Keeper - Matefinder Next Generation Book 1

Keeper - Matefinder Next Generation Book 1

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
871   0
Write Review
Keeper - Matefinder Next Generation Book 1
Author(s)
Age Group
12+
Published Date
July 01, 2016
ISBN Number
978-1535010436
ASIN Number
      

Anya has inherited her mother's gift. Born in a set of twins, she is the next Matefinder and her brother, Jaxon, is her sworn protector. But it looks like finding mates for the werewolf kind isn’t what Spirit has in plan for her. And when she starts dreaming about a human guy in trouble, her whole life changes. With the clock ticking on both of their lives, will Anya be able to do what needs to be done to survive?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
N/A  (0)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
N/A
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A

A fast-paced ride

Keeper is a fast-paced older young adult urban fantasy that lovers of shapeshifting stories are sure to enjoy.

This series is a spin-off of the very successful Matefinder trilogy and follows Anya’s trials as the daughter of two powerful werewolves whose shoes won’t be easy to fill as she grows older. There are many expectations set on Anya, and she feels the weight of the huge responsibility on her shoulders. She is afraid to let anybody down as the future Matefinder of her pack. Anya is a straightforward, likable character. She has a great relationship with her parents and brother. This is nice to see in YA as so many books in the genre use the missing-parent or evil/careless parent trope. In Keeper, Anya’s parents are very present. They are protective of her, but know when to back off, just the way good parents should be. For those who enjoy plots that tick, this will be a great addition to their shelves. Things move fast and Anya quickly finds out that her destiny is not as clear-cut as she had suspected. In spite of the turmoil, Anya faces each challenge with bravery and resolve. Her strength of character is her biggest weapon at every turn. She is never a pushover or too scared to face the tryouts that are constantly thrown in her direction.

I think the story is one of growth and change for Anya and her mate. The antagonist is an outside force that remains on the fringes of the story and is, for the most part, faceless. She certainly has to fight the enemy, putting her wits to good use more than once, but the most important obstacles she faces have to do with reassessing her skills and coming to terms with her shape-shifting nature and the fact that she has found her mate. This is an excellent setup to allow the reader to connect with Anya before getting deeper into the greater conflict which I suspect will play a bigger role in the next installment.

There is a romance element in the story and, although it’s a driving factor, Anya doesn’t lose her identity to her love interest. If anything, I would have liked for Gavin to be a bit more fleshed out. He is hot, achingly handsome and with some skills of his own, but, at times, he felt like an extension of Anya rather than a true individual. I hope that in book two, we will see more of him and will learn of his own passions and dreams.

For those who like a heads up, there is language in the story, and a sexy scene that fades to black. But, in general, the books can be enjoyed by any young adult who doesn’t have heightened sensibilities in those areas.

Keeper will keep the voracious reader turning the page. Perfect for urban fantasy fans who like a mix of witches, shamans and vampires sprinkled in with their werewolves.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Finding-Elora.jpg
High school’s a whole new ballgame. Elora used...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Super Rabbit Racers!: A Branches Book (Press Start! #3)
 
4.0
"In this story, Chris joins Sunny and Rue for a few friendly rounds of Rabbit Racers. (He’s never played before,..."
When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel
 
4.5
"'When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel' by G. Neri, illustrated by David Litchfield, is an artistic..."
Ernestine, Catastrophe Queen
 
4.0
"Ernestine and her little brother Charleston are trying to bring on the zombie apocalypse. After doing a spell, they believe..."
Return of the Vinetropes
 
5.0
"What a unique and wonderful story told by a gifted writer! What I loved most is that there's something for..."
Emily Windsnap and the Falls of Forgotten Island (Emily Windsnap #7)
 
4.0
"Emily, her family, and her friends are off on a relaxing vacation. Emily promises her friend Shona and her boyfriend..."
The Tale of Angelino Brown
 
4.0
"When Bert discovers the tiny angel named Angelino in his pocket, he doesn't know what to think. Bert takes Angelino..."
The Journey of Little Charlie
 
5.0
"THE JOURNEY OF LITTLE CHARLIE features a boy named Charlie who is forced to grow up quickly. When Charlie's dad..."
Wonder
 
4.5
" Aiming on the younger end of the Middle Grade spectrum, Wonder is the story of a disfigured 5th grader..."
The Nutcracker Mice
 
4.0
"THE NUTCRACKER MICE is a very adorable retelling of the Russian Nutcracker, but from a smaller perspective. Esmeralda the mouse..."
Horizon
 
4.0
"When their plane crash lands, Caleb, Molly, Yoshi, Javi, Anna, Oliver, Kira, and Akiko find themselves stranded in a jungle...."
Tiny Little Rocket
 
5.0
"'Tiny Little Rocket' by Richard Collingridge immerses young readers into a journey through space. Through a front-row seat in the..."
When I Grow Up
 
4.5
"'When I Grow Up' by Tim Minchin, and illustrated by Steve Antony, is a fanciful story about the excitement of..."
Samantha Spinner and the Super-Secret Plans
 
5.0
"SAMANTHA SPINNER AND THE SUPER SECRET PLANS takes you on a historical adventure as Sam and her brother Nipper search..."
Fairy Mom and Me
 
4.5
"Ella has the coolest mom ever because she's a fairy. Magic and all. The best part? Ella will be a..."
Time Tracers
 
5.0
"Taj is confused when he wakes up to what's supposed to be the first day of summer break, but instead,..."
Better Together (Heartwood Hotel, #3)
 
5.0
"When Mr. Heartwood takes a break, Mona the maid feels like she needs to step up to make sure nothing..."
The Worst Fairy Godmother Ever!
 
4.0
"Isabelle is a fairy-godmother-in-training and is so nervous that she's going to wind up being terrible like her mother was...."
Drum Roll, Please
 
4.0
"Even though Melly was forced to go to Camp Rockaway, it's just the escape she needs. Her parents are getting..."
Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
 
5.0
"Abby and Jonah take another trip through their magic mirror after being told their grounded from technology. This time, it..."
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
 
5.0
"Sam is the hall monitor at Eerie Elementary, but his job requires more than watching out for students doing things..."