Books Young Adult Fiction The Reckoning (Darkest Powers #3)

The Reckoning (Darkest Powers #3)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/44/7b/29/9237_reckoning-1349216293.jpeg
 
0.0
 
4.4 (5)
691   6
Genre(s)
Age Range
13+
Release Date
April 06, 2010
ISBN
0061662836
Buy This Book
      
My name is Chloe Saunders. I'm fifteen, and I would love to be normal.

But normal is one thing I'm not.

For one thing, I'm having these feelings for a certain antisocial werewolf and his sweet-tempered brother—who just happens to be a sorcerer—but, between you and me, I'm leaning toward the werewolf.

Not normal.

My friends and I are also on the run from an evil corporation that wants to get rid of us—permanently.

Definitely not normal.

And finally, I'm a genetically altered necro-mancer who can raise the dead, rotting corpses and all, without even trying.

As far away from normal as it gets.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 5 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Plot 
 
4.4  (5)
Characters 
 
N/A  (0)
Writing Style 
 
N/A  (0)
I have absolutely loved this series and I find myself at a bittersweet ending. I'm happy that the series made it to the end without messing up, but upset that it's over.

Necromancy is still an unpopular subject to write about compared to all of the werewolf and vampire fanfiction. Even the witches, wizards, and dragons get more attention.

I really wanted to see what would have happened to the two main characters as they continued on their new life, but I felt like there weren't many things the author could have done to continue the series. I wanted it to continue, and yet I didn't.

I will continue reading books by Kelley Armstrong.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Heather Reviewed by Heather January 10, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (75)

The Final Conclusion

I have absolutely loved this series and I find myself at a bittersweet ending. I'm happy that the series made it to the end without messing up, but upset that it's over.

Necromancy is still an unpopular subject to write about compared to all of the werewolf and vampire fanfiction. Even the witches, wizards, and dragons get more attention.

I really wanted to see what would have happened to the two main characters as they continued on their new life, but I felt like there weren't many things the author could have done to continue the series. I wanted it to continue, and yet I didn't.

I will continue reading books by Kelley Armstrong.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Good book. The last of this trilogy. I did imagine that more books will follow this one but I guess not. Anyways, excellent characters and plot. The mystery, the odubt of each person plus enemies following them, makes the books exciting and puzzle.

New powers and family issues are both new for me in this type and style of books. The author did a excellent job.
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Genesis Reviewed by Genesis November 11, 2012
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

The last and final of the trilogy

Good book. The last of this trilogy. I did imagine that more books will follow this one but I guess not. Anyways, excellent characters and plot. The mystery, the odubt of each person plus enemies following them, makes the books exciting and puzzle.

New powers and family issues are both new for me in this type and style of books. The author did a excellent job.

Was this review helpful to you? 
This series is one of my favorites. It is something that I had never read about before, necromancy, and I loved it!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Emily Savant Reviewed by Emily Savant April 27, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (271)

Great Ending to a Great Series!

This series is one of my favorites. It is something that I had never read about before, necromancy, and I loved it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Excellent third book in the series. I loved the way that the story played out. It was extremely believable. Her characters are so vivid and real that you can easily get lost on their adventures.

The story picks up right where the last one left off. The twists in the story in regard to who the group should trust were unexpected as was the reality of the situation as to who and what the Edison Group really was.

Chloe’s decision in the end was not something that I expected her to do, but she’s such a strong female character that I really should have expected it or something like it.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Excellent third book

Excellent third book in the series. I loved the way that the story played out. It was extremely believable. Her characters are so vivid and real that you can easily get lost on their adventures.

The story picks up right where the last one left off. The twists in the story in regard to who the group should trust were unexpected as was the reality of the situation as to who and what the Edison Group really was.

Chloe’s decision in the end was not something that I expected her to do, but she’s such a strong female character that I really should have expected it or something like it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Kelsey

The last book in the Darkest Powers series is pretty much the same, in my opinion, as the last two. A bit predictable, but enough excitement to keep me going. Derek still annoyed me with his frequent mood changes, but I guess it's not his fault, right? He's a werewolf!

I guess I'm glad there's not more books to come in this series. It came to a good close, and I'm happy to leave the characters. I will be checking out Kelley Armstrong's new series though! Excited to see what else she brainstorms up.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader May 29, 2010
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

The Reckoning: same as the last two

Reader reviewed by Kelsey

The last book in the Darkest Powers series is pretty much the same, in my opinion, as the last two. A bit predictable, but enough excitement to keep me going. Derek still annoyed me with his frequent mood changes, but I guess it's not his fault, right? He's a werewolf!

I guess I'm glad there's not more books to come in this series. It came to a good close, and I'm happy to leave the characters. I will be checking out Kelley Armstrong's new series though! Excited to see what else she brainstorms up.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)