ALEX HUNT and the Chase for Rhapta

ALEX HUNT and the Chase for Rhapta

Featured
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
1141   0
Write Review
ALEX HUNT and the Chase for Rhapta
ALEX-HUNT-and-the-Chase-for-Rhapta-Generic.jpg

An action-packed Archaeological Adventure Mystery for Indiana Jones lovers! This is Relic Hunting at it’s best! Based on the true legend of the ancient Lost City of Rhapta which mysteriously disappeared near Mafia island off the coast of Africa. "I'm a big fan of Indiana Jones/archeology type books and this one didn't disappoint. Full of intrigue, mystery and action Urcelia Teixeira did an excellent job keeping my interest.” - Amazon reviewer "I thought I knew what to expect but I was way off!  Urcelia has proven her versatility as an author; that's for sure!  Think Tomb Raider meets Indiana Jones with a few added twists. I enjoyed the storyline, the adventure, the culture and the history.  I laughed, I cried, I cheered and feared! A 5-star read I'd recommend." - Amazon review I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt Team. Head Researcher and... Relic Chaser!When Alex Hunt's mother tragically dies during her lifelong quest to find Africa's ancient Lost City of Rhapta, Alex develops Agoraphobia (an unnatural fear of specific places and situations) and vows never to chase again.  So when her father, Professor Charles Hunt, Head of Archaeology at a prestigious British University mysteriously disappears several years later, it leaves her with no choice and forces her out of hiding to find him. With nothing to lose, battling her worse fears and with the mighty University behind her, she travels to Tanzania, Africa in search of her missing father. The chivalrous and charismatic Sam Quinn, the University's illusive top Archaeology student accompanies her, and she finds herself in unfamiliar territory with a man who manages to chip away her self-built walls. Her action-packed adventure through the treacherous African Jungle brings forth an abundance of danger, fear, and heartache as she rediscovers her love for life, science and ancient relics, beyond her cocooning existence and disease. Will she find her father and the Lost City of Rhapta or will she die under the curse and native-fearing Rhaptor-bird said to guard the vanished city?  This book is an epic tale of riddle solving relic hunting, courage and fantasy that follows in the tradition of KT Tomb and Mary Deal. It will without doubt delight lovers of Indiana Jones, Lara Croft, and the likes and suits Teen and Young Adult Historical Fantasy lovers. Buckle up treasure hunters. Africa waits for no one.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.5
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
3.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0

Mystery and Archeaology

When Alex's dad goes missing, she is the only one who can find him because she's also the only one who knows her mother's data. She lost her mother who was chasing the lost city of Rhapta, but Alex doesn't want to lose her father too. For that reason, she travels to Africa with Quinn-a student that a family friend recommends.

As the story progresses, it alternates POV between Alex, her mom, and her dad. We learn that her father has been captured early on, but Alex travels are not easy. In Africa, she's in a car accident and has a run in with vicious animals like lions, as if chasing down her father isn't hard enough.

This was a very easy, light, and entertaining read. I always like the idea of discovering new things. I wish that instead of the viewpoints of her parents, it would've been through Alex's eyes. Overall, it was a fast-paced story.


Final Verdict: I recommend this to fans of adventure and archaeology. It's also a good read to finish during a rainy day.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Dungeons & Dragons: Into the Jungle: An Endless Quest Book
Welcome to the Forgotten Realms Endless Quest books, where you...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Dungeons & Dragons: Big Trouble: An Endless Quest Book
Welcome to the Forgotten Realms Endless Quest books, where you...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Clink A Story of Cyberbullying
Click is the heroic story of a young girl who...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stay Sweet
Summer in Sand Lake isn’t complete without a trip to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
On Blood Road (A Vietnam War Novel)
The last place on earth Taylor Sorenson wants to be...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Courageous
Aiden is the son of a fisherman on the south...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Thousand Sisters: The Heroic Airwomen of the Soviet Union in World War II
In the early years of World War II, Josef Stalin...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Faithful Spy: Dietrich Bonhoeffer and the Plot to Kill Hitler
Adolf Hitler’s Nazi party is gaining strength and becoming more...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
New Kid
Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Watch Hollow
Deep within the enchanted woods in the town of Watch...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Giant Days
Based on the hit graphic-novel series from BOOM! Studios, the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Unteachables
The Unteachables are a notorious class of misfits, delinquents, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tales from the Inner City
Tales from the Inner City is a collection of incredibly...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gamer Army
After Rogan Webber levels up yet again on his favorite...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Eventown
The world tilted for Elodee this year, and now it’s...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Right as Rain
It’s been almost a year since Rain’s brother Guthrie died,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

