A Shade of Vampire

A Shade of Vampire

Featured
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
1135   0
Write Review
A Shade of Vampire
Author(s)
Age Group
12+
Published Date
December 14, 2012
ISBN Number
1481280767
ASIN Number
      

THE BESTSELLING FANTASY SERIES EVERYONE'S TALKING ABOUT... Over 3 million copies sold! What happens when WITCHES meet VAMPIRES? For fans of Harry Potter, Twilight, The Vampire Diaries and True Blood, prepare to be transported to the breathtaking new world of The Shade... Over 16,450 Five-Star Reviews (on Amazon/Goodreads). "A new spin on a crowded genre. Unique, passionate, thrilling." - Faerie Tale Books ★★★★★ "...an utterly enthralling, highly exciting and beautifully sensitive story. Five stars and a standing ovation." - Books For Tomorrow ★★★★★ Wall Street Journal Best-Seller. Recommended Read on USATODAY.com. Amazon Overall Top 3 Best-Seller. #1 Best-Seller in Vampire Romance, Paranormal & Fantasy. _____________________________________________________ On the evening of Sofia Claremont's seventeenth birthday, she is sucked into a nightmare from which she cannot wake. A quiet evening walk along a beach brings her face to face with a dangerous pale creature that craves much more than her blood. She is kidnapped to The Shade, an enchanted island where the sun is eternally forbidden to shine. An island uncharted by any map and ruled by the most powerful vampire coven on the planet. She wakes here as a slave, a captive in chains. Sofia's life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn when she is selected out of hundreds of girls to take up residence in the tree-top harem of Derek Novak, the dark royal prince. Despite his addiction to power and obsessive thirst for her blood, Sofia soon realizes that the safest place on the island is within his quarters, and she must do all within her power to win him over if she is to survive even one more night. Will she succeed? Or is she destined to the same fate that all other girls have met at the hands of the Novaks? Scroll up & click the buy button now to find out... "I challenge you to read this book and not love it." - Get Lost In Fiction ★★★★★ _____________________________________________________ Note: Derek Novak and Sofia Claremont's story is only a 7 book series. It completes in Book 7: A Break of Day, and the characters embark on entirely new adventures from Book 8: A Shade of Novak.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (1)
(Updated: September 28, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

A Shade More Dangerous

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I first sat down to read Bella Forest’s A Shade of Vampire. I was certainly a Twilight fan, at least for the short few weeks that it took me to rip through all four books. Edward Cullen had me under his spell just as surely as he did Bella Swan (and most of the female population of YA readers). I was told I would like this new series even better, so I thought a similar experience was in order. I couldn’t have been more mistaken, and I was pleasantly surprised. Forest takes some great risks, allowing for an unpredictable, more daring story.

First of all, these vampires are not vegetarians. Not by a long shot. Main character Sophia Claremont is drugged and abducted very early on, then taken to their lair for the sole purpose of first serving in a harem, and later being eaten. Not one of the vampires comes across as alluring, though most of them are beautiful and fabulously dressed. They’re completely dismissive, even hateful, towards the lowly humans. A war seems to be raging between vampires and humans—especially those referred to as “hunters”—and the undead hide out on their own island, under a veil of permanent darkness and served by countless human slaves. “Welcome to The Shade,” Sophia is told. There doesn’t seem to be much hope of escape.

The other main character and probable love interest is Derek Novak, prince of The Shade. He’s been in an unnatural sleep for four hundred years, and he wakes suffering from ravenous hunger. He’s offered Sophia (and several more abducted teenage beauties), and very nearly devours her. Somehow, for reasons no one can understand, she calms him and he is able to control his hunger. We get hints of some prophecy fulfilled from Derek’s sister, The Shade’s seer Vivienne.

Derek is smitten from this point on, but not so Sophia. She misses her home and her best friend Ben, and she’s terrified of the vampires. Derek starts to grow on her a bit by the end, but she paints a realistic view of how any young woman might actually feel toward a man who drinks a glass of blood at the breakfast table while she’s choking down her toast. She’s not throwing herself into his arms and begging to be turned into a demon, and we get that.

Derek’s fascination with her, however, is much less understandable. From the beginning of the book, Sophia presents herself as a rather weak character. She suffers from panic attacks, is secretly in love with her best friend who won’t give her the time of day, and comes across as a mousey nobody. A few Easter Eggs are dropped here and there, which suggest that Sophia is somehow special, but it’s almost like she has a disability that is hard to diagnose. My hope is that something in her past (which is shadowy), or maybe her genetic code, is discovered later which makes her more interesting.

