Books Young Adult Nonfiction October Mourning: A Song for Matthew Shepard

October Mourning: A Song for Matthew Shepard Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/ed/e3/2d/_october-mourning-1352945388.jpg
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1136   0
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
September 25, 2012
ISBN
978-0763658076
Buy This Book
      

On the night of October 6, 1998, a gay twenty-one-year-old college student named Matthew Shepard was lured from a Wyoming bar by two young men, savagely beaten, tied to a remote fence, and left to die. Gay Awareness Week was beginning at the University of Wyoming, and the keynote speaker was Lesléa Newman, discussing her book Heather Has Two Mommies. Shaken, the author addressed the large audience that gathered, but she remained haunted by Matthew’s murder. October Mourning, a novel in verse, is her deeply felt response to the events of that tragic day. Using her poetic imagination, the author creates fictitious monologues from various points of view, including the fence Matthew was tied to, the stars that watched over him, the deer that kept him company, and Matthew himself. More than a decade later, this stunning cycle of sixty-eight poems serves as an illumination for readers too young to remember, and as a powerful, enduring tribute to Matthew Shepard’s life.

Editor reviews

Though it is a quick read, this book is deep and profound. A series of poems written in memory of Matthew Shepard, the young college student who was brutally tortured and left to die in the cold and remote wilderness of Wyoming, it is both moving and upsetting.

I still remember hearing about this terrible act of hatred and even the hatred that continued to follow the murder as demonstrated by the Westboro Baptist Church--but more memorable is the love and honor so many offered to the family and friends of Matthew--both in the LBGT community (Lesbian, Bisexual, Gay, and Transgender) and beyond it. Nothing can ever justify what happened to him. Nothing can ever erase such a tragedy. But Newman does him the honor of not only remembering him in every which way imaginable (even through the eyes of a deer and the fence he was tied onto) but doing so over a decade later. Whether LBGT or not, this book is important for how much love and care it shows for Matthew's memory but also as a history lesson on hate. We must remember this and other tragedies like it so that our children may not repeat such heinous acts. The world will never be free of hate, but we can teach our children to love.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Nicholette Tilghman Reviewed by Nicholette Tilghman November 14, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (120)

A Small Volume that Speaks...Volumes

Though it is a quick read, this book is deep and profound. A series of poems written in memory of Matthew Shepard, the young college student who was brutally tortured and left to die in the cold and remote wilderness of Wyoming, it is both moving and upsetting.

I still remember hearing about this terrible act of hatred and even the hatred that continued to follow the murder as demonstrated by the Westboro Baptist Church--but more memorable is the love and honor so many offered to the family and friends of Matthew--both in the LBGT community (Lesbian, Bisexual, Gay, and Transgender) and beyond it. Nothing can ever justify what happened to him. Nothing can ever erase such a tragedy. But Newman does him the honor of not only remembering him in every which way imaginable (even through the eyes of a deer and the fence he was tied onto) but doing so over a decade later. Whether LBGT or not, this book is important for how much love and care it shows for Matthew's memory but also as a history lesson on hate. We must remember this and other tragedies like it so that our children may not repeat such heinous acts. The world will never be free of hate, but we can teach our children to love.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • The Librarian's Corner

        I am happy to share with the YABC community the brand new Librarian's Corner column! This column features three themed book recommendations from a Teen Librarian each month. My name is Eden Grey, and I'll be doing the column each month. I am a Teen Librarian, and I absolutel ...

  • Chapter Reveal: Last Year's Mistake by Gina Ciocca

    Last Year's Mistake by Gina Ciocca Release Date: June 9, 2015 Before we get to the chapter, here's a note from Gina:   I’m so excited to share the first chapter of LAST YEAR’S MISTAKE with all of you! I’ve written this opening many different ways, and I lov ...

  • Giveaway: The Ark by Laura Liddell (International)

    The Ark By Laura Liddell Nolen    Release Date: March 26, 2015   About the Book It’s the final days of earth, and sixteen-year-old Char is right where she belongs: in prison. With her criminal record, she doesn’t qualify for a place on an Ark, one of the five ...

  • Giveaway: 5 To 1 by Holly Bodger (US & Canada Only)

    5 to1 By Holly Bodger Release Date: 5/12/15   About the Book Sudasa doesn't want to be a wife and Kiran, a boy forced to compete in the test to become her husband, has other plans as well. Sudasa's family wants nothing more than for their daughter to do the right thing and p ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Tor Maddox: Unleashed by Liz Coley + Giveaway (International)

    Hi, YABCers, and welcome to today's cover reveal! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for TOR MADDOX: UNLEASHED by Liz Coley, releasing May 1, 2015 from LCTeen. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Liz:   Hi YABC! I’m thrilled to int ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!   The sheriff's son, Kellan Turner, is not the golden boy everyone thinks he is, and Romy Grey knows that for a fact. Because no one wants to believe a girl from the wrong side of town, ...

