Chemistry

Featured
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
927   0
Write Review
Chemistry
Author(s)
Publisher Name
One Tall Tree Press
Age Group
15+
Published Date
December 01, 2016
ISBN Number
978-0-9953070-1-8

Stella Blunt’s world is ending. Her parents have dragged her across the country, and she has to start over in a new school. Th is is a big problem, because she doesn’t make friends easily: she’s large, she’s loud, and she doesn’t suffer fools gladly. The only person who likes her is the cute geek in her Chemistry class. He’s a great listener, he’s smart at science, and he loves her for her mind. Then again, she’s not sure whether that’s a good thing, considering that he also drinks brains from a thermos and walks with a lurch. To complicate matters, undead hordes have started showing up at her door. Can Stella take on a new school, an undead romance, and handle a chainsaw? Poking a satirical finger at Twilight, Chemistry is an irreverent, foul-mouthed romp with a surprising amount of heart from debut author C.L. Lynch, who thinks that fat girls and zombies deserve love too.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.5
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
3.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0

Awesomely sarcastic and completely witty

Chemistry by C.L. Lynch

The Story:
Twilight spoof. Stella Blunt is forced to move to Vancouver with her parents when her mother gets a new job. Aside from the bullying about her weight, Stella’s life is made more uncomfortable by the boy who won’t stop staring at her. Or more specifically, her brain. Turns out he eats them and is a Zombie. And Stella’s brain waves? He just can’t get enough of them, and he’s not the only one.

The Characters:
Stella Blunt is cynical, defensive, intelligent and ‘blunt’. She is bullied mercilessly about her weight. It is refreshing to read about a character who doesn’t have the entire male population falling at her feet, and who questions anything and everything that doesn’t sit right with her. Stella also likes to swear a great deal. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy profanity in a book, but this book has a great deal of it. Often the main character’s comments had me laughing out loud.
Howard (Edward) is sweet. And though this is a spoof, he complimented Stella’s personality really well. Bullying comments slide right off of him, and he is the opposite of macho! For those who hate possessive lead male characters, you’ll fall in love with this zombie. And the zombie part—hilarious. His fumbling attempts to fit in with humankind will have you chortling.
Stella’s parents are my favorite characters in the book. They are more like Stella’s friends. Their antics and sarcasm, and their relationship with Stella is amazing. This author did a great job with them.

The World:
Twilight…in Canada. Much of the book is based in high school. The rest at Stella’s family home, and Howard’s home. The world is easy to imagine.

The Readability:
Shouty capitals make a regular appearance in Chemistry. Whether this is done on purpose or not, it proves very distracting during reading. Exclamation marks are another regular feature. These do make the novel seem ‘spoofy’, but they also serve to distract from the story. The structure of this novel is shaky. Some of the scenes could be cut down, or cut altogether to ensure a smooth, flowing read. I found the pace dragged in several places. However, the themes within the story itself are presented well and tie in to the final climax. The witty dialogue is a strength of this novel as is the character growth throughout.
Professionally edited – although there is some inconsistency in the editing of a few terms. Suitable for sixteen years and over due to swearing.

Final Verdict:
Fans of twilight (and those who hated it) will enjoy this spoof. Despite a few shaky technical aspects of the novel, there are some truly hilarious scenes. It contains subtle digs at the twilight series that you must pay attention to pick up—and some really obvious ones. The author’s take on this popular series is awesomely sarcastic and completely witty.

Favorite Quote: (I have a couple)
“When I climbed into bed that night, I was wearing a tinfoil hat and a scowl. According to Howie, a government zombie-killing dude was stationed outside in the bushes, in case the tin foil hat didn’t work.”

“Howie kept reaching for my hand and squeezing it under the table and every time he did, it made me feel feelings.”

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Esme's Wish
When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father's wedding, her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Last First Daughter
 
3.5
"Intriguing and action packed. The Story: The country has been in a silent age for a decade after terrorists..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"*I was given an e-galley.* Brandy Woods Snow is a wonderfully talented writer and plotter! This story has a..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"Aw yes, transparency. I’m but one of her brutal critique partners and friends. Will this book capture you..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"I COULD NOT STOP READING THIS BOOK! I fell in love with all the characters and secretly plotted the death..."
Watcher
 
4.3
"The story: Sawyer is an orphaned girl who lives in a world not unlike that of the Terminator movies,..."
Savage Beauty
 
5.0
"SAVAGE BEAUTY is a dark twist on the classic fairytale Sleeping Beauty. Aura and Luna are sisters, but they're the..."
Challenge Accepted
 
3.8
"CHALLENGE ACCEPTED alternates POV between the nerdy Emma and the popular Logan. After messing up Emma's chances at a summer..."
Soul Catchers
 
5.0
"When her mom is attacked by a wolf, Wren has no choice but to use her magic to try to..."
The Last First Game
 
5.0
"Lila has everything going for her and she's on the path to be a doctor. At least that's what people..."
Colliding Skies
 
N/A
""Brilliant pacing, sizzling romance, and a storyline I absolutely devoured!" Victoria Scott, author of Fire and Flood."
Gamemaster (The Biodome Chronicles #3)
 
4.0
LizLiz
"DISCLAIMER: I am a member of the Advance Reader team for this book! This review is only for the ARC..."
Any Way You Slice It
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A wonderful, sweet sweet romance. The story: Penelope loves to skate and has..."
The Outcasts- The Blood Dagger: Volume 1
 
4.0
"Larna is hurt when her father doesn't return home because the assumption is he's abandoned them or worse. It's so..."
Oshun Rising: Trinity Forest Book 2
 
4.0
"The story: Ember Trouve, missing for three years in Trinity Forest, has been “rebirthed”, in the form of a..."
Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
 
5.0
"This story starts with Sahria and several other girls captured to be sold as slaves. Sahria becomes like a mentor..."
Calmer Girls
 
3.5
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Young love makes one foolish. The story: Samantha is not the girl people..."
Challenge Accepted
 
4.8
"Readers will find 'Challenge Accepted' by Amanda Abram hard to put down. Her writing style perfectly captures teenage life, from..."
Shadow Wings
 
5.0
"Summary King Irdelron is dead. Lord Irrik is now Lord Tyrrik and free from his blood oath. Ryn is..."
 
4.8
"I'm not a big fan of Lord of the Rings or Game of Thrones or most Fantasy. There is nothing..."
Seventeen
 
5.0
"I loved this novel, I liked the way it was written and it had me hooked. The plot flowed smoothly..."