Faustine (Bonfire Chronicles Book One)

Faustine (Bonfire Chronicles Book One)

 
0.0
 
4.9 (4)
1526   0
Write Review
Faustine (Bonfire Chronicles Book One)
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Imogen Rose
Genre/Type
Age Group
14+
Published Date
March 01, 2011
ISBN Number
0982800215
ASIN Number
      
Who is Faustine? When Faustine Spencer was five years old, she discovered a secret that changed her life forever. At twelve, her parents sent her to Bonfire Academy in Switzerland to ensure that she received the training needed to control her increasing powers.

Three years later, Faustine returns to Manhattan. All she wants is to be a typical teenager, at least, one that's part of the in-crowd at her Upper East Side High School. When drop-dead gorgeous Ryker, her long-time crush from the Academy, finally notices her, she couldn't be happier. However, her desire for a normal life is shattered when her father, a prominent sovereign, disappears after naming her as his successor. Her siblings begin to disappear, and Faustine finds herself in the midst of a power struggle. With her life in danger, Faustine must learn to follow one of Bonfire Academy's most important rules: Trust no one.

User reviews

4 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.9
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (4)
Plot/Story 
 
4.8  (4)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (4)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.8  (4)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

A must read!

Imogen Rose is an amazing under the radar author. Check her out!

Good Points
I read the series backwards (Initiation before Faustine), but it ended up working out because "Faustine" actually takes place after Initiation. I highly reccomend anything Ms. Rose writes. Not only to young adults, but to adults who love paranormal books (twilight, harry potter, etc). The book never lost my interest, and I am one of the many fans awaiting the last book (Integration) of the Bonfire Academy series next month! Read it!
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

For any age!

Get it, Live it, Love it... pass it on!

Good Points
An absolute hit is on Imogen Rose's hands with Faustine, a 15-year-old who, as the tale opens, has returned home from Bonfire Academy. At this Swiss boarding school -- a school that encourages silence and feeding -- she learns to control her paranormal abilities. A few days after her return, she learns her father -- the Demon King of London -- has been kidnapped.

Rose does a fantastic job of taking the reader into the life of a 15-year-old teen who is struggling to discover herself, only to find out that her father has named her as his heir. She also has a new love interest in her life, one whose elders don't want him to get involved with Faustine. Add in a high school clique that seems to look down on paranormals -- a nifty little twist in there, too -- as well as a jealous half sister, and this book is a sure-fire winner.

I read this book in one sitting. I don't read many in one sitting. And I don't read many YA paranormal books, so believe me that this one will appeal to a large audience.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0

LOVED THIS

I am not an active reader, but Imogen's books are just so easy to get into and caught up in! AMAZING!

Good Points
LOVE THIS BOOK!
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

A must read!

Get it, Live it, Love it... pass it on!

Good Points
"'Trust no one!' -- that may be Faustine's most important takeaway from Bonfire Academy, but there was never any doubt we could trust Portal Chronicles author Imogen Rose to serve up another pitch-perfect trilogy in the Bonfore Chronicles, and here's where it all begins!"
-Steve Windwalker, Kindle Nation Daily

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Starflight
Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
summer marked.jpg
Fresh off a break-up with her boyfriend, Kadie's glad to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
catacomb.jpg
The heart-stopping third book in the New York Times bestselling...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)