Books Young Adult Fiction Princess for Hire

Princess for Hire

 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
450   0
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
ISBN
1423121929
Buy This Book
      

Editor reviews

Be careful what you wish for!

Desi Bascomb has been longing for a bit of glamour in her Idaho life. Then one day a woman walks out of a bubble and asks her if she wants to become a substitute princess.

Meredith, her new agent, tells her that Desi has a rare magical ability--if she applies the anicent Egyptian formula "Royal Rouge" she can transform temporarily into the exact look-alike of any princess who needs her subbing help.

Desi finds out that what at first seems like a glamourous new calling in fact involves a lot more than just looking pretty.

Desi is one hilarious heroine who attics are sure to bring more than a few smiles. She's not only likeable but very down to Earth. Her big heart gets her in more than one sticky situation like having one minor princess stand up to her bully sister and also giving another princess a little push in one direction. I couldn't help but want Desi to succeed!

The pacing and dialogue are great! So are Desi's determination and spunk which equal one great character.

I did want to know a little more about that royal rouge and some more history on the organization. I think these questions will be addressed in the sequel. The chemistry between one of her assignments will have readers wanting to know more! I know I did!

This fast-paced story is a welcome change from some of the darker stories out there. Go Desi! Who knew a royal fiasco could be so much fun!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Magical New Heroine

Be careful what you wish for!

Desi Bascomb has been longing for a bit of glamour in her Idaho life. Then one day a woman walks out of a bubble and asks her if she wants to become a substitute princess.

Meredith, her new agent, tells her that Desi has a rare magical ability--if she applies the anicent Egyptian formula "Royal Rouge" she can transform temporarily into the exact look-alike of any princess who needs her subbing help.

Desi finds out that what at first seems like a glamourous new calling in fact involves a lot more than just looking pretty.

Desi is one hilarious heroine who attics are sure to bring more than a few smiles. She's not only likeable but very down to Earth. Her big heart gets her in more than one sticky situation like having one minor princess stand up to her bully sister and also giving another princess a little push in one direction. I couldn't help but want Desi to succeed!

The pacing and dialogue are great! So are Desi's determination and spunk which equal one great character.

I did want to know a little more about that royal rouge and some more history on the organization. I think these questions will be addressed in the sequel. The chemistry between one of her assignments will have readers wanting to know more! I know I did!

This fast-paced story is a welcome change from some of the darker stories out there. Go Desi! Who knew a royal fiasco could be so much fun!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
First of all, I'm not quite sure how this is a YA book and not an MG book. I got it out of the YA section in my library and until I was reading it, I didn't realize that the main character was going to be 13. Normally I don't read real-life-esque MG books because I just find it a bit odd. This one wasn't too bad, though.

There were quite a few funny and hart-warming moments, but overall, I wasn't that impressed. For much of the book, I found Desi to be overly-dramatic and self-centered. She was absolutely obsessive about her crush but not at all in an understandable way. The absurdness of her crush had me wanting to punch her in the face a few times. I know a crush isn't really enough to go off of for a review, though.

I enjoyed the new spin on princesses. The lives weren't too glamorous (though I'm hoping for some glamour in the next!) and you got to see the nitty-gritty of the real princess's lives instead silly little surface problems we normal see when it comes to royalty.

In all, though, while this book wasn't bad, it wasn't remarkable either. The fist-pumping "You go, girl!" moments didn't outshine Desi's annoying obsession and inability to look past herself (even when helping others), but it was good enough to pick up the next one and continue in the story.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Jasmine Reviewed by Jasmine August 16, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (327)

Princess for Hire (A Room with Books review)

First of all, I'm not quite sure how this is a YA book and not an MG book. I got it out of the YA section in my library and until I was reading it, I didn't realize that the main character was going to be 13. Normally I don't read real-life-esque MG books because I just find it a bit odd. This one wasn't too bad, though.

There were quite a few funny and hart-warming moments, but overall, I wasn't that impressed. For much of the book, I found Desi to be overly-dramatic and self-centered. She was absolutely obsessive about her crush but not at all in an understandable way. The absurdness of her crush had me wanting to punch her in the face a few times. I know a crush isn't really enough to go off of for a review, though.

I enjoyed the new spin on princesses. The lives weren't too glamorous (though I'm hoping for some glamour in the next!) and you got to see the nitty-gritty of the real princess's lives instead silly little surface problems we normal see when it comes to royalty.

In all, though, while this book wasn't bad, it wasn't remarkable either. The fist-pumping "You go, girl!" moments didn't outshine Desi's annoying obsession and inability to look past herself (even when helping others), but it was good enough to pick up the next one and continue in the story.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
New York Times Bestseller * Indie List Bestseller * Soon to be a Film from Universal Pictures * A Barnes...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Mr. S. Harris, Ignore the blob of red in the top left corner. It's jam, not blood, though I...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
At not quite fifteen, Stefan's father finally let him board the longship, Sja Vinna, to take part in his first...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Gayle Forman, Every Last Promise is a provocative and emotional novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
What if, after spending a lifetime deceiving everyone around you, you discovered the biggest lies were the ones you've told...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
In the explosive conclusion to the thrilling Revolution 19 series, the time has come to win the cities back from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Darcy Covington never had to worry about money or where her next shopping spree was coming from. Even her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Reality is only an illusion. Except for those who can control it… Worst. Birthday. Ever. My first boyfriend dumped me—happy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
5-to-1-cover-small.jpg
In the year 2054, after decades of gender selection, India now has a ratio of five boys for every girl,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wren Noble is dead—she was born that way. Vibrant, unlike other dead things, she craves those rare moments when her...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Macy Jones is a perfect student, popular teenager, and utterly miserable. This all changes once her father is arrested and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ned and his identical twin brother tumble from their raft into a raging, bewitched river, only Ned survives. Villagers...
 
5.0
 
4.0 (1)
In Marla Klein and Ivy Wilde’s world, teens are the gatekeepers of culture. A top fashion label employs sixteen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
the hidden princess.jpg
One destiny rules two worlds in this gripping fantasy thriller. For five years, the Gateway has been closed and Hidden...
 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
When Aidan and Maggie find a fairy cross while rock-hunting with their grandfather, it's just an oddity. But when they...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this unforgettable teen romance that fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti will devour, Quinn Sullivan falls for the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A powerful and gripping contemporary YA from the author of I'm Not Her that's "Just right for fans of Sarah...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins is sassier than ever in this page-turning follow up to Rebel Belle, perfect...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Order
Category: Young Adult Indie
Lana Crewe is a strong, fiercely driven seventeen year old living in a village ruled by fear. With their king...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)