Forward March

 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
201   0
Write Review
Forward March
Genre/Type
Age Group
13+
Published Date
October 30, 2018
ISBN Number
9781386744580
ASIN Number
      
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band locker room. That’s what the Dulaney High marching band has in store for Meghan Riggins. Like her Gram, who’s been her biggest fan since that first trombone lesson, Meghan’s always loved making music. So marching band should be easy, right? Wrong. It’s hard enough staying upright during the halftime show, avoiding the worst of the upperclassmen, or remembering the difference between a cummerbund and a dickie. But then she falls for Jonah, an adorkable fellow trombone nerd who just happens to be her best friend’s brother. Meghan may need to rethink everything she knows about herself, in and out of band, with and without her family and friends, and in and out of love. Both witty and poignant, Forward March will have you laughing, swooning, and cheering from the stands.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

Adorkable

In the interest of full disclosure, the only reason I picked up this book is because my father actually WAS the marching band director for Dulaney high school WAAAAAYYYY back in the day. That connection made me open the front cover, but the story kept me turning the pages.

The main character, Meghan is tremendously well-written, with an appealing, authentic voice that teens will love. The banter between her friends, the awkwardness of teenage love, and the combination of both fun and heartbreak made me swoon. What I enjoyed most about this book was that I didn't need to be a part of an actual marching band to appreciate (and root for!) all the characters in this book. Farrell does a wonderful job of constructing the plot with universal appeal.

Bravo and recommend for fans of Jenny Han and Stephanie Perkins.

Good Points
Great cast of characters and swoon-worthy romance makes this a must read.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Pretend She's Here
Mega-bestselling author Luanne Rice returns with a ripped-from-the-headlines story of...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
You Made Me a Dad
In this touching celebration of fatherhood, the close bond between...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cicada
Cicada tells the story of a hardworking little cicada who...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Captured: An American Prisoner of War in North Vietnam
Naval aviator Jeremiah Denton was shot down and captured in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Swap'd
After her Click'd catastrophe, Allie Navarro is determined to redeem...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Karen sprints into Stick Dog’s pipe and declares an...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tin
Tin
In an alternative England of the 1930s where the laws...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ruff vs. Fluff (Queenie & Arthur #1)
From the outside, Queenie the cat and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Yay for Vaycay! (Pug Pals #2)
The pugs are packing their bags! ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Braced
Rachel Brooks is excited for the new school year. She's...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Focused
Clea can't control her thoughts. She knows she has to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where the Heart Is
It’s the first day of summer and Rachel's thirteenth birthday....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Because of the Rabbit
On the last night of summer, Emma...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Secret Soldiers: How the U.S. Twenty-Third Special Troops Fooled the Nazis
In his third book about deception during war, Paul B....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Light Jar
Nate and his mother are running away. Fleeing from an...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Stars  (Kiranmala and the Kingdom Beyond #2)
When the Demon Queen shows up in her bedroom, smelling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Everlasting Rose (The Belles #2)
 
3.7
"In a world where beauty is a currency, the Belles are special, gifted with beauty and the power to bestow..."
Pretend She's Here
 
3.3
"Since they were little, Lizzie Porter and Emily Lonergan were inseparable and best friends. Now Emily is almost sixteen-years-old, and..."
Tell Me Everything
 
3.7
"TELL ME EVERYTHING follows Ivy, beginning the summer before her sophomore year. Ivy’s parents are ecologists, and her passion for..."
In the Neighborhood of True
 
4.3
"After her father's untimely death, Ruth Robb's mother uproots her and her little sister from New York City to Atlanta,..."
Emmie and the Tudor King
 
3.0
"What worked: Fast-paced time travel romp through Tudor England. In this case readers find out what would have happened if..."
The Girl The Sea Gave Back
 
5.0
"When Tova is saved by the Svell's Tala, Jorrund, she becomes their key to peek at the future. Tora is..."
Let Me Hear a Rhyme
 
4.7
"I'm not sure which the character I loved the most. It is one of those heartfelt stories about a group..."
The Kingdom of Copper
 
5.0
"I honestly didn't think anything could be better than book one The City of Brass but I was so so..."
The Cerulean
 
3.0
"So, I didn't even know this was a thing until everyone was dogging it on twitter. When I saw that..."
To All The Boys I've Loved Before
 
4.0
"This is one of the very few times I will ever say this but here we go.... I preferred the..."
Kiss Collector
 
4.7
"Finally! A freaking book that looks down on drugs. I was so nervous when right off the bat, we get..."
The Darkest Star
 
4.3
"Okay, let's be honest here. Let's just get everything out in the open, shall we? No one and I mean..."
Storm and Fury
 
5.0
"With Armentrout’s characteristic snark and swoony romance, STORM AND FURY will not disappoint fans who have been eagerly awaiting this..."
Kingsbane (Empirium, #2)
 
4.7
"This exciting and fast-paced sequel picks up right where the first book left off. For that reason, this book does..."
Furyborn (Empirium, #1)
 
4.7
"FURYBORN is a YA fantasy that does not disappoint! We begin by seeing the world through the eyes of a..."
The Vanishing Stair
 
4.7
"Feedback As soon as I finished the first book I was so eager to continue. I absolutely loved Truly..."
Truly Devious
 
5.0
"Feedback I absolutely loved this book. It was a buddy read for me and it sounded interesting so I..."
The Lovely and the Lost
 
5.0
"THE LOVELY AND THE LOST follows Kira, a girl who was once found by search and rescue (SAR) and who..."
Happy Messy Scary Love
 
3.3
"HAPPY MESSY SCARY LOVE follows Olivia aka Carrie from her Reddit username over the summer. Olivia is a horror movie..."
Storm and Fury
 
5.0
"Trinity has never been allowed to leave her home compound because of her secret. Here, she has friends, a protector,..."