Crocotta's Hackles

Crocotta's Hackles

 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
32   0
Write Review
Publisher Name
Phaesporia Press
Age Group
15+
Published Date
December 01, 2018
ISBN Number
978-0998377940
ASIN Number
      
“According to legend, when the world was young, Crocotta, Queen of the Gods, discovered her mate’s faithlessness. She vowed to prevent future threats to all matrimonial pacts henceforward, but for her it was too late. The child born from the illicit coupling was a warrior goddess—one whom Crocotta would seek to destroy throughout eternity.

"Now that the Raiders’ elite army is threatening the kingdom of Elysia’s northern borders, seventeen-year-old Lluava must leave the familiarity and safety of her native land to venture into the wilderness. Her mission is to discover others like her who will come to Elysia’s aid; her hope is to unravel the secrets behind what it means to be Incarn. But what she finds could destroy everything.”

Lluava’s story continues in Crocotta’s Hackles, the third book in The Incarn Saga's award-winning new-adult series: Issaura's Claws, Ullr's Fangs, Crocotta's Hackles, and Giahem's Talons (2019).

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

Crocotta's Hackles

Crocotta’s Hackles by Katharine E. Wibell is the third installment of the sweeping epic fantasy series, The Incarn Saga, about the Kingdom of Elysia and their war against the brutal Raiders. This extremely fast paced book continues seventeen-year-old Lluava’s story as she ventures off into the wilderness outside her country in the hopes to find aid and salvation for Elysia. Picking up where Ullr’s Fangs left off, Lluava’s friends have headed to the capital to prevent to power hungry councilman from gaining control while the Raiders still threaten the boarders. Left virtually alone, Lluava pursues a different course, one that leads her closer to her supposed destiny and the truth of what it means to be an Incarn. Crocotta’s Hackles is full of surprising twists right off the bat and complex plots and themes that add to this vibrant and harsh world. Like the other books in the series, it deals with real world issues including racism, sexism, religious persecution and the struggle to find one’s place in the universe. Shapeshifters, Viking-like villains, gods and prophesy, I highly recommend this book to anybody who enjoys fantasy and adventure stories.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ghoulia
Ghoulia lives in Crumbling Manor with her Auntie Departed and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
In the vein of Eloise, Olivia, and Fancy Nancy, Carmen...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, Life, and the List
Seventeen-year-old Abby Turner’s summer isn’t going the way she’d planned....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
Arkansas, 1984: The town of Griffin Flat is known for...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Absolutely Everything!: A History of Earth, Dinosaurs, Rulers, Robots and Other Things Too Numerous to Mention
Discover how science, nature and history connect in this fast-paced,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
When the speediest family in the world finds a sweet,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Little Golden Book About the Solar System
Little Golden Books introduces your young reader to the solar...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Enlightenment by Reno Ursal
When Dorothy Dizon meets the mysterious Adrian Rosario and his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
My name is Barry Allen. You probably know me as...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
When Lady Katherine's father is killed for being an illegally...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blood Spell
Blue de la Cour has her life planned: hide the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ogre Enchanted
In this prequel to Ella Enchanted, which can stand on...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Home and Away
Tasia Quirk is young, Black, and fabulous. She's a senior,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mirage
In a star system dominated by the brutal Vathek empire,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dactyl Hill Squad
It's 1863 and dinosaurs roam the streets of New York...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Mend A Story of Divorce
 
3.0
"What worked: Explores one teen's experience of dealing with the divorce of her parents. For those going through a similar..."
Clink A Story of Cyberbullying
 
3.0
"This is a graphic novel adaptation of a real teen's experience of being bullied online. What worked: This is..."
Once A King (Clash of Kingdoms)
 
4.0
"\ Feedback If you’ve read my other reviews on the series thus far then you know how much I love..."
Poetry 101
 
4.0
"POETRY 101 by Susan Dalzell is a comprehensive introduction to poetry written in the English language. The book takes us..."
You/Poet: Learn the Art. Speak Your Truth. Share Your Voice.
 
5.0
"YOU/POET by Rayna Hutchison and Samuel Blake, the folks from HER HEART POETRY, is a tremendous gift to writers everywhere...."
Hey, Kiddo
 
5.0
"What worked: This is an amazing memoir told in graphic novel style of a teen that deals with family addiction...."
The Grand Escape: The Greatest Prison Breakout of the 20th Century
 
5.0
"World War I was a harrowing war, but is not covered as frequently as World War II. This is a..."
The Strange True Tale of Frankenstein's Creator Mary Shelley
 
4.5
"What worked: This is a fascinating insight into the life of the author of Frankenstein. The beginning paragraph, when Mary..."
In Harm's Way: JFK, World War II, and the Heroic Rescue of PT 109
 
4.5
"While many young readers have heard of President John F. Kennedy, few know about anything other than his assassination. While..."
The Confidence Code for Girls
 
4.5
"The Confidence Code for Girls is an empowering read every girl should have in their arsenal. So many girls struggle..."
A Few Red Drops: The Chicago Race Riot of 1919
 
5.0
"Hartfield begins her in depth look at the history of the Chicago race riots recounting the events of a simple..."
1968: Today's Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, and Change
 
4.5
"In order for young people to make sense of the current sociopolitical landscape, it is not a bad idea for..."
Life Inside My Mind: 31 Authors Share Their Personal Struggles
 
5.0
"This is a raw, honest portrayal of YA authors struggles with mental health. Thirty-one authors share their stories which include..."
The Nazi Hunters: How a Team of Spies and Survivors Captured the World's Most Notorious Nazi
 
4.0
"Adolf Eichmann orchestrated the removal of thousands of Jews to concentration camps, where many met their deaths. He managed to..."
Boots on the Ground: America's War in Vietnam
 
5.0
"The conflict in Vietnam was horrible, contentious, and defined the 1960s in many ways. In order to give an all-inclusive..."
The Whydah: A Pirate Ship Feared, Wrecked, and Found
 
4.0
"Sandler brings history to life through the myths and legends of the Whydah, an 18th century pirate ship which sank..."
The Girl Guide: 50 Ways to Learn to Love Your Changing Body
 
5.0
"Where was this book when I was a girl? Ibrahim talks about every embarrassing subject tween girls face each..."
This is our Constitution: Discover America with a Gold Star Father
 
5.0
"This is our Constitution is an entertaining and educational text every student—and some adults—should read. The passion and profound respect..."
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
 
5.0
"THE KIDULT HANDBOOK is the perfect book to pull out on a boring day. It is packed with fun activities..."
Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries
 
4.0
"'Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries' by Ammi-Joan Paquette and Laurie Ann Thompson is a fun read, chock..."