Tillie Pierce Teen Eyewitness To The Battle of Gettysburg

Tillie Pierce Teen Eyewitness To The Battle of Gettysburg

 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
767   0
Write Review
Tillie Pierce  Teen Eyewitness To The Battle of Gettysburg
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 01, 2013
ISBN
978-1467706926
Buy This Book
      
Imagine being fifteen years old, facing the bloodiest battle ever to take place on U.S. soil: the Battle of Gettysburg. In July 1863, this is exactly what happened to Tillie Pierce, a normal teenager who became an unlikely heroine of the Civil War (1861-1865). Tillie and other women and girls like her found themselves trapped during this critical three-day battle in southern Pennsylvania. Without training, but with enormous courage and compassion, Tillie and other Gettysburg citizens helped save the lives of countless wounded Union and Confederate soldiers.

In gripping prose, Tillie Pierce: Teen Eyewitness to the of Battle Gettysburg takes readers behind the scenes. And through Tillie's own words, the story of one of the Civil War's most famous battles comes alive.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
(Updated: January 31, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Eyewitness to The Battle of Gettysburg

I've always been fascinated with the Civil War so I was excited to find a teen's eyewitness account of the war. Tillie Pierce and her family lived in the town of Gettysburg right before and during the war. Her journal accounts are woven throughout this book. The photos and illustrations add to the horror that a fifteen year old must have witnessed during that time.

There is a lot to recommend about this non-fiction historical book which includes the interesting tidbits throughout. We're shown the instruments doctors used during that time. Chances were very slim a wounded soldier lived. There's a poster warning of kidnappings due to the Fugitive Slave Act which made it legal for anyone to 'capture' runaway slaves. What's chilling is that not only slaves but free Blacks had to fear for their safety. Also there are some photos of what new owners in 1990 found when restoring a couple of these houses that verify what Tillie wrote in her journal.

I loved reading this eyewitness account to one of the most horrific wars that took place on US soil. It shows the bravery, courage, and even spunk of this teen.

Haunting as well as fascinating account of the horror of war told through the eyes of teen who lived in the town while it happened.

Good Points
1. Fascinating account of a teen who actually witnessed the Battle of Gettysburg
2. Interesting facts woven throughout
3. Photos and illustrations add to the horror of war
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Xalata Orbit and Melody Fret: The Hammer of Asttar
Xalata Orbit meets danger head-on when she leaves a troubled...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)