Chemistry

Featured
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
598   0
Write Review
Chemistry
Author(s)
Publisher Name
One Tall Tree Press
Age Group
15+
Published Date
December 01, 2016
ISBN Number
978-0-9953070-1-8

Stella Blunt’s world is ending. Her parents have dragged her across the country, and she has to start over in a new school. Th is is a big problem, because she doesn’t make friends easily: she’s large, she’s loud, and she doesn’t suffer fools gladly. The only person who likes her is the cute geek in her Chemistry class. He’s a great listener, he’s smart at science, and he loves her for her mind. Then again, she’s not sure whether that’s a good thing, considering that he also drinks brains from a thermos and walks with a lurch. To complicate matters, undead hordes have started showing up at her door. Can Stella take on a new school, an undead romance, and handle a chainsaw? Poking a satirical finger at Twilight, Chemistry is an irreverent, foul-mouthed romp with a surprising amount of heart from debut author C.L. Lynch, who thinks that fat girls and zombies deserve love too.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.5
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
3.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0

Awesomely sarcastic and completely witty

Chemistry by C.L. Lynch

The Story:
Twilight spoof. Stella Blunt is forced to move to Vancouver with her parents when her mother gets a new job. Aside from the bullying about her weight, Stella’s life is made more uncomfortable by the boy who won’t stop staring at her. Or more specifically, her brain. Turns out he eats them and is a Zombie. And Stella’s brain waves? He just can’t get enough of them, and he’s not the only one.

The Characters:
Stella Blunt is cynical, defensive, intelligent and ‘blunt’. She is bullied mercilessly about her weight. It is refreshing to read about a character who doesn’t have the entire male population falling at her feet, and who questions anything and everything that doesn’t sit right with her. Stella also likes to swear a great deal. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy profanity in a book, but this book has a great deal of it. Often the main character’s comments had me laughing out loud.
Howard (Edward) is sweet. And though this is a spoof, he complimented Stella’s personality really well. Bullying comments slide right off of him, and he is the opposite of macho! For those who hate possessive lead male characters, you’ll fall in love with this zombie. And the zombie part—hilarious. His fumbling attempts to fit in with humankind will have you chortling.
Stella’s parents are my favorite characters in the book. They are more like Stella’s friends. Their antics and sarcasm, and their relationship with Stella is amazing. This author did a great job with them.

The World:
Twilight…in Canada. Much of the book is based in high school. The rest at Stella’s family home, and Howard’s home. The world is easy to imagine.

The Readability:
Shouty capitals make a regular appearance in Chemistry. Whether this is done on purpose or not, it proves very distracting during reading. Exclamation marks are another regular feature. These do make the novel seem ‘spoofy’, but they also serve to distract from the story. The structure of this novel is shaky. Some of the scenes could be cut down, or cut altogether to ensure a smooth, flowing read. I found the pace dragged in several places. However, the themes within the story itself are presented well and tie in to the final climax. The witty dialogue is a strength of this novel as is the character growth throughout.
Professionally edited – although there is some inconsistency in the editing of a few terms. Suitable for sixteen years and over due to swearing.

Final Verdict:
Fans of twilight (and those who hated it) will enjoy this spoof. Despite a few shaky technical aspects of the novel, there are some truly hilarious scenes. It contains subtle digs at the twilight series that you must pay attention to pick up—and some really obvious ones. The author’s take on this popular series is awesomely sarcastic and completely witty.

Favorite Quote: (I have a couple)
“When I climbed into bed that night, I was wearing a tinfoil hat and a scowl. According to Howie, a government zombie-killing dude was stationed outside in the bushes, in case the tin foil hat didn’t work.”

“Howie kept reaching for my hand and squeezing it under the table and every time he did, it made me feel feelings.”

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
5.0
"I finally got a chance to sit down and read this one and I was not disappointed. It definitely..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
4.7
"This follow up to The Bear and the Nightingale is just as stunning as its predecessor. We met Vasya as..."
When Dimple Met Rishi
 
3.3
"A contemporary YA romance—heavy on the romance—with an Indian-American take on the attraction of opposites. The story is told..."
It's Not Me, It's You
 
3.7
"'It's Not Me, It's You' by Stephanie Kate Strohm provides a unique and somewhat irregular look into the dynamics of..."
You're Weird: A Creative Journal for Misfits, Oddballs, and Anyone Else Who's Uniquely Awesome
 
5.0
"'You're Weird: A Creative Journal for Misfits, Oddballs, and Anyone Else Who's Uniquely Awesome' by Kate Peterson will allow anyone..."
The Riddle (Pellinor #2)
 
4.7
"THE RIDDLE by Alison Croggon is the second in the author's Pellinor series, and it picks up right where book..."
A Taxonomy of Love
 
3.3
"A story of love that spans a childhood. The story: Spencer is a lonely boy with Tourette's when he..."
The Selection Coloring Book
 
4.0
"Selection fans get excited! THE SELECTION COLORING BOOK, based on the series by Kiera Cass, is getting ready to celebrate..."
The Memory of Things
 
4.0
"When I first found out that THE MEMORY OF THINGS by Gae Polisner was set in the immediate days following..."
Mean Girls
 
4.0
"MEAN GIRLS (2004), the cult film phenomenon starring Lindsay Lohan, Rachel McAdams, Amanda Seyfried, and Tina Fey, is now a..."
Dune (Dune Chronicles #1)
 
5.0
"Its a classic. Not much more I can add."
On A LARP
 
3.3
"In ON A LARP, Sid is known to be a hacker after a past school prank, and she's a good..."
Code Name Verity
 
4.3
"The year is 1943. The setting locations are England, and Nazi-occupied France. The book is told in a..."
Good and Gone
 
3.7
"Road tripping with a purpose, Good and Bad is a journey, the reader won't soon forget. Lexi's brother,..."
Glow
 
5.0
"'There's a certain kind of light that I should have been afraid of all along.' Radium was discovered..."
Release
 
4.0
"Wildly original--and completely realistic--Release is a whirlwind of a tale, one that will leave you both completely confused, yet satiated...."