Nia & The Numbers Game

Nia & The Numbers Game

 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
36   0
Write Review
Nia & The Numbers Game by Dr. Kela
Author(s)
Publisher Name
BTH Creations LLC
Age Group
13+
Published Date
October 13, 2018
ISBN Number
9780999573600
ASIN Number
      
"Nia and the Numbers Game is an entertaining, sensitive and factual guide for teen girls who are facing decisions about education and sex." - Haywood Smith, New York Times and USA Today Best-Selling Author. Teenager Nia Ferguson is undergoing such rites of passage as her first crush, her first date, and her first love. She is an everyday girl facing the challenges of today with ambition and pride. In this novel geared toward adolescent girls and their families, Dr. Kela Henry offers positive inspiration as she guides girls, especially those from lower-economic families, through the often-daunting processes of maintaining self-esteem, navigating romantic relationships, and applying for college. Nia & the Numbers Game, A Teenager's Guide to Education, Relationships & Sex is a unique combination of fact and fiction. Written with the rich detail of a novel, the story follows Nia's progress from a girl in middle school to a young doctor and then a mother who is married with a baby of her own.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

Why Nia & The Numbers Game stands out

What readers are saying:

Nia & the Numbers Game should be added to the required reading list for every middle school and high school student. I absolutely loved reading this book. It covers issues that teenage girls experience with such an intelligent and nurturing tone. After reading the first chapter, I said to myself, “This is brilliant!!!” I kept reading and before I knew it, I had completed Chapter 8. This will be the book that young ladies refer to again and again about things that are going on in their lives. It will also be the book that parents, teachers, care givers, aunts, etc. reach for when they need reinforcement and guidance.” – T. Miller

Editorial Review: “The tone of the book is always casual, yet frank and very Judy Blume-esque in its candor. Overall, Nia & the Numbers Game delivers on what it sets out to do: offering frank discussion and invaluable education while entertaining young readers.” - Self-Publishing Review

Good Points
Because Nia & The Numbers Game is written like a novel and combines fiction and nonfiction, you really get to know Nia, her life, friends and family. She feels like she is your friend. You first meet her at 13 years old and then she goes to high school, college and onward! There are a lot of facts in this book, ranging from health to education such as how to apply for college. It's also very real and the author speaks to teens like teens speak to teens! It's a storybook and a lifestyle book, with important, useful information about getting an education and intimate situations that might alter your life forever. It's quite unique.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ghoulia
Ghoulia lives in Crumbling Manor with her Auntie Departed and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
In the vein of Eloise, Olivia, and Fancy Nancy, Carmen...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, Life, and the List
Seventeen-year-old Abby Turner’s summer isn’t going the way she’d planned....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
Arkansas, 1984: The town of Griffin Flat is known for...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Absolutely Everything!: A History of Earth, Dinosaurs, Rulers, Robots and Other Things Too Numerous to Mention
Discover how science, nature and history connect in this fast-paced,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
When the speediest family in the world finds a sweet,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Little Golden Book About the Solar System
Little Golden Books introduces your young reader to the solar...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Enlightenment by Reno Ursal
When Dorothy Dizon meets the mysterious Adrian Rosario and his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
My name is Barry Allen. You probably know me as...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
When Lady Katherine's father is killed for being an illegally...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blood Spell
Blue de la Cour has her life planned: hide the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ogre Enchanted
In this prequel to Ella Enchanted, which can stand on...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Home and Away
Tasia Quirk is young, Black, and fabulous. She's a senior,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mirage
In a star system dominated by the brutal Vathek empire,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dactyl Hill Squad
It's 1863 and dinosaurs roam the streets of New York...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Love, Life, and the List
 
4.3
"Abby's goal in life is to become a serious artist. Her hope is to get into a special art camp...."
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
 
3.0
"It's 1984 and Laura Ratliff is a high school student with issues beyond a typical sixteen-year-old. Her mom and her..."
Beyond a Darkened Shore
 
4.7
"Top 4 Reasons to Grab BEYOND A DARKENED SHORE immediately: 1.) Historical fantasy worldbuilding: My biggest genre weakness..."
Onyx and Ivory
 
4.0
"Top 5 Reasons to Read Onyx and Ivory: 1.) The magic: Kate lives in a world where there are..."
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
 
5.0
"THE FLASH: THE SECRET FILES OF BARRY ALLEN is the perfect guide for the Flash tv show. The layout of..."
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
 
4.0
"AN ASSASSIN’S GUIDE TO LOVE & TREASON by Virginia Boecker is such a breath of fresh air. It’s a YA..."
Giant Days
 
4.7
"Susan, Daisy and Esther are very different women, but they become fast friends after meeting on their college dorm floor...."
The Blood Spell
 
5.0
"Blue de la Cour enjoys her quiet life with her father, passing the days by working in the shop and..."
Mother Tongue
 
5.0
"As MOTHER TONGUE by Julie Mayhew begins, eighteen-year-old Darya envisions the bits of freedom she'll enjoy once her little sister,..."
Dungeons & Dragons: Into the Jungle: An Endless Quest Book
 
3.7
"Consider this a sort of D&D primer for intro-level youth. Told in second-person present-tense, this fantasy is styled after..."
Dungeons & Dragons: Big Trouble: An Endless Quest Book
 
3.0
"Told in second-person present-tense, this fantasy is styled after the beloved choose-your-own-adventure books of yore. It also features a vast..."
Parasite Life
 
4.7
"Jane is stuck in a creepy old house with her invalid mother. She has no idea why her mother is..."
Hearts Unbroken
 
N/A
"There are a lot of entry-points to the storylines in Cynthia Leitich Smith's Hearts Unbroken. I recommend this book especially..."
With Malice
 
5.0
"I loved this book, it kept me thinking afterwards for days. "The truth is how you tell it," take that..."
IF I FIX YOU
 
5.0
"The book is more like a 4.5 but I am going to give it a 5 star read because the..."
Enchantée
 
4.0
"After the death of her parents to smallpox, Camille Durbonne struggles to get by with her younger sister Sofie. One..."
The Penderwicks at Last
 
5.0
"THE PENDERWICKS AT LAST is the last in the series of Jeanne Birdsall's books about the Penderwick family. In this..."
Ever the Hunted (Clash of Kingdoms)
 
5.0
""Ever the Hunted" is an incredible YA fantasy with a touch of romance. The story begins with Britta, starving and..."
Bud, Not Buddy
 
4.7
"Bud not Buddy is awesome! im in year 9 and im reading it in school for an assignment. On the..."
The Star-Touched Queen
 
3.3
"I enjoyed this rich world. I felt like I was there seeing the lure with my own eyes. I loved..."