35 Profiles of Ordinary People Who Rose Up Against Tyranny and Injustice
A perfect tool for young readers as they grow into...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Intoxic
 
5.0
"This is strong writing from an author on the rise. Gallion's prose is a breath of fresh air. There is..."
 
4.3
"I can't wait to see where the next book goes!"
Sneaking Out
 
3.8
" ‘Sneaking Out’ is the first installment in the ‘Chase’ series. The setting is an elite New England..."
Bleeding Hearts
 
3.0
"The story: Nancy Miller is a poor, illiterate teenage girl scrounging out a meager living in Edinburgh. On the..."
All-American Liars
 
3.8
"'All-American Liars' by Emily Kazmierski shines a light on the lies people tell themselves and others to help save face..."
 
4.0
"A short and fun read. The story: Megera is in danger of having to leave her private school when..."
This Summer
 
4.0
"A sweet romance highlighting the fragile hearts of youth. The story: Hadley is determined to have a good summer..."
Emerge: The Heir (Immortals of Indriell Book 4)
 
5.0
"A shining star in a great series. The story: Picking up years after the last time we saw Allie..."
Faded
 
5.0
"'Faded' by Melanie Hooyenga is the third installment in her 'Flicker Effect' series. It is not always true that a..."
When Fall Breaks
 
3.8
"'When Fall Breaks' by Julie Solano and Tracy Justice had a lot of interesting scenarios going on that are not..."
Emerge: The Assignment: An Immortals of Indriell Novella
 
5.0
"A great side story for anyone following this series. The story: Tessa is a fighter, but she believes she..."
 
5.0
"Fans of Laurie Halse Anderson, John Green, 13 Reasons Why, All the Bright Places and It’s Kind of a Funny..."
Ruthless Magic
 
5.0
"The story: In a world that knows magic exists there are only some people who have the power to wield..."
The Unusual Suspects
 
4.8
"Fourteen year old Bulgarian, Nia, is attacked while taking a train across Europe (she is going to face her cheating..."
Heart of Mine
 
4.7
"A sweet and clean royal romance with a hint of mystery and suspense."
Emerge: The Captive: (Book 3)
 
5.0
"The story: Captured by an Immortal organisation called Soma, Quinn struggles to keep his secrets hidden from his captors. Secrets..."
White Knights
 
4.3
"Angel is a genius at school and also a talented hacker. She mostly uses her gift of coding to search..."
A Thousand Salt Kisses
 
2.0
""A Thousand Salt Kisses" is the story of a young woman named Crystal who meets (later discovered to be) a..."
A Mortal Song
 
3.0
"Sora has been raised by the kami in Mt. Fuji and enjoys her life with her parents and her best..."
Below Northern Lights
 
3.5
" Lucas Santiago is injured war veteran and as a result of his injuries, has ended up in..."