Books Young Adult Nonfiction Tillie Pierce Teen Eyewitness To The Battle of Gettysburg

Tillie Pierce Teen Eyewitness To The Battle of Gettysburg

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/f1/5e/81/_tillie-1359611520.jpg
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
545   0
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 01, 2013
ISBN
978-1467706926
Buy This Book
      
Imagine being fifteen years old, facing the bloodiest battle ever to take place on U.S. soil: the Battle of Gettysburg. In July 1863, this is exactly what happened to Tillie Pierce, a normal teenager who became an unlikely heroine of the Civil War (1861-1865). Tillie and other women and girls like her found themselves trapped during this critical three-day battle in southern Pennsylvania. Without training, but with enormous courage and compassion, Tillie and other Gettysburg citizens helped save the lives of countless wounded Union and Confederate soldiers.

In gripping prose, Tillie Pierce: Teen Eyewitness to the of Battle Gettysburg takes readers behind the scenes. And through Tillie's own words, the story of one of the Civil War's most famous battles comes alive.

Editor reviews

I've always been fascinated with the Civil War so I was excited to find a teen's eyewitness account of the war. Tillie Pierce and her family lived in the town of Gettysburg right before and during the war. Her journal accounts are woven throughout this book. The photos and illustrations add to the horror that a fifteen year old must have witnessed during that time.

There is a lot to recommend about this non-fiction historical book which includes the interesting tidbits throughout. We're shown the instruments doctors used during that time. Chances were very slim a wounded soldier lived. There's a poster warning of kidnappings due to the Fugitive Slave Act which made it legal for anyone to 'capture' runaway slaves. What's chilling is that not only slaves but free Blacks had to fear for their safety. Also there are some photos of what new owners in 1990 found when restoring a couple of these houses that verify what Tillie wrote in her journal.

I loved reading this eyewitness account to one of the most horrific wars that took place on US soil. It shows the bravery, courage, and even spunk of this teen.

Haunting as well as fascinating account of the horror of war told through the eyes of teen who lived in the town while it happened.

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Kim Baccellia, Editor Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor January 31, 2013
Last updated: January 31, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (389)

Eyewitness to The Battle of Gettysburg

I've always been fascinated with the Civil War so I was excited to find a teen's eyewitness account of the war. Tillie Pierce and her family lived in the town of Gettysburg right before and during the war. Her journal accounts are woven throughout this book. The photos and illustrations add to the horror that a fifteen year old must have witnessed during that time.

There is a lot to recommend about this non-fiction historical book which includes the interesting tidbits throughout. We're shown the instruments doctors used during that time. Chances were very slim a wounded soldier lived. There's a poster warning of kidnappings due to the Fugitive Slave Act which made it legal for anyone to 'capture' runaway slaves. What's chilling is that not only slaves but free Blacks had to fear for their safety. Also there are some photos of what new owners in 1990 found when restoring a couple of these houses that verify what Tillie wrote in her journal.

I loved reading this eyewitness account to one of the most horrific wars that took place on US soil. It shows the bravery, courage, and even spunk of this teen.

Haunting as well as fascinating account of the horror of war told through the eyes of teen who lived in the town while it happened.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is not your average trip to Fairyland… Selkie Stewart has just saved her quasi-boyfriend, Ben, from a fairy prison...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
THE GIRL WHO NEVER WAS is the story of Selkie Stewart, who thinks she’s a totally normal teenager growing up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
A dragon named Nickerbacher guards a princess "because his papa told him to." However, he practices his jokes on Princess...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)