Burning Bright

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
121   0
Write Review
Burning Bright
Age Group
16+
Published Date
January 27, 2016
ISBN Number
9781548152321
ASIN Number
      

Three years ago, Samantha Gray killed her parents. Haunted by their deaths, she hides her scars behind sarcasm and vintage t-shirts, counting the days until she can escape her foster home in Alegria, Arizona. Then she meets Ben, a California boy whose filmmaker parents constructed a big cat sanctuary outside of town. She's hesitant to get close, terrified he'll learn her secret. When Ben introduces Sam to Solomon, a Bengal tiger on borrowed time whose gruesome history eerily mirrors her own, she must decide whether she’s strong enough to overcome her past and save not only Solomon’s life, but her own. And to do that, she'll need to tell Ben the truth.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
3.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0

Interesting Story

Sam is haunted by her parents death. She is at fault for what happened to them. Her punishment is to live with abusive foster parents that only care about the stipend she brings them. Sam’s life changes when she meets California boy, Ben.
Ben is the son of movie star turned animal conservationist parents. What will happen when Sam becomes wrapped up in Ben’s world.
To me there is two separate plots to, ‘Burning Bright’. The first is Sam’s gritty struggle to survive. She lives in a tent so as not to have to live in her foster-parents house. She is in constant fear of her foster-father. Sam also has to work in a second-hand store in order to pay for essentials such as clothing and food. She sees this as a penance for what she did to her parents. What happened to Sam’s parents is not revealed until the end of the book but it is implied that she is someway caused their parent’s deaths. This section of the story was my favorite. It delved into the world of foster care. It felt real and different and it kept me wanting to find out how the story turned out. I also enjoyed the mystery behind Sam’s past. I really loved the setting of Arizona. The climate and the heat highlighted the intense drama of Sam’s life.
The second plot involves Ben and his family running a large cat sanctuary. The sanctuary takes in, Solomon, a tiger that has been labeled ,’a man killer’. Sam identifies with the tiger and tries to save him. Despite being an avid animal lover, I just couldn’t get into this part of the story. It felt totally separate from Sam’s slice of life story. It just didn’t have the gritty reality that Sam’s other plot had and I just didn’t connect with this part of the story. I also didn’t connect with Ben or his parents. Ben’s mother seemed to act rather hot and cold to Sam and it left me confused about her character.
I enjoyed ‘Burning Bright.’ I really enjoyed this as a teenager in foster care story and I loved Sam as a character. I would love to have a continuation of Sam’s story.

Good Points
Great Look at foster care.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ghoulia
Ghoulia lives in Crumbling Manor with her Auntie Departed and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
In the vein of Eloise, Olivia, and Fancy Nancy, Carmen...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, Life, and the List
Seventeen-year-old Abby Turner’s summer isn’t going the way she’d planned....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
Arkansas, 1984: The town of Griffin Flat is known for...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Absolutely Everything!: A History of Earth, Dinosaurs, Rulers, Robots and Other Things Too Numerous to Mention
Discover how science, nature and history connect in this fast-paced,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
When the speediest family in the world finds a sweet,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Little Golden Book About the Solar System
Little Golden Books introduces your young reader to the solar...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Enlightenment by Reno Ursal
When Dorothy Dizon meets the mysterious Adrian Rosario and his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
My name is Barry Allen. You probably know me as...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
When Lady Katherine's father is killed for being an illegally...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blood Spell
Blue de la Cour has her life planned: hide the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ogre Enchanted
In this prequel to Ella Enchanted, which can stand on...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Home and Away
Tasia Quirk is young, Black, and fabulous. She's a senior,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mirage
In a star system dominated by the brutal Vathek empire,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dactyl Hill Squad
It's 1863 and dinosaurs roam the streets of New York...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Mend A Story of Divorce
 
3.0
"What worked: Explores one teen's experience of dealing with the divorce of her parents. For those going through a similar..."
Clink A Story of Cyberbullying
 
3.0
"This is a graphic novel adaptation of a real teen's experience of being bullied online. What worked: This is..."
Once A King (Clash of Kingdoms)
 
4.0
"\ Feedback If you’ve read my other reviews on the series thus far then you know how much I love..."
Poetry 101
 
4.0
"POETRY 101 by Susan Dalzell is a comprehensive introduction to poetry written in the English language. The book takes us..."
You/Poet: Learn the Art. Speak Your Truth. Share Your Voice.
 
5.0
"YOU/POET by Rayna Hutchison and Samuel Blake, the folks from HER HEART POETRY, is a tremendous gift to writers everywhere...."
Hey, Kiddo
 
5.0
"What worked: This is an amazing memoir told in graphic novel style of a teen that deals with family addiction...."
The Grand Escape: The Greatest Prison Breakout of the 20th Century
 
5.0
"World War I was a harrowing war, but is not covered as frequently as World War II. This is a..."
The Strange True Tale of Frankenstein's Creator Mary Shelley
 
4.5
"What worked: This is a fascinating insight into the life of the author of Frankenstein. The beginning paragraph, when Mary..."
In Harm's Way: JFK, World War II, and the Heroic Rescue of PT 109
 
4.5
"While many young readers have heard of President John F. Kennedy, few know about anything other than his assassination. While..."
The Confidence Code for Girls
 
4.5
"The Confidence Code for Girls is an empowering read every girl should have in their arsenal. So many girls struggle..."
A Few Red Drops: The Chicago Race Riot of 1919
 
5.0
"Hartfield begins her in depth look at the history of the Chicago race riots recounting the events of a simple..."
1968: Today's Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, and Change
 
4.5
"In order for young people to make sense of the current sociopolitical landscape, it is not a bad idea for..."
Life Inside My Mind: 31 Authors Share Their Personal Struggles
 
5.0
"This is a raw, honest portrayal of YA authors struggles with mental health. Thirty-one authors share their stories which include..."
The Nazi Hunters: How a Team of Spies and Survivors Captured the World's Most Notorious Nazi
 
4.0
"Adolf Eichmann orchestrated the removal of thousands of Jews to concentration camps, where many met their deaths. He managed to..."
Boots on the Ground: America's War in Vietnam
 
5.0
"The conflict in Vietnam was horrible, contentious, and defined the 1960s in many ways. In order to give an all-inclusive..."
The Whydah: A Pirate Ship Feared, Wrecked, and Found
 
4.0
"Sandler brings history to life through the myths and legends of the Whydah, an 18th century pirate ship which sank..."
The Girl Guide: 50 Ways to Learn to Love Your Changing Body
 
5.0
"Where was this book when I was a girl? Ibrahim talks about every embarrassing subject tween girls face each..."
This is our Constitution: Discover America with a Gold Star Father
 
5.0
"This is our Constitution is an entertaining and educational text every student—and some adults—should read. The passion and profound respect..."
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
 
5.0
"THE KIDULT HANDBOOK is the perfect book to pull out on a boring day. It is packed with fun activities..."
Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries
 
4.0
"'Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries' by Ammi-Joan Paquette and Laurie Ann Thompson is a fun read, chock..."