The Boyfriend Whisperer

The Boyfriend Whisperer

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
187   0
Write Review
The Boyfriend Whisperer
Publisher Name
Swoon Romance YA
Genre/Type
Age Group
13+
Published Date
November 15, 2016
ISBN Number
978-1944816902
ASIN Number
      

As President and CEO of Boyfriend Whisperer Enterprises, Lexi Malloy is Grand View High School's undercover Cupid. One problem: She's stuck in the friend zone with her own dream crush, Chris Broder. She and Chris have been best friends since the third grade, and he doesn't even seem to realize she's a member of the opposite sex, much less girlfriend material. When pretty, flirty cheerleader Lindsay LaRouche hires Lexi to whisper Chris, she has to decide whether to place her commitment to her company—and Chris's happiness—before her own heart's desires. Winner of the Romance Writers of America Young Adult Chapter's Rosemary Award and Virginia Chapter's Fool for Love Award.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

The Boyfriend Whisperer is a fun, fast-paced read

Lexi Malloy wears many hats. She’s a top-ranked basketball player, already being scouted by prestigious universities. She’s an undercover matchmaker at Boyfriend Whisperer Enterprises, her self-created company aimed at finding love connections for her fellow students at Grand View High School. And she’s a best friend to her longtime pal, Chris Broder. From the outside, it appears Lexi has everything going for her, but she doesn’t have the one thing she really wants – for Chris to stop looking at her as a friend and start looking at her a GIRLfriend. Unfortunately for Lexi, the tips and tricks that seem to be working for her clients aren’t having the same effect on Chris and she’s determined to find out why. A whiz at logic and statistics, Lexi’s armed herself with a plan to win Chris over… until gorgeous cheerleader Lindsay LaRouche hires her to make Chris fall in love with her instead.

What follows is the endearing, often humorous tightrope walk that becomes Lexi’s life. Determined to do the honorable thing, she can’t back down on her commitment to take every client’s reasonable request, but setting Lindsay up with Chris might just send Lexi over the edge. Add in the pressure from her parents to pick the perfect college and growing rumors about the true identity of the Boyfriend Whisperer and she can’t help but wonder if all her sacrifices will actually pay off in the end.
The characters are well-developed and easy to cheer for. A tomboy and entrepreneur, Lexi is not your typical teenage girl, but her struggle connect with Chris on a deeper level is something every reader can relate to. The plot is tightly crafted with enough twists, turns, and unexpected developments that readers will find themselves quickly turning the pages to see how it all pans out for Lexi. Will she be outed as the whisperer? Is Lindsay really the jerk Lexi suspects she is? And will Chris ever see her as anything more than a teammate on the court?

Budzinski writing style is truly accessible with crisp, age-appropriate dialogue and just enough angst to assure teen readers will relate. The Boyfriend Whisperer is an enjoyable read fans of Anna and the French Kiss and Since You’ve Been Gone will happily devour.

Good Points
A fun, fast-paced read that will have you rooting for Lexi’s HEA from page one.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Let's Investigate with Nate #1: The Water Cycle
Bill Nye the Science Guy meets The Magic School Bus!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The 12 Dares of Christa
Christa is a holiday junkie. What’s not to love? There’s...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
Things are looking up for Abbie Wu: this year she’ll...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See Fred Run
Learning to read has never been more fun than it...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Monster of Selkirk Book I: The Duality of Nature
Monsters come in many forms, and not everyone knows a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
The amazing original that set off the worldwide search for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, makes...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Being Fishkill
Fishkill Carmel fends for herself, with her fists if need...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goldeline
Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Namsara
Kristen Ciccarelli’s debut fantasy explores an intricately woven world of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Speak Easy, Speak Love
Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mr. Biddles
A funny picture book about friendship, in the tradition of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Brigette Barrager reunite to bring us...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Black Bird of the Gallows
simple but forgotten truth: Where harbingers of death appear,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Now, Not Ever
The sequel to The Only Thing Worse than Me Is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Prince and the Dressmaker
Paris, at the dawn of the modern age: ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

This Savage Song
 
4.0
"This Savage Song is a uniquely peculiar novel that cleverly combines magic, monsters and music. Dark, violent and monstrous, the..."
The 12 Dares of Christa
 
4.3
"'The 12 Dares of Christa' by Marissa Burt is a sweet story of friendship, determination, strength, and forgiveness. Main character..."
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
 
5.0
"'Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes' by Booki Vivat is an adorable, illustrated story that not only proves a fast..."
How to Disappear
 
5.0
"I am so absolutely in love with Sharon Huss Roat. Her books are funny, relatable, and so easily devoured. I..."
David Inside Out
 
5.0
"David Inside Out is a novel about a teenager (David) who is discovering he is gay. In David's high school,..."
The Rest of Us Just Live Here
 
3.7
"I have to admit, it took me a while to get into this one. The characters seemed to me to..."
The Book Thief
 
4.7
"Death as a narrator? What an idea! It was so interesting to see the Second World War from a German..."
Ferocious (Vicarious #2)
 
5.0
"*WARNING: There are no spoilers for FEROCIOUS, but there are spoilers for book 1, VICARIOUS* As a reader, sequels always..."
Blight
 
4.7
"BLIGHT by Alexandra Duncan is the next young adult dystopian novel that will set your world on fire. Torrest Tempest..."
The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking #1)
 
5.0
"This book was so unusual and satisfying in so many ways. Then there was the one bit - if you've..."
Mask of Shadows
 
4.0
"MASK OF SHADOWS by Linsey Miller features Sal Leon, a genderfluid thief who wants nothing more than to exact revenge..."
Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #1)
 
3.7
"This one took a while to get into. I didn't warm much to Grace. She didn't seem to have much..."
Everything, Everything
 
3.0
"This story is told in first-person present-tense entirely from the POV of Madeline, who is turning eighteen in the first..."
The Museum of Heartbreak
 
4.7
"I really relate to this book very much. Most especially with Pen. This book was so honest. Many symbolisms but..."
Loved (House of Night Other World series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"Zoe and the Nerd Herd from the House of Night Series have returned for another adventure in LOVED. All of..."
 
4.0
"4.5 Stars! Someone Else's Summer was an amazing and emotional novel. It had a well written plot and captivating..."
Eden Summer
 
4.3
"EDEN SUMMER by Liz Flanagan is a rollercoaster of a novel. In this contemporary young adult book, Jess’ best friend,..."
The Tiger's Watch (Ashes of Gold #1)
 
4.3
"Tashi has had a rough life. With the power of an inhabitor, someone who bonds with an animal, they have..."
The Hollow Girl
 
5.0
"Content Warning: As the author mentions in the forward, there is sexual assault in this book. Disclaimer: I..."
Ash And Quill: The Great Library
 
4.3
"ASH AND QUILL is the third installment of The Great Library Series. Jess and his group of friends live in..."