Emerge: The Judgment (Book 2)

Emerge: The Judgment (Book 2)

Featured
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
927   0
Write Review
Emerge: The Judgment (Book 2)
Publisher Name
Midnight Hour Studio
Age Group
14+
Published Date
December 15, 2016
ISBN Number
978-0990981961
ASIN Number
      

"You can bend or you can break, but something tells me you're too strong and too smart to break. I know I am." –– Alexis Carmichael The Prophecy's about you, Red... Allie Carmichael has so many secrets, she doesn't know which way is up anymore. After dropping a huge bombshell and then leaving her in limbo all summer, Greggory McBrien still hasn't answered the questions that have haunted her for months. The knowledge that her life was built on a foundation of lies and deception has left Allie an angry, twisted mess of emotions. She still feels overwhelmed with guilt for her mistakes that left her scarred for life and Quinn, one of her closest friends, a captive of the Coalition. When she returns to school and her normal routine, Allie finds herself constantly dancing on the edge of losing control of her power, too afraid and too angry to confide in anyone––even her handsome and broody best friend, Aidan. A chance encounter at the Immortal club, Amrita, gives Allie and her friends the opportunity to aid in the search for Quinn. If they have any hope of ever bringing him home safely, they'll have to act quickly. As Allie continues to struggle with the nightmares that only Aidan can keep at bay, she vows to face them on her own. But she doesn't understand what her clairvoyant gift is trying to tell her. Just when she begins to put the pieces together, she fears it might be too late––and this time the price for her mistakes will be much too high. Last time she was afraid. This time she is angry. Fans of The Mortal Instruments will enjoy Emerge: The Judgment, Book 2 of the Urban Paranormal Fantasy, Emerge Series. –– "An unhurried but engrossing start for a potentially riveting paranormal series." -Kirkus Reviews –– "This series is one to keep your eye on!" -YA Books Central –– "An absolute must read for fans of Jennifer Armentrout, Lauren Kate, Josephine Angelini and Brigid Kremerer." -Netgalley Reviewer Suggested reading order for the series Emerge: The Awakening (Book 1) Emerge: The Edge (Book 1.5) Emerge: The Scholar (an illustrated character journal) Emerge: The Judgment (Book 2) Emerge: The ... (anouncing the new title soon!) Emerge Awards: Winner 2016 RONE Awards, Best Cover 2015 Dante Rossetti YA Awards Finalist 2015 USA Best Book Awards Finalist 2015 International Book Awards Finalist Top 50 Indie Books of 2015

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0

Emerge: The Judgement Review

Feedback

Emerge: The Judgement was a great second entry to this series. I had some issues with the first book due to the pacing, but that was resolved in this novel. The book starts off with everyone trying to recover from the events that happened at the dance and Quinn’s capture. Allie is struggling on keeping her relationship with Vince after feeling responsible over him almost dying and unintentionally using her powers on him. Naeemah is being overprotective by infiltrating their school with other immortals as teachers and students. The biggest struggle, however, is Allie knowing the procephy is about her and who her true parents really are. As the kids are trying their best to figure out how to save Quinn, we are able to see more of their abilities. I really enjoyed diving into their abilities a little more. Since it has been a year since Allie’s awakening, she is coming into her powers more as well. As a reader, we are learning about Allie’s powers as she is developing into them. This creates a connection to the story that this first one did not really provide. We are seeing how everyone is really tied together and how their actions affect certain ties. Emerge: The Judgement really gives us more of the plot and what the immortals truly have to fear since a lot of their past was explained in the first book. Craven had a lot more freedom to really concentrate on the main story creating a great sequel.

The characters development from the first book truly was enjoyable. Even though it has only been a year, I felt like their maturity had greatly increased. This allowed more flexibility with the characters. They were now more involved in the immortal world which created more interest in the outcome of their plans. It was intriguing to see them create a plan to get information about Quinn and then execute it. The relationship between the characters also grew, creating a more family dynamic. Since the creation of certain relationships was explained a lot in the first book, it was easier to enjoy their connections. I was happy to see Allie and Aiden grow closer together. The new links between certain characters will be intriguing to see in the next book. Plus, I can’t wait to see what will happen with Allie’s new amazing ability. Her character was the most grown seeing her attitude change throughout the book and then finally understanding why.


Final Thoughts

Overall, Emerge: The Judgement was a very satisfying read. This was a great second entry into the series. I really enjoyed the development of the story and the pacing was a lot better. It was great to see the characters really come together and watch them grow. Their development with their powers and relationship were really focused in this story. The change in focus was very rewarding to read. I cannot wait to continue Allie’s story and the rest of the people. With her new abilities and new connections, book three should definitely be entertaining!

