We Thought We Were Invincible

We Thought We Were Invincible

Featured
 
5.0 (2)
 
5.0 (1)
785   0
Write Review
We Thought We Were Invincible
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Creativia
Genre/Type
Age Group
12+
Published Date
February 08, 2017
ISBN Number
B06X3R7T7R
ASIN Number
      

California “Callie” McCoy feels most alive when her feet are planted firmly on her surfboard on a big swell. And one day, she dreams of riding that wave out of her small town. Away from everyone. Her plan is simple: graduate high school. With Callie's best friend gone away to college, she plans on spending her senior year skating by. She isn’t looking for friends, and especially not for love - all she needs are her waves and her twin brother. Even if he comes with an annoying best friend, Jamie Daniels, who she can’t stand. Jamie is a care-free, easy-going surfer who has everything. On the surface, his life appears perfect, but reality is far from it. He has his share of secrets, including one that burns deeper than any other. It’s a good thing Callie hates him because if she didn’t, Jamie knows there’s no way he’d be able to stay away. And then, one night, everything changes. And nothing will ever be the same.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (2)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (2)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (2)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

We ALL Though We Were Invincible, Didn't We?

I thoroughly enjoyed this contemporary offering from Lynn, as it is my favorite genre to read. In many ways, I could relate to the main character Callie's "lostness" throughout the book. In less capable hands, Callie might have come across as boring or self-centered, but instead, as the plot unfolds, Lynn shares with the reader how Callie's indecisive nature is merely a product of her circumstances and the fullness of Callie's character is realized. We learn through both her inner dialogue and her relationships with others how her behavior is simply a manifestation of being true to herself. Her story arc, therefore, is less about growth than it is about self-actualization, something many young people struggle to achieve.

Lynn tackles a lot of big topics in this book: death, loss, love, bullying, and abuse. Each affects the characters in different ways and because the book is told in rotating chapters between Callie and Jamie, we get a broader view of these effects as the plot twists and turns.

The setting of this book was surprisingly refreshing and for me was another well-developed character added to the mix. The sleepy gulf coast beach town was the perfect backdrop for the storyline and I love how Lynn incorporated so much of beach life into Callie's life.

In all, We Thought We Were Invincible was a terrific read, and I am anxiously looking forward to book two in the series. Highly recommend to fans of YA contemporary.

Good Points
Amazing setting.
Well-developed characters.
Twisting plot.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

Vivid characters, vivid setting, and vivid emotions.

I’ve read most books by Michelle Lynn, and enjoyed them, but she has really blown my expectations out of the window with this story. The subplots are what really turns this into a five-star read for me—the way they twisted into the novel’s climax. It had heartbreak, love, and exhilarating action scenes. And as always with this author’s writing, there are beautiful, soul-felt themes dotted throughout.

Final Verdict:
Professionally edited. Suitable for 14+. Vivid characters, vivid setting, and vivid emotions.

Favorite Quote:
“Death teaches us more about life than living ever does.”

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

Raw Contemporary Romance

As a fan of Michelle Lynn's riveting previous works, this one was quickly added to my TBR pile and I was not disappointed.

Callie is trying to find who she is and the ocean is the only thing that speaks volumes to her. Jamie has liked Callie for a while, but she's blind to it. I loved watching Callie and Jamie grow from your average teens into something more. Feelings blossom and raw, realistic emotions I could relate to are exposed.

Until something happens that changes everything. When life throws them a curveball, it was interesting to see everyone react to it in different ways and realize they aren't as invincible as they think.

Michelle Lynn's writing pulls you in from page one and keeps you turning. My favorite quote: "Chaos took no time at all to develop. It just happened. We didn't get a warning."

Final verdict: Another winner from Michelle Lynn and I can't wait for the second! Fans of contemporary romance will enjoy this riveting read that pulls you into the raw emotions and lives of Jamie and Callie.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Words on Bathroom Walls
Adam has just been diagnosed with schizophrenia. He sees...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."
The Digger and the Flower
 
4.5
"'The Digger and the Flower' by Joseph Kuefler shows the power of goodness when everything else seems to be overtaking..."
Zog and the Flying Doctors
 
5.0
"'Zog and the Flying Doctors' is another great story by Julia Donaldson, and illustrated by Axel Scheffler. The two have..."
Superbat
 
5.0
"Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, it's a bat in a costume! Pat the bat is a..."
Danny and the Dinosaur A Very Merry Christmas
 
5.0
"Whoever thought of putting stickers inside of children's books is a genius. The story: The dinosaur has never..."
In a Dark, Dark Room and Other
 
4.5
"This book contains seven folktales that have been retold and rewritten to be easily read. This book is level two..."
Wide-Awake Bear
 
5.0
"In WIDE-AWAKE BEAR, baby cub Elliott is supposed to be hibernating with his mom and sleeping until spring. The only..."
Rapunzel and the Lost Lagoon
 
5.0
"My daughter and I love to watch the Tangled Series on the Disney Channel together, so I was so excited..."
Pig the Elf
 
4.0
"PIG THE ELF is about a dog named Pig who loves Christmas, but it isn't for the spirit or joy...."
Old MacDonald Had A Farn
 
4.0
"It was fun reading OLD MACDONALD HAD A FARM to my daughter. As I read, my daughter danced because it..."
Come With Me
 
5.0
"COME WITH ME is a perfect story with the way the world is today. It talks about how scary the..."