Faustine (Bonfire Chronicles Book One)

Faustine (Bonfire Chronicles Book One)

 
0.0
 
4.9 (4)
2921   0
Write Review
Faustine (Bonfire Chronicles Book One)
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Imogen Rose
Genre/Type
Age Group
14+
Published Date
March 01, 2011
ISBN Number
0982800215
ASIN Number
      
Who is Faustine? When Faustine Spencer was five years old, she discovered a secret that changed her life forever. At twelve, her parents sent her to Bonfire Academy in Switzerland to ensure that she received the training needed to control her increasing powers.

Three years later, Faustine returns to Manhattan. All she wants is to be a typical teenager, at least, one that's part of the in-crowd at her Upper East Side High School. When drop-dead gorgeous Ryker, her long-time crush from the Academy, finally notices her, she couldn't be happier. However, her desire for a normal life is shattered when her father, a prominent sovereign, disappears after naming her as his successor. Her siblings begin to disappear, and Faustine finds herself in the midst of a power struggle. With her life in danger, Faustine must learn to follow one of Bonfire Academy's most important rules: Trust no one.

User reviews

4 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.9
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (4)
Plot/Story 
 
4.8  (4)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (4)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.8  (4)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

A must read!

Imogen Rose is an amazing under the radar author. Check her out!

Good Points
I read the series backwards (Initiation before Faustine), but it ended up working out because "Faustine" actually takes place after Initiation. I highly reccomend anything Ms. Rose writes. Not only to young adults, but to adults who love paranormal books (twilight, harry potter, etc). The book never lost my interest, and I am one of the many fans awaiting the last book (Integration) of the Bonfire Academy series next month! Read it!
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

For any age!

Get it, Live it, Love it... pass it on!

Good Points
An absolute hit is on Imogen Rose's hands with Faustine, a 15-year-old who, as the tale opens, has returned home from Bonfire Academy. At this Swiss boarding school -- a school that encourages silence and feeding -- she learns to control her paranormal abilities. A few days after her return, she learns her father -- the Demon King of London -- has been kidnapped.

Rose does a fantastic job of taking the reader into the life of a 15-year-old teen who is struggling to discover herself, only to find out that her father has named her as his heir. She also has a new love interest in her life, one whose elders don't want him to get involved with Faustine. Add in a high school clique that seems to look down on paranormals -- a nifty little twist in there, too -- as well as a jealous half sister, and this book is a sure-fire winner.

I read this book in one sitting. I don't read many in one sitting. And I don't read many YA paranormal books, so believe me that this one will appeal to a large audience.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0

LOVED THIS

I am not an active reader, but Imogen's books are just so easy to get into and caught up in! AMAZING!

Good Points
LOVE THIS BOOK!
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

A must read!

Get it, Live it, Love it... pass it on!

Good Points
"'Trust no one!' -- that may be Faustine's most important takeaway from Bonfire Academy, but there was never any doubt we could trust Portal Chronicles author Imogen Rose to serve up another pitch-perfect trilogy in the Bonfore Chronicles, and here's where it all begins!"
-Steve Windwalker, Kindle Nation Daily

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Worst Fairy Godmother Ever!
Q: What do you need to become a great fairy...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drum Roll, Please
Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everless (Everless #1)
In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect life....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Would you risk it all for love? A high-ranking official’s...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kristen McDonald has dreamed of being crowned prom queen for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
FRANKIE FRETINI has had a horrible year. And, just when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jackson and Samantha live modestly in a small apartment in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Worst Fairy Godmother Ever!
 
4.0
"Isabelle is a fairy-godmother-in-training and is so nervous that she's going to wind up being terrible like her mother was...."
Drum Roll, Please
 
4.0
"Even though Melly was forced to go to Camp Rockaway, it's just the escape she needs. Her parents are getting..."
Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
 
5.0
"Abby and Jonah take another trip through their magic mirror after being told their grounded from technology. This time, it..."
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
 
5.0
"Sam is the hall monitor at Eerie Elementary, but his job requires more than watching out for students doing things..."
A Round of Robins
 
4.0
"This picture book sized poetry book follows Mama and Dad bird as they hatch a clutch of eggs, supervise raising..."
The Seismic Seven
 
4.0
"Kenzie, Brianna, Wyatt and Todd have all have won the opportunity to study with Dr. Grier in Yellowstone National Park,..."
The Slithery Shakedown: The Nocturnals (Grow & Read Early Reader, Level 2)
 
3.5
"In this sequel to The Midnight Meeting, we rejoin Bismark the sugar glider, Tobin the pangolin and Dawn the fox...."
Beat Bugs: In My Life (I Can Read Level 1)
 
4.0
"Illustrated with stills from the television program with light colored font, children will enjoy identifying the characters they know from..."
Scroll of Kings (The Lost Books #1)
 
4.0
"Alex is struggling as the apprentice to an elderly librarian at a castle filled with old, musty diaries and laundry..."
 
5.0
"Tristan's family decides to move from New York City to a small town after his father loses his job and..."
Sparks!
 
4.5
"Canine configuration engage! August, a cat, has created a robotic dog that his friend Charlie helps him run. With the..."
A Warp in Time (Horizon, Book 3)
 
4.0
"The children in the Killbots whose plane went down have suffered from having friends die, being stuck in all sorts..."
Marge in Charge and the Stolen Treasure (#2)
 
4.0
"Jemima and her little brother Jakey are being bedeviled by their baby cousin, Zara. Their Aunt Sally claims that her..."
Super Sweet Dreams (Puppy Princess #2)
 
4.0
"In this sequel to Party Time, Princess Rosie finds out that her best friend (and cat-in-waiting) Cleo's birthday is coming..."
How to Be a Supervillain: Born to Be Good (#2)
 
4.0
"Victor Spoil is back after defeating Dr. Deplorable in How to Be a Supervillian. He's still struggling with wanting to..."
The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl
 
4.0
"Lucy lives with her supportive grandmother, and frequently sees her uncle, who is young, fun, and a bit misguided. Lucy..."
Me, Frida, and the Secret of the Peacock Ring
 
5.0
"Paloma Marquez has to spend the summer in Mexico City with her mother, who has gotten a fellowship to study..."
The Parker Inheritance
 
4.0
"Candice's grandmother was a city official in the small town of Lambert before she fell into disrepute. She thought there..."
 
4.0
"In this level one beginning reader, Pete and his friends adventure into the back yard to look for bugs. They..."
My Weird School: Teamwork Trouble (I Can Read Level 2)
 
5.0
"This level two I Can Read book follows the exploits of Ryan, who loves all sports! He is on a..."