Emerge: The Judgment (Book 2)

Emerge: The Judgment (Book 2)

Featured
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
987   0
Write Review
Emerge: The Judgment (Book 2)
Publisher Name
Midnight Hour Studio
Age Group
14+
Published Date
December 15, 2016
ISBN Number
978-0990981961
ASIN Number
      

"You can bend or you can break, but something tells me you're too strong and too smart to break. I know I am." –– Alexis Carmichael The Prophecy's about you, Red... Allie Carmichael has so many secrets, she doesn't know which way is up anymore. After dropping a huge bombshell and then leaving her in limbo all summer, Greggory McBrien still hasn't answered the questions that have haunted her for months. The knowledge that her life was built on a foundation of lies and deception has left Allie an angry, twisted mess of emotions. She still feels overwhelmed with guilt for her mistakes that left her scarred for life and Quinn, one of her closest friends, a captive of the Coalition. When she returns to school and her normal routine, Allie finds herself constantly dancing on the edge of losing control of her power, too afraid and too angry to confide in anyone––even her handsome and broody best friend, Aidan. A chance encounter at the Immortal club, Amrita, gives Allie and her friends the opportunity to aid in the search for Quinn. If they have any hope of ever bringing him home safely, they'll have to act quickly. As Allie continues to struggle with the nightmares that only Aidan can keep at bay, she vows to face them on her own. But she doesn't understand what her clairvoyant gift is trying to tell her. Just when she begins to put the pieces together, she fears it might be too late––and this time the price for her mistakes will be much too high. Last time she was afraid. This time she is angry. Fans of The Mortal Instruments will enjoy Emerge: The Judgment, Book 2 of the Urban Paranormal Fantasy, Emerge Series. –– "An unhurried but engrossing start for a potentially riveting paranormal series." -Kirkus Reviews –– "This series is one to keep your eye on!" -YA Books Central –– "An absolute must read for fans of Jennifer Armentrout, Lauren Kate, Josephine Angelini and Brigid Kremerer." -Netgalley Reviewer Suggested reading order for the series Emerge: The Awakening (Book 1) Emerge: The Edge (Book 1.5) Emerge: The Scholar (an illustrated character journal) Emerge: The Judgment (Book 2) Emerge: The ... (anouncing the new title soon!) Emerge Awards: Winner 2016 RONE Awards, Best Cover 2015 Dante Rossetti YA Awards Finalist 2015 USA Best Book Awards Finalist 2015 International Book Awards Finalist Top 50 Indie Books of 2015

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0

Emerge: The Judgement Review

Feedback

Emerge: The Judgement was a great second entry to this series. I had some issues with the first book due to the pacing, but that was resolved in this novel. The book starts off with everyone trying to recover from the events that happened at the dance and Quinn’s capture. Allie is struggling on keeping her relationship with Vince after feeling responsible over him almost dying and unintentionally using her powers on him. Naeemah is being overprotective by infiltrating their school with other immortals as teachers and students. The biggest struggle, however, is Allie knowing the procephy is about her and who her true parents really are. As the kids are trying their best to figure out how to save Quinn, we are able to see more of their abilities. I really enjoyed diving into their abilities a little more. Since it has been a year since Allie’s awakening, she is coming into her powers more as well. As a reader, we are learning about Allie’s powers as she is developing into them. This creates a connection to the story that this first one did not really provide. We are seeing how everyone is really tied together and how their actions affect certain ties. Emerge: The Judgement really gives us more of the plot and what the immortals truly have to fear since a lot of their past was explained in the first book. Craven had a lot more freedom to really concentrate on the main story creating a great sequel.

The characters development from the first book truly was enjoyable. Even though it has only been a year, I felt like their maturity had greatly increased. This allowed more flexibility with the characters. They were now more involved in the immortal world which created more interest in the outcome of their plans. It was intriguing to see them create a plan to get information about Quinn and then execute it. The relationship between the characters also grew, creating a more family dynamic. Since the creation of certain relationships was explained a lot in the first book, it was easier to enjoy their connections. I was happy to see Allie and Aiden grow closer together. The new links between certain characters will be intriguing to see in the next book. Plus, I can’t wait to see what will happen with Allie’s new amazing ability. Her character was the most grown seeing her attitude change throughout the book and then finally understanding why.