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Werewolf Queen
I always wished I had supernatural powers. Now I wish...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Unicorns Are Real! (Mythical Creatures Are Real!)
Stardust and glitter and rainbows, oh my! Did you know...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Not a Love Scene
Lights, camera―all Maeve needs is action. But at eighteen, a...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Voices: The Final Hours of Joan of Arc
Bestselling author David Elliott explores how Joan of Arc...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dragons Are Real! (Mythical Creatures Are Real!)
Moonlight and courage and sparks, oh my! That's what dragons...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Voyage of Poe Blythe
Who do you become when you have nothing left...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Leaving Jackson Wolf
Passing through the transition hallway at South Park High...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Once & Future (Once & Future, #1)
King Arthur as you've never imagined! This bold, sizzling...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Tuned Into You
A summer party is the last place Lydia Flowers...
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
Beware the Night (Beware the Night, #1)
When her world divides, pitting light against dark, Veda...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
controlfreak_wordart (wecompress.com).png
He actually gets the girl in this story. His perfect...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Soul of Power (The Waking Land, #3)
One young woman learns the true nature of power—both her...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Oath Taker
Light magic is forbidden. Dark magic spells death....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twisted Saga Collection 1
Save almost 40% off the price of the single books...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Sin Soldiers Cover
Red compound makes them angry. Yellow exhausts them. Blue drives...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hunter's Truce
The Big Bad Wolf never killed for fun—he was on...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Unicorns Are Real! (Mythical Creatures Are Real!)
 
4.0
"UNICORNS ARE REAL! is a bright, colorful, and cute book about unicorns. The images really leap off the page with..."
Dragons Are Real! (Mythical Creatures Are Real!)
 
5.0
"This adorable board book brings dragons to life in a very fun way with bright and vivid images and cute..."
Dragonfell
 
4.0
"DRAGONFELL is a fun middle grade that addresses being different and not fitting in easily in the context of a..."
Hurricane Season
 
5.0
"HURRICANE SEASON is a powerful middle grade novel that deals with some really important issues. Finola (nicknamed Fig) is in..."
So Many Sounds
 
5.0
"So Many Sounds is a fun bedtime story that will surly engage the child who doesn’t want to sleep, and..."
Gittel's Journey: An Ellis Island Story
 
5.0
"Gittel’s Journey tells the story of a brave young Jewish girl immigrating to the United States from Easter Europe, all..."
The Flight of Mr. Finch
 
5.0
"The Flight of Mr. Finch is a sweet story about the power of friendship and the importance of self-sacrifice. Lovely..."
Dragons in a Bag (Dragons in a  Bag, # 1)
 
4.0
"Dragons in a Bag is a whimsical, moving, and magical tale. Perfectly tailored to it’s intended audience, Dragons In a..."
The Chronicles of Narnia: The Silver Chair
 
4.0
"Set somewhere around a year after the events of The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, Eustace Scrubb remains much better..."
Are You Ready to Hatch An Unusual Chicken? (Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer #2)
 
5.0
"Are You Ready To Hatch An Unusual Chicken? is a delightful follow-up to Kelly Jones's Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional..."
Frankfurt
 
3.0
"What I Loved: -The adorable Frankfurt- What this picture book does best is offer a truly adorable and humorous dog..."
Clifford the Big Red Dog
 
5.0
"CLIFFORD THE BIG RED DOG is a classic for a reason- the images are full of fun and the text..."
Autumn Babies (Babies in the Park)
 
4.0
"This cute board book features children playing in the park during the fall. With vivid autumn colors and two word..."
Stick Cat: Two Cats and a Baby (#4)
 
5.0
"Life is good for Stick Cat and Edith now that their owners Goose and Tiffany have married. Stick Cat enjoys..."
Bird and Squirrel All Tangled Up
 
4.5
" Red, Squirrel, and Birdie are a happy family, but Squirrel is very anxious about letting Birdie do anything at..."
8 Notes to a Nobody (Bird Face book one)
 
5.0
"This is the first book in Cynthia T. Toney’s Birdface series which follows Wendy, a young Louisiana teen, through her..."
The Other Side of Freedom
 
5.0
"I knew of Toney’s flawless ability to write from a modern teenage girl’s perspective, so was curious when I heard..."
Winter Babies (Babies in the Park)
 
4.0
"This board book features lovely photos alongside short phrases that describe winter in the park. While very brief and with..."
8 Notes to a Nobody (Bird Face book one)
 
5.0
"The main character, Wendy, is realistic and sympathetically portrayed, so much so that the book drew me in and transported..."
The Other Side of Freedom
 
5.0
"This stellar novel spotlights the trials of Italian immigrants during the era of Prohibition. I'd heard of Al Capone and..."