  • YABC Superstar of the Month: Ellie Gehman!

    YABC is a big site with a lot of moving pieces. We wouldn't exist without the tireless efforts of our incredible staff of volunteers. Our volunteers read and review books, post giveaways and cover reveals, format book graphics for our social media sites, and much more. YABC is a fabulous communit ...

  • MTV Movie Awards Recap

    Last night was a big night for YA book-to-movie adaptations at the MTV Movie Awards! Check out how many categories we won: MOVIE OF THE YEAR:    BEST KISS:   BREAKTHROUGH PERFORMANCE: Dylan O'Brien The Maze Runner BEST FEMALE PERFORMAN ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: The 57 Lives of Alex Wayfare by M.G. Buehrlen + Giveaway (US Only)

      Hello, YABC! We've got a special reveal for you today! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE 57 LIVES OF ALEX WAYFARE by M.G. Buehrlen, releasing April 14, 2015 from Diversion Books. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from M.G.:   ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Starflight by Melissa Landers + Giveaway (International)

    Hi, YABCers, and welcome to the second cover reveal of the week! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for STARFLIGHT by Melissa Landers, releasing February 2, 2016 from Disney Hyperion. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Melissa:   Hey, YAB ...

  • Trailer Reveal: Things We Know By Heart by Jessi Kirby + Giveaway (US Only)

    Hello, YABCers! We're bringing you a different kind of reveal today! Today we're super excited to celebrate the trailer reveal for THINGS WE KNOW BY HEART by Jessi Kirby, releasing April 21, 2015 from HarperTeen. Before we get to the trailer, here's a note from Jessi:   ...

  • Author Top 5 with Fonda Lee

    Today we welcome Fonda Lee to YABC! Fonda’s newly released book ZEROBOXER (Flux/Llewellyn) is high-action science fiction novel that releases this week. Since all authors want their books to find the right readers, Fonda has compiled this handy quiz to help you determine if you are the sort ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

how to win at high school.jpg
Adam Higgs is a loser, and he's not okay with it. But starting as a junior in a new high...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Blood Will Spill, Hearts Will Break: With a fierce rivalry raging between two warring families, falling in love is the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sure, Arielle won't deny that she has a vivid, even wild, imagination. Sure, it sometimes runs away with her. And...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Until the Beginning.jpg
Amy Plum, international bestselling author of the Die for Me series, delivers a heart-pounding adventure perfect for fans of Michael...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Friendship. Obsession. Deception. Love. Kalah knew better than to fall for Beth Taylor...but that didn’t stop her from falling hard...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Alys’s whole world was comprised of the history project that was due, her upcoming violin audition, being held tightly in...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Angels of Moirai (Book One)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Since man first walked the earth, the Angels of Moirai have watched over them. Born human, they are taught never...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
By the author of the critically acclaimed Wild Awake, a beautiful coming-of-age story about deep friendship, the weight of secrets,...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The-Girl-Who-Ignored-Ghosts.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
Kat Preston doesn’t believe in ghosts. Not because she’s never seen one, but because she saw one too many. Refusing...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For the past two months, Kitty Doe's life has been a lie. Forced to impersonate the Prime Minister's niece, her...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nerdy Dozen 2.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In this exciting sequel to The Nerdy Dozen, Neil Andertol and his gang of dorky gamers are once again called...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
les miserables.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
Travel back to nineteenth-century France with ex-convict Jean Valjean as he tries to put his criminal past behind him and...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Wishing doesn't make it so, Azra does. Azra has just turned sixteen, and overnight her body lengthens, her olive skin...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being on the run, Ariane Tucker finds herself back where she started-under Dr. Jacobs's cruel control. Now she must...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
An evocative and compelling story of two sisters who would do anything for each other—perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
Acclaimed author Anne Blankman returns to the shadowy and dangerous world of 1930s Germany in this thrilling sequel to Prisoner...
 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)
Can one girl take on so many identities without losing her own? Find out in this riveting companion to The...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Three different teenage girls learn how to navigate their hearts and NYC. City Love is the start of a romantic...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the acclaimed author of How to Love comes another stunning contemporary novel, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen. Molly...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Cassie and Caitlyn Waters may be identical twins, but everything else about them is completely different. The only thing they...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)