Stringz

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
536   0
Age Range
14+
ISBN
1934813338
Buy This Book
      

Editor reviews

It is what it is. That's Jace Adams motto. Life hasn't been easy for him. He's used to his mother picking up and moving them from one place to another so much that he's attended four different schools in one year. Then his mother moves them to Seattle to live with his sassy aunt Bernice. Jace hopes this time will be different. Since money is tight he decides to play his cello on the street to make some extra money. Someone throws in a business card with a $100 bill offering to instruct him. Jace's not used to trusting or believing in people. Will he take the risk now?

I really loved this story! Jace is a mixed raced teen who's had it hard in his life. But instead of using the stereotypical mad teen with a huge chip on his shoulder, the author gives us a character who's likeable and uses his cello to cope. The voice of this novel is refreshing. Jace is humorous and someone with inner strength that helps him rise above the negative factors in his life. His big heart will have you cheering for Jace. I only hated that it ended so quickly.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Refreshing new voice

It is what it is. That's Jace Adams motto. Life hasn't been easy for him. He's used to his mother picking up and moving them from one place to another so much that he's attended four different schools in one year. Then his mother moves them to Seattle to live with his sassy aunt Bernice. Jace hopes this time will be different. Since money is tight he decides to play his cello on the street to make some extra money. Someone throws in a business card with a $100 bill offering to instruct him. Jace's not used to trusting or believing in people. Will he take the risk now?

I really loved this story! Jace is a mixed raced teen who's had it hard in his life. But instead of using the stereotypical mad teen with a huge chip on his shoulder, the author gives us a character who's likeable and uses his cello to cope. The voice of this novel is refreshing. Jace is humorous and someone with inner strength that helps him rise above the negative factors in his life. His big heart will have you cheering for Jace. I only hated that it ended so quickly.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)