Books Young Adult Nonfiction October Mourning: A Song for Matthew Shepard

October Mourning: A Song for Matthew Shepard Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/ed/e3/2d/_october-mourning-1352945388.jpg
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1273   0
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
September 25, 2012
ISBN
978-0763658076
Buy This Book
      

On the night of October 6, 1998, a gay twenty-one-year-old college student named Matthew Shepard was lured from a Wyoming bar by two young men, savagely beaten, tied to a remote fence, and left to die. Gay Awareness Week was beginning at the University of Wyoming, and the keynote speaker was Lesléa Newman, discussing her book Heather Has Two Mommies. Shaken, the author addressed the large audience that gathered, but she remained haunted by Matthew’s murder. October Mourning, a novel in verse, is her deeply felt response to the events of that tragic day. Using her poetic imagination, the author creates fictitious monologues from various points of view, including the fence Matthew was tied to, the stars that watched over him, the deer that kept him company, and Matthew himself. More than a decade later, this stunning cycle of sixty-eight poems serves as an illumination for readers too young to remember, and as a powerful, enduring tribute to Matthew Shepard’s life.

Editor reviews

Though it is a quick read, this book is deep and profound. A series of poems written in memory of Matthew Shepard, the young college student who was brutally tortured and left to die in the cold and remote wilderness of Wyoming, it is both moving and upsetting.

I still remember hearing about this terrible act of hatred and even the hatred that continued to follow the murder as demonstrated by the Westboro Baptist Church--but more memorable is the love and honor so many offered to the family and friends of Matthew--both in the LBGT community (Lesbian, Bisexual, Gay, and Transgender) and beyond it. Nothing can ever justify what happened to him. Nothing can ever erase such a tragedy. But Newman does him the honor of not only remembering him in every which way imaginable (even through the eyes of a deer and the fence he was tied onto) but doing so over a decade later. Whether LBGT or not, this book is important for how much love and care it shows for Matthew's memory but also as a history lesson on hate. We must remember this and other tragedies like it so that our children may not repeat such heinous acts. The world will never be free of hate, but we can teach our children to love.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Nicholette Tilghman Reviewed by Nicholette Tilghman November 14, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (120)

A Small Volume that Speaks...Volumes

Though it is a quick read, this book is deep and profound. A series of poems written in memory of Matthew Shepard, the young college student who was brutally tortured and left to die in the cold and remote wilderness of Wyoming, it is both moving and upsetting.

I still remember hearing about this terrible act of hatred and even the hatred that continued to follow the murder as demonstrated by the Westboro Baptist Church--but more memorable is the love and honor so many offered to the family and friends of Matthew--both in the LBGT community (Lesbian, Bisexual, Gay, and Transgender) and beyond it. Nothing can ever justify what happened to him. Nothing can ever erase such a tragedy. But Newman does him the honor of not only remembering him in every which way imaginable (even through the eyes of a deer and the fence he was tied onto) but doing so over a decade later. Whether LBGT or not, this book is important for how much love and care it shows for Matthew's memory but also as a history lesson on hate. We must remember this and other tragedies like it so that our children may not repeat such heinous acts. The world will never be free of hate, but we can teach our children to love.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • Giveaway: Damage Done by Amanda Panitch (US & Canada Only)

    DAMAGE DONE by Amanda Panitch Release Date: 7/21/2015     About the Book Family can be a real killer. DAMAGE DONE is a gripping YA debut about a girl trying to escape the past. In this deliciously disturbing, heart-in-your-throat psychological thriller, the tru ...

  • Diversify Your Shelves with WNDB

      Column by Maurene Goo   Maybe it’s because Comic Con is around the corner, or just the general languor that settles in when it’s hot—but summer always makes me want to crack into a good graphic novel and just completely escape. So here ar ...

  • Giveaway: 5 Seconds of Summer: All Exposed by Mick O'Shea (US & Canada Only)

    5 Seconds of Summer: All Exposed by Mick O’Shea Release Date: 10/07/2015   About the Book They've toured with One Direction and scored international super-hits in more than 50 countries across the globe but 5 Seconds of Summer are more than just another boy band. Like ...

  • Giveaway: The Princess & the Pony by Kate Beaton (US Only)

    THE PRINCESS AND THE PONY by Kate Beaton In stores June 30th   About the Book Princess Pinecone knows exactly what she wants for her birthday this year. A BIG horse. A STRONG horse. A horse fit for a WARRIOR PRINCESS! But when the day arrives, she doesn't quite get the ...

