The Hard Count

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
610   0
Write Review
The Hard Count
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Ginger Scott
Age Group
16+
Published Date
July 15, 2016
ISBN Number
9780996873420
ASIN Number
      

Nico Medina’s world is eleven miles away from mine. During the day, it’s a place where doors are open—where homes are lived in, and neighbors love. But when the sun sets, it becomes a place where young boys are afraid, where eyes watch from idling cars that hide in the shadows and wicked smoke flows from pipes. West End is the kind of place that people survive. It buries them—one at a time, one way or another. And when Nico was a little boy, his mom always told him to run. I’m Reagan Prescott—coach’s daughter, sister to the prodigal son, daughter in the perfect family. Life on top. Lies. My world is the ugly one. Private school politics and one of the best high school football programs in the country can break even the toughest souls. Our darkness plays out in whispers and rumors, and money and status trump all. I would know—I’ve watched it kill my family slowly, strangling us for years. In our twisted world, a boy from West End is the only shining light. Quarterback. Hero. Heart. Good. I hated him before I needed him. I fell for him fast. I loved him when it was almost too late. When two ugly worlds collide, even the strongest fall. But my world…it hasn’t met the boy from West End.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A

Standing Tall in the Face of Adversity

'The Hard Count' by Ginger Scott is an engaging novel. It impresses upon readers the highs and lows of high school football and the people who are a part of it. Anyone who has watched Friday Night Lights or anything like it can identify with the characteristics that Ginger Scott so honestly and interestingly relates in her writing. From hardships to privilege, envy to selflessness, disrespect to kindness, Scott highlights the divisiveness of a sport that is meant to bring people together - to make them work as a team.

Nico and Reagan live on opposite sides of town. While Nico's home is on the "wrong side of the tracks," Reagan is the daughter of their private high school's football coach, where he leads the storied "Tradition" football team. The politics that make up the school are mind-boggling, based at least initially on the fact that they take in scholarship students like Nico who are smart and athletic, but then refuse to let them live up to their potential since they don't come from the "right" side of town. Nico's West End address has marked him as at-risk, and has caused him to be seen by many as nothing more than a charity case that the school has been kind enough to take in as a student.

Scott has a way with words that shed spectacular light on the racism that runs rampant even though no one will speak directly to it. The disapproval that stems from this racism - that causes students like Reagan to feel unable to speak out - is captured in truthful nature. Everyone knows how they feel when they are alone, but as soon as it comes time to speak out in front of the masses, many lose the nerve they thought they had. This causes hurt feelings and bitterness that they weren't as strong as they thought they could be. This was handled with care, as Reagan found her footing as the novel progressed, possibly strengthened by the debating tools Ginger Scott had her gaining in the English class scenes that were interspersed throughout the novel.

Even though her way with words can truly make one feel they are a part of the action - of the football games, of the relationships, of the laughter and tears that readers will certainly enjoy as they read - they sometimes felt a bit much. The first half of the novel took forever to get through, and even though the writing is good, and the story interesting, the details sometimes were too much. Even though this was true for the first half, the second half read much more quickly and was even more engaging.

If you are looking for a story that captures a spectrum of emotions, that struggles with issues that are prevalent in society to this day, that includes a love story as well as a story of family, hard times, acceptance, and finding the courage to stand tall, 'The Hard Count' will be that book for you.

Good Points
Scott has a way with words that shed spectacular light on the racism that runs rampant even though no one will speak directly to it. The disapproval that stems from this racism - that causes students like Reagan to feel unable to speak out - is captured in truthful nature.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."
The Digger and the Flower
 
4.5
"'The Digger and the Flower' by Joseph Kuefler shows the power of goodness when everything else seems to be overtaking..."
Zog and the Flying Doctors
 
5.0
"'Zog and the Flying Doctors' is another great story by Julia Donaldson, and illustrated by Axel Scheffler. The two have..."
Superbat
 
5.0
"Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, it's a bat in a costume! Pat the bat is a..."
Danny and the Dinosaur A Very Merry Christmas
 
5.0
"Whoever thought of putting stickers inside of children's books is a genius. The story: The dinosaur has never..."
In a Dark, Dark Room and Other
 
4.5
"This book contains seven folktales that have been retold and rewritten to be easily read. This book is level two..."
Wide-Awake Bear
 
5.0
"In WIDE-AWAKE BEAR, baby cub Elliott is supposed to be hibernating with his mom and sleeping until spring. The only..."
Rapunzel and the Lost Lagoon
 
5.0
"My daughter and I love to watch the Tangled Series on the Disney Channel together, so I was so excited..."
Pig the Elf
 
4.0
"PIG THE ELF is about a dog named Pig who loves Christmas, but it isn't for the spirit or joy...."
Old MacDonald Had A Farn
 
4.0
"It was fun reading OLD MACDONALD HAD A FARM to my daughter. As I read, my daughter danced because it..."