Final Thoughts

Overall, Emerge: The Judgement was a very satisfying read. This was a great second entry into the series. I really enjoyed the development of the story and the pacing was a lot better. It was great to see the characters really come together and watch them grow. Their development with their powers and relationship were really focused in this story. The change in focus was very rewarding to read. I cannot wait to continue Allie’s story and the rest of the people. With her new abilities and new connections, book three should definitely be entertaining!

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peppa in Space (Peppa Pig)
Get ready for a Peppa Pig story that's out of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Stars We Steal
Engagement season is in the air. Eighteen-year-old Princess Leonie “Leo”...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Pete the Cat and the Itsy Bitsy Spirder
Pete the Cat’s cool adaptation of the classic children’s song...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Superlative Birds
Explore the fascinating world of superlative birds―from the bee hummingbird,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In Another Life
Chloe was three years old when she became Chloe Holden,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Even Monsters Go To School
What’s a school day like for you? ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can Cat and Bird Be Friends
In a sweet and clever picture book from debut author-illustrator...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Origami Bible Stories For Kids
Perfect for Sunday school lessons and youth group activities--paper figures...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pig the Stinker
In this hilarious adventure, Pig the Pug STINKS! Pig likes...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Little Rabbit Lost
It is Little Rabbit’s birthday and his family surprises him...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Cece Loves Science and Adventure
Cece loves science and adventure! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hannah Sparkles: Hooray For the First Day of School
Cheer along with Hannah Sparkles on her first day of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Turtle and Tortoise Are Not Friends
This is Turtle. This is...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Trace
In a debut novel that's perfect for fans of Jason...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Summer Ends
Three months Two changed fates One...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mystery Club (Mr. Wolf's Class #2)
Mr. Wolf's students are settling into their new classroom, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Stars We Steal
 
4.7
"Eighteen-year-old Princess Leonie "Leo" Kolburg has a title, but not much else. She's heir to an older European spaceship.When the..."
In Another Life
 
4.0
"I really loved this storyline. The Story: Chloe is going through a tough time with her family. After her..."
When Summer Ends
 
5.0
"This book is everything. The Story: Olivia and Aiden have good lives. Olivia has a boyfriend she loves..."
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
"VOW OF THIEVES is a thrilling end to a wonderful spin-off YA fantasy. Although a spin-off series from the Remnant..."
The Beautiful Lost
 
3.3
"A first-person past-tense telling exclusively from the perspective of Maia, a depressed high school sophomore with some ambitious—if half-formed—plans for..."
Dance of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #1)
 
5.0
"Absolutely fantastic! "Dance of Thieves" is a really wonderful YA fantasy that takes place in the world of 'The Remnant..."
10 Blind Dates
 
4.7
"10 BLIND DATES is the must-read romantic comedy of the fall! Sophie is staying with her grandparents and her very..."
Maybe This Time
 
4.7
"Sophie is bound and determined to make it out of her small Alabama town and attend design school in New..."
Brawler
 
4.7
"Eddie McGuire is a talented high school wrestler with a horribly short fuse. This is no doubt a result of..."
Skyjacked!
 
3.3
"Six students from an elite private school are returning home after a camping trip on the private plane belonging to..."
Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
 
4.0
"WICKED FOX is a unique urban fantasy that uses Korean mythology to bring a mythological creature to life. Miyoung is..."
Wilder Girls
 
4.7
"Beware. Wilder Girls will draw you in, softy whispering tendrils creeping through your mind and thorny vines entangling your heart..."
Aurora Rising
 
5.0
"Now I am huge huge fan of both Jay and Amie as individuals and as co-authors. Their Illuminae series completely..."
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
"CROWN OF CORAL AND PEARL Is a story of sisters, adventure, and change. Nor and Zadie, whose names mean coral..."
The Grace Year
 
5.0
"THE HANDMAID'S TALE meets LORD OF THE FLIES in this dark, atmospheric, and sweeping YA dystopian. Tierney James is 16-years-old,..."
The Last True Poets of the Sea
 
5.0
"THE LAST TRUE POETS OF THE SEA is a beautiful coming-of-age story. After her brother attempts suicide, he is sent..."
No Place Like Here
 
4.7
"When Ashlyn’s father goes to prison and her mother goes to rehab for depression, her world falls apart. Ashlyn’s father..."
Trash
 
4.0
"The plot of the story for most of the book is great but towards the end of the book, it..."
Hatchet (Brian's Saga #1)
 
3.0
"this is a good book, but it doesn't have a good ending to it. it sounds a bit rushed, but..."
Not if I Save You First
 
4.3
"this book is amazing!!! I am still reading it but I am up to a good part. don't wanna spoil..."