La Petite Josette en Provence: Going to Les Baux-de-Provence (Voyage aux Baux-de-Provence)
 
4.2
"'La Petite Josette En Provence' by Ashley Davidson-Fisher, illustrated by Martinique Louise Fisher, who so happens to be the author's..."
 
4.4
"The Lifters Dave Eggers, Alfred A. Knopf, 2018 Is magic enough to fix the morass of Middle America? Are..."
Ranch Hero
 
4.8
"This story deals with loss, which is usually a very sensitive and difficult subject, in an uplifting and entertaining way..."
The Black and White Ball
 
5.0
"This is a delightful story about a very vain peacock who sets about ensuring he is the most beautiful creature..."
 
5.0
"Good book for middle school kids- a true snapshot of the struggle to fit in the middle school social scene..."
The Crystal of Rea Silvia. Aki and the Spheres of Time #4
 
5.0
"The book was just simply great! Surprises, twists and stuffs! Well I just loved Aki and his amazing adventures!..."
The Crystal of Rea Silvia. Aki and the Spheres of Time #4
 
5.0
"This exciting fourth adventure begins with Aki learning about a startling family secret and having to choose between telling the..."
Alicia and the Light Bulb People in Star Factory 13
 
4.5
"'Alicia and the Light Bulb People in Star Factory 13' by Barbara Roman, illustrated by Vladimir Cebu, is a sweet..."
Sal the Seagull Stole My Lunch
 
4.2
"This one is a lot of fun. Joe and Mary are getting ready to have a picnic at..."
 
4.8
"As a mother and tutor for young children, I highly recommend this novel to add to your children's book shelves...."
The Year Santa Stubbed His Toe
 
4.0
"Santa has always been there to deliver gifts to the good boys and girls around the world, but this year,..."
Alicia and the Light Bulb People in Star Factory 13
 
N/A
"Have you ever noticed how people are like light bulbs? They come in many sizes and shapes, varying in their..."
Felipe Femur
 
5.0
"While this book in occupied by a cast of monsters, it is far from scary. It is also not solely..."
The Crystal Of Atum. Aki and the Spheres of Time #3
 
5.0
"I am so pleased by The Crystal of Atum. I love Aki and the Spheres of Time series. This book..."
The Crystal Of Atum. Aki and the Spheres of Time #3
 
4.8
"This is Aki’s third trip with the Sphere of Time. As usual, he ends up nowhere near the spot where..."
City of Grit and Gold
 
4.3
"'City of Grit and Gold' by Maud Macrory Powell offers a glimpse into the lives of those who came from..."
Good Boy, Achilles!
 
5.0
"Very nice book."
The Pathway to Dragons: The Portal to Pyranis
 
3.5
"'The Pathway to Dragons: The Portal to Pyranis' by Hannah Hoffman is more than your run-of-the-mill fantasy story. When Billy..."
Keys To The Sun
 
3.8
"‘Keys to the Sun’ tells the adventures of two brothers, Lucas and Parker Chase. They are in New Orléans to..."
Death, Diamonds, And Dirty Socks Series:  Cheating Death:  Book 3
 
3.5
"Jarod's tenure as Lord Greenwood gets even more complicated when he and Tommy figure out that each object has information..."