Teeth of the Gods

Featured
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
737   0
Write Review
Teeth of the Gods
Publisher Name
Sarah K. L. Wilson
Genre/Type
Age Group
16+
Published Date
January 12, 2017
ISBN Number
1541033779
ASIN Number
      

Chained to an enemy general. Determined to be free. After years in seclusion and training, eighteen-year-old Tylira Nyota is summoned by the High Tazmin to be chained to a fallen enemy general. She is a terrible choice to receive this honor – her magic is useless and she finds it impossible to fit in the world she was born to. Determined to keep her freedom, Tylira instead joins the legendary race for the fabled Teeth of the Gods. With an angry step-mother chasing her and the handsome general chained to her wrist, Tylira must learn to control her magic - which is turning out to be deadly – before it destroys everything she’s fought to gain. TEETH OF THE GODS is Wheel of Time meets Sarah J. Maas in a mind-bending epic fantasy adventure of freedom, magic, love and a princess’s quest to live life on her own terms.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A

A Wild Mixture of Genres

Teeth of the Gods is a wild mixture of genres for those who are looking for something unique.
Tylira has lived in isolation for 18 years and she’s tired of it. She’s a spoiled, sheltered princess who is done with being pampered. She wants freedom from the rules and what her society expects from a princess. She is impulsive and selfish as a princess is likely to be, so this reader appreciated that she felt like a real character.

Defying everyone, Tylira volunteers to find the Teeth of the Gods, an artifact that will win the favor of the ruler which send her on a perilous adventure across the land. The protagonist’s circumstances are familiar, but there are several twists which take place in a distinctive setting. The story moves at a fast pace that is quite engaging and keeps you turning the page. The Arab/Hindu setting is a nice addition to the story, and it was done extremely well. The author delivered its rich details without overwhelming the reader.

The biggest twist comes at the end, so be prepared to be truly surprised. The change in pace could possibly be jarring to some readers, but I enjoyed the unique take and the author’s imagination. Anyone who enjoys wild turns that don’t necessarily adhere to genre expectations should give Wilson’s book a try. They won’t be disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon: The True Story of Alan Bean
 
5.0
"THE ASTRONAUT WHO PAINTED THE MOON is the true story of Alan Bean, the fourth man to walk on the..."
A Place for Turtles
 
5.0
"Books like this need to be written and read. Turtles are beautiful animals, but they have a hard time..."
Superlative Birds
 
4.7
"SUPERLATIVE BIRDS is an interesting read. Each spread features an illustrated bird with a superlative, such as “smelliest” or “longest..."
Origami Bible Stories For Kids
 
5.0
"They really thought of everything. This origami kit is more than just folding paper, every part of it..."
Baby Astronaut (Baby Scientist)
 
5.0
"In a cute board book, older infants and toddlers are introduced to outer space and space exploration. BABY ASTRONAUT teaches..."
Lost in Outer Space: The Incredible Journey of Apollo 13 (Lost #2)
 
5.0
"Thrilling and epic, LOST IN OUTER SPACE tells the harrowing story of the Apollo 13 mission as they learn that..."
Lost in the Pacific, 1942 (Lost #1)
 
4.3
"LOST IN THE PACIFIC, 1942 is a true story of survival. During World War II, a plane is on a..."
Lost in the Amazon (Lost #3): A Battle for Survival in the Heart of the Rainforest
 
5.0
"LOST IN THE AMAZON is the incredible true story of a plane crash survivor who survived in the Amazon rainforest..."
Pre-K Extra Big Skills Workbook: Ready for Reading (Scholastic Early Learners)
 
5.0
"READY FOR READING is a great way to introduce reading to your preschooler. The tasks start off simple like finding..."
Rocket Man: The Mercury Adventure of John Glenn
 
4.3
"Not only was John Glenn the first person to orbit the Earth, a military veteran, and politician, but he was..."
Dream Big
 
5.0
"DREAM BIG is a celebration of life and achievement. Featuring simple language and bright, colorful illustrations of famous women, this..."
Baby Oceanographer (Baby Scientist)
 
5.0
"This adorable board book uses simple language to explain ocean-related concepts to older infants and toddlers. From the animals that..."
20 Recipes Kids Should Know
 
5.0
"20 RECIPES KIDS SHOULD KNOW is written by children, so it's appealing for children. The recipes include ones that any..."
Games of Deception: The True Story of the First U.S. Olympic Basketball Team at the 1936 Olympics in Hitler's Germany
 
4.7
" The Summer Olympics will take place again in July 2020, and all eyes will turn to Tokyo, Japan as..."
I Wish I Was a Polar Bear
 
4.3
"Did you know that polar bear adults live alone? Or that the only enemies polar bears have are other polar..."
I Wish I Was a Wolf
 
4.3
"In this beginning leveled reader, we are introduced to how wolves live. From packs to dens, short, easy sentences describe..."
Share Your Smile: Raina's Guide to Telling Your Own Story
 
4.3
"In this how-to book, complete with pages for readers to take notes and doodle, Telgemeier gives practical hints on the..."
Hello, World! Moon Landing
 
5.0
"This charming and informative book introduces the details of the first trip to the moon in 1969. HELLO, WORLD! MOON..."
Kindergarten Skills Workbook: Counting to 100
 
5.0
"'Counting to 100,' a Scholastic workbook meant for kindergarten preparation, does a fine job of engaging young children and making..."
Lost in the Antarctic: The Doomed Voyage of the Endurance
 
5.0
"LOST IN THE ANTARCTIC takes you on the doomed, yet brave journey of the ship called the Endurance and its..."