  • Giveaway: The Star Side of Bird Hill by Naomi Jackson (US Only)

    The Star Side of Bird Hill by Naomi Jackson   Release Date: 6/30/15   About the Book Summer, 1989: Sixteen-year-old Dionne Braithwaite and her younger sister Phaedra have just arrived in Bird Hill in Barbados. Sent from Brooklyn by their mother after she can no longe ...

  • Giveaway: Siren's Fury by Mary Weber (US Only)

    Siren’s Fury by Mary Weber Release Date: June 2, 2015   About the Book “I thrust my hand toward the sky as my voice begs the Elemental inside me to waken and rise. But it’s no use. The curse I’ve spent my entire life abhorring—the thing I trained so hard to control—no ...

  • Giveaway: Paperweight by Meg Haston (US Only)

    PAPERWEIGHT by Meg Haston   Release Date: July 7, 2015   About the Book In the vein of Laurie Halse Anderson's Wintergirls, this emotionally haunting and beautifully written young adult debut delves into the devastating impact of trauma and loss. Seventeen-ye ...

  • Giveaway: Wanted Series by Erin Johnson (US Only)

    About the Books   WANTED: Grace and the Guiltless (Book 1) by Erin Johnson Release Date: August 1, 2014 As the first book in the new young-adult series Wanted, Grace and the Guiltless is an edge-of-your-seat, gripping thrill ride. Set in the Wild West, the book pigg ...

  • Giveaway: Becoming Darkness by Lindsay Brambles (US & Canada Only)

    Becoming Darkness by Lindsay Brambles Release Date: October 1, 2015     About the Book Becoming Darkness is a dark, action-filled tale set in an alternate twenty-first century in which Hitler won World War II, our modern technologies never evolved, and the Nazi ...

  • Giveaway: Alive by Chandler Baker (US Only)

    ALIVE   by Chandler Baker Release Date: June 9, 2015     About the Book Stella Cross's heart is poisoned. After years on the transplant waiting list, she's running out of hope that she'll ever see her eighteenth birthday. Then, miraculously, Stella re ...

  • Giveaway: Made You Up by Francesca Zappia (US & Canada Only)

    Made You Up by Francesca Zappia Release Date: May 19, 2015     About the Book Reality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be—sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. Made You Up tells the story of Alex, a high school senior unable to t ...

  • Giveaway: Minus Me by Ingelin Rossland (US Only)

    MINUS ME by Ingelin Røssland, translated by Deborah Dawkin Release Date: July 13, 2015     About the Book During a diving competition Linda discovers that she has a rare heart condition and is told that her only hope of surviving is a heart transplant. Sensitiv ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
The first book in an epic new series for fans of The School for Good and Evil and The Land...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Paper in the Wind is a compassionate and riveting story depicting a single father’s dedication to his daughter. In the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
THE CLIMATE IS CHANGING. Thousands are fleeing the chaos and social unrest. “You could almost imagine everything was like...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
THE CLIMATE IS CHANGING. Thousands are fleeing the chaos and social unrest. With their own water and power supplies, fourteen...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Zane is not that interested in the Gollywhopper Games. He'd rather play football and is sure that he's headed straight...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Chock-full of puzzles, riddles, and challenges for the reader to solve along with the main characters, this fast-paced companion to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
On his twelfth birthday, Archie Greene receives a mysterious package containing an ancient book in a language he doesn't recognize....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The life of Australian teen Gerald Wilkins changed forever when he inherited twenty billion pounds and a mystery to solve....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
It's only been a month since Gerald Wilkins became the richest kid on earth and uncovered a plot of murder...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Gerald Wilkins never considered himself a particularly exceptional thirteen-year-old. But that was before he inherited twenty billion pounds, a Caribbean...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Brendan Buckley is headed to middle school on a whole new adventure. When his alternative energy idea gets him paired...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Bobbie's hilariously bumbling efforts to save her brother's Christmas actually land him on Santa's Naughty List, she must travel...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Rory Rooney likes to be prepared for anything. That sort of planning pays off when you’re the smallest kid in...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Kid genius Kevin Brewer and his friends must defend Earth from an invasion of vengeful aliens in the second installment...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Aliens Attack! When science camp buddies Kevin, Warner, Tara, and TJ summon alien life to earth, they quickly find out...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
It is 1895. Stan is on a mission to find his long-lost father in the logging camps of Michigan. And...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jimmy Bishop loves doing 3 things: 1) Laughing at funny dog videos online, 2) watching his favorite show (Stop! Police!)...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Keep calm and make it to prom night—without a legit panic attack. For seventeen-year-old Bree Hughes, it’s easier said than...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Avatar meets The Terminator in this thrilling cyber-tech adventure. Crippled by muscular dystrophy, Adam spends his...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Narrated by an alternating unreliable group of teens, this dark thriller will have readers on the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)