Undiscovered Country

Undiscovered Country

Featured
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
501   0
Write Review
Undiscovered Country
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Second Story Press
Genre/Type
Age Group
12+
Published Date
April 04, 2017
ISBN Number
1772600318
ASIN Number
      

In the aftermath of her mother's death, Cat recklessly defers her admission to Stanford and joins Students Without Boundaries. She is sent to the South American city of Calante, torn apart by a recent civil war. There she meets Margo, a sophisticated urbanite out to pad her resume for medical school, and Taylor, heir to a hotel fortune and hoping to redeem himself after a failed freshman year at college. She also meets Rafael, a local boy battling his own grief and demons, desperate to be the savior he thinks his country needs. As her relationship with Rafael deepens, Cat is no longer sure what she wants or what is right and wrong.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
3.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
3.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0

Interesting Premise

When I picked up Undiscovered Country I was hoping for the same sort of introspective journey as Wild or Eat, Pray, Love, fictionalized, of course. As the premise is similar, a woman suffers loss and leaves home hoping to find herself in a foreign land, I expected a similar experience.

This book is told through alternating chapters - before Cat's mother's death and after. I really enjoyed the chapters before her mother died, learning about their relationship and why it was so difficult for Cat to simply move on after her death. The chapters after, when Cat moves to a fictionalized war-torn, third world country in South America were more difficult for me. Cat meets a cast of "characters" there, and I say "characters" because that's what they felt like to me instead of real people. It was almost as if the author was simply checking boxes - white Christian, overachieving Asian, rich gay guy... you get the idea. Of course, each of them has signed on to the Students Without Borders program for their own reasons, my problem was none of them seemed like they really wanted to be there. And none of them for the right reason, which was to actually HELP the country's residents.

And then, of course, there's Cat's love interest Rafael. My issue with their relationship is that neither learns anything from the other. Cat blindly goes along with his militant agenda instead of growing as a person. Their relationship felt authentic but didn't actually move Cat's story arc along.

In all, this book was enjoyable, I just wish the author had done MORE with each of the characters (and especially Cat) to have them learn something valuable by the end.

Good Points
In all, this book was enjoyable, I just wish the author had done MORE with each of the characters (and especially Cat) to have them learn something valuable by the end.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Ordinary, Extraordinary Jane Austen
 
5.0
"ORDINARY, EXTRAORDINARY JANE AUSTEN takes you into the life of Jane Austen who was an ordinary girl that did an..."
Love, Santa
 
5.0
"LOVE, SANTA was so beautifully written and is the perfect way to tell your little one the truth about Santa...."
A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars
 
4.7
"Honestly, I loved everything about this book. It’s filled to the brim with facts and numbers about the universe we..."
Code It! Create It!: Ideas & Inspiration for Coding (Girls Who Code)
 
5.0
"Interested in coding but not sure what products or activities you could do with it? Look no further than this..."
Let's Investigate with Nate #2: The Solar System
 
5.0
"Felix, Rosa, Braden, and Wendy are investigating with Nate again and this time it's all about the solar system. They're..."
Busy on the Farm
 
5.0
"BUSY ON THE FARM teaches about the different tasks to maintain a farm. The first thing is how to make..."
The Ultimate Guide to Gardening (Craft It Yourself)
 
5.0
"Don’t let the name intimidate you—this guide is as extensive as it is accessible. The book features 111 pleasingly..."
Ranger Rick: I Wish I Was a Lion
 
4.5
"Ranger Rick: I Wish I Was A Lion was a fun, educational, and an interactive book that is perfect for..."
Ultimate Explorer Guide: Explore, Discover, and Create Your Own Adventures with Real National Geographic Explorers as Your Guides!
 
5.0
"I’ve said it many times now, but I absolutely love National Geographic’s books for children. Each one is very different..."
I Am a Secret Service Agent: My Life Spent Protecting the President
 
4.0
" Emmett was a young, impressionable boy growing up in the South when President Kennedy was assassinated. The event made..."
Let's Investigate with Nate #1: The Water Cycle
 
5.0
"In LET'S INVESTIGATE WITH NATE, the doors of the Science Museum become a portal to another world, but only an..."
42 Is Not Just a Number: The Odyssey of Jackie Robinson, American Hero
 
3.5
"Jackie Robinson was an exceptional man, and in 42 Is Not Just a Number, Doreen Rappaport shows readers why he..."
Gobi: A Little Dog with a Big Heart
 
2.7
"I don’t think I’ve ever read a dog story without either crying or grinning through it. GOBI: A LITTLE DOG..."
100 Things to Be When You Grow Up
 
5.0
"This is one of the many “100 things” books I’ve read by National Geographic, and like with all the rest,..."
Laugh-Out-Loud Awesome Jokes for Kids (Laugh-Out-Loud Jokes for Kids) Paperback
 
3.7
"This book includes a number of Knock Knock jokes as well as a large number of one liners such as..."
KLUTZ Circuit Clay Science Kit
 
5.0
"Hours of step-by-step projects--endless sculpting and light-up possibilities. This electrical sculpture kit contains four colors of conducting clay (purple,..."
My Clay Critters
 
5.0
"More fun than barrel of sea-monkeys! With six air-dry colors, a carving tool, 49 insert pieces, and an Idea..."
The Klutz Book of Knots
 
4.0
"This fun guidebook comes with everything you need to practice knot tying. The easy to follow illustrations will have young..."
Make your Own Soap
 
4.7
"Of all the Klutz activity kits, of which there are many, this one is probably one of the more active—and..."
A Kid's Guide To America's First Ladies
 
4.3
"How does a First Lady train for a job that has no job description—or even a salary? A job that..."