Generation Dead: Passing Strange

Generation Dead: Passing Strange

 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
1067   0
Write Review
Generation Dead: Passing Strange
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
June 01, 2010
ISBN
1423121996
Buy This Book
      

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
N/A  (0)
Writing Style 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Dangerous double life of a zombie

Karen Desonne is living a dangerous double life. When she was alive, Karen lived the live of a normal teen. Now that she's a dead, she's trying to pass as a 'beating heart', someone who is alive.

In the meantime, her other zombie friends have been framed in the murder of a lawyer. They have to go underground to avoid being killed again. This time for good. Karen ends up trying to get close to Pete Martinsburg, someone she thinks is behind the hoax. She hopes by doing this she'll be able to expose Pete and help her friends. But is Karen playing with fire?

This is the third book in the Generation Dead series. Karen is fighting not only against the prejudice of being undead but in being true to herself. I liked Karen's struggle to try to pass off as a beating heart. She even ends up working for a shop in the mall which is against the law. It was kind of hard to accept at times that no one wouldn't know she was in fact undead. But Karen has an ability that the other zombies lack. I found this ability intriguing and couldn't help but wonder if other zombies in future books will be able to do the same thing.

Also I wanted to know more about Tommy's experience in Washington DC and his campaign to get a proposition passed that guaranteed rights to the recent undead. I found that these injustices mirrored other minority groups and ones right now. The whole political correctness felt kind of real. I mean, what would happen if a virus caused teens to come back from the dead? Interesting premise that I totally loved in the first book. I felt some of the newest was kind of lacking in this book. One reason why I give this book a 3 and a half rating. Loved the premise and writing. The ending is a total shocker. I can't wait to see what happens in the next book.

Peter's character was down right creepy at times though his past gives him some vulnerabilities. It would have been very easy to make him just evil but the author does a great job peeling back some of his layers.

Generation Dead is one of those books that gives a unique twist to the whole zombie premise.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

living a double life

i loved this book and i can't wait for what happens next

Good Points
i think its really great that karen is being brave and passes off as a living person
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

 

   

   

  

Latest Book Listings Added

Goose on a Farm
When Sophie and Goose go on a class trip to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Adrift: An Odd Couple of Polar Bears
Perfect for fans of Goodnight, Already! and You Will Be...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bob and Joss Get Lost
Perfect for fans of I’m Bored, Bob and Joss Get...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tugboat Bill and the River Rescue
Fans of Little Tug and Chugga-Chugga Choo-Choo will love this...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Charlie Piechart and the Case of the Missing Hat
Charlie Piechart’s second math mystery takes place at school—when a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fly Guy's Ninja Chistmas (Fly Guy #16)
In the new book in Tedd Arnold's New York Times...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
How to Keep a Boy from Kissing You
Executor of the Find a Prince Program™ and future...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Allegedly
Mary B. Addison killed a baby. Allegedly. She didn’t...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Avenged (Vanished #2)
Avenged is the conclusion to the Vanished duology, an...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Hard Count
Nico Medina’s world is eleven miles away from mine....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
City of Saints & Thieves
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo meets Gone Girl...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
RoseBlood
In this modern day spin on Leroux’s gothic tale...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fish Girl
The triple Caldecott winner David Wiesner brings his rich visual...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Macarons at Midnight
When Lise Santos stumbles into a bakery's midnight taste test,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One Silver Summer
After losing her mom in an accident, Sass is sent...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Villain's Assistan
Secret designs and dark ambition have split the kingdom of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)