The Weekend Bucket List

The Weekend Bucket List

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
227   0
Write Review
The Weekend Bucket List
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Duet Books
Age Group
12+
Published Date
April 19, 2018
ISBN Number
1945053585

High school seniors Cady LaBrie and Cooper Murphy have yet to set one toe out of line they've never stayed out all night or snuck into a movie, never gotten drunk or gone skinny-dipping. But they have each other, forty-eight hours before graduation, and a Weekend Bucket List. There's a lot riding on this one weekend, especially since Cady and Cooper have yet to admit, much less resolve, their confounding feelings for one another feelings that prove even more difficult to discern when genial high school dropout Eli Stanley joins their epic adventure. But as the trio ticks through their bucket list, the questions they face shift toward something new: Must friendship play second fiddle to romance? Or can it be the ultimate prize?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0

Friendship Over Romance

Although TWBL starts as a simple buddy adventure, it quickly morphs into a coming-of-age journey including budding sexuality and the fine line between friendship and romance. Cooper and Cady head off for a weekend of firsts and homeless Eli quickly joins the fold. As they continue crossing off the items on their bucket list, the developing relationships between the three characters really begin taking center stage. Cady was by far my least favorite character, with her mood swings and bossy attitude. I was pleased by the end, however, that her character arc showed growth. Cooper's understanding of his own sexuality was well-written, and I was genuinely invested in his well-being throughout the novel, wanting him to accept himself. Eli was by far my favorite character. His backstory was thoroughly fleshed out, and I felt so much compassion not only for his situation but for the empathy he showed his new friends.

In all, I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys YA contemporaries where friendship--not romance--drives the narrative.

Good Points
A romantic at heart, I went into this offering from Mia Kerick hoping for a HEA, and while I got one, it wasn't the one I expected. In my opinion, Eli stole the show, so to speak, and was the reason I kept turning page after page.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account

The Weekend Bucket List

Friendship is the new romance.
A blossoming friendship between unlikely people...

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ghoulia
Ghoulia lives in Crumbling Manor with her Auntie Departed and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
In the vein of Eloise, Olivia, and Fancy Nancy, Carmen...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, Life, and the List
Seventeen-year-old Abby Turner’s summer isn’t going the way she’d planned....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
Arkansas, 1984: The town of Griffin Flat is known for...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Absolutely Everything!: A History of Earth, Dinosaurs, Rulers, Robots and Other Things Too Numerous to Mention
Discover how science, nature and history connect in this fast-paced,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
When the speediest family in the world finds a sweet,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Little Golden Book About the Solar System
Little Golden Books introduces your young reader to the solar...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Enlightenment by Reno Ursal
When Dorothy Dizon meets the mysterious Adrian Rosario and his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
My name is Barry Allen. You probably know me as...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
When Lady Katherine's father is killed for being an illegally...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blood Spell
Blue de la Cour has her life planned: hide the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ogre Enchanted
In this prequel to Ella Enchanted, which can stand on...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Home and Away
Tasia Quirk is young, Black, and fabulous. She's a senior,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mirage
In a star system dominated by the brutal Vathek empire,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dactyl Hill Squad
It's 1863 and dinosaurs roam the streets of New York...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Namarielle (Chronicles of Lashai Book 1)
 
5.0
"The Namarielle is the perfect addition to any fantasy novel collection. The world is so well imagined in the little..."
 
5.0
"The Channeler is the first book in a new YA fantasy series written by William H. Kline IV. Tommy,..."
364 Days a Year
 
4.0
"The story: Effy Garcia commits suicide on her seventeenth birthday. Her body is then possessed by a wandering spirit..."
The Secret Lives of Princesses
 
4.0
"'The Secret Lives of Princesses' by Seven Steps is yet another enjoyable addition to the St. Mary's Academy series of..."
Underwater
 
5.0
"Bailey has recently lost her parents to a violent crime. She and her younger sister Tilly are desperately trying..."
On Delicate Wings
 
4.8
"‘On Delicate Wings’ is the story of Mia, who struggles with her reputation as a nerd at school. When beautiful..."
When Fall Breaks
 
3.8
"Kaitlyn is living the perfect country life with her family in Northern California. She is a great student, swimmer, and..."
Ray Vs the Meaning of Life
 
4.5
"Ray must figure out the meaning of life in order to be the beneficiary of his late grandmother’s will. At..."
 
5.0
"Crocotta’s Hackles by Katharine E. Wibell is the third installment of the sweeping epic fantasy series, The Incarn Saga, about..."
Nia & The Numbers Game
 
5.0
"What readers are saying: Nia & the Numbers Game should be added to the required reading list for..."
The Namarielle (Chronicles of Lashai Book 1)
 
5.0
"The story draws you in and keeps you right up to the end! I can’t wait for the next book...."
Tomorrow Always Lies
 
N/A
"The story: Teen spy team The Gems (Emma, Olivia, Nadia, and Miyuki) have gelled as a team and now..."
Through Fathoms Dark and Deep
 
5.0
"After being marooned on a deserted island with Leo and Sam, Grace knows they need to find a way to..."
Playing by Heart
 
4.0
"The Story: Emilia is a young woman in Milan who has become somewhat of a musical prodigy. She's a composer..."
Frozen Hearts
 
4.0
"I've never quite read a book like this before. The story: Iona was never meant to live a life..."
Just Friends
 
4.0
" The story: Mitch knows his life is on the verge of big changes. His sister is dating one of..."
Tomorrow Always Lies
 
N/A
"Review of the first book in the Gems series: "Reading Spies Like Me made me harken back to those days..."
Ten Silver Coins: The Battle for Acchora
 
5.0
"An important story about courage in the world. Filled with vivid imagery, the action-packed plot is populated with memorable..."
Ten Silver Coins: The Battle for Acchora
 
5.0
"An important story about courage in the face of danger that is funny, imaginative and filled with amazing and memorable..."