The Clay Lion

Featured
 
4.8
 
4.7 (3)
623   3
Write Review
The Clay Lion
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Bermlord
Age Group
12+
Published Date
December 31, 1969
ISBN Number
978-0615764962
ASIN Number
      

What if you could go back in time to save the person you love the most? The rules are simple. If you want to travel back in time, you need to be at least eighteen years old. You can only travel within your own lifespan for a maximum of six months. And above all else, you must never, ever, change the past. But that's exactly what Brooke Wallace plans to do. As Brooke faces existence without her beloved brother, his life cut short by a rare disease, she can think of only one solution - travel back in time to prevent his death. However, her attempts at fixing the past challenge her to confront everything she believes to be true about herself. And ultimately, she is forced to discover whether or not we can ever truly be in charge of our own destiny.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0

A quiet, unassuming YA Sci-Fi that will sneak up on you like an emotional hurricane

The Clay Lion takes place in a world very similar to ours where time travel is possible and the protagonist, Brooke Wallace, is faced with the question: what if you could go back in time to save the person you love the most? Those who love a good sci-fi or time travel story may pick up this book expecting a high-tech world or a twisted tale of time loops and wormholes. But this story is nothing like that, and time travel is but a device that helps explore the deeper question which is the theme that drives the story, an exploration that is done openly and candidly.

Brooke is a troubled girl, reeling from the loss of her beloved brother. She hasn’t come to terms with his passing, and she doesn’t plan to. She’s determined to do what it takes to change the horrible injustice of her young brother’s death, and using her one-time allowed trip into the past seems like the perfect solution. But going back in time is trickier than she expected as seemingly inconsequential actions ripple through the years to cause untold changes in her present. Brooke’s journey is not easy, but she tries to make the best of it, even as obstacles rise to challenge her tenacity.

The characters are well-developed and feel real. Their situations are relatable as well as their reactions. The story will challenge the reader to consider the effects their own actions have on the lives of those around them, and along with Brooke, they will discover that love, compassion and hope are indispensable to keep us going and accept the twists of destiny without despairing.

Jahn delivers her story in a way that isn’t preachy, addressing the difficult topic of loss in a way teens will find completely relatable. The Clay Lion is a wonderful read that I highly recommend to anyone who doesn’t mind shedding a few tears, then feeling uplifted by a message of hope and endurance. Once of my favorite Indie reads to date.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Writing Style 
 
4.7  (3)
Plot/Story 
 
4.7  (3)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.7  (3)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.7  (3)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

One of the best I've ever read


There is nothing I love more than well-written stories that hit me right in the heart. Amalie Jahn has written just such a novel.

In a world where time travel not only exists but can be used by pretty much anyone (though only once, per government regulations), young Brooke Wallace decides to use her allotted "trip" through time to save the life of her beloved younger brother, Branson. Determined to thwart the circumstances that caused his sudden and tragic demise, Brooke soon discovers that changing the past is not as easy as it seems.

Though the concept of time-travel technically makes this book "sci-fi", what The Clay Lion is, in reality, a character study. How one girl deals with grief, denial, change, consequence, the gut-wrenching circumstances of love found and love lost, futility, depression, and acceptance that life is, and always will, play out as it was meant to, no matter how much we wish it were otherwise.

The Clay Lion will grab you from the very first chapter and it will not let go, even after you've finished reading. It will tear your heart out of your chest and piece it back together again, stronger than it was before. You will experience every emotion from A to Z and back again, and you will have grown as a person for having read it.

Thank you, Ms. Jahn. This is one of the best books I have ever read. Your accolades are well-deserved, and I will be moving on to the next book in the series immediately.

Good Points
Brilliantly touching story line set against the backdrop of a society where time-travel is possible. A wonderful story of loss and love.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

Don't miss this one!

Super interesting premise keeps you guessing! You'll get sucked into Brooke's story from the first pages!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0

Great Story!!

If I could give 4.5 stars I would! The story was great and well developed characters. I thought that the time traveling back to save her brother would get old, but each trip was vastly different and held my attention. Well done!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
ALEX HUNT and the Chase for Rhapta
I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."
Story Sparks:  Finding Your Best Story Ideas & Turning Them into Compelling Fiction
 
4.0
"This is an easy to read reference book on how to take creative ideas and thoughts and turn them into..."
Sweet Revenge: Passive-Aggressive Desserts for Your Exes & Enemies
 
5.0
"SWEET REVENGE is sweet and deliciously vengeful that I wanted to gobble up all of the recipes. It's full of..."
The Infographic Guide to College: A Visual Reference for Everything You Need to Know
 
3.5
"As approachable as it is pragmatic, this college primer could largely double as a bite-sized approach to post high school..."
The Book That Made Me
 
4.0
"The Book That Made Me' is an anthology by several authors that tells about a book that influenced their life...."
It's Your World: Get Informed, Get Inspired & Get Going!
 
4.0
"'It's Your World' by Chelsea Clinton does a nice job of anticipating questions teens (or adults) may have about a..."
Girling Up
 
4.0
"What worked: Encouraging info for girls on growing up. Mayim is like that cool older sis that tells you what..."
The March Against Fear: The Last Great Walk of the Civil Rights Movement and the Emergence of Black Power
 
4.5
"James Meredith was a ground breaker in the Civil Rights Movement, and the first African-American to graduate from The University..."
Shackles from the Deep: Tracing the Path of a Sunken Slave Ship, a Bitter Past, and a Rich Legacy
 
4.0
"Cottman, a reporter for the Washington Post and an avid SCUBA diver, was intrigued when he learned about the Henrietta..."
Alice Paul and the Fight for Women's Rights
 
5.0
"In this very timely book, the story of Alice Paul's life is interwoven with the women's movement in the same..."
Double Cross: Deception Techniques in War
 
4.5
"From Biblical descriptions of battles (Gideon driving out the Midianites) to the siege of Troy and a variety of early..."
Motor Girls: How Women Took the Wheel and Drove Boldly Into the Twentieth Century
 
5.0
"Having explored how women gained freedom in the mid 1800s and onward in her 2011 Wheels of Change: How Women..."
Death on the River of Doubt: Theodore Roosevelt's Amazon Adventure
 
4.0
"We all have this vague idea that Teddy Roosevelt was an adventurer, but I had no idea the depth of..."
This Is Really Happening
 
5.0
"I wish I could accurately put into words how much I adored This is Really Happening. I didn’t..."
Girl Code: Gaming, Going Viral, and Getting It Done
 
4.0
"What I Loved: The linear structure of Girl Code tracks their journey from everygirls to viral stars from start to..."
Queer, There, and Everywhere: 23 People Who Changed the World
 
4.0
"What I Loved: Queer, There, and Everywhere is a quick read you’ll breeze through in one sitting thanks to simple..."
Best and Buzzworthy 2017
 
4.0
"Best and Buzzworthy 2017 puts a year’s worth of pop culture into a colorful, well organized, and entertaining read. From..."
How to Be You: Stop Trying to Be Someone Else and Start Living Your Life
 
4.0
"Before reading this I had not heard of Jeffrey Marsh, but after reading this book I can tell you that..."
Cool Japan Guide
 
4.0
"What worked: This is a fun guide for those interested in traveling to Japan. The illustrations add to the..."
Diary of a Tokyo Teen
 
4.0
"What worked: This is a must-read for anyone fascinated with Japanese culture. Engaging, fun graphic novel version of a..."