I knew going in that this book was only the first in a long series, so I was prepared to wait for answers. Were the questions interesting enough for me to want to read book two? Heck yes, I dove right in. Derek and Sophia are quasi-formed characters, but I get the feeling of great depth within both of them. I can’t help it, I want them to fall in love. The history of The Shade beckons, as do the nature of the war between humans and hunters, and the story of Sophia’s origins. Enough writing, I have to find out what happens next…

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Final Step (Lock and Key #3)
The New York Times bestselling author of the Peter and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pretend She's Here
Mega-bestselling author Luanne Rice returns with a ripped-from-the-headlines story of...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
You Made Me a Dad
In this touching celebration of fatherhood, the close bond between...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cicada
Cicada tells the story of a hardworking little cicada who...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Captured: An American Prisoner of War in North Vietnam
Naval aviator Jeremiah Denton was shot down and captured in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Swap'd
After her Click'd catastrophe, Allie Navarro is determined to redeem...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stick Dog Gets the Tacos (Stick Dog #9)
When Karen sprints into Stick Dog’s pipe and declares an...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tin
Tin
In an alternative England of the 1930s where the laws...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ruff vs. Fluff (Queenie & Arthur #1)
From the outside, Queenie the cat and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Yay for Vaycay! (Pug Pals #2)
The pugs are packing their bags! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Braced
Rachel Brooks is excited for the new school year. She's...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Focused
Clea can't control her thoughts. She knows she has to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where the Heart Is
It’s the first day of summer and Rachel's thirteenth birthday....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Because of the Rabbit
On the last night of summer, Emma...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Secret Soldiers: How the U.S. Twenty-Third Special Troops Fooled the Nazis
In his third book about deception during war, Paul B....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Light Jar
Nate and his mother are running away. Fleeing from an...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Everlasting Rose (The Belles #2)
 
3.7
"In a world where beauty is a currency, the Belles are special, gifted with beauty and the power to bestow..."
Pretend She's Here
 
3.3
"Since they were little, Lizzie Porter and Emily Lonergan were inseparable and best friends. Now Emily is almost sixteen-years-old, and..."
Tell Me Everything
 
3.7
"TELL ME EVERYTHING follows Ivy, beginning the summer before her sophomore year. Ivy’s parents are ecologists, and her passion for..."
In the Neighborhood of True
 
4.3
"After her father's untimely death, Ruth Robb's mother uproots her and her little sister from New York City to Atlanta,..."
Emmie and the Tudor King
 
3.0
"What worked: Fast-paced time travel romp through Tudor England. In this case readers find out what would have happened if..."
The Girl The Sea Gave Back
 
5.0
"When Tova is saved by the Svell's Tala, Jorrund, she becomes their key to peek at the future. Tora is..."
Let Me Hear a Rhyme
 
4.7
"I'm not sure which the character I loved the most. It is one of those heartfelt stories about a group..."
The Kingdom of Copper
 
5.0
"I honestly didn't think anything could be better than book one The City of Brass but I was so so..."
The Cerulean
 
3.0
"So, I didn't even know this was a thing until everyone was dogging it on twitter. When I saw that..."
To All The Boys I've Loved Before
 
4.0
"This is one of the very few times I will ever say this but here we go.... I preferred the..."
Kiss Collector
 
4.7
"Finally! A freaking book that looks down on drugs. I was so nervous when right off the bat, we get..."
The Darkest Star
 
4.3
"Okay, let's be honest here. Let's just get everything out in the open, shall we? No one and I mean..."
Storm and Fury
 
5.0
"With Armentrout’s characteristic snark and swoony romance, STORM AND FURY will not disappoint fans who have been eagerly awaiting this..."
Kingsbane (Empirium, #2)
 
4.7
"This exciting and fast-paced sequel picks up right where the first book left off. For that reason, this book does..."
Furyborn (Empirium, #1)
 
4.7
"FURYBORN is a YA fantasy that does not disappoint! We begin by seeing the world through the eyes of a..."
The Vanishing Stair
 
4.7
"Feedback As soon as I finished the first book I was so eager to continue. I absolutely loved Truly..."
Truly Devious
 
5.0
"Feedback I absolutely loved this book. It was a buddy read for me and it sounded interesting so I..."
The Lovely and the Lost
 
5.0
"THE LOVELY AND THE LOST follows Kira, a girl who was once found by search and rescue (SAR) and who..."
Happy Messy Scary Love
 
3.3
"HAPPY MESSY SCARY LOVE follows Olivia aka Carrie from her Reddit username over the summer. Olivia is a horror movie..."
Storm and Fury
 
5.0
"Trinity has never been allowed to leave her home compound because of her secret. Here, she has friends, a